Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dodgy actors in great films

• 03-07-2009 10:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 45

While watching the award-winning film The Pianist last night, who do I see in a fairly prominent role only Nigel from Eastenders!!

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0103367/

Any other examples of this come to mind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Legendary wrestler Roddy Piper in 'They Live!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

A few Quentin Tarantino movies feature a dodgy actor named Quentin Tarantino ... he's also brought in a few odd comedians, such as Steven Wright, Kathy Griffin, and Julia Sweeney (who had only done TV shows like SNL before then).

IMHO the weirdest has to be seeing Bronagh Gallagher (The Committments) popping up in Pulp Fiction to discuss body piercing with Rosanna Arquette. :confused:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Ooh good idea for a thread,

Off the top of my head I'd got for Paul Walker who is a bloody awful actor in Pleasantville and IIRC Varsity Blues was the same year and he was in that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

Keanu Reeves in most things he's been in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Legendary wrestler Roddy Piper in 'They Live!'

WTF man, Roddy made that movie awesome.

My pick would be Megan Fox in pretty much anything she's been in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Katie Holmes in Batman Begins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭JimmyFloyd

I don't think anyone has gotten the point of the thread................

Luke Goss (from 80s boyband Bros) in Blade 2 and Hellboy 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

JimmyFloyd wrote: »
    I don't think anyone has gotten the point of the thread................

Luke Goss (from 80s boyband Bros) in Blade 2 and Hellboy 2.

Maybe people just have ZOMG!!!!! different taste to yourself.

I though Luke Goss was pretty damm good and not in the least bit dodgy in both the movies you posted about :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

bnt wrote: »
    A few Quentin Tarantino movies feature a dodgy actor named Quentin Tarantino ... he's also brought in a few odd comedians, such as Steven Wright, Kathy Griffin, and Julia Sweeney (who had only done TV shows like SNL before then).

K-Billy's super sounds of the seventies
    Great cameo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Twiki

Stephen Baldwin in Usual Suspects - one of his better performances but it's all relative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭lgoring21

Venom wrote: »

My pick would be Megan Fox is pretty much anything she's been in.
    dang u got there b4 me...she is awesome at poutin and runin after that nada!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Ben Affleck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Edward Norton in Fight Club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Dave Chappelle in Con Air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

bnt wrote: »

IMHO the weirdest has to be seeing Bronagh Gallagher (The Committments) popping up in Pulp Fiction to discuss body piercing with Rosanna Arquette. :confused:

She was flying a ship in the Phantom Menace too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Ludacris in Crash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 KaNdL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

gemma anderton in the latest 007.

anyone that wasnt Clint Westwood in Gran Torino.

Ja Rule in The Fast and the Furious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

GBX wrote: »

explain yourself, he was awesome in Fight Club and is very often the best thing about any movie he's in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Ok, it's not a great film, but putting Patrick "charisma vacuum" Dempsey opposite Amy Adams in Enchanted is just wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Judy Cornwell (Daisy, Hyacinth Bucket lower class cousin 'in keeping up Appearances') was Misses Claus in 'Santa Claus the movie', that was dead dodgy to me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Twiki wrote: »
    Stephen Baldwin in Usual Suspects - one of his better performances but it's all relative.

Thats the first film I seen him in and I couldn't believe when I seen him in The Flinstones sequel and Bio-Dome... 'What the **** is McManus doing in this?'

Funnily enough I was recently watching a debate on marijuana legalization between him and Ron Paul... Its ironic Baldwin opposes it given that he acted in Bio-Dome :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭TygerKrash

Val Kilmer in Heat?

anyone?

TygerKrash wrote: »
    Val Kilmer in Heat?

anyone?

I don't agree nearly as much as the insanity of someone suggesting edd norton. VK although he'd been in some porkies i'd find it hard to all him out as a bad actor. Kiss kiss bang bang, tombstone but to name two. Still though your entitled to your opinion and all that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

The entire cast of Gran Torino except for Clint himself.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Eric Roberts in just about everything including: The Dark Knight and The Pope of Greenwich Village

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Judy Cornwell (Daisy, Hyacinth Bucket lower class cousin 'in keeping up Appearances') was Misses Claus in 'Santa Claus the movie', that was dead dodgy to me :D

see , you get what this thread is about

i lived in NZ for a while and baschically every actor who ever starred in any kind of kiwi drama was in the lord of the rings movies in some shape or form , dont ask me to provide names though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Mick Lally in "Alexander".

Apparently Oliver Stone couldn't understand a word Mick said.

Oh wait, thread title is "great films".

Eh....well it was a great expense. That counts! Right?

Never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭artvandulet

Edward Norton a dodgy actor? Future best actor oscar winner i'll bet.

I just spotted Risteard Cooper in Batman Begins. How did that happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Edward Norton a dodgy actor? Future best actor oscar winner i'll bet.

Feck it ya, I forgot about that... I think there might be more small time Irish actors in it as well but could well be wrong about this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Damien from Home and Away in The Matrix.
    I don't know his real name and ain't googling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Speaking of Batman Begins, a total non-actor makes an appearance, but doesn't get to do much on screen. Tim Booth from the band James is Zsasz, the psychopath who gets to walk out of jail near the end, to ... well, let's hope he appears in a sequel, just to get him off the streets. :eek:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

yerayeah wrote: »
    Feck it ya, I forgot about that... I think there might be more small time Irish actors in it as well but could well be wrong about this...

There I was reading a post on the poker forum once who said that the guy who Bruce Wayne is ordered to kill in the League of shadows is from dublin and owns a restauraunt. He gave a reason and all for the irish involvement but I can't remember now.

@JPA OMFG Matt Doran I never would have spotted that and I've seen that film maybe 20 times. Good spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭TygerKrash

ziedth wrote: »
    I don't agree nearly as much as the insanity of someone suggesting edd norton. VK although he'd been in some porkies i'd find it hard to all him out as a bad actor. Kiss kiss bang bang, tombstone but to name two. Still though your entitled to your opinion and all that

Yeah, I may be judging him unfairly. I haven't seen either of those films. most things I have seen him in he's been a non-event : Batman Forever, Top Secret ( great film, he's rubbish) , Island of Dr. Moreau, The Saint...

Willow/Top Gun are about the only films I've seen where I'd rate him at all but even then he's just ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

JPA wrote: »
    Damien from Home and Away in The Matrix.
    I don't know his real name and ain't googling.

mouse in the matrix

yeah matt doran is his name in real life, and he also played the dude in the bar trying to sell death sticks to obi wan in the 'attack of the Clones' :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Dexter Fletcher (of Press Gang fame) playing Pinky in Doom. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

Originally Posted by artvandulet viewpost.gif

I thought I had imagined this! Weird.

There was yer man with the tiny eyes from Home and Away playing Kirk's dad in Star Trek.

Leah from Home & Away (I don't watch it I swear!) was also in the Matrix, the "follow the white rabbit" girl.

Back in the day Guy Pearce in LA Confidential was a bit of a WTF moment but it turned out far from a dodgy casting.

Leonard Rossiter from Rising Damp fame in Kubricks 2001: A Space Odessy and Barry Lyndon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Shryke wrote: »
    The entire cast of Gran Torino except for Clint himself.

True that! Great movie, but the cast around him was diabolical.

Bret McKenzie in Lord of the Rings, lol :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Some actors like Christopher Walken are always worth watching, but there are other actors who can will do anything for money.
    I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭brennaldo

50 cent in that 50 cent film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Marlon Wayans in Requiem for a Dream
    David Bowie in The Prestige
    Sharon Stone in Casino (she did alright though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Burt Reynolds in Deliverance. Mind you, it was a strong performance from him.

Surely I win. What do I get?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Hugo Whocares in Lord of the Rings

Please do a digital edit to put Sam Neil in instead :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭artvandulet

L31mr0d wrote: »
    True that! Great movie, but the cast around him was diabolical.

Bret McKenzie in Lord of the Rings, lol :D

Ha! Excellent.

Slight hijack but that surely calls for this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

Ted Danson in Saving Private Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

yerayeah wrote: »
    There is, Barry from fair city pops up in one scene as does Hughie from fair city too. Barry plays a cop, while the other fella is one of the thugs in the asylum when batman arrives in the basement.
    Shocking it was. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

David Bowie showing up in the Prestige was pretty out of left field (not that he was bad though)

I think Katie Holmes in Batman Begins has been mentioned already, but that must be the very definition of a dodgy actor in a great film. I watched it last week and she is just cringeworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

that was a great performance from probably one of the best actors of our time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Orlando Bloom in everything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

David Caruso in anything be it TV or Film