Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Outside smoking areas

• 05-07-2009 8:24pm

So many clubs/pubs now have bars in the smoking areas outside.

It just occurred to me last night that the bar staff at these bars are exposed to second hand smoke and doesn't that defeat the purpose of the smoking ban which was to protect people at work ??

Are clubs/pubs not actually breaking the law by doing this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

No,& the whole purpose of the smoking ban was to harrass & annoy ordinary decent people who happen to smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Good question went to a Nightclub over the weekend with a rooftop smoking area and bar. How it could possibly comply with regulations I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Neither do I.

The big nightclub in Carlow has a rooftop bar and lounge. Now I like a cig when Im drinking, but you dont even need to light up when you get in that box. Place is a haze.

All the ban has done is packed smokers into hotboxes. Defeats the purpose for anyone who has to work in those areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Pubs in Amsterdam have found the best way around the smoking ban.
    All tobacco cigarettes are banned but pure grass joints are fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

maybe they should just ban smoking altogether and bubble rap all pointy items, and maybe introduce a curfew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

salonfire wrote: »
    It just occurred to me last night that the bar staff at these bars are exposed to second hand smoke and doesn't that defeat the purpose of the smoking ban which was to protect people at work ??

You're doing it wrong. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    Pubs in Amsterdam have found the best way around the smoking ban.
    All tobacco cigarettes are banned but pure grass joints are fine.
    You can still smoke mixed spliffs like with everything in Holland it's just common sense rule. Don't leave your fags on the table and your fine. In Rotterdam smokers of tobacco go into the coffeeeshops to have a fag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

This place in particular was described as a rooftop how it fits the descrition I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Oh get down off your non-smoking, clean lunged pedastal ffs. You've already forced us outside, what more do you want?

Kimia wrote: »
    Oh get down off your non-smoking, clean lunged pedastal ffs. You've already forced us outside, what more do you want?

+1 to that!
    It's an attitude that some people have unfortunately.
    I bet OP and people like that are not even slightly concerened about the health of the barstaff etc.

They just like to nitpick at things in life & critizise people in general.
    Above all, they hate people that they think 'get away' with things that they think are not strictly kosher.

They hate entrepreneurial types, cos they themselves never had the wit to think of anything original/new to do in life.

Instead, they become Traffic wardens, Tax Inspectors, 'elf 'n sayefty' bods,jobsworths & general dickheads.

The good news is that they're so uptight that they die sooner than the rest of us.
    The bad news is that they're allowed to procreate.

Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

get on wit it sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

place i DJ in in carlow has an outside smoking area that is also...inside.

not really sure how it works cos its basically just a really nice warm room with an aquarium, but stinks of smoke as well.

ottostreet wrote: »

not really sure how it works cos its basically just a really nice warm room with an aquarium, but stinks of smoke as well.

Aaahh....ya poor little mite.
    Does it affect your asthma/hayfever or whatever???!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

see the big mfkn hole in your gripe right there ??? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Jaysus first they complain about smoking inside, then they complain about smoking outside, what's next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

Are clubs/pubs not actually breaking the law by doing this?

No idea. You should have asked the barman.

Aaahh....ya poor little mite.
    Does it affect your asthma/hayfever or whatever???!!!

nope. why would it considering i have neither?

im curious as to why you have an attitude on ya as well?

you and i might be thinking of the same place. Used to work for the tools actually.

Which reminds me: if youve been there ages, I do have a small gripe with you and your never-changing playlist. Hearing Sexy-Back still gives me the chills.

Overheal wrote: »
    you and i might be thinking of the same place. Used to work for the tools actually.

Which reminds me: if youve been there ages, I do have a small gripe with you and your never-changing playlist. Hearing Sexy-Back still gives me the chills.

lol... im there since patricks weekend 2008, and i have NEVER played sexyback!
    is there any way we can check whether we are talking about the same place?

male owner, female manager?

lol... im there since patricks weekend 2008, and i have NEVER played sexyback!
    is there any way we can check whether we are talking about the same place?

male owner, female manager?
    Nah I quit 12 months before you. PM sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Kersmash wrote: »
    Jaysus first they complain about smoking inside, then they complain about smoking outside, what's next?

In most of these places, especially in Carlow it barely seems like the smoking areas are outdoor. They have tiny gaps that seem to allow them to call it outdoors, the funny thing is most modern bars were fitted with equipment to constantly change the air inside like a bunch of times an hour, but these "outdoor" smoking areas arn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

laugh wrote: »
    In most of these places, especially in Carlow it barely seems like the smoking areas are outdoor. They have tiny gaps that seem to allow them to call it outdoors, the funny thing is most modern bars were fitted with equipment to constantly change the air inside like a bunch of times an hour, but these "outdoor" smoking areas arn't.

I believe we have just found the cause of Global Warming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

When you're outside the smoke has plenty of space to go so it diffuses rapidly. The bar staff and non-smoking members of the public aren't in any danger at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Strangely enough (I was shocked) the Irish legislation is very well written and leaves no real grey areas or loop holes (unlike the English, Swiss, German and French which have all been contested, delayed, repealed or poorly though out).

The legislation in Ireland defines a workplace you can smoke in as:
    * A place or premises, or part of a place or premises, that is wholly uncovered by any roof, fixed or mobile.
    * An outdoor place or premises that is covered by a roof, so long as not more than 50% of the perimeter (outside) is covered by a wall, windows, gate or similar.

So no roof then you can smoke.

If it has a roof (includes awnings/semi-permanent/movable structures) there can be no more than 2 full walls i.e. 2 walls or 4 half walls or 1 wall with 2 half walls etc etc. This means doorways are enclosed spaces and you may not smoke in them as they have 3 full walls and a roof. It also means that if there is an outside area which has a roof at one end and the section with a roof has three solid walls holding up said roof then you cannot smoke there.

If you are in a "smoking area" which doesn't fit this description it is not a smoking area and you and the premises are liable for a €5,000 fine (although there is a tiny chance you could get away with it as that was the space provided by the owner but I am not a legal expert of any kind).

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Ye smokers will never be happy until you are stinking up the indoors again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Anyone else notice that smoking areas have the best craic? Really does show that smokers are cool.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Kimia wrote: »
    Ill take your clothes,your boots and your motorcycle

Err, just to clarify I wasn't haven't a go - in fact I spend all night in smoking areas.

Its just that in my drink fuelled wisdom, I thought it was an oddity - thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

No,& the whole purpose of the smoking ban was to harrass & annoy ordinary decent people who happen to smoke.

[me playing worlds saddest song on the worlds smallest violin] :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I love when winter comes and the smokers are huddled around in pub doorways trying to get a few lungfuls of smoke and at the same time shelter from the stinging rain and freezing wind.

Always cheers me up. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Very popular late bar in Limerick have a huge smoking area. Their busy has benefit alot due to the smoking ban. The one thing I noticed is that when it rains and the canopy is fully closed the smoke lingers for awhile before it escapes on the narrow gaps.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I love when winter comes and the smokers are huddled around in pub doorways trying to get a few lungfuls of smoke and at the same time shelter from the stinging rain and freezing wind.

Always cheers me up. :)

Lovely.

Your types then complain when people have a smoke in the outside areas when the weather is good.

Damaging 'Your air':rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Lovely.

Your types then complain when people have a smoke in the outside areas when the weather is good.

Damaging 'Your air':rolleyes:

man you really love your smoking, eh ?

Big Ears wrote: »
    man you really love your smoking, eh ?

No, not really, just hate the attitude of the 'holier than thou's' of this world.

Wish they'd fall off their high horses & break their stupid scrawny necks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I work in a bar. When the smoking ban first came in, we bought a little shed for people to go into to smoke.... we had a little heater in there too so people stayed warm and dry. Next thing the H&S came out and told us it was illegal because there wasn't more than 50% of it exposed to the outside... you can't win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭babaloushka

funk-you wrote: »
    Anyone else notice that smoking areas have the best craic? Really does show that smokers are cool.

-Funk

Yes, particularlyin winter :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

Degag wrote: »
    I work in a bar. When the smoking ban first came in, we bought a little shed for people to go into to smoke.... we had a little heater in there too so people stayed warm and dry. Next thing the H&S came out and told us it was illegal because there wasn't more than 50% of it exposed to the outside... you can't win.

I think the law states that any building with more than 3 sides comes under the smoking ban.

Shelters seperated from the building do not come under this rule.

Thats why most pubs only have a canopy attached to the building as anything more would come under the law so long as its on the pubs property.