Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British Army to launch recruitment campaign in Republic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

The Brits have been recruiting Irish for donkeys years.They have thier own regiment!

Out of interest,how are they being forced to join a foriegn force?The DF isent disbanding.I wanted to join but it so happened they stopped recruiting,so I took the opportunity to go to college instead then apply when it opens again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

If i were to join any form of Defence Force, I would prob join the british Air Force, if only for the reason that our Fighter Jets are absolute rubbish.

I'd never join an armed force though anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

The Brits have been recruiting Irish for donkeys years.They have thier own regiment!

I know yeh but AFAIK technically they can't actually recruit anyone here, they just have to rely on people applying themselves. Plus the Irish regiment is mainly made of people from the North, where they're obviously allowed recruit.
    Out of interest,how are they being forced to join a foriegn force?The DF isent disbanding.I wanted to join but it so happened they stopped recruiting,so I took the opportunity to go to college instead then apply when it opens again.

Jaysus talk about bein pedantic, I never even implied the DF was disbanding so dunnno where ya got that from. I'm goin to college meself like, but college isn't for everyone, there are people who would like a career now in the DF but can't join because of the ban, and will just end up joinin foreign armies to get that career. Plus nobody knows how long this recruitment ban is gonna last, so you could finish college and the ban might still be in place, are you still gonna wait around then?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Meh, I've been poring over the Royal Navy website and it looks extremely tempting; wide range of career choices (medical assistants...), great travel opportunities, ability to go on humanitarian work etc.

One thing holding me back (as cliché as it sounds); Ireland's been extremely good to me, serving under its flag is a massive pull factor.
    I just hope the IDF are recruiting when I leave college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jim236 wrote: »

Jaysus talk about bein pedantic, I never even implied the DF was disbanding so dunnno where ya got that from. I'm goin to college meself like, but college isn't for everyone, there are people who would like a career now in the DF but can't join because of the ban, and will just end up joinin foreign armies to get that career. Plus nobody knows how long this recruitment ban is gonna last, so you could finish college and the ban might still be in place, are you still gonna wait around then?...

So what should the DF do? Blindly sign up any amount of people that rock up in the name of nationalism? Who will pay this giant wage bill?

Suppose the dole rates could be back to the full employment times......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Have they run out of their own to aid them in launching immoral wars, now they want to take our men and women with them?

dlofnep wrote: »
    Have they run out of their own to aid them in launching immoral wars, now they want to take our men and women with them?
    There's been a longstanding agreement that the British can recruit Irish citizens into their armies. I believe they are just prevented from actively advertising.

An Irish citizen can get most of the jobs in the British armed forces although some like submarine work are limited to those with no citizenship but British.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Never disputed that. I would take issue with them actively recruiting in Ireland, especially when they've still failed to take onus for shedding blood on the streets of Ireland and offered apologies for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

SeantheMan wrote: »
    If i were to join any form of Defence Force, I would prob join the british Air Force, if only for the reason that our Fighter Jets are absolute rubbish.

You are only allowed to become a pilot in the RAF or RN if you were born in the UK. Other than a position as a pilot you can be what ever else you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

How much is the Queens shilling in todays money?:pac: lol

Anybody who has,nt seen it already should watch Strumpet City,great docu-drama(I think made by RTE)

puts a lot of perspective on Irish guys joining the British army.
    also I have seen ads for the British army in Irish editions of UK newspapers.

History would challenge anybody if they looked into their hearts to ask after the 1913 lockout in Ireland would you have joined the British army or watch your wife/kids die of cold&starvation?

Never disputed that. I would take issue with them actively recruiting in Ireland, especially when they've still failed to take onus for shedding blood on the streets of Ireland and offered apologies for doing so.

I was giving background info; wasn't commenting on your viewpoints at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

Taoiseach Sean Lemass killed a british spy the day collins ordered the execution of names of British spys He received from Dublin castle.before firing the bullets Collins men said "may god have mercy on your soul"(as final words the spys heard)

The British response was of course the 2nd Bloody sunday in croke pairc(first one was in India)

third one in Derry.

another eye for another eye until everyone is blind:(

of course imperialism was ALWAYS the folly of the rich and plunderers.

most deaths were working class penniless guys regardless of race?

Stekelly wrote: »
    So what should the DF do? Blindly sign up any amount of people that rock up in the name of nationalism? Who will pay this giant wage bill?

Suppose the dole rates could be back to the full employment times......

Well the gob****es in the Dáil are more than happy to pay for their benefits, and Biffo with his 300k salary(more than the US President!), and all the wasted money in the HSE. I'm sure they could afford to maintain the current numbers, at least then there'd be some level of recruitment to replace anyone retiring. But now they're cuttin back the numbers, just because the DF is an easy target. Look what happened when they tried to do the same with the HSE, they had the unions all over them and they backed down.
    There's been a longstanding agreement that the British can recruit Irish citizens into their armies. I believe they are just prevented from actively advertising.

Are ye not free to join the BA from any country? I don't think theres any 'special agreement' between Ireland and Britain, we just happen to be the nearest English-speaking country.

The army?
    I dunno about them

Royal Navy/Marines is only open to British/Irish/Commonwealth countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

You are only allowed to become a pilot in the RAF or RN if you were born in the UK. Other than a position as a pilot you can be what ever else you want.
    wrong-check out the red arrows web site, the nine pilots have just come back from active duty in afganistan four five were born in the UK one born in hong kong, one born in bogota colombia, and two born in new zealand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

They might have dual-citizenship passports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭McArmalite

To me there seems to be a few on this forum who have an agenda of pushing the british forces onto the forum continually with silly little titbits of information. Alone on this page of threads we have

UK Armed Forces Day 27/6/09 http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055605249

First MRTT for RAF. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055604613

Edinburgh Tattoo http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055606624

This is an IRISH military discussion forum, not a british one. Now obviously there are interesting stories, developments etc happening outside of Ireland and the forum would be very boring if foreign stories or experiences were not posted from time to time. But as I said, there seems to be a few on this forum who have an agenda of pushing the british forces onto the forum continually.

It should be noted also in the forum charter - " There will be no recruitment for any foreign army or paramilitary groups whether they have been proscribed or not in the real world, in Boards.ie world they are all un-welcome. "

( It should be noted, that none of the above have got a reply yet, so any possibility those who insist on posting such trivel nonsense about the british forces could get the message and stop these silly posts ?? )

( When I edited this post at 9.49 there were no replies to the above threads I have mentioned. However minidazzler has post on the UK Armed Forces Day 27/6/09 thread after 11.00 and I'm sure will be followed by other loyal admirers of her majesty forces on this thread and the other two threads very soon - :rolleyes: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

People are just posting their opinions which they are entitled to.

After seeing the queue for the dole office this morning I'd actually consider joining the army, I don't see why there hasnt been an influx of new recruits into the Irish Army, or am I wrong and there has been ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

McArmalite wrote: »
    It should be noted also in the forum charter - " There will be no recruitment for any foreign army or paramilitary groups whether they have been proscribed or not in the real world, in Boards.ie world they are all un-welcome. "

That rule was implaced by Hagar during a time when modding this forum became very difficult due to both a very strongly pro-British sentiment, and a very strong Anti-British sentiment.

At the time, I was young and foolhardy, I was in the Strongly Anti-British camp, not I am quite Pro-British, but not to the degree of pushing people to join.

Mairt has expressed no preference either way, he seems to be on the fence, he has allowed discussions to go on regarding the BAF, but not arguements, since he is the Top Dog here now, who are you to give out if he allows it. A rule emplaced by one mod does not have to be strictly adhered to by another mod if they feel the rule will not feck with the forum.

I am sure that if it became necessary, Mairt or Pocc would step in and enforce whatever rule they see fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Daz, I'm shocked.... you Anti-British!!!!! in the words of that moaning Geeza with one foot in the grave..."I DON'T BELIEVE IT!!" :p

iceage wrote: »
    Daz, I'm shocked.... you Anti-British!!!!! in the words of that moaning Geeza with one foot in the grave..."I DON'T BELIEVE IT!!" :p

As I said, young and dumb. this was way back when I even believed in a god!!!:eek: 2 years ago IIRC. Long time in my book.

You know, I don't really see any mention of recruitment in any of those threads mate. Just a discussion of ALL things military.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

looking it up it seams you do not have to be british to join any of the british armed forces-also you do not need the be irish to join the irish armed forces[the only criteria in the republic is that you must have lived in the republic for at least three years],it is not illegal to recruit citizens from any EU countrys for any of the armed forces within the EU- in fact i have noticed both france and spain advertising for legionnaires in one irish magazine-two years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

...what jets? :pac:

I thought he had been in the brits myself, but I'm obviously wrong on this. You claimed to have been in the TA haven't you .....
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59404874&postcount=30
    You know, I don't really see any mention of recruitment in any of those threads mate. Just a discussion of ALL things military.
    I didn't state their was actual recruitment, what I said was - " To me there seems to be a few on this forum who have an agenda of pushing the british forces onto the forum continually with silly little titbits of information. " And I stand over it.

Sure was McArmalite. I'm sure you don't have any problem with the fact that I'm a plastic paddy, born in the UK and spent time in the TA and post regularly here on a Military forum do you?

Quite right of you to stick to your guns on your post well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

The only jets the Air Corps have are a Gulfsteam and a Learjet, both used for Ministerial Air Transport. It's grossly unfair to compare the Air Corps to the RAF. As I see it, if anyone sees a career for themselves in some part of the RAF then they should go ahead and give it a go. There are many people from the Republic of Ireland serving in the British armed forces and I would wish every single one of them well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Is there going to be a change in their recruitment methods then? I would have thought the amount of adverts on the satellite channels available to most of the Republic would be enough.

The NI ads in particular always seem a bit too polished and too much like a film or TV show. I doubt we will see a recruiting office in Dublin (and if we did I think the Fire Brigade would be kept busy), so I don't think we are really going to see any difference.

Just as a side issue, the Edinburgh Military Tattoo is as much about marching bands from America or Canada, or military bands from Jamaica as it is British bands. Not sure of the percentages but I am sure its at LEAST 50 - 50 between British and Rest of the World military.

Maybe it would encourage a steeldrum playing Jamaican to join their defence force but I think most young men and women would be watching Ross Kemp rather than the Military Tattoo.

I think the RAF thread is more plane spotting than recruitment.

The Armed Forces day thing is a bit of a nothing thread isn't it. Armed forces day as a concept is odd but I think its a typical bit of spin from a modern government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭CZ 453

I would say that SKY television is doing all this recruitment at the moment.Although the british army dont have people physically south of ireland they do have TV ads and internet doing most recruitment work.Closest barracks is portadown which is a fair distance to travel for an interview especially if your from munster.I dont agree with what was said above in 'no discussion on joining foreign military'.Britain is in the EU and the army is just a career so it would be unfair to deny an individual the right to talk about a possible career in another EU country.I couldnt see a soccer forum stopping its members talking about trying to play for Liverpool,united..etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I know yeh but AFAIK technically they can't actually recruit anyone here, they just have to rely on people applying themselves. Plus the Irish regiment is mainly made of people from the North, where they're obviously allowed recruit.

They are allowed to advertise in the north yes,not here.But they will be making noises about how they need people for the RIR.There is nothing to stop people from the south going over the border and putting thier name down.

I know you dident say that the DF were disbanding,but people are hardly being "forced" to join foriegn forces.Yes its a bad thing that the PDF will be losing numbers to the Brits,but that has always been happening.I will still wait around after college.Until then I will do as much as possible to get ahead of the rest applying.

I can see where you are coming from though,but unfortunatly we where always going to suffer in this economic crises.
    This is an IRISH military discussion forum, not a british one. Now obviously there are interesting stories, developments etc happening outside of Ireland and the forum would be very boring if foreign stories or experiences were not posted from time to time. But as I said, there seems to be a few on this forum who have an agenda of pushing the british forces onto the forum continually.

It should be noted also in the forum charter - " There will be no recruitment for any foreign army or paramilitary groups whether they have been proscribed or not in the real world, in Boards.ie world they are all un-welcome.

If you dont like the british threads that fine,but why do you insist in stopping the rest of us enjoying them?:confused:

This is a military thread,as Iceage said for all things military.

People are not going to make a life changing decsion because of something they read on boards,so saying people here are pushing others to join is a naive view.These choices are thought over and over time and time again.

Every so often you come on pushing you anti-brit sentiments and it is getting really annoying.Times change,move on ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

To me there seems to be a few on this forum who have an agenda of pushing the british forces onto the forum continually with silly little titbits of information. Alone on this page of threads we have

UK Armed Forces Day 27/6/09 http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055605249

( It should be noted, that none of the above have got a reply yet, so any possibility those who insist on posting such trivel nonsense about the british forces could get the message and stop these silly posts ?? )

( When I edited this post at 9.49 there were no replies to the above threads I have mentioned. However minidazzler has post on the UK Armed Forces Day 27/6/09 thread after 11.00 and I'm sure will be followed by other loyal admirers of her majesty forces on this thread and the other two threads very soon - :rolleyes: )

ROFL @ that post get over yourself my post is a picture about their newest Aircraft which is a Military Aircraft in a Military forum. Pathetic.

This is an IRISH military discussion forum, not a british one.

Can you show me where it says that as it says Military.
    Now obviously there are interesting stories, developments etc happening outside of Ireland and the forum would be very boring if foreign stories or experiences were not posted from time to time. But as I said, there seems to be a few on this forum who have an agenda of pushing the british forces onto the forum continually.

So im also pushing the US Agenda when i posted the F22 Raptor pic?:rolleyes: Your post is priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

Getz
    wrong-check out the red arrows web site, the nine pilots have just come back from active duty in afganistan four five were born in the UK one born in hong kong, one born in bogota colombia, and two born in new zealand
    The rule still applies. The Hong Kong born guy is British. His Father, I suspect was flying for Cathay Pacific after his service with the RAF. He's hardly Chinese. The Colombian is probably has a British Mother and he lived all except one year of his life in the UK. Both would have qualified as British under parentage rules at the very least. The two Kiwis are interesting as they were part of an influx of New Zealanders to the RAF and RN after the fast jet squadrons were disbanded by the New Zealand goverment. They were already fast jet pilots so got into the RAF on that basis and it's entirely possible that both were entitled to British passports already. It's fascinating to see two Kiwis in the Reds at the same time.

So your point isn't valid. You cannot join the RAF as pilot or aircrew unless you were British born, that includes children of British parents born overseas. Most Irish don't fall into that category. Apparently the reason for it, is to do with security clearances for American equipment in use by the RAF. A stipulation of the Americans in fact. It could still happen though. I have a few nephews and nieces who were British born or have a British parent. They could in fact apply to the RAF as pilot or aircrew. Not that they are interested of course.

As for you Steyr, admit it. You are a recruiting agent for foreign imperialist armies! How much do they pay you?;):D

As for British army recruitment in Ireland. I doubt if it will involve much if any in the way of on the ground recruitment. But there are plenty of opportunities to advertise in newpapers and on TV stations which find their way to the Republic. You might see more ads in the North for Irish regiments which emphasise their 'Irishness'. I doubt if you'll see them handing out leaflets or setting up a rival stand to the Irish army display during the Salthill airshow if it ever comes back.

So McArmalite can decommision his paranoia.

As for you Steyr, admit it. You are a recruiting agent for foreign imperialist armies! How much do they pay you?;):D

They pay me..........

800px-dr_evil.jpg

One Million of the Queens Pounds.....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Things are moving fast, I took this photo as I was passing the local pub (sorry about the quality, crappy camera phone)

recruiting.jpg

This thread is priceless...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭pmg58

Plenty of people here enjoy discussing foreign militaries, that doesn't mean that they're recruiting. I have no interest in joining a foreign military myself, but I have respect for those who see the dole queues and the recruitment ban here and decide to do something with their life rather than wait around.

You seem to take it as a personal insult every time that someone mentions the British armed forces. I can understand that it may not be a subject that you enjoy, but why do you insist in coming in and trying to tell everyone that they should change just to suit you?

And where in this forum does it state that its only for the discussion of Irish military matters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

This is a Military forum, not one specific to the Irish Military.

There has been no examples of people recruiting for the British Armed Forces on this thread or at all lately, so why bother bringing it up? People take an interest in all things military, such is life. People may express admiration for certain Armed Forces, so what? I do it enough times and I fail to see a problem with it.

Steyr created a thread about a British aircraft, so? He quite regularly makes threads about various aircraft and I for one, am thankful for his contribution to the forum.

pmg58 made a thread about Armed Forces Day? So what? Once again, he's a great contributor to the forum. I made a thread on Memorial Day... Does that mean I'm trying to recruit for the Yanks?

The Edinburgh Tatoo thread was completely harmless and didn't even get a reply.

People on here have an interest in all things military and for many of us, it's a large part of our lives. And considering both the British and American armed forces are pretty much in the thick of it, discussions are gonna be raised about them. As for people admiring them, I fail to see the problem? Personally, I admire the British Armed Forces quite a bit, they're among some of the best troops in the world and anyone who claims to be a soldier would be foolish not to admire their abilities. Does that mean I'm a "loyal subject" as someone put it?

People are well aware of what's in the Forum Charter, as are the Mods. If someone was to try start recruiting for ANY countries Armed Forces, Mairt or I will deal with it. We don't need people to start trying their hand at back seat modding or in this case, making an issue out of a complete non issue.

This is the Military Forum, so get used to Military issues being discussed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

Worse still the Royal Navy have resorted to press gangs. I took this picture in Cobh with my camera phone this morning hence the rather poor graphics. I only just escaped by leaping into the harbour.
    Pressgang.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭oncevotedff

....After seeing the queue for the dole office this morning I'd actually consider joining the army, I don't see why there hasnt been an influx of new recruits into the Irish Army, or am I wrong and there has been ?

The recruitment ban in the public sector means that there is nobody joining the DF now or for the foreseeable future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭JamesTaylorfan

Those adverts should come with a government health warning.
    Being a soldier may damage your health.
    Soldiering KILLS.

No way, are you serious?

I'm sure people are fully aware of the risks that come with soldiering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Soldiering KILLS.

While you're campaigning for that you should also get onto the farming, construction and mining industries. You should also insist that everyone's drivers licence has a big warning saying "You are 12 times more likely to die behind the wheel of your car than you are behind a rifle in Afhanistan"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Poccington wrote: »

There has been no examples of people recruiting for the British Armed Forces on this thread or at all lately, so why bother bringing it up? People take an interest in all things military, such is life. People may express admiration for certain Armed Forces, so what? I do it enough times and I fail to see a problem with it.

Steyr created a thread about a British aircraft, so? He quite regularly makes threads about various aircraft and I for one, am thankful for his contribution to the forum.

pmg58 made a thread about Armed Forces Day? So what? Once again, he's a great contributor to the forum. I made a thread on Memorial Day... Does that mean I'm trying to recruit for the Yanks?

People on here have an interest in all things military and for many of us, it's a large part of our lives. And considering both the British and American armed forces are pretty much in the thick of it, discussions are gonna be raised about them. As for people admiring them, I fail to see the problem? Personally, I admire the British Armed Forces quite a bit, they're among some of the best troops in the world and anyone who claims to be a soldier would be foolish not to admire their abilities. Does that mean I'm a "loyal subject" as someone put it?

People are well aware of what's in the Forum Charter, as are the Mods. If someone was to try start recruiting for ANY countries Armed Forces, Mairt or I will deal with it. We don't need people to start trying their hand at back seat modding or in this case, making an issue out of a complete non issue.

I have no qualms with that, like I have no qualms with those who criticise the policies of the British Army throughout the world.

Soldiering KILLS.

Being alive kills you.

Poccington wrote: »

Steady on their Poccington !!!! Look, apologies if you thought I was criticising your moderating of the forum and not applying the charter. The reason I included the part of the charter is because this forum before was been ruined by nutters swamping the forum with threads about joining the brits, even chastising guys for enquiring about joing the Irish DF, which unfortunately is closed at the moment.

But it must be said, I'm not the only one who gets fed up of these silly little threads about the british forces. Here's a post from a guy called TomRooney in the rebuilding Afghanistan thread

" REALY why do you people keep posting rubbish about the British Army and there colonial conquests, Nobody cares what they do, this is Boards .IE as in IRELAND not boards .UK

you people realy need to stop this unhealthy obssosion with Foreign armys, we have our own you know.

ps i know there are 3 or 4 members of the PDF in AFG, but that doesnt justify a whole thread dedicated to the subject of british army
    "

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59790918&postcount=6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

And anyone who reads this forum will know TomRooney and treat his posts with the attention they deserve..........

My own opinion is his posts deserve none.. :)

I have no qualms with that, like I have no qualms with those who criticise the policies of the British Army throughout the world.

I have no qualms with those kind of discussions either, once people approach them with a level head. It's once they turn into flame wars that it begins to annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Ok, but is anyone actually going to do it?

McArmalite I hope you're not including me in those group of "nutters swamping the forum with threads about joining the brits". I posted this thread because I'm against the British Army running any type of advertising campaign in the Republic, or on this island, or any foreign force for that matter but the BA in particular(for obvious reasons). When I posted the thread it was to discuss how the BA could advertise here given the ban on foreign armies recruiting here, and obviously the effect it'd have on the Irish DF.

Like I can't understand why this issue of "its boards.IE not boards.CO.UK" is coming up, because the issue being discussed directly affects Ireland, and the Irish Defence Forces, so why shouldn't it be discussed here?

Yes but Boards.IE is part of the WORLD Wide Web. So that point is null.

How does this non-issue affect Ireland in any way shape or form?