Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Communications 2009-Who's Doing It?

• 01-07-2009 1:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43

Someone on the other thread suggested a thread for people who have Communications down as their number one choice....so here it is :D

It looks a great course and i really do hope i get the points! What do the rest of ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭feathz

I literally changed it to my number one at the last minute!!

I'm really looking forward to it though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 bluechipmunk

fingers crossed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 LongLiveQ&A

Good luck to you all. You'll have to be prepared for all the journos looking down their nose at you:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Philly Notaro

I gots it down as my 1st coice:D... coming from a plc course though so fingers crossed... Anybody have any idea what they'd like to specialize in yet??...like audio/visial/imaging??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Salbags

Awwh future CS1s... i miss it already!

Seriously, it's a course well worth it, i just finished 1st year in CS and i LOVE it! Ye guys will be defo the same! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fince

ye're battling it out for points against each other as we speak (well, as i type to be more precise)

is communications th most popular course in DCU or what?
    thats the impression i'm getting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Hello future classmates (Hopefully!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 TheDeparted

Fince wrote: »
    ye're battling it out for points against each other as we speak (well, as i type to be more precise)

is communications th most popular course in DCU or what?
    thats the impression i'm getting

Hardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I hope communications is popular. All the more chance of me getting into my course! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 kav91

Got 510 in the lc so prayin for my first choice.. communications.. sounds class:D but kinda nervous...movin up from tipp!!:eek: so ya..hopefully i'm doing it:D monday will tell a lot...:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭sarah+1

510? Shiiiit! I got 440... I really hope i get it :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Had it down pretty high up but I got 410 so I don't see myself getting it!

Ah hopefully we all will:)

I am :):) yesssssssss

me too:D woo;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 bluechipmunk

me too!!!!!!!!!!:)

Me too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭YourName

Me too, see yas in September ! ! ! !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 rustypineapple

me too!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭frankymail

I'm thinking of doing this course next year. I'm well ahead of myself I know, but let us know how you find it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭giveliberty

Congrats to you all!!!!

Take it from a second year you will enjoy it so much.

Remember to get involved in the Media Production Society (MPS) and the College View (campus paper), and DramaSoc, and PhotoSoc, depending on your persuasion!

You are shown the basics in this course - involvement in the above societies will ensure you have a quality degree by the end of it all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Jammy

I got accepted!

Woooo! I've been looking forward to doing this course for so long!

Hello my other fellow new Commies! :cool:

Ahh that all sounds class:D

So excited now..:p

hello future classmates:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Congrats all! I'll guarantee you you'll love it, the course has one of the lowest dropout rates in the college as far as I know. I think there was 1, maybe 2 that dropped out from our CS1 class last year, not bad for a group of more than 65!

Also, keep your fingers crossed for when the timetable comes out in a few weeks. The CS1's from 2 years ago got Fridays off (thats 3 day weekends, every weekend!!), and we were originally meant to get that day off too, but our Psychology lecturer could only work Friday afternoons so we were in from 2-4pm instead. But don't get too excited when the timetable is first released, they'll change it at least 3-4 times before you start, so it'll never be set in stone until your first day of lectures.

Deadly! I heard about the Fridays off, that'd be amazing if it was like that this year?

If it was intended last year then maybe they'll do it this year too *fingers crossed*

Do the timetables go up on the website?

Jammy wrote: »
    Deadly! I heard about the Fridays off, that'd be amazing if it was like that this year?

If it was intended last year then maybe they'll do it this year too *fingers crossed*

Do the timetables go up on the website?[/quote]

They go up on the site, but are changed all the time in the first week, so as Daysha said, keep a close eye on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

This is the final timetable we had for semester 1 last year, just to give you a bit of an idea about what to expect.

http://www.dcu.ie/timetables/feed.php3?prog=CS&per=1&week1=1&week2=12&hour=1-30&template=student

You wont have near that amount of classes though. Like on the tuesdays we were only in 1 of those 3 classes, and on the fridays the psychology seminars were split in two so you'll only be in one of those. Adds up to 13 hours a week I think.

God ye're all so helpful already:) thanks guys!! how's the on campus accommodation up there??:)

I'm excited :) Helloo new friends ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

Be a class rep.
    It's class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 ChillyPhilly

I never thought id be so proud to be a commie!!!:D

So we're all excited yeah?:pac:

Very :D

Buzzin to start!!

Im headin all the way up to dcu on my own so be nice people:P hahaha:p

Why where u from kav? Did u get campus accomodation?

Party in yours straight away if u did:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭dramabob

Ah, CS1, the memories!

There were 85 of us started in 2004, and over 80 graduated - now that's some retention rate! It's the best craic you can have with your clothes (mostly) on, and be sure to join up with loads of societies (but especially Drama *biased*). Be a class rep too - I was for 3 years and it was well worth it.

I did video, which was brill, but the guys in my class that did photography and radio would argue the same, so it's hard to say!

Here's our first video project from 2nd year: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cj6gU6p9Ug4, which netted us a first, which was nice :)

Enjoy yourselves - I know I did!

Tipperary! :) Not sure yet.. dont think we find out till next wed? bit confused with it all ! but no bother, always up for a good session. haha:)

dramabob wrote: »

Here's our first video project from 2nd year: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cj6gU6p9Ug4, which netted us a first, which was nice :)

Enjoy yourselves - I know I did!

That was class dramabob! Cant wait !

kav91 wrote: »
    no bother, always up for a good session. haha:)

Good man... my new tipp drinkin buddy haha!!

Good man...

Good girl dont ya mean haha.
    :D haha cant wait.
    Wooo..just got my accomm today..all set lads:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Postman-Layla

Classmate high 5;)
    Friend of mine started CS last year and she literally never shuts up singing its praises. Good sign I'd say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 youwish

see you all there :]

kav91 wrote: »
    Good girl dont ya mean haha.
    :D haha cant wait.
    Wooo..just got my accomm today..all set lads:)

Awh im sorry i dunno why i presumed u wer a guy ha... But nevertheless u got accom? congrats:D When do u move in/When u havin a party?haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭madmandaniel

Yeah, i just got offered it as my first choice (480 in the LC woohoo)
    However i wont be seeing you guys this year unfortunately, im deferring until next year as i will be moving to Brazil next month to live with my grandmother (im half-brazilian)
    Ill keep updated here to see what you guys think of it!
    Ill probably do the video module but we'll see ;)
    BTW, i sent my defferral request yesterday, should there be any problems with it, or they do always accept deferalls?
    peaceeee

I've been asked about "course materials" on a grant application, can any current communications students help me out?

Are there any books or computer stuff or anything specific like that to buy?

phasers wrote: »
    I've been asked about "course materials" on a grant application, can any current communications students help me out?

Are there any books or computer stuff or anything specific like that to buy?

All books are available in the Library. But, if you want to decent in several of your subjects my best advice is to purchase Giddens Sociology - you WILL use it. It will cost you about €70 as far as I remember - may have underestimated.

Otherwise nothing else is needed, except a few refill pads - they don't qualify as course materials.

All books are available in the Library. But, if you want to decent in several of your subjects my best advice is to purchase Giddens Sociology - you WILL use it. It will cost you about €70 as far as I remember - may have underestimated.

Otherwise nothing else is needed, except a few refill pads - they don't qualify as course materials.
    Cheers for replying so quickly :)

Yeah I figured it'd be pretty minimal on the materials front, it's also nice to hear that I won't be lugging around a ton of books!

phasers wrote: »
    Cheers for replying so quickly :)

Yeah I figured it'd be pretty minimal on the materials front, it's also nice to hear that I won't be lugging around a ton of books!

Oh and you might want to think of purchasing a Mac Book Pro at some stage - there are plenty of Macs on site but it would a nice xmas prezzie to start to hint about!!!

I'd love a Mac Book Pro :(

I just have my Sony Laptop for now.

Come on Lotto!

Jammy wrote: »
    I'd love a Mac Book Pro :(

I just have my Sony Laptop for now.

Come on Lotto!

Me too, I splashed out on a vaio in early 2008 and it cost €1300 :/ I can't really afford a mac right now but should i consider saving up? Is it really necessary?

sarah+1 wrote: »
    Me too, I splashed out on a vaio in early 2008 and it cost €1300 :/ I can't really afford a mac right now but should i consider saving up? Is it really necessary?

It is not hugely necessary - but all the production module (Video, Photography, Audio) lecturers will tell you how great they are, and how easy it will be to have them - there is a discount for students - which you can buy on the DCU online learning environment, Moodle.

I wasn't too keen on giving DCU any money - I imagine (but not sure) that they get a cut from it. So I know a mate who works in Apple - quickly availed of the beautiful staff discount.

If you intend on getting involved in the MPS for DCUfm or DCUtv, and PhotoSoc it can be handy to have one for your extracurricular work - it is NOT by no means necessary to have one - but there is no way I would be able to my level of work for what I am involved in without it - I have to do lots and lots and lots and lots of editing - I am also a graphic designer so well I need one anyway. But several people in my class - I'm now CS 2 - just finished CS 1 - got one at Christmas. There are about 25 iMacs that are capable of Video editing. About the same for Audio - but they are older - and both labs can do photoshop as far as I remember. Your class will only be about 80, and then its divided by three roughly. So there are roughly enough machines.

You don't absolutely need it, but it will be handy.

Maybe I should start hinting for a Christmas present then... Or hanging out some place that sells Macs to get a discount :P I've always wanted one but have never used one. Are they hard to get used to? Will I be working with solely macs in this course? :)