Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NEW CYCLE TRACK IN PHOENIX PARK

• 02-07-2009 9:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭

Well done to the OPW on the laying of the new track linking up the North Road to the Main Road. It seemed to be completed in no more than three or four week. Looking forward to using it next week. Pity that between the OPW. WATERWAYS IRL. AND DEPT. OF ENVIR. the same contractor cannot get the job of replicating this along the towpaths of the Royal and Grand canals. Anyhow lets be thankful for small mercys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭stuf

another place for pedestrians to get confused when they hear a bike bell while staring down at a painted bike logo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭mmclo

Is this up the back between blackhorse ave gate and cabra gate?

Took it on Weds (one of the first?) It's grand

The Royal Canal is a must, I stopped using it when rain came about a year ago and haven't been back since except after prolonged sunshine and it was still a bit muddy, lighting would also be a big issue in winter and all the gates, one or two ok but form city to c'nock there must be 8/9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Is the royal canal path not littered with broken glass, particularly around the Cabra area ? I thought about using it before but didn't think it would be suitable.

Also, how far can you go down it towards the city centre ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Cycled the royal canal path from Croker out to Maynooth once last year. Predictably, it's a joy til you get out Broombridge way, where it's a tad industrial and prone to knackerage, though I wouldn't let that put anyone off. Great fun going over the M50 by the canal. Unfortunately, it can be very rutted and difficult to negotiate in parts after that, which is fine if you're guaranteed right of way but there's always ramblers and dog walkers to share the way with. Arse was in bits by Maynooth, but good craic.

I've walked as far as Broombridge and it got very bleak indeed. It's a pity as it's an ideal and safe way into the city centre for people in the west of the city. It would keep cyclists off the N3 for example right into the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭ray o

Jip wrote: »
    Is the royal canal path not littered with broken glass, particularly around the Cabra area ? I thought about using it before but didn't think it would be suitable.

It's fine all the way from Ashtown to Broombridge station but after that closer down to the back of old Cabra it can be ropey in spots. That route will get you down to Phibsboro (cross guns bridge) or the next one down is Dorset St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Jip wrote: »

It is paved from Ashtown to Drumcondra.

For about a year I cycled the path as part of my commute. I never got any hassle from people around Broombridge or anywhere. The biggest threat was actually aggressive swans resting on the banks!

One time there were two burnt out cars jammed under the rail bridge just east of Broombridge station. It was a squeeze to lift the bike by.

Crossing the road at Ratoath Road can be tough unless the level crossing is closed - cars don't like to let pedestrians cross and there is a nasty bend in the road.

Thanks lads. It's on my list now knowing that it's not too bad. I know the Ratoath Road crossing well, many a time I got stuck at the bloody thing when in my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Sean02

You can see from post the wonderful facility this could be. Depending on the direction your coming from you might consider joining or leaving the towpath at the lane way into the Dublin Industrial Estate. This would eliminate the only real dodgy section. Expect glass at all bridges up to Reilys at Rathoath Road. I rarely get more than a couple of trips without a puncture mostly due to overgrown and fallen briars further up the canal. Best suited to Hybrid with puncture resist tyres. Again I warn cyclists the short section Coolmine to Porterstown is very dangereous...walk!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭mmclo

Echo all of the above, i haven't taken it in while but never had any difficulties when I did, from my precise location I get a nice downhill on Dorset st. to start which seems to motivate me!

Do it in daylight and while I never got any hassle Broombridge can be a bit intimidating in the dark. The amount of work to upgrade ashtown to c'nock would be minimal, on a par with what the opw did in the park

towpaths are a must for any incentivising people to cycle with the absence of traffic and being relatively flat

Why not a bike only light at ratoath road:-)...there are two bike/traffic lights on route i take on the canal...any guesses!!