Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork City Sports International Athletics: 4th July

• 29-06-2009 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭

So Ireland's only International Track and Field meet takes place this Saturday, 4th of July, at the Mardyke in Cork.

This is a great day out, and I'd encourage anyone in the vicinity or even further afield to make the effort to attend. I'm hopefully going to attend for my third year in a row, and have really enjoyed it each time.

Unfortunately, like most things, it has been affected by the recession and has had to slightly cut back on the programme. Both Men's and Women's Shot Put events have been scrapped, which is a pity since the likes of Reese Hoffa, Denise Hinrichs and Nadine Kleinert competing there over the past couple of years. I thought to qualify for EAA Permit Status you had to have at least one throws event, but I may be wrong (then again I'm not sure it still has an EAA permit) Also gone are the Women's 3000m and 200m (won in sub 23 last year :( ).

Enough with the negativity though, there's been some good names announced thus far. All the Irish top names seem to be there, Hession, O'Rourke, Proper, Heffernan and Cullen (according to the press statement). Cragg is also stated to be there, but he's also down on the startlist for Oslo the night before. Same story with Campbell.

Brendan Christian, Benita Johnson, Bernard Williams, Ivet Lalova (10.77 100m runner 'officially'), Uk record holder Montell Douglas (who's also run a windy sub 11) and Christin Wurth-Thomas are other big names mentioned. The men's HJ looks to be a fantastic comp if the names released actually compete, with the Russian Voronin and Americans Jonas and Nieto there. Cork regular Brianna Glenn, who just jumped a windy 6.8x to make her first U.S team returns. What a change in fortunes for her after finishing second last here last year with 6.06m!

Should be fun!

http://www.corkcitysports.ie/index.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

I wanna go :( but it's too much of a key club coaching day with the Juvenile Nationals coming up. I've never been to a meet at the Mardyke and I'm like a kid outside a sweetie shop every time I'm in Cork and I walk or run by along the river.

Hope it's a great day and that the O'Rourke girl gives the Rebs something to celebrate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭tergat

Some of the distance fields so far:

Irish Sports Council Mens 1500m

1 Alan O'Brien Ireland
    2 Mark Hanrahan Ireland
    3 Conor Healy Ireland
    4 Alistair Cragg Ireland
    5 Barnabás Bene Hungary
    6 Ross Clarke England
    7 Birgen Bethwell Kenya
    8 Kevin Moriarty Ireland
    9 John Coghlan Ireland
    10 Darren Brown USA
    11 Adam Perkins USA
    12 Tommy Schmitz USA
    13 Jonathan Taylor England
    14 Stephen Davies Wales
    15 Chris Moss Wales
    16 Eoin Everard Ireland

Cork Airport Mens 3000m

1 Aidan Bailey Ireland
    2 Craig Murphy Ireland
    3 Brian Farrell Ireland
    4 Patrick McCartan Ireland
    5 Martin Conroy Ireland
    6 Michael Skinner England
    7 Mark Draper England
    8 Peter Nowill Australia
    9 David McCarthy Ireland
    10 Emmet Dunleavy Ireland
    11 Thomas Fitzpatrick Ireland
    12 Dan Mulhare Ireland
    13 Michael Mulhare Ireland
    14 Marcin Fundalej Poland
    15 David McNeill Australia
    16 Linus Chumba Kenya
    17 Scott Overall England
    18 Rory Chesser Ireland
    19 Sean McGrath Ireland
    20 Sean Connolly Ireland
    21 Mark Kirwan Ireland
    22 Mick Clohisey Ireland
    23 Mark Christie Ireland

Tergat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Rineanna wrote: »
    Cullen

I don't think Mary will be competing.

Should be great but sadly won't be able to make it.

Have had great times at the Cork City Sports including one almighty session that saw me throwing shapes on the dancefloor of whatever that club is with the very tropical name (is it Havana?) with a strop load of american and canadian jumpers. I can't dance but was too locked to care.

On the EAA Permit thing, there was talk of a Gillick vs Hession over 300m battle to find out who really is the fastest Irishman. Organisers apparently turned it down as it didn't fit in with the EAA Permit status or something to that effect. Athletes wanted it and I'd imagine that is one race that would catch the imagination of Irish athletic fans more than any other. Would definetly be there if that was on the cards, would be like Johnson vs Bailey (Irish style):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

On the EAA Permit thing, there was talk of a Gillick vs Hession over 300m battle to find out who really is the fastest Irishman. Organisers apparently turned it down as it didn't fit in with the EAA Permit status or something to that effect. Athletes wanted it and I'd imagine that is one race that would catch the imagination of Irish athletic fans more than any other. Would definetly be there if that was on the cards, would be like Johnson vs Bailey (Irish style)

a) That answers that then; it's still an EAA meet.

b) Feck anyway, a Hesh vs. Gillick would have added a bit of spice. Can't understand why they can't run it as an event outside the main programme, like the IMC development races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭RJC

Will go.

b) Feck anyway, a Hesh vs. Gillick would have added a bit of spice. Can't understand why they can't run it as an event outside the main programme, like the IMC development races.

Think this was last season that it was a possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

Will make every effort to be there, as this is MY (all mine I tell ya :rolleyes:) training track.
    Very interested to see how Mark Hanrahan gets on in the 1500m, he is a class act.
    I have raced against him (*picks himself up off the floor after substantial bout of hysterical laughter*), you know what I mean - in a road race where he finished 1st and I finished 2563rd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 runrunrun

it is not an EAA permit or premium meetings...just look up the EAA website..cork is listed as a national permit meeting...not an EAA permit meeting

runrunrun wrote: »
    it is not an EAA permit or premium meetings...just look up the EAA website..cork is listed as a national permit meeting...not an EAA permit meeting

Hence why I said
    (then again I'm not sure it still has an EAA permit)

The CCS website says that 'following consultation with the EAA...etc' which shouldn't be required if it's no longer an EAA licensed meet, while it's not referred to as an EAA meet anywhere else like the EAA website as you say, so was just seeking clarification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

It's always worth popping along to this, you never know what star of the future you might see. I was at it in about 1996 direction and saw Cathy Freeman winning her race in impressive fashion.

Presumably the crowds have been hit in recent years with the lack of Sonia?

It's always worth popping along to this, you never know what star of the future you might see. I was at it in about 1996 direction and saw Cathy Freeman winning her race in impressive fashion.

That's class. I believe she still holds the meet records for 200m/400m.
    And to compete in the back yard of Sonia, her off-the-track enemy? Cheeky! :pac:
    Presumably the crowds have been hit in recent years with the lack of Sonia?

I was never there in the Sonia days, but the crowds are ok. There's usually a big enough crowd, with a good buzz around the place. Not packed by any means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

Gillick vs Hession over 300m! kind of mouth watering...Hession all the way.He got real close to Wariner in the 300m last year.

Sounds like it gonna be good

Any chance they might one year have just one big name attending,get Nike or Adidas or Puma to bring one of their Olympic medalist athletes for a promo.Not even running but do the rounds on tv or radio. Be well worth the cost.

Il be there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

Derval o rourke has withdrawn due to a muscle strain..it's a real pity because I was really looking forward to seeing her compete,especially given her recent good form! but im going to go anyway and looking forward to a great day of athletics:D

runjb wrote: »
    Derval o rourke has withdrawn due to a muscle strain..it's a real pity because I was really looking forward to seeing her compete,especially given her recent good form! but im going to go anyway and looking forward to a great day of athletics:D

Thats a pity. Hurt it over at European Team Champs I think, best not to risk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

Yea as tempting as it is to run at Cork,i think it was best she withdrew! It's still a strong line up for the women's hurdles.
    Does anyone know where I could get my hands on a timetable for Saturday? I can't find one on the host website! Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

runjb wrote: »
    Does anyone know where I could get my hands on a timetable for Saturday? I can't find one on the host website! Thanks

http://www.corkcitysports.ie/viewpage.php?memid=87

Yeah, she'll have to wait yet another year for a home win at the CCS.

Start Lists: http://www.corkcitysports.ie/viewpage.php?memid=94&parent=94

Some good fields, stronger than last year but some of the opposite too. Looking forward to it all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

1 26 4 Brendan Christian Antigua 83 10.12
    2 4 5 Paul Hession Ireland 83 10.20
    3 28 6 Mark Findlay England 78 10.38
    4 53 2 Jermaine McQueen USA 84 10.49
    5 57 8 Darragh Graham Ireland 84 10.79
    6 110 1 Kiril Kirilov Bulgaria 83 10.81
    7 25 7 Chris Craig England 89 11.25
    DNS 118 3 Chris Williams Jamaica 72 DNS

Wind: +3.1

Brian Gregan 1st in the 400 in a time of 47.02

800m Race 1
    1 915 Paul Robinson St. Cocas AC 4 1:53.43
    2 914 James Ledingham West Waterford AC 3 1:55.07
    3 913 Anthony Lieghio Tallaght AC 3 1:55.32
    4 916 Darragh Greene Dunleer AC 5 1:56.20
    5 910 Gavin O'Sullivan Raheny Shamrocks AC 1 1:56.52
    6 917 Mark Mc Donald Clonliffe Harriers AC 6 1:56.84
    7 912 Paul Breslin Crusaders AC 2 1:58.26
    8 920 William Hughes Thurles Crokes AC 8 1:58.90
    9 919 Ronan Duggan Bandon AC 8 2:00.55
    10 911 Morgan Mc Donagh Dunboyne AC 2 2:04.48
    190 Fergal Ellis Ballinamore AC 4 DNF
    918 Keith Maher Thurles Crokes AC 7 DNF

100m B race
    1 146 4 Steven Colvert Ireland 10.65
    2 17 5 Jonathan Holmes Ireland 89 10.70
    3 106 3 Seye Ogunlewe Nigeria 10.92
    4 145 6 Dean Adams Ireland 90 10.94
    5 58 1 David O'Shea Ireland 10.99
    DNS 144 2 Craig Lynch Ireland DNS
    DNS 50 7 Andrew Graham Ireland 88 DNS

Another sensational PB for the sprinting starlet

ecoli wrote: »
    100m B race

Legal wind too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭helpisontheway

100m B race

Does t mean Seye has declared for Nigeria?

Anyone have results from the 200m?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

Anyone have results from the 200m?

Hession won with 20.45

Gringo78 wrote: »
    Hession won with 20.45

Is it legal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭cickimc

was 3.1 i think

i dont know if its legal are not

round up is on athletics ireland now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭cwboy

Anyone know the results of mens high jump?

Great day's competition. Fields were a bit sparse in parts but there was lovely weather, if a little windy, for 99% of the meet. Hession looked well as usual. Colvert looked good too, more like a sprinting High Jumper though! :)

Ailis McSweeney ran a windy PB of 10.52 (+3.7) behind Lalova who ran 10.25.
    cwboy wrote: »
    Anyone know the results of mens high jump?

Nieto and Nuijens tied for the win at 2.21m. Really unforunate as the weather was perfect all day bar the men's HJ and relays at the end when it lashed.

Pity to see so many DNS in the 3k from top quality runners alright. But still good day of performances all round

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 RunToFart

"Weather perfect all day until the mens high jump and 4*4"...

illegal winds from the start of the competition of 3.1, 3.7 and 5.5 for one of the long jumps is not perfect weather for t+f. Strong wind up home straight means athletes had to run into the same wind down the back straight from 400m up to 3k. Not perfect weather.

RunToFart wrote: »
    "Weather perfect all day until the mens high jump and 4*4"...

illegal winds from the start of the competition of 3.1, 3.7 and 5.5 for one of the long jumps is not perfect weather for t+f. Strong wind up home straight means athletes had to run into the same wind down the back straight from 400m up to 3k. Not perfect weather.

I meant in terms of rain, or lack thereof, and warm weather, but point taken. And if you've any idea about the Mardyke, it's pretty much a given that there'll be illegal winds.