Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Billy Mays dies at 50

• 28-06-2009 8:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭

Madness. "Hi, Billy Mays here, from the Afterlife.."

And the Samurai Shark. The Awesome Auger. Mighty Mend. Oxy Clean. Orange Glo. Mighty Putty. :(

http://www2.tbo.com/content/2009/jun/28/281143/tv-pitchman-billy-mays-found-dead-tampa-home/news-breaking/
    TAMPA - Internationally known TV product pitchman Billy Mays was found dead in his South Tampa home this morning.
    Wife Deborah woke up and found Mays, 50, in bed and not breathing, according to Tampa police spokeswoman Laura McElroy. He was dead when Tampa Fire Rescue arrived at Mays' house at 2853 Bowen Daniel Drive. Emergency workers pronounced him dead at 7:45 a.m.
    Mays had no obvious injuries, and there were no signs of forced entry at the home that overlooks Old Tampa Bay, No foul play is suspected, police said.
    Family members told police Mays hadn't been feeling well Saturday and that he went to bed early, shortly after 10 p.m., McElroy said.
    Hours before, Mays was on board a US Airways flight from Philadelphia that landed safely at Tampa International Airport Saturday afternoon after its front tires blew out, resulting in bumps and bruises to some passengers.
    Mays told WTVT, Channel 13, that he got hit in the head during the rough landing.
    "All of a sudden as we hit, you know, it was just the hardest hit; all the things from the ceiling started dropping," he said. "It hit me on the head, but I got a hard head."
    Mays, who is active on the Twitter social networking site, posted his last update at 2:01 p.m.
    "Just had a close call landing In Tampa," Mays wrote. "The tires blew out upon landing. Stuck in the plane on the runway. You can always count on US Air."
    Any connection between Mays' death and the rough landing would be speculation, McElroy said. More will be known after Mays' autopsy, which could be performed as early as Monday, she said. If a toxicology examination is needed, those results could take another four to six weeks.
    Mays' family has remained largely silent since his death.

[cont'd]
    Infomercials will never be the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Tragedy! I think :confused:

It should have been Barry Scott

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

Tragedy! I think :confused:

It should have been Barry Scott

Hi, Barry Scott here.

Are you tired of dirty blood stains on your carpets? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Ah no way, not Billy Mays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Did he do anything else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

50 seems to be the cut off point lately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I want a big city slider after watching that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

We will all remember where we were when we heard Billy Mays died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I loved him in Home Improvement =(

RIP Richard Karn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I had to google the name.:rolleyes:

Did you not get the memo? 50 is the new average life expectancy.

dsmythy wrote: »
    Did you not get the memo? 50 is the new average life expectancy.

yeah, anyone who stands in front of a TV Camera is fecked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

galwayrush wrote: »
    yeah, anyone who stands in front of a TV Camera is fecked.

Can't wait for Tubridy to come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Who's Billy May?

Podge2k7 wrote: »
    Who's Billy May?

A dead guy,:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

His last twit was strange... almost final destination like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Queen won't be the same without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Oh God not Billy Ray :( Anyone but Willy Hay

Without Jill, there's no point to my life.
    Goodbye cruel world.

(And RIP)

jester77 wrote: »

All Twits are strange, that's why they are called Twits.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Yeah.. but..

.. what did he do recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Christ I'm more shocked at Billy going than MJ.

Billy was a legend, "the shouting man" we call him here. Yeah, he hawked shite on infomercials, but jaysus Billy that "Mighty Mendit" and "Mighty Putty" stuff is only brilliant.
    Ok so the mighty putty didn't fix the leaky pipe or the mighty mendit didn't fix the tear in my jeans, but they were only a tenner!

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

dsmythy wrote: »
    Did he do anything else?
    Nothing else really. No, he was not on Home Improvement, whoever suggested that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

An anagram of his name is 'Ballsy I My'

Says it all really..

RIP Billie Jean!
    Overheal wrote:
    Nothing else really. No, he was not on Home Improvement, whoever suggested that.
    Course he was.. he was the youngest gaudy looking son - Mark or sumthin'!

jester77 wrote: »

I guess he won't be needing that hip replacement after all :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Not to be confused with this Billy May ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

I love the spoof dubbed-over versions of his ads. Funny stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Holy shįt. I was just watching the smosh Hairy situation video, it's related to Billy Mays. Not trying to shill

"Its so easy, even your kids can do laundry!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Cum Slut wrote: »
    R.I.P

Nice name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Uh-oh.. Hugh laurie turned 50 this month

Krieg wrote: »
    Uh-oh.. Hugh laurie turned 50 this month

He'll know what's wrong with himself and be able to find a cure.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    We will all remember where we were when we heard Billy Mays died.

i was on boards wondering why Billy Mays and Farah Fawcett had to take a back seat, to someone who liked to share his bed with little boys and had enough money to make the problem (that would have anyone else locked up), go away :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Never heard of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

he has his on web show on discovery i was just acquiring it he was on conan the other night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

he was on conan the other night
    the dirty fecker. Overdose on poppers maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

marcsignal wrote: »
    i was on boards wondering why Billy Mays and Farah Fawcett had to take a back seat, to someone who liked to share his bed with little boys and had enough money to make the problem (that would have anyone else locked up), go away :mad:
    night and day. night and day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

That'll be the end of Pitchmen then. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

If only! Madonna's still alive! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

He was due for hip surgery today... poor Billy, RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

phasers wrote: »
    He was due for hip surgery today

Hope they remember to cancel it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Saw Pitchmen a couple of times while I was in the states, it was actually an interesting show, despite how very annoying Billy Mays was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

If he died last Friday it would have been snap wth Michael Jackson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Jahsus, what an annoying voice.