Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is my job taking the piss?

• 02-07-2009 2:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

hi all..

right i have just been rejected by the bank again with my application for mortgage.. apparently my wages are crap so im a risk...

im 31 years old and time is ticking.. i earn crap money but am lucky to have a job..
    i work for an IT dept in a huge financial company and have just under 4 years service, and im on.. wait for it... 23 and a half grand a year :-(
    my job includes doing a few jobs..
    Network Administrator
    Telephony engineer
    Desktop support
    and some facility work
    yet my wages reflect that of a dude in the mail room..

i have a lot of mates that are unemployed and are claiming every benifit under the sun, and in 1 instance one of my mates actually comes out with more than me after tax, and he sits on his leather lazyboy couch all day playing his playstation 3 on his 50" flat screen??
    i dont even own a tv..
    i work my ass off for this job and this year they put a freeze on wage increases, dont get me wrong im lucky to have a job, but are they really taking the piss?

the banks will only allow you to repay till the age of 65.. giving me 34 years from now to get fully repaid.. if i dont start earning some serious green im destand to a life of rented accommodation.

should i quit my respectable job and sponge off the system? should i do drug runs down from dublin every month? rob a bank? how the hell am i supposed to make the money i need to live in a company thats telling me there is a freeze on wage increases?

i feel like a sucker breaking my balls every week when my mates are all off living the life and telling me "everyday" how good it is to not be working.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Do your wages reflect the qualifications that you have ?

Perhaps you could do some additional courses to increase
    your qualifications which, when combined with your valuable
    amount of experience would put you in a stronger position to
    get higher wages in the bank.

In this way by the time you finish them, the economy will
    have (hopefully) begun to improve giving you the opportunity
    to move to another organisation with higher wages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

No company is going to raise wages in this climate. Its not a personal reflection on you, its just economics.
    if i dont start earning some serious green im destand to a life of rented accommodation.

God, lucky, lucky you. I have a mortgage and while its not the worst, its still no bundle of laughs knowing I am stuck in the place I chose when everyone was living high on the hog. Like many I bought the place thinking it would just be a stepping stone and now Im stuck in an unserviced estate with no real public transport shops or amenities.

Im jealous of my fancy free renting mates who can pick and choose big houses with a garden in a quiet well serviced area convenient to town with no blerdy motorway noise reverberating through the place.

Seriously, owning your own gaff at the moment is more of a prision than a utopia. Bloom where you are planted until the recession is over!

The grass is not always greener on the other side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

No company is going to raise wages in this climate. Its not a personal reflection on you, its just economics.

I just wanted to point out that this is a gross generalisation. While it may be overwhelmingly true, say no company will do it is wrong. I've just negotiated a pay rise myself so it's doable.

To the OP. With regards to taking the piss, off the bat I'd say yes, but would need to know more about your qualifications and more importantly, your experience.

With regards to owning your own home, Oh The Humanity is correct. It's not all it's cracked up to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭skooterblue

right i have just been rejected by the bank again with my application for mortgage.. apparently my wages are crap so im a risk...

You and everyone else, there is no money going around even for people with a good credit rating.
    im 31 years old and time is ticking.. i earn crap money but am lucky to have a job..
    i work for an IT dept in a huge financial company and have just under 4 years service, and im on.. wait for it... 23 and a half grand a year :-(
    Network Administrator
    Telephony engineer
    Desktop support
    and some facility work
    (
    I think you should just be grateful you have a job. I have less than you and If I had the oppertunity you had of Getting a job in IT before 9/11 I would have taken it. Just be glad you are getting expereince. This credit crunch will be over in time but you will have your experince and your matees will have a beer gut and a worn PS3.

your mates, are putting a brave face on it. yes its fun having no responsibility's for a few weeks. Then reality sets in and you get seriously depressed. Go make the best of your fox hole for the next few year and you will be the first off you feet. Dont end up like my dad and say this is where I am and this is where I'll be. Take a new up skills course pay for it yourself if you have to and get ready for the day an interviewer asks you what skills do have and what expereince you have. I garuntee nothing looks worse on a CV then big gaps in unemployment.

keep you chin up, up grade your skills and be on the look out for the next big thing in a few years. As for the mortgage, do you really want something that is going to be on a steady down climb over the next few years? Do you want the pressure of something you cant really afford?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Mate you are 23...whats the hurry to have a 35 year mortgage around your neck???

Have some fun, enjoy your 20s, go travelling...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭puglover

Would depend on your experience & qualifications but given that you have at least 4 years experience in the role it does sound a little low.

OTOH, you're better off without the mortgage. I bought into the whole Irish obsession with owning their own land and I'm regretting it now. You're better off renting, can't take it with you when you're gone ( and your landlord is responsible for the maintenance of the property)

Mate you are 23...whats the hurry to have a 35 year mortgage around your neck???

OP said he was 31 actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭mandysmithers

He said he's EARNING 23 grand, and he's 31.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Sorry my mistake....:o

23.5 grand a year at 31...thats not good mate. Have you thought about further education, what are your qualifications?

I remember 8/9 years ago anyone who cld plug in a phone was calling themselves an IT Consultant.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

TBH with your experience it's pretty poor. I was earning more than that as a grad.

Yeh lads but thats comparing apples with oranges! What we all earned and expected a few years back bears no resemblance to now!

A few years back I would have been considered a pauper in relation to my peers, now Im lucky to earn a decent wage in comparison.

I know there are always the exceptions and its worth prodding about to see if there is a bit more in the budget for you next year. But dont prod too hard as they may just manage you out.

Tread carefully. Be realistic.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Yeh lads but thats comparing apples with oranges! What we all earned and expected a few years back bears no resemblance to now!

A few years back I would have been considered a pauper in relation to my peers, now Im lucky to earn a decent wage in comparison.

I know there are always the exceptions and its worth prodding about to see if there is a bit more in the budget for you next year. But dont prod too hard as they may just manage you out.

Tread carefully. Be realistic.

Not really he's been in the job four years so he started in the "good times"
    He should be on a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Begin jobhunting on the side.

Not really he's been in the job four years so he started in the "good times"
    He should be on a lot more.

Thats my point what he 'should be' on makes no difference. The profit margins may be so tight that he is lucky to be getting what he is.

Im not saying its right, I have no sympathy for management. Im just saying use the noggin if he is going to ask for a raise.

Dont go in all guns blazing going 'I should be on this or that' -management may well just say......'look we dont need you'

Remember there are thousands lined up behind him who would take his job, sh1t wages and all, in a heartbeat. Its about having a bit of nous.

Thats my point what he 'should be' on makes no difference. The profit margins may be so tight that he is lucky to be getting what he is.

Im not saying its right, I have no sympathy for management. Im just saying use the noggin if he is going to ask for a raise.

Dont go in all guns blazing going 'I should be on this or that' -management may well just say......'look we dont need you'

Remember there are thousands lined up behind him who would take his job, sh1t wages and all, in a heartbeat. Its about having a bit of nous.

I'm not saying he should be going in all guns blazing, but I'm wondering why if he's worked there for 4 years 3 of which were pretty good why is he on such poor money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP what qualifications do you have? Have you looked for another job with better income? Most people do so in ordetr to progress. What training have you done to help you progress your career. Unless you show initiative businesses are happy to leave you be.

Get off you backside and start helping yourself don't wait around for it to fall in our lap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

hi all..

Network Administrator
    Telephony engineer
    Desktop support
    and some facility work

i have a lot of mates that are unemployed and are claiming every benifit under the sun, and in 1 instance one of my mates actually comes out with more than me after tax, and he sits on his leather lazyboy couch all day playing his playstation 3 on his 50" flat screen??
    i dont even own a tv..
    i work my ass off for this job and this year they put a freeze on wage increases, dont get me wrong im lucky to have a job, but are they really taking the piss?

the banks will only allow you to repay till the age of 65.. giving me 34 years from now to get fully repaid.. if i dont start earning some serious green im destand to a life of rented accommodation.

should i quit my respectable job and sponge off the system? should i do drug runs down from dublin every month? rob a bank? how the hell am i supposed to make the money i need to live in a company thats telling me there is a freeze on wage increases?

i feel like a sucker breaking my balls every week when my mates are all off living the life and telling me "everyday" how good it is to not be working.. :(

Yes they are. That's crap money, you are being screwed. Get another job offer and see what management do then.

I'm not saying he should be going in all guns blazing, but I'm wondering why if he's worked there for 4 years 3 of which were pretty good why is he on such poor money.

Oh I get you now. Well, of course he should have gone in long before this juncture and sorted it out, ask and you shall receive and all that.....

Chances are a bit up in smoke now probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Mena wrote: »
    With regards to owning your own home, Oh The Humanity is correct. It's not all it's cracked up to be.

I was like that, wanting my own house, nothing or nobody could have changed my mind, it was basically all I wanted. Eventually I got it and despite all the negatives at the moment I'd do it all again.

OP could you apply for a mortgage with somebody else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Firstly OP, yep, that money sucks, but... look on the bright side. It's absolutely true you're lucky not to have the burden of a mortgage at the moment. The axe is hanging over a lot of people's jobs - pretty much everyone's really, apart from those in permanent state jobs (and even then, not 100% across the board). Now, imagine losing your job and having mortgage repayments... The people I know of in that position are at the point of being seriously ill from stress at this stage. It's not nice.
    I think you should just be grateful you have a job.
    I disagree with "grateful" but "glad" is certainly how I'd put it. Yep OP, be glad you're still in employment - I'd even go as far as to say "count yourself lucky". No, you shouldn't feel grateful - you worked hard to get that job, but the way things are, you're lucky to still have it. Being unemployed is horrific if you've even the faintest bit of ambition (I don't have a huge amount of ambition and I found being unemployed unbearable - I don't understand how anyone could enjoy it unless they've loads of really cool stuff to do every day).
    Have you looked for another job with better income? Most people do so in order to progress.
    professore wrote: »
    Get another job offer
    There aren't other jobs...

OP, sit tight. Things will change for you - they always do, the only constant is change. And (yeah, sorry) when you least expect it. I think that's about enough clichés for this evening. :D
    Do courses, as others have recommended. Also, keep looking out for better jobs because even though there's bugger all out there, something will come up eventually.
    Do you have a girlfriend? If so, would you consider renting a place with just her if you don't already?
    Lots and lots of people your age and older rent nowadays - because buying is just too damned expensive. It's kinda looked down upon, but that's just a cultural thing in this country I'd imagine. On the continent, renting is the norm for all age groups, even families.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I work in the same sector as you. My last job before i got laid off was the phone support and hardware engineer bloke. Nothing incredably demanding and not something i needed a degree for, even though i had one. Im about 10 years younger than you and my starting wage was 25k per year. Degree's are often useless where IT is concerned (unless you're a programmer) and 80% of the time don't reflect on someone's actual ability with a computer. You have vast experience in some very important areas of IT which is valuable of any company.

So to answer you're question: you're job is absolutely taking the piss.

Just because it's a recession is no excuse to be getting robbed every week. People telling you that you are lucky to have a job are lying out their arses here and i bet the ones that do it are you're managers? While i wouldn't advise robbing a bank and selling drugs, i do advise you to ask them for a pay rise. You should be on at least 30k at this stage, possibly more. if they don't give it to you, quit. Claim benifits while you look for work. Don't feel guilty about it. You've been paying tax for years so think of this as you're tax coming back to you, and you're claiming it off the people who got us all into this bloody mess so no guilt required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭messygirl

I would look at your job spec, are you doing more than what it states?
    Are you earning any money for the company? I would take a look at what I do and write down my contribution and length of service and then go to HR. Tell them you are applying for a mortgage and that your wages wont cover it. Maybe you could discuss it casually with someone from HR, let them know you love your job but let them know you are valuable, and that your wages should reflect this. you must ahve been on what, 20k starting? Tell them you understand that these are difficult times but (refer to your job spec and any extras you do) you think you should be on more. Dont go there saying "more money or I'll walk" because they might take you up on it.

Regarding all your friends on social welfare, do you really want to be sitting around, sleeping late every day, no motivation to do anything, it gets boring fast. i was looking for a job for 6 weeks and it did my head in (that included a 10 day holiday) Trust me its not all its cracked up to be and I think if you quit you aren't entitled to the dole (open to corrections) plus there are thousands waiting to be processed so you would be facing an average of 8 weeks before you get anything (depending on area)

Ring a few agencies, set up a few interviews, call in sick, and assess your options. If you get a better job offer you can use it to bargain for a pay rise and if they dont give it to you you can walk.

Unemployment is not all its cracked up to be and you still wont get a mortgage if you are uunemployed.

Do you qualify for that subsidised cheap housing scheme? Best of luck anyway but the longer you stay in your job the more credits you get and its easier to find a job when you already have one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Dudess wrote: »
    There aren't other jobs...
    Bull$hit. There are jobs out there, and with 4 years experience under the belt, teh OP should have a decent chance of getting a good one.

the_syco wrote: »
    Bull$hit. There are jobs out there, and with 4 years experience under the belt, teh OP should have a decent chance of getting a good one.

I'm inclined to agree with the_syco on this one. Sure, there are less jobs going around and the days of quitting and walking straight into another job the next day may be over for most, but there certainly are jobs out there, especially in IT. You just need to be more resourceful to get them. Most importantly, try stay clear of the damned recruitment agencies!

Network, network, network! (and not the Cisco type!)

Nope, not bullsh1t. Bullsh1tting is lying. Seriously, wake up to reality. There are **** all jobs out there. Oh and on the extremely rare occasions that a job does come up, yes, the OP will be in with a really good chance because of course there won't be countless others going for it, including those with more experience/training/qualifications than the OP has.

2007 called - it wants its career advice back...

Nope, not bullsh1t. Bullsh1tting is lying. Seriously, wake up to reality. There are **** all jobs out there.

Sorry Dudess, but you're wrong. Especially in IT, there are still jobs to be had, and a fair few as well.

Saying there are **** all jobs out there is just silly. The OP should explore his options as he's obviously being taken advantage of here. This crap about "sure you're lucky to even have a job" is a joke.

And look at all the other people who will be going for them. The number of jobs (and it's still very low) is significantly reduced when you consider the competition for them. Yes, the OP is lucky to have a job right now - even if employers are taking the piss (and many certainly are). I'm not saying the OP shouldn't look for a better job - of course he should. I'd be very surprised if he wasn't doing so anyway... but it will take time, that's all.
    Those other comments I quoted saying "get another job" aren't helpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

Overheal wrote: »
    Begin jobhunting on the side.

lol. seriously.

OP would you consider stating your own business of some kind or even just doing some freelance on the side? up skilling is also a good option.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'd agree with this, I've a friend working in a company where four IT guys were let go recently and all four found work within two weeks. THe company I work in was looking for a level two MS support person recently and there weren't a huge amount of candidates as imo at the moment a lot of people are staying put, same happened with another three roles two months back.

There is work out there in IT, and the OP has far too much experience to be earning what they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

The good thing is, in IT are still jobs - and even seemingly good ones - to be had. But you stated in some other context (hopefully jokingly ;) ) that you are not Dublin based. Unfortunately the vast majority of good IT jobs are Dublin based - but for a few exceptions in Cork, Galway, little bit of Limerick.
    I know what I'm talking about because I live in Waterford and while I'm not unhappy with my job right now the lack of competition on the labour market for my current employer is a bit concerning at times.
    So if you want a better IT job badly I'm afraid you might have to relocate.

As for your original question, I think your employer/manager is probably taking advantage of the situation. Have you annual reviews, did you have recognitions of sorts? How did these things go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

23.5K is shocking! And you have four years experience.
    I'd say the title of this thread has answered your question

Do you have annual reviews with your manager and HR? If not, you should be asking why not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

hi all..

Network Administrator
    Telephony engineer
    Desktop support
    and some facility work

i dont even own a tv..

Why in gods name are you trying to get a 200,000-300,000 loan for a house, when you only earn what, 390 euros a week?
    And how much will you be paying the bank back every week 290euros?, just so you can live in "your" house that you won't own till your 65? Whats the point? Your whole life so is to basically pay off your house while working in a ****ty job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Yep that's crap money at your age, experience, and the amount you say you're doing in there. If you quit the bank certainly won't give you a mortgatge when you're employed.

Also, threatening to quit will likely result in them saying 'right fu<k off so, there's hundreds out there willing to demean themselves in this low paid job just so they can try and get some sense of self-worth out of it'. Perhaps not in those words, but that'll be the gist of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

hes 32 i think him and that job are not going anywhere fast. He needs to get a better job and if needs be better qualifications. He's taking the piss not the job. Grow some balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭lynsalot

Hi Magicbeans

Sorry to hear about your situation. that's crap alright. Well you're definitely underpaid. My husband in a network analyst doing pretty much the same work as you and is earning a lot more. So you have a point first of all.

The second thing is, a lot of IT work in contract based. Would u be willing to give up the security of a perm job and work contract. Maybe get some savings together until the economy improves.

My company are still employing and IT is huge in there. If u wanna PM me I can give you the name of the company and see how u get on. The wages are pretty good for the CSD area (Between 30K and 45K depending) so i'd imagine IT are well paid.... the contractors are def on very very good wages (7K per week in some cases)

My company employed two ppl in the last month, neither from IT but it is worth a shot.

Best of luck

And look at all the other people who will be going for them.
    I've found the business of IT support to be specialized. Some companies will only employ you if you have a particular brand of cert (example: Microsoft), but some other companies value experience more than certs, whilst others want a mixture of both.

Example, http://www.cpl.ie/jobDetails.asp?id=305384&si=1

Seems you need "6 – 12 yrs IT experience overall, with circa 4 yrs specialist SAN experience.
    Interested candidates should have gained considerable expertise with at least one major storage vendor (EMC, HDS, or Network Appliance)", of which many people who do IT don't have, and those that do, may like their jobs.

There could be 300 going for them, 50 of which may have the expertise with a major storage vendor, and 10 of those may only have the 4 years experience.

True, there may be lots of people out there looking for a job, but that doesn't mean that the employer won't have to look outside Ireland to get that person.
    lynsalot wrote: »
    The second thing is, a lot of IT work in contract based. Would u be willing to give up the security of a perm job and work contract. Maybe get some savings together until the economy improves.
    From what I've seen, contractors are the first to go, so I'd advise against it. Not saying it's a bad idea, but to cut costs, fire someone who you don't have to give any sort of redundancy package to.

=-=

I'd say look into getting a cheap cert or two that will state you know X Y and Z. 10 years ago, you could make know your PC inside out, but have nothing to prove it. Now, you can do the CompTIA A+ as proof that you know. Having something as simple as that can open more doors for you.

Ask the lads at http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=882 for which certs may prove what you know. Having a cert telling the employer that you know thw in's and out's of a server will help skip over those who say "sure boss, I know the server like the back of my palm".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Nope, not bullsh1t. Bullsh1tting is lying. Seriously, wake up to reality. There are **** all jobs out there.

There are still plenty of jobs in IT. It just depends on your ability and experience.

OP - 23k is an appalling salary. Anyone who is saying 'you should consider yourself lucky to have a job' is deluded. What if you were working for free? Should you still consider yourself lucky to have a job? I'm in IT as well, I'm roughly the same age as you and I was earning what you're earning as a graduate. I was earning 10k a year more than you at 24. How you can even live on that and rent is beyond me.

As someone else said, ask for a raise. Assuming you're a capable IT person, you should ask for at least a 50% pay increase commensurate with your experience. Failing that, get out of there, claim job-seekers allowance and upskill if necessary. Bide your time if you need to but you have got to get out of the rut you're in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭micdug

You cannot afford to pay any meaningful mortgage with that salary or close to it. This is a side issue

im 31 years old
    23 and a half grand a year
    That is extremely poor.

i work for an IT dept in a huge financial company
    Which would have an working annual review system, increments etc
    and have just under 4 years service
    Network Administrator
    Telephony engineer
    Desktop support
    and some facility work
    Your salary should be in the band 28-38k

The word "reflect" is the crux. Ignoring the silly mail room comparison, Do your wages reflect your performance?

Management (I am in a IT management position) aren't stupid. I don't fall for this "my manager has it in for me" nonsense (HR, leveling sessions etc etc would ensure something like this was noticed). Business is business - and to be honest l would see somebody who has not progressed one iota over 4 years and seriously ask why he is still in the business and not managed out.

Not what you want to hear - but you need to engage in some self reflection as to your lack of progress. If you can't see it, sit down with HR and ask them to explain why you are not progressing (if your manager does not have the guts to say so, a common issue). There was no recession in 2005,06,07 and part of 08. Don't use that as an excuse. Find out what you are doing wrong and make an earnest attempt to fix it, agree a PIP with HR and your manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭oil painting

Hi Op,

I am in the same boat trying to secure full mortgage approval, Its not easy out there at the mo, the banks are very strict,

Would you consider the affordable housing scheme, They have a lot of properties to get rid of at present, Loads of my friends have got really nice properties on it, for a 2 bed apartment it cost one of my friends 195 this was 2 years ago i am sure you could get a 2 bed apartment for a good price now, that would not put you into a huge debt but would get you your own home and interest rates are down so your repayments would be too much to handle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭weird

hi all..

Network Administrator
    Telephony engineer
    Desktop support
    and some facility work

i dont even own a tv..

Yes, they are taking the piss, but only because you're letting them.

When I last worked in Desktop support my annual salary was €40,000. When I contracted in Desktop Support I was on around €200 per day. The only server side interaction I had was when I made active directory accounts.

Check out this salary survey: http://www.irishjobs.ie/ForumWW/SalarySurvey.aspx?SalarySurveyID=618&BannorID=a9f10da8&BZoneID=14&ParentID=75&CID=160

You're getting ripped off.

Thing is, yes, the economy sucks but you should have been on much more than €23,000 before the recession hit.

There are I.T. jobs out there... I know. Recently (last week) I started my new job for €50,000 per year. I turned down another job offer in desktop support for €40,000.

I think the problem is most likely with your CV, most I.T. people I know sell themselves short on their CVs and this is probably the case with you. I don't have this problem because I worked in I.T. recruitment for a year... yeah I got out of recruitment but I took much away from the experience. Most people's CVs suck. Most people have no clue how to interview. I'd be happy to review your CV for you and suggest changes if any are needed.
    If I were you I'd get my CV together, improve it and improve your interviewing skills go out an get another job offer. Once another company offers you €30,000 or even €40,000 this crowd you're with will be forced to raise your salary or lose you.

Hi OP,

I was made redundant back in November and didn’t get a job till the middle of Feb. People saying there is loads of IT jobs out there, are wrong, yes there is a load of programming jobs but not many in support. I have 8 years experience and when I was let go I was €35,000, when I got work in Feb the only place I could get was offering me €25,000, I took it because I wanted to get working and couldn’t stand sitting around all day doing nothing. The place I started with, was only 3 month contract and they offered me another 3 months, I have been applying for jobs online but to no avail. I asked about the wage, explained to them the difference in wages from the last place and they gave me an extra €250 a month, it isn’t that much but still better than nothing. I don’t think its what you know I think its who you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭weird

Hi OP,

I was made redundant back in November and didn’t get a job till the middle of Feb. People saying there is loads of IT jobs out there, are wrong, yes there is a load of programming jobs but not many in support. I have 8 years experience and when I was let go I was €35,000, when I got work in Feb the only place I could get was offering me €25,000, I took it because I wanted to get working and couldn’t stand sitting around all day doing nothing. The place I started with, was only 3 month contract and they offered me another 3 months, I have been applying for jobs online but to no avail. I asked about the wage, explained to them the difference in wages from the last place and they gave me an extra €250 a month, it isn’t that much but still better than nothing. I don’t think its what you know I think its who you know.

I have turned down 2 support roles in the last three weeks. The jobs are out there, but you're only going to be considered if your CV is up to scratch and you know how to play the game.

I had no inside track with any of the companies I applied to.

You need to make contacts with good recruiters and contact them weekly, if not daily. out of site is out of mind.

Orla Donagher at Brightwater is very good.

Also, when I apply to a job advert online I always send a follow up email to the recruiter's email address stating why i feel i'd be good for that job. If i don't hear back within a couple of hours I phone the recruiter.

With regards to the other I.T. recruiters out there many have no idea how to really evaluate candidates so they just go for buzz word matching when they scan through CVs... so make sure your CV has the same buzz words on it. I had to make a custom CV for every role I applied for... it's hard work getting a job but it can totally be done.

With regards to my current job I had mailed the H.R. department every week until I got an interview and made sure that my C.V. got in front of the line manager. Once he saw it, he interviewed and offered me the job on the same day!

If you let people fob you off you'll always be last in line. Be professional and assertive and you'll do fine.

Edit: Not to be mean but anyone who has 8 years in support, and hasn't moved past €35K isn't someone to take advice from. My career progession went from running an internet cafe, to Desktop Support in an office for €200 per day, to Senior Desktop Support for €40,000 a year to Application Support contract for €250 per day to a management role at €40,000 per year, to where I am at now on €50,000 per year.

It can be done. Your image and how you sell yourself to recruiters and employers is paramount. Senior people will be treated as such. I still have recruiters calling me weekly.

What really helped me was working in recruitment I got to see how recruiters look at candidates and how they and employers evaluate candidates. You need to speak the language and confidence goes a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Anyone who is telling this guy that he should shut up and be grateful for the job he has is crackers. I know it's only support, but with four years experience, he should be looking at €30k or so anyway.
    I have the feeling that you're not actually directly working for this company - but are contracting for another company who is skimming off your wages. Am I right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Same job in Ireland, in a large financial company. Mate you are being horribly underpaid. I've got three years under my belt, took a pay cut and no bonus this year and can laugh at your pay.

weird wrote: »
    Edit: Not to be mean but anyone who has 8 years in support, and hasn't moved past €35K isn't someone to take advice from. My career progession went from running an internet cafe, to Desktop Support in an office for €200 per day, to Senior Desktop Support for €40,000 a year to Application Support contract for €250 per day to a management role at €40,000 per year, to where I am at now on €50,000 per year.
    Ya bastid :P Respect :cool:

=-=

I agree 100% about the CV. Was working in a cinema for over a year. Did plenty of interviews, but got nothing. Got a friend of the family who works in HR to look at my CV, and tell me where I did wrong. This helped me get a tech support job that suited me within a week. Only on €20,000 a year, but meh, that's cos I got lazy after I got a job, and haven't gotten any certs since. Plan to rectify that within the next year or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Shinbob

Obviously your job isnt graded which is a bit of a balls. Who do you report to, one person or a number of people? The reason i ask is cos sometimes its easily to fall through the cracks if you dont have just one boss. Surely after 4 years you have developed some relationship with this person/persons, is it a good one?

On the house front have you ever considered affordable housing or maybe shared owenership? Its lots cheaper and its designed for people who may not be earning small fortunes

In response to Weird replies, Weird I was quite happy to work for €35,000 a year after 8 years as I had a comfortable life. I got two bounces a year, I had 25 days holiday. My hours were very flexible and never had to work weekends. The company had a great social club and yes I could have moved to another company for more money but why leave a place when you liked what you did and it paid well in my eyes, but unfortunately I was made redundant as there was only 2 of us in IT and had to cut costs.

I was not giving him advice I was giving my story. Fair play to you and getting onto €50,000 a year but are you working in management. I am just working in tech support.

Weird just another question, would you mind if I PM you my CV and you could have a look and maybe let me know if I am going wrong anywhere.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

In response to Weird replies, Weird I was quite happy to work for €35,000 a year after 8 years as I had a comfortable life. I got two bounces a year, I had 25 days holiday. My hours were very flexible and never had to work weekends. The company had a great social club and yes I could have moved to another company for more money but why leave a place when you liked what you did and it paid well in my eyes, but unfortunately I was made redundant as there was only 2 of us in IT and had to cut costs.

I was not giving him advice I was giving my story. Fair play to you and getting onto €50,000 a year but are you working in management. I am just working in tech support.

Weird just another question, would you mind if I PM you my CV and you could have a look and maybe let me know if I am going wrong anywhere.

Cheers

Weird is currently on a short holiday from PI and may not come back or see your reply

It might be an idea to pm Weird about his/her offer. Personally I would be wary of giving personal info to random people on the Internet but it is your choice

Thanks Pimpey, I will PM him/her about it, I will alter my CV in a way that no personal info is displayed.