Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mad few weeks and totally hug deprived....

• 28-06-2009 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi... well basically my life has been a bit all over the place for the last few weeks.... 3 weeks ago I was given notice in work. I love my job so gutted that I have to go. I'm going to miss the work, people and atmosphere so much, esp after working so hard there. Poxy recession! Anyway, I applied for lots of jobs and heard on Friday evening that I got a new job- starting tomorrow. I'm really pleased about the new job and thrilled that I haven't had to go on the dole. Just feel kinda shocked that Friday was my last day in my beloved job and I didn't even know it! Feel pretty sad that its over and a bit shell shocked that I'm in a new place tomorrow morning.

Also I split with a guy I've been seeing in the last couple of weeks. It had only been 4 months but ended suddenly and I still don't fully understand why. I do feel that whilst he likes me and we get on well, that he really doesn't care about me. I miss him though and hate to end things on a bad note- he won't talk to me so can't discuss it with him to clear things up. This is making me feel sad too...

Then... (sorry for this long rant!) Last night, a gang of us from work were out partying in town. Had a ball, dancing and laughing. Ended up back at mine with a guy from work... we have been good mates and quite flirty etc.... Well I slept with him, and chilling out this morning together... chattin and laughing etc.... he said he thinks too much... I asked him what he meant and he said that he was thinking about another girl whilst having sex with me. I feel very hurt and insulted by this. I said to him that I wish he hadnt said that. I know last night was just sex and would never become anything else but that I expected to be treated with respect, particularly from a friend.

I just feel a bit shook today from such a bizarre few weeks, and very hurt by what was said this morning. Feeling pretty alone, and wish I had someone in my life just for a bit of support and who actually cares about me. Feeling pretty hug deprived but don't want to discuss this with mates cos I'm quite a private person. Tryin to pick myself up and think positively but nervous about the new job and just need a hug! Any confidence boosting advice for me???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Ignore that fella - he was just trying to show off what a player he is & he's not worth thinking about any more. Just write it off to experience! Enjoy going out with your mates and being single for a while and you'll soon get back on track.

How great is it that you found another job so soon! In this day & age, that's a miracle & you should be really proud of yourself. I've moved jobs a few times in the past few years & all I can say is that the first day will be strange and different, but also exciting. Just be your normal friendly self and you'll be fine. In a short while you'll love it as much as your old job!

Best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

It's been a crappy auld few weeks for you, alright and sounds like you've handled it all in the best way you could. Honestly, fair fecks to you for getting a job so quickly or a job at all! Because there's so many people looking for employment at the minute, employers have the pick of the bunch so this is without a doubt a reflection on your own skills, personality and achievements. You really should be proud of yourself. Don't forget that.

I can't think of any reason why this guy would say that to you so I can't give you any insight there. Maybe another guy can? Bizarre. It's one thing thinking it (which we all have) but another thing saying it. All you can put it down to is that this guy has a few things he needs to sort out in his own head. Perhaps he's not over another girl yet just like you're not over the guy you were seeing for a few months. Maybe a part of you wishes this one-night stand was with the ex? Who knows. I'm only speculating here to find a logical explanation. Ignore this comment, the guy has no tact and I'm sure he's kicking himself that he said anything at all (I hope).

As for the ex...well...not sure what to say there. Do you want to be with a guy who ultimately doesn't care for you? I'm going to reach into my bag of cliches and say "What's for you won't pass you" and "You can do better" and "There's plenty more fish in the sea"..overused but no truer words have been spoken . Pick yourself up, brush yourself off keep fighting the good fight.

I'm guessing you're just feeling a bit lonely at the moment...I can empathise...we all can. It WILL pass, I promise.

Starting a new job is always nerve-wracking...I hate the first day but like all new experiences, a new job = potential new friends, potential love-of-your-life, potential progression into furthering your career...loads of potential excitement and adventure!

Sorry, I know my response is straight out of Disney movie, all sacharin sweet but things WILL be grand as they always are. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Ah thanks to both of ye.... feeling cheered up already. :)
    You're so right Eve, don't want to be with a fella that doesn't care about me. Much and all as i don't like being single, I don't want to be with someone just for the sake of it....
    Thanks again x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I can't think of any reason why this guy would say that to you so I can't give you any insight there. Maybe another guy can? Bizarre. It's one thing thinking it (which we all have) but another thing saying it. All you can put it down to is that this guy has a few things he needs to sort out in his own head. Perhaps he's not over another girl yet just like you're not over the guy you were seeing for a few months.
    Have no idea why a guy would say that, i suppose he was still drunk from the night before. forget about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

That is a very odd thing for the fella to say.

I have no idea why somebody would say that and I would imagine, the minute he said it, he was like WTF? Why did I say that?

Ignore it, you are lucky enough to have found a new job, in this dearth of employment, so a serious hats off to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

994 wrote: »
    Have no idea why a guy would say that, i suppose he was still drunk from the night before. forget about it.

Yeah, I agree. I was trying to rationalise it like I always do because I can't always understand why people say these things without realising that the other person would take offence, particularly after just sleeping with them. Some people just have zero tact and I often wonder how they get as far as they have in life when they've probably (unintentionally) offended everyone around them. Ignore it.