Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SOS makes his ECW debut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

Cringe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Jimmy McMurtry

Was never a huge fan but fair play to him!thought it was a pretty good debut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

its funny the dublin accent on american tv sounds really culchie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Carroller

Alter ego ronan keating?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭poms

yea loved his finisher move looks lik modified rock bottom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

was a decent debut match, good finisher,and can actually see him doing well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

That was actually quite good! The big boot in particular looked awesome! Will be interesting to see if he can build upon this and put himself in the title frame on ECW.

This Irish at the start was gas: "Is fear mor rua me!!" haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭PRICELESS

To all the people that told me he'd never make it to TV...told ya so!

I thought that was a great debut, you only have to listen to the crowd to tell he's made a connection straight away, the nature of the squash seems to indicate that he's in line for a big push. I can see him being the one to beat Dreamer for the belt.

Well done Steve and best of luck.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

EdK wrote: »
    Cringe

gotta hope for the big fellas sake thats only an initial irish reaction whilst the yanks lap it up, which i think will be the case... surprised the commentators werent slaggin off how pale he is but i guess they are waiting till post his debut to make fun of him

Hes going with the Celtic warrior bit so that should be easier enough for him as it isnt exactley a new persona

yep the finisher now looks like a cross between a Chokeslam and the rock bottom so it should get over with the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

Jeez lads without being smart here but are the WWE making a joke out of him. He has the token Paddy/traveller look to him. Ginger hair and ready to fight. Like someone from the movie Snatch.

DenMan wrote: »
    Jeez lads without being smart here but are the WWE making a joke out of him. He has the token Paddy/traveller look to him. Ginger hair and ready to fight. Like someone from the movie Snatch.

isnt that what he has always looked like not just a WWE thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

DenMan wrote: »

That's the way he looked when he was wrestling on the Irish scene. You obviously never saw any of his matches when he was here!!

isnt that what he has always looked like not just a WWE thing?

You could be right but his hair and beard looks dyed (badly at that too!!!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I think he did OK for a squash match. He didn't cut an amazing promo but the crowd were into the match, suprising for a squash.

I hope he does OK but his gimmick ****ING SUCKS

will americans think this though? or just us irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Prufrock

Fair play. We'll see where he goes from here. It's safe to say his eh unique look makes him memorable. Nice finisher and he generated a bit of crowd reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

His music is terrible.

His performance wasn't bad though and I think the whiteness will help him stand out if anything.

Decent enough finisher too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Personally I think he looked way more polished than he looked in FCW. Mic skills are ok (need work), but fine for a heel. Ring skills looked alot better than what I've seen before.

He also has a bit of acting experience, The creative team love that. Why is he so pale if he's been living in Florida for so long?

Sure don't ya know joe, it rains a lot here in Ireland. ;)

Suprised the WWE didn't say he may pick up a tan on the rainbow while he counts his pot o' gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Fair play to him. It was a good debut, and at least the crowd was not silent, which was no bad thing.

Vince likes big guys, and SOS ticks that box, plus I reckon, with the right guidance, he could cut a decent promo.

I'll be keeping my fingers crossed for him anyway as I would love to see someone I saw compete on the Irish circuit make it to a decent level in WWE. I think with a bit of luck and a lot of hard work that it would not be improbable to see him getting into the midcard in the future.

Just think of how some of the mega names looked on their debuts, Hunter and Rock for example, and then the idea of SOS being a midcard name does not seem quite so far fetched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

That entire video is better with the sound off.

Fair play to him tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I was on the American forum that I am member of this morning and the common concensus was basically "that is the whitest guy I have ever seen.":pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭RebelRockChick

His music is terrible.

Once it kicks in, it sounds like something out of South Park!

Good quality vids of it on youtube

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Nice debut, booked strong and generated a crowd reation, looks promising imo. The yanks are gonna eat up the oirish shtick like fecking crazy, wait till he does a show in Boston!

Fair play to him and best of luck with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Dickmcsavage

I think he played it safe in the match to be honest. Nothing too crazy but nice finisher, certainly got a reaction from me. I have to say I shuddered the second he opened his mouth. His music is hilarious though. Hopefully a nice feud with that Finlay fella will come about at some stage.

I have to say I shuddered the second he opened his mouth

thats what all ye dub boys sound like on tv :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Cringe indeed. Surprised he didn't come out wearing a leprechaun hat and with a pint of Guinness in his hand. "Sheamus?" Suppose it could have been worse. They might have called him "Big Mick".

His mic skills need a bit of work. Finisher is great looking. Good luck to him. Will be interesting to see how the yanks deal with it.

He looks a bit like Conan O'Brien on steroids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

Decent enough start for Sheamus. He should be intresting enought to watch, pity finlay got drafted. Loving the music and lack of tan. Good luck to him.

He looks a bit like Conan O'Brien on steroids.

more like james hetfield on roids i thought

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,517 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Well done to Sheamus.

The finisher is pretty good. The Kick was good too, I think Priceless gave us a heads up on that in the locked thread.

Not sure what people find wrong with the gimmick. He stands out, its easy to understand, it plays on the fact he is Irish. He needs to make an impression now, and over time he can refine it if given the chance.

I found ECW interesting, I feel like a tool for my initial reaction to the draft business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I actually liked his music...

Fine, is all i can describe it as. Wait and see. Was ECW live this week or recorded? Can't trust reactions on a recorded show.

At least his whiteness will give Americans something to mock him over.

He debuts right as Finlay is drafted away... coincidence i think not. Let him try and get over/make a name for himself on ECW before pulling the trigger on the Finlay vs Sheamus feud or Finlay/Sheamus team. If they were both on the same show they would have to have the two of them interacting in some way. Similarily to Christian being kept away from Edge atleast until he re-establishes himself.

I don't want to seem like I'm constantly sucking up to the guy just because I trained with him but I really was very impressed with the debut.

I loved everything about it, I thought it was flawless actually, well booked and I love his music, although it will probably be changed/modified in some way in the coming weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭RAMPAGE1

I read a thread on here titled can WWE get any worse well enough said. I have been probably the most critical of the guy. I think his debut was ok I especially enjoyed some of his facials but unfortunately I cannot see WWE giving him the time he needs and to mention him in the same circles as Christian and especially the ECW Title is way over the top in my opinion just look at how long Christian has been trying. Also for those who mentioned crowd reaction you should go back and listen again as it wasn't what you think in my opinion

gotta hope for the big fellas sake thats only an initial irish reaction whilst the yanks lap it up, which i think will be the case... surprised the commentators werent slaggin off how pale he is but i guess they are waiting till post his debut to make fun of him

Hes going with the Celtic warrior bit so that should be easier enough for him as it isnt exactley a new persona

yep the finisher now looks like a cross between a Chokeslam and the rock bottom so it should get over with the crowd.

The match was fine the promo was tough to listen to though haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Gaeilge ar WWE? An rud is annamh is iontach. Maith thu a Sheamuisin.

RAMPAGE1 wrote: »
    I read a thread on here titled can WWE get any worse well enough said. I have been probably the most critical of the guy. I think his debut was ok I especially enjoyed some of his facials but unfortunately I cannot see WWE giving him the time he needs and to mention him in the same circles as Christian and especially the ECW Title is way over the top in my opinion just look at how long Christian has been trying. Also for those who mentioned crowd reaction you should go back and listen again as it wasn't what you think in my opinion

Dude, the ECW belt is on Dreamer, the last thing he did that was memorable was drink out of a toilet 7 years ago and the last memorable accomplishment he has had in the ring (excluding his 10 min reign as the REAL ECW champ in 2000) was when he finally beat Raven 12 years ago...trust me that belt is not beyond Sheamus.

Although according to Rajah none of this new breed of ECWer's are officially superstars yet, including Sheamus, so maybe we should cool our jets for now.

I'll go on record and make a bold prediction now though, Sheamus will be ECW champ by the end of the year. You heard it here first.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,517 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

PRICELESS wrote: »
    Dude, the ECW belt is on Dreamer, the last thing he did that was memorable was drink out of a toilet 7 years ago and the last memorable accomplishment he has had in the ring (excluding his 10 min reign as the REAL ECW champ in 2000) was when he finally beat Raven 12 years ago...trust me that belt is not beyond Sheamus.

Although according to Rajah none of this new breed of ECWer's are officially superstars yet, including Sheamus, so maybe we should cool our jets for now.

I'll go on record and make a bold prediction now though, Sheamus will be ECW champ by the end of the year. You heard it here first.

Who the fluck is Rajah?

Its possible there will be a few Shawn/Gavin Spears moments in this latest talent initiative.

Hope your right about Sheamus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Who the fluck is Rajah?

Its possible there will be a few Shawn/Gavin Spears moments in this latest talent initiative.

Hope your right about Sheamus.

What is Rajah.

And it's a terrible spam filled wrestling news site. Last time I checked anyway unless it has gotten any better over the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Fair play to him for making it big time, lets hope he can win the ECW championship and end up on SD or Raw as a main eventer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭RAMPAGE1

PRICELESS wrote: »

No offense dude but your beginning to sound the way his publicist used to sound on here. The guy has had one three minute squash match on ECW and the reviews from his house show matches haven't been good. I see this latest move by WWE to decide whether or not FCW is worth the hastle and if not it will drop it and all the talent associated with it. WWE is currently going through massive cost cutting like all businesses in the current climate and although Sheamus has improved he's been in FCW for 2 years now and I expected much more than two lines of Irish and improved facials. I think your prediction is a stretch at best considering how long it took him to get on the house show circuit. I still believe that his impression of the Ultimate Warrior on Raw in England as a security man has been his best work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Jim Ross has posted his latest blog

http://www.jrsbarbq.com/blog/damn-its-hot-fresno3-shows-can

he mentions SOS with this little tidbit

Sheamus, the Keltic Warrior is a keeper

btw he knows celtic is spelt wrong something to do with his blackberry :), so make of that what you will

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭irishcrazyhorse

Personally I feel that if he can keep steady and not **** up he has a good chance of making it over to smackdown before the end of the year...

Finlays charater is now fighting anything that moves and you could see him getting into a feud with the Hart foundation and not been able to deal with the numbers game and taking SOS as his partner!?

His cousin?

Or they will pull the trigger and have a feud between the two which would do wonders for SOS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭The Bull

It was a good Debut. I agree with the eariler comments that he may get a decent push seeing that his match was a relative squash. Best of luck to him, he seems to have put in alot of work over the years and he has finally reached the promised land. Nice finishing move too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭The Bull

The Fink comments on Sheamus's Debut.

http://fans.wwe.com/howardfinkel/blog/

"I liked what I saw in the man from Dublin, Ireland. He was very impressive from the opening bell to the end of the match. This young man who sports the best farmer's tan that I've ever seen made fairly short work of his opponent last night. There's something about Sheamus that for his ECW debut last night, spells p-l-a-y-e-r, sooner than later"

This young man who sports the best farmer's tan that I've ever seen :D lol

that one way of puttin it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭Sunset V

I thought it was an excellent debut to be honest. I think we're judging him on the mic skills as we have the burden of knowledge as his voice sounds out of place and different. It was still better than an awful lot of wrestlers (who have carried titles in the past year) would come up with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭ScumdogV2

I didn't think it was that bad to be fair. I can't understand why people were cringing at it though. He's had far more cringeworthy moments in IwW and on those God awful TWC promos.

ScumdogV2 wrote: »
    I didn't think it was that bad to be fair. I can't understand why people were cringing at it though. He's had far more cringeworthy moments in IwW and on those God awful TWC promos.

Yeah true but those other cringeworthy moments were on a small scale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭ScumdogV2

EdK wrote: »
    Yeah true but those other cringeworthy moments were on a small scale

Why did you find his ECW debut so cringeworthy?