Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last few days for scumbags crinimals

• 30-06-2009 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0630/crime.html
    Best news ive heard in years, basically all those pure dog **** pathetic excuse for human beings AKA tracksuit wearing pieces of filth scumbags that are a member of any gang wil go to prision when this new law is rushed through, so i would expect to see all those limerick and dublin hoods off to prision even if they havent commited a crime :D:D:D great news but its a petty they didnt go further and take there kids off them them and put them up for adoption to give them some hope in life, bascially i think the Guards and army should be allowed to pick up any scumbag piece of filth, there easy to spot with there tracksuits and white runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Kama

a gang does not need rules, membership or roles for those in it, any hierarchical or leadership structure or continuity of involvement.

So...any 3 or more people, on the word of a Guard? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭SouthKerry

Kama wrote: »

Yeah its great news wish i was a guard myself to get a few scumbags off the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

All these scumbags already have multiple convictions, they've already been caught time and time again. The should still be in fckin prison.

This is handing too much power to the guards and the minister.

Should those boys in Donegal have had this power?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Kama

And into our overcrowded prison system?

Maybe we can provide some muhc-needed employment in the construction industry building new prisons, and some shiny new public-sector jobs in the Prison Service while we're at it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Iskenderun

I think we are being a bit too hard on these 'scumbags'. After all, they have to get up early in the morning to attend social welfare centres. And can you imagine living with the trauma of not quite remembering how many kids you've fathered in the past year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

What sickens me is the humans rights crowd up in arms over these poor people... but there wasn't sight nor sound of them when poor Roy Collins, Shane Geoghegan etc were killed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Kama wrote: »

Yes, beggars belief that this is going through...

Ireland is about to become a VERY dangerous place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I thought it great news but wondered what prision are they going to house them in and more importantly what type of crim are to going to let out early to get them in! Electioneering me thinks!

But good start, a better start would be a new prision program.. Oh i forgot we just dont have the money. Ahh shame,. we will just have to let them continue on the robbing spree driving up the cost of insurence etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

why don't they just overcrowd prisons like they do in russia etc? To be honest, it's not the gangsters that bother me, they seem to only shoot each other, drive cars around etc., it's the normal hoodlums roaming the streets kicking innocent people to death over cigarettes etc and being extremely anti-social that bother me, what rules are they bringing in to tackle that problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭NilByMouth

SouthKerry wrote: »
    Yeah its great news wish i was a guard myself to get a few scumbags off the street.

Im glad your not what with you wanting to lock people up for not commiting anything and the fact that you think all tracksuit wearing people are scum.

You sure you didnt mean to post in AH?

and the fact that 3 or more people can be considered a gang on a word of a guard is worrying from a civil rights pov.

like some one posted above the lad in donegal would of been locked up for life because of corrupt guards in donegal.

But its a well known fact that the guards arent corrupt(only in donegal and they have long since left the force)and we should not worry about them picking/bullying on petty criminals(anyone remember dean lyons?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Knee Jerk legislation at its finest. :mad:

people giving out about this - what do you think we should do? NOT get tougher on crime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

The problem is my friend - parts of Ireland that you are entirely unfamiliar with are ALREADY a very dangerous place. Go visit West Dublin, Knocka in Cork, or O'Malley Pk in Limerick and come back to us and talk about Ireland becoming a dangerous place.

NilByMouth wrote: »

and the fact that 3 or more people can be considered a gang on a word of a guard is worrying from a civil rights pov.

And having scum lording over whole housing estates in a reign of terror is worrying from a day-to-day living pov.

Interesting to see which way the balance tips for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,569 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

according to the radio this morning extension to detention periods will be able to take place without the defendant or any of their legal representatives being there.
    really not sure on this legislation we need to do something with these guys but is this the right way ?

Zambia232 wrote: »
    Knee Jerk legislation at its finest. :mad:

Yeah - 'cos all the crime gang stuff just happened yesterday. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Am I the only one who thinks this will make no difference?
    There's no gaol cells to put them in and the gaols are like social clubs for these guys anyway, free food and lodgings etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

Scumbags like those that killed Shane Geoghane and Rory Collins deserve no sympathy or support! As far as im concerned they forefitted their rights long ago when they began killing innocent people.

I would ask that the Minister go one step further, instead of putting in a maximum sentence of 15 years for some crimes, I would instead put in a minimum sentence of 15 years. Our prison system is too easy, murder will get you 12 years or so in prison! Bloody disgrace!

As for people thinking the guards will have too much power, firstly I would imagine that all people involved in these gangs are known to the guards. They know who to look out for. So if you are walking down the street in your white shiny tracksuit and a guard passes, he wont say anything to you unless you are a memeber of the criminal gang.

Lock em up, lock all those scumbags up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Quite right! Let the do gooders,the civil libertarians walk through many housing estates or city areas at night.These gangs have successfully spread the terror culture among the law defying young.The courts have become havens for them,not an institution that should be respected and feared,if they are guilty of assaulting,intimidating,terrorising,murdering passers by and their own neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    it's not the gangsters that bother me, they seem to only shoot each other, drive cars around etc.,

Donna Cleary? Shane Geoghan? Pipe bombs in residential areas? Heroin and cocaine being sold to children? Gangsters are social parasites in working class communities, polluting areas with class A drugs and generally facilitating all the other sh*t that occurs in working class estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

SouthKerry wrote: »
    bascially i think the Guards and army should be allowed to pick up any scumbag piece of filth, there easy to spot with there tracksuits and white runners.

I wear tracksuits, I have tattooes, dare I say it, every evening I walk my beloved Staffordshire Bull Terrier around my gaff. God, in your eyes I'd probably qualify for the death penalty would I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

FTA69 wrote: »
    I wear tracksuits, I have tattooes, dare I say it, every evening I walk my beloved Staffordshire Bull Terrier around my gaff. God, in your eyes I'd probably qualify for the death penalty would I?

for your fashion sense maybe :D

It will never become that extreme. The criminal gangs are known to the guards. Hell we all know who they are! Something has to be done to stop what is happening.

There was a march of solidarity in Limerick not so long ago. The people are fed up of being terrorised. Its not happening in little pockets, the gangs are branching out and killing innocent people you are in the wrong place at the wrong time. This is not just in Limerick, this is in Dublin as well.

Front page of the indo yesterday, gangs use girls as young as 8 to terrorise families and carry out arson attacks. 8 years old. Is there any hope that those children will grow up with some sort of moral compass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Martyr

bit of a red herring imo.
    where are the government planning to keep these gang members?
    Mountjoy? :rolleyes:

The 158-year old jail is creaking at the seams. It has a capacity for 540 inmates but the numbers have been consistently higher for months - with more than 630 inmates sleeping everywhere from the reception area to concrete floors and in cleaning cubicles.

read more..

In holiday camps? with a tv or playstation to keep themselves out of trouble ... poor cretins will have little to do otherwise, except drink / drugs, cause trouble for staff.

The government will just let the "less dangerous" criminals out on to the streets, so long as its kept quiet of course..that includes murderers convicted of "manslaughter" repeat offenders for rape, burglary, violent assualts.

The system will wait for some poor bastard to get attacked, then the perpetrator will get locked up again for a month or two.

If you robbed a bank now or didn't pay your tax, thats different story - unless you were already rich and had friends in Fianna Fail, you'll definitely rot in hell...

well, mountjoy is definitely over-crowded.

But the subsequent overcrowding crisis has led to a dramatic upswing in the number of criminals being released on temporary release orders (TRs) at the discretion of prison governors. In October 2008, more than 360 offenders were on temporary release out of a population of 4,012 prisoners. This compared to 189 on the same date in 2007 out of a prison population slightly below 3,500.

Last month, more than 560 offenders were out on TR orders out of a prison population of 4,430. But even though almost 15 per cent of prisoners are out on TR, the occupancy rate is still running at 106 per cent across the state’s 15 prisons.

whats wrong with the death penalty for repeat offenders? it makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    What sickens me is the humans rights crowd up in arms over these poor people... but there wasn't sight nor sound of them when poor Roy Collins, Shane Geoghegan etc were killed...

like every other sector , the bleeding hearts have to justify thier existance and salary by putting out a statement every so often

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭NilByMouth

solice wrote: »
    So if you are walking down the street in your white shiny tracksuit and a guard passes, he wont say anything to you unless you are a memeber of the criminal gang.

Nice thought but it doesnt work in the part of dublin where I live.The guards harass criminals and joe soaps alike.

Dont get me wrong im all for going all out at the gangs but i dont think there are enough safety checks in the legislation to stop some people being banged up wrongly.Also the new law is being rushed through the dail just before it closes for the summer,leaving it possible that it could be full of legal loop holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Guess it boils down to, can we trust the Gardai to pick up the right type of scum people for this law and can we trust the govt to actually keep them in prison by terminating the temporary release programme?

FTA69 wrote: »

I think anyone wearing a tracksuit in public for anything less than sporting reasons should be fined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,884 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I dont think it will be as easily done as people imagine. Judges and lawyers love trying to talk down to and make fools of guards in their courtrooms. They are probably drooling at the prospect of taking on the poor unfortunate Gardai who try to bring someone to court using this law.

So doubt the Guards will descend on these scumbags and start rounding up tens of thousands of them as soon as word reaches them that the law is on the books...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I think anyone wearing a tracksuit in public for anything less than sporting reasons should be fined

Roll on the fashion police!:D

Just ask any tracksuit wearer where the stadium is...good luck getting an answer.;)
    Sand wrote:
    So doubt the Guards will descend on these scumbags and start rounding up tens of thousands of them as soon as word reaches them that the law is on the books...

So we have strong laws that are not enforced for any reason, nothing new there. It reminds me of the fireworks law or the L driver law, all just for show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

This isn't politics, it's a rant-fest. Moved to AH.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I'm not joining the bleeding hearts brigade and I support most of the bill, but people being tried in the Special Criminal Courts is pointless in my opinion.

We have a real problem with gangs intimidating witnesses. This won't be changed by having the trials in the special criminal courts.

As far as I know, the same issue doesn't exist for jury intimidation,and I would have thought there's easier ways to get around that.

Anyone think its just a move by the justice department to make it look like they're doing something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Good-oh. Now there'll just be more little ****bags to fill their place when they are locked up. Then there'll be more gangstars than eva.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Anyone think its just a move by the justice department to make it look like they're doing something?

Egad's no..
    Something passed through irish legislation that is controversial, Just to look like the powers that be are trying to do something productive without really trying...

Say it aint so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭D Audio Tripper

Spudmonkey wrote: »

Have you seen the youtube video these idiots, who are apparently responsible for Roy Collins' murder posted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭I_am_Jebus

We have a country in economic crises, large capital/infrastructural programmes are being curbed etc... because of costs and all the rest.

The Bill is grand I've no issues with it but jesus we have to start looking at the bigger fecking picture in this country.

Why should scum be thrown into prison (with measley sentences for horrific crimes) and be allowed to educate themselves, play pool, watch tv, sit around and get free living for x number of years.

Why the hell are they not chain ganged and put out to do manual labour assisting the state/community in various projects. Fair enough, projects like road building, metro lines, luas tracks etc... requires specialised/qualified people to undertake certain aspects of the job but there's plenty of manual labour involved too. The state could save plenty of money on large capital projects this way.

These scum should be MADE give somethin back to the community from which they've stole from. At the moment, they sit in prison, make no repayment contribution to society and continue to take from it by getting free food, education and living quarters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

Yes, if you're a GANGSTER OR CRIMINAL!!!! :rolleyes:

It might just get less dangerous for all the law abiding non-scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Now we're going to start seeing fashionable 'hoodies'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    Yes, if you're a GANGSTER OR CRIMINAL!!!! :rolleyes:

It might just get less dangerous for all the law abiding non-scum

Your naivety warms the cockles of my heart. I mean your so wrong it's painful, and this is a dangerous erosion of civil liberties, but i can't be mad at you. It'd be like kicking a puppy.

And i mean if two people were around while i kicked said pup--- I AGREE TOTALLY WITH THIS LAW

YOURS SINCERELY
    DUKEOFDAIRYPRODUCTS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It would be a lot cheaper were they to have scumbag re-cycling bins. They could make Soylent Scumbag Green and this could be used in the value ranges sold in supermarkets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

solice wrote: »
    So if you are walking down the street in your white shiny tracksuit and a guard passes, he wont say anything to you unless you are a memeber of the criminal gang.

Lock em up, lock all those scumbags up!
    unless *he says* you are a memeber of the criminal gang.

where should we look up all the scumbags?
    it costs more to lock them up than it does to pay them their dole and rent.
    house arrest might be a good idea for minor crimes, do they do that in ireland with the tags?

it can be of benefit for them to go to prison. they then have an excuse for not finding work and dont get any hassle from the welfare officers anymore.
    "nobody will hire me cos i did time in the 'joy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

People willing to trade their freedom for temporary security deserve neither and will lose both.- Ben Franklin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

people giving out about this - what do you think we should do? NOT get tougher on crime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Can we expect to see the likes of the Shell to Sea protesters dragged before the Special Criminal Court thanks to this new legislation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Can we expect to see the likes of the Shell to Sea protesters dragged before the Special Criminal Court thanks to this new legislation

It would certainly seem to make it possible

Also, is this law not unconstitutional?

Freedom of Assembly is guaranteed by Article 40.6.1 in the BnaE so how do they plan to arrest some groups of 3 or more people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It would be a lot cheaper were they to have scumbag re-cycling bins. They could make Soylent Scumbag Green and this could be used in the value ranges sold in supermarkets.

Good idea but not for me.Saw a gang of 'em U tube with BMW [since crashed]issuing threats,acting out the execution of a rival.Sick lot,definitely mentally and morally diseased.Might feed the Scumbag Green to dog[no,too much respect for the dog]To the pigs? dodgy,government regulations,health risk.:eek::D

Also, is this law not unconstitutional?

Freedom of Assembly is guaranteed by Article 40.6.1 in the BnaE so how do they plan to arrest some groups of 3 or more people?

if some people in the 'gang' have been arrested im sure they would consider that a criminal gang and any member in that 'gang' can be arrested, i can see it being used against shell to sea.

giving away your natural resources to other countries for free and bailing out greedy corrupt banks is ok tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Anyone that thinks that signing away a degree of your civil liberty for the purpose of apprehending a tiny minority of criminals is a small minded prat

if some people in the 'gang' have been arrested im sure they would consider that a criminal gang and any member in that 'gang' can be arrested, i can see it being used against shell to sea.
    I guess we're lucky that the BnaE also guarantees Freedom of Association in Article 40.6 :)