Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beginner/3 Par Courses in Munster/Leinster

• 29-06-2009 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭

Hi lads, first foray into the forum.

A few mates and I have recently taken up golf, we have been playing a par 3 outside of Bunclody in Wexford, but we are looking to branch out onto other courses. I'm living in Dublin at the moment but originally from Cork so travelling isn't really an issue as we have places to stay in both areas.

We are all recent graduates, unfortunately unemployed for now, so greenfees at the lower end of the scale are preferable.

Cheers.

As an aside, anyone played the new course in Bunclody? We were at the range there last week and it looks spectacular, also the lad on the Segway Golf was pretty astounding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 cakesnjelly

Deer park in Howth have a 12 hole par 3. Not sure how much it costs though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭zeptar

Short course in Deer Park is cheap enough. About 8 quid midweek and 12 quid at the weekend. Played it alot last year when I took up golf, before I ventured out on to longer courses. Really enjoyed playing it though and made a return to it recently for old times sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

Rathaspeck manor in wexford is probably one of the best par3 courses in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭1967

Bunclody golf club cannot rate it highly enough played it a few weeks back €120 for a fourball before 10 in the morning,also look at teetimes.ie and the gui site they have golf courses advertised on that with special offersthere are plenty of bargains out there to be had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 IrishCathal2008

Good choice. About 20 euro, I am told.

Cheers, given us a grand tour to try out. Keep em coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Scarke in New Ross have a Par 3 (think its about €16 or 17 for 18 holes, prob about €12 for 9 holes) and a full course (€22 for 18 holes), as well as a driving range. Ballinteskin on the other side of New Ross is a short hilly Par 3 with 9 holes for €6 and extra 9 holes €1 (I think). There are more Par 3's down near Fethard on Sea but I've not been so I'm not sure on exact location, cost or quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

Glen Mills Par 3 Just off the N11 at Newtownmountkennedy is a great Par 3.... can get very busy at the weekends, though! Tees usually booked for groups/societies Saturday and Sunday mornings but days/evenings weekdays no problem. €12.50 weekdays/€15.00 weekends for 18 holes.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Alzar

Slievenamon Golf Club. may be of interest. Only played it once ;)
    http://www.slievenamongolfclub.com/pages/fees.html

Public course in Waterford City:
    http://www.1golf.eu/en/club/williamstown-golf-club/
    I have never played it but have heard very good reports.

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Hi lads, first foray into the forum.

A few mates and I have recently taken up golf, we have been playing a par 3 outside of Bunclody in Wexford, but we are looking to branch out onto other courses. I'm living in Dublin at the moment but originally from Cork so travelling isn't really an issue as we have places to stay in both areas.

We are all recent graduates, unfortunately unemployed for now, so greenfees at the lower end of the scale are preferable.

Cheers.

As an aside, anyone played the new course in Bunclody? We were at the range there last week and it looks spectacular, also the lad on the Segway Golf was pretty astounding!

wherebouts in the real capital are u based?
    just to give you any close-by courses like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    Scarke in New Ross have a Par 3 (think its about €16 or 17 for 18 holes, prob about €12 for 9 holes) and a full course (€22 for 18 holes), as well as a driving range. Ballinteskin on the other side of New Ross is a short hilly Par 3 with 9 holes for €6 and extra 9 holes €1 (I think). There are more Par 3's down near Fethard on Sea but I've not been so I'm not sure on exact location, cost or quality.

Scarke is €18 for full golf. Only a few euro cheaper for par 3. For a full round of golf thats a bargain. Very good course too.

Best Par 3 course i have played by a good bit is Athy. Nice one near Graigunamanagh on Carlow/Kilkenny border but its hard to find. Called Carrigleade. Wish there was a list of Par 3s on the web, i have a feeling i don't know about many of the better ones.

soundsham wrote: »
    wherebouts in the real capital are u based?
    just to give you any close-by courses like

Originally from Mitchelstown but have car, will travel!

Best Par 3 course i have played by a good bit is Athy. Nice one near Graigunamanagh on Carlow/Kilkenny border but its hard to find. Called Carrigleade.

Carrigleade, Carlow is actually the course we have been playing, excellent course with some nice long par 4's and fantastic scenery. Extremely reasonable green fees at €10 during the week for a round. Very well kept too.

Cheers for all the help lads, nice to get helpful replies from a first post in a new forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

heres some for cork for the summer season

open singles every mon in lee valley
    open singles every mon in blarney begins after may weekend
    open singles every tues in muskerry begins after may weekend
    open singles every wed in mallow
    open singles every thurs in bandon

all around the €20-25 mark think the lee valley one may be dearer but include grub

hope this helps
    dont know of any par 3 stuff though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭chemicalfred

Blanchardstown golf centre have a par3 course. Swords open is a good beginners course. There is also one in Julianstown Co. Meath just off the M1 but that is probably a bit far out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

liffey valley is a nice little par 3 course(just off the m4 bout 5 mins past the shoppin centre). it a tenner for 18 holes. well kept and most of the holes are around 120 to 160 yards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭jackal

Rathaspeck manor in wexford is probably one of the best par3 courses in Ireland.
    Down wexford way....

Rathaspeck manor is very good. The front 9 is generally a bit of a pitch and putty trudge round a field up until 7th, then the course just comes to life. 7th is from beside the clubhouse down a ridiculously steep hill and over a pond to the green. I have no idea what club gets you to the green as i have never hit it! prevailing wind is head on. 8th is back up the same hill, a nice long shot. I think the 11th and 13th are both from a very steep hill through trees to tiny greens - wedges but really testing. There are a couple of par 4s after that and long par 3s. Great value at 12 quid on the weekends.

Down that neck of the woods there are also the rosslare burrow course, a pay and play 12 hole links. Quite forgiving as there are no bunkers, but absolutely gorgeous views and plenty of length on many of the holes. Greens are fantastic. 20wkday/25wkend.

St helens bay near rosslare harbor has a 9 hole "Tuskar rock" pay and play. Some great holes and some mediocre ones. Gets a bit tight on the back 4 holes, you must be accurate or you will lose plenty of balls in the waist high rough or the lake. on weekends its 25 to play 18. Think its 15 for the 9. Plenty of long holes, its not a par 3. Greens are immaculate, and the course in general is very well kept. Plenty of bunkers!

In dublin...
    There is an 18 hole par 3 in newcastle out past clondalkin. It looks a bit crap.

Grange castle have a 7 hole pay n play. 16 to play it twice. Not great to be honest, most of the danger is from trees so it can be frustrating to lose a lot of balls on a round. Greens are poor, but again, you get to use the long clubs.

Burrow par 3 in stepaside is ok. Condition is quite good, some long holes on the back 9. Front 9 is SW territory, very repetitive. Greens a bit dodgy and never flat. 7 Euro or so.

Cheers, we went out again in Carrigleade yesterday in the driving rain, absolutely loved the greasy greens! Most of the holes are over 160 yards with 4/5 over 260 yards with plenty of bunkers and obstructions, lovely course imo.

Went around in 82, 24 over par not allowing for a handicap, was hitting the greens pretty consistently in 2 with two 200+ yard drives onto the green in one, but those slippy greens, while enjoyable, were my downfall.

Thinking of trying my home club, Mitchelstown, in the next few days to see if I can cope on a full length course.

Thanks again for all the recommendations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

I usually do between 10-15 over in Carrigleade. Been playing there a long time though and i still find it a challenge every time. The last two holes are killers and can ruin a good score. Doing great business there which says a lot about the course considering its almost in the middle of nowhere. Seems to always rain there too:rolleyes:.

I actually hit the green in two on the last two holes, but made an absolute mess of some of the shortest holes on the course! My putting really banjaxed my score.

Cheers again for the recommendations lads, one final question. As we are all unemployed graduates cash is pretty tight. We haven't invested in golf shoes yet, are most clubs very strict on this side of things? I've e-mailed a few courses but haven't been getting replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭geurrp the yard

Blanchardstown golf centre have a par3 course. Swords open is a good beginners course.

Where abouts in blanch is this course? Is the course any good, any long holes and how much is it in?