Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any graduate IT/engineering jobs in dublin?

• 28-06-2009 12:51pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Seriously are there any? I have tried to apply to so many jobs via job sites in the last few months. I don't even know if these jobs are real. I am desperate to get a job and move to Dublin.
    I have a 1.1 in Electronic and Computer Engineering, only two 1.1s were given, and not many people graduate in this area every year compared to other disciplines. Coding is not my strength but I am working on it. The only engineering experience I have is 6 months as a QA engineer/small coding responsibilities. Apart from that I have only woked in restaurants, hotels, nightclubs etc.

I don't even get so much as a reply saying 'No thank you.', my friends are similar. What should I do, wait for new ones to be posted, doesn't seem to happen, just google every company in the county and try and send them a CV, go to a recruitment agency? I am tired of living on the opposite side of the country to my girlfriend, and just sitting at home doing nothing. I have had my CV checked and have been told it is good. I have gotten the Sun Certified Java Programmer (SCJP) book off amazon, it just arrived, to try and get another qualification for my CV, but that could take a year. I don't have the time for that. Ideally I would find a job and study alongside it. Any advice? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Do what most high achievers here do - emigrate.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Unfortunately I am refraining from applying to anywhere but Dublin at the moment, 3 years living hundreds of miles from the missus will not be replaced by an even larger distance. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

I've often found it's not a case of what you know but who.
    Apart from what you're currently doing I'd advise you to harass your friends into keeping an ear to the ground for anything going.

I was also advised before that it is far easier to get a newer job when you are currently employed than if you are not. Not so sure but it kind of makes sense.

Best of luck is all I can offer presently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

At least you can take comfort in the fact there are thousands of grads in the same boat. I had to take a job in an area unrelated to my degree, will have to wait untill the market picks up again.
    Have you looked into the FAS placement scheme for graduates? You might get something there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭MysticalRain

Graduate tech jobs were difficult enough to find during the boom times. I can't even imagine how bad things are now if someone with a double 1.1 can't even find an entry level job.
    Doodee wrote: »
    I've often found it's not a case of what you know but who.

A very important point. I knew people who had zero experience and no qualifications to their name who still managed to get employment as 'graduates' because they were lucky enough to know people who could get them places.

The only other suggestion I would have would be to perhaps e-mail your CV to directly to the HR departments of as many companies as you can. It's a longshot of course, and many companies won't be recruiting at the moment. But in six months time, things might be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭randomname

Merrill Lynchs had a posting on IrishJobs I think about technology interns, I was one of there technology intern about 5 years ago and it was a good way to get in the industry.

The majority of the jobs they had were coding but they also admin jobs too. I will have a look on IrishJobs and see if I can find the link.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Cheers guys, it's just depressing doing nothing at this stage. At first it was only the missus that was like, 'get a job ye bum' without me being too pressed, but it's starting to get annoying. Even when I see jobs that say graduate they also have requirements that seem quite daunting, ie not touched the stuff in the course etc. I apply anyway, no word. :)

Even if I can find a masters or something for a year or something I suppose that would help. More looking I guess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭legs11

Cheers guys, it's just depressing doing nothing at this stage. At first it was only the missus that was like, 'get a job ye bum' without me being too pressed, but it's starting to get annoying. Even when I see jobs that say graduate they also have requirements that seem quite daunting, ie not touched the stuff in the course etc. I apply anyway, no word. :)

Even if I can find a masters or something for a year or something I suppose that would help. More looking I guess!

There are zero jobs in Dublin tbh, unless you have a lot of specific skills like VHDL, embedded FPGA..

restricting yourself to Dublin is a mistake, I am in the same boat, I have given up of getting a job in Ireland and looking abroad.

Also looking into a Masters.

I had a look for those job postings with Merrills but they ain't up there at the moment.

The problem with the majority of jobs that are out there require x number of years experience in a certain field first. There isn't a lot for new grads in development, the only one I saw was the Merrills one and that was up there about 3 weeks ago and looks like it gone.

If you need to know more let me know.

legs11 wrote: »
    There are zero jobs in Dublin tbh, unless you have a lot of specific skills like VHDL, embedded FPGA..

restricting yourself to Dublin is a mistake, I am in the same boat, I have given up of getting a job in Ireland and looking abroad.

Also looking into a Masters.

Well I have a graduates knowledge of VHDL, embedded FPGAs etc so feck all :P
    See any masters along the lines of 'software engineer' no? heh

Thanks for looking for that job for me randomname. :)

There are three software engineer masters programs that I know of one in TCD,DCU and UCD. TD do one but i cant find the link.

http://www.csi.ucd.ie/content/msc-advanced-software-engineering
    http://www.computing.dcu.ie/prospective/postgraduate/softeng/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Vue in Liffy Valley are looking for people.

just outside Dublin city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭104494431

Things have taken a turn for the worse. Today I saw a "Retail manager" for a high street store in Cork requiring a minimum of 5 years experience in the retail sector and the salary was €22,000 a year, I laughed.

Hope you can find something though, I'm looking myself at the moment as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

*Waves from the other side of the exact same boat*

Getting very fed up too, got my 1.1 aswell in a field with very few graduates each year, have very good experience and have worked on a few extra-curricular projects but getting no joy in trying to find positions.

To be honest the head is starting to drop a bit at this stage but I took up golf recently with a few fellow grads and I'm finally getting back to the gym, these things help a lot.

The advantage of the 1.1 is that you are basically instantly accepted into most Masters courses, I have accepted a few offers so as to keep my options open if employment is a no-go.

As to the "get a job ya bum", ignore it, I've been getting some fairly pointed questions from a lad in the new house I moved into; thing is, the guy is 19 and has never worked a day in his life, I'm comfortable knowing that this is the first time in about 13 years that I haven't been in some form of employment and I'm merely clawing back some of the tax I paid into the system for the first time, having never gotten a grant before!

Chin up!!

[QUOTE=bigkev49;60916172
    As to the "get a job ya bum", ignore it, I've been getting some fairly pointed questions from a lad in the new house I moved into; thing is, the guy is 19 and has never worked a day in his life, I'm comfortable knowing that this is the first time in about 13 years that I haven't been in some form of employment and I'm merely clawing back some of the tax I paid into the system for the first time, having never gotten a grant before!QUOTE]

Give the little **** a few smacks around the mouth with your Gouf! Kids today have no ****ing respect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭stereo_steve

Go to London. Much easier to get a job. You can see your girlfriend every second weekend.

Get some experience and return home.

If you got that good a result in college, I assume you'd be on good terms with some lecturers - have you thought about asking them for help or for putting a word out for you with some people in industry that they might know?

Cheers for the views guys. I am looking at doing a masters while I wait for a job to come around.

Donal, i tried to go to that grant forum that you moderate but could not start new threads.
    So what forum is there to use? I would like information on any grants I could get doing a taught masters. I used to get the county council one in university. Applying to these masters seems to cost 37 euro and 2000 for the year. Not including things like accomodation and food in dublin!

Donal, i tried to go to that grant forum that you moderate but could not start new threads.
    So what forum is there to use? I would like information on any grants I could get doing a taught masters. I used to get the county council one in university. Applying to these masters seems to cost 37 euro and 2000 for the year. Not including things like accomodation and food in dublin!

Whoops, yeah I asked for it to be deleted awhile back but it still appears to be active (closed but not hidden). Basically the Student Finances forum (link) replaced it.

If you got the grant before and your circumstances are the same then it should be a case of ringing up the Council/VEC and telling them you're continuing in education. It would be the same one as you dealt with before. Your fees will be paid for up to something like €6,110 or so which will probably cover it all. The official details on the grant scheme for 2009/10 hasn't been released on the websites yet but the Councils/VECs might have more info.

Hope it all works out, btw :)

Dónal wrote: »
    Whoops, yeah I asked for it to be deleted awhile back but it still appears to be active (closed but not hidden). Basically the Student Finances forum (link) replaced it.

If you got the grant before and your circumstances are the same then it should be a case of ringing up the Council/VEC and telling them you're continuing in education. It would be the same one as you dealt with before. Your fees will be paid for up to something like €6,110 or so which will probably cover it all. The official details on the grant scheme for 2009/10 hasn't been released on the websites yet but the Councils/VECs might have more info.

Hope it all works out, btw :)

Thanks, I'll try and get that CC grant again. I assume what i do it, play to apply, if I get accepted, then i apply for a grant. You can't just a plpy for a grant without getting accepted first I imagine?

Thanks.

Thanks, I'll try and get that CC grant again. I assume what i do it, play to apply, if I get accepted, then i apply for a grant. You can't just a plpy for a grant without getting accepted first I imagine?

Thanks.

Yeah the Council'll ask for a letter of confirmation that you have the course. Deadline is I assume still the last working day of August. If the college only gives acceptance after this date let the Council know, but I'd imagine they'd be aware what the craic is, particularly for postgraduate courses. But as I said give them a call first, since you received one before it is normally a bit less painful than applying first time around.

Dónal wrote: »
    Yeah the Council'll ask for a letter of confirmation that you have the course. Deadline is I assume still the last working day of August. If the college only gives acceptance after this date let the Council know, but I'd imagine they'd be aware what the craic is, particularly for postgraduate courses. But as I said give them a call first, since you received one before it is normally a bit less painful than applying first time around.
    cool, cheers Dónal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭irishguy

If I was you id move to London (Or further a field) not a hope of getting a grad job in Ireland. London seems to be picking up esp financials/telecoms I hear RBS and Credit Suisse are hiring (not sure if they are looking for grads though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

We've a tech job and only one applicant! I guess because it's outside Dublin, it's difficult to get people to move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

We've a tech job and only one applicant! I guess because it's outside Dublin, it's difficult to get people to move.

Any chance of some details on that job Jimmy. I'm a recent software graduate looking for work. Thanks :)

I'm a recent graduate too OP and I've applied for the masters in s/w engineering in DCU. Fees are about as low as you'll find (approx 1600 per year) and if you've been unemployed for nine months on the 1st of September you may qualify for free fees from the govt. (fingers crossed we'll find work before then though :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭legs11

Go to London. Much easier to get a job. You can see your girlfriend every second weekend.

Get some experience and return home.

Good luck getting an EE job in london. Unless you have EXPERIENCE [about 3 years or more seems to be the norm] utilising them skills I mentioned you cant get a job, just the way it is.

Im also looking into a Masters anyway so fluck it

Where is it jimmy, I'd love to have a look at any info you have. :)
    waraf wrote: »
    I'm a recent graduate too OP and I've applied for the masters in s/w engineering in DCU. Fees are about as low as you'll find (approx 1600 per year) and if you've been unemployed for nine months on the 1st of September you may qualify for free fees from the govt. (fingers crossed we'll find work before then though :))
    I am looking at that one seriously, you could be my new class buddy!

Where is it jimmy, I'd love to have a look at any info you have. :)

Needs experience though! There's another though for PHP which would be nice for anyone in that area.

I can learn. PHP look easy I swear! :pac:

As for the job hunt, I cant see any still so I am getting stuck into my java certification(SCJP), hard going!

Cool. Boardsies taking over DCU :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭BigAl81

Came across this. Grad Java jobs just out side Dublin, believe they're looking for a good few people.

http://www.irishjobs.ie/Jobs/Graduate-Java-Developer-4033468.aspx

Good Luck!

Cheers I will apply, didn't see this. Similar roles have not given replies in the past, fingers crossed.
    # Java 1.5, XML
    # Struts, MVC, JSP
    # EJB, Hibernate, Spring, Web Services,
    # UML
    # JUnit, ANT, Maven
    # Eclipse IDE
    # JBoss, Tomcat, Websphere
    # UNIX/LINUX
    # Oracle, Pl/SQL knowledge a distinct advantage.
    We did less than a third of this so i have a lot of learning to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭BigAl81

A lot of agcenys put up fake jobs to gather CV's so best to apply directly to compnay's where possible.

In order of inportance...
    SCJP study
    SQL
    STRUTS

Then
    Write a hello world JSP page in eclipse, and host in on tomcat, to connect to and return all rows from a database table.

Read the Wikipedia page for the others, not expected to know everything as a grad!

If you can do that your well on the way.

Go Team!

Thanks Bigal, I'm actually looking forward to trying your course outline :D

SCJP started today, sql was handy enough for my project, albeit simple things I had to do. Struts, I may be silly, but what are they? I have only seen that word used along with Apache when i was using that but I have no idea what they are. I'll just google it. As for jsp/tomcat/sql, sounds like an interesting little thing to try out.

Go team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Good luck with it Tar. Take a look at this post by Webmonkey on learning java. I found it excellent when I was teaching myself.

Ye cool thanks, I'm on the fourth one. :p

P.M. sent

PM'd you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Good few IT jobs over on www.monster.ie for Paddy Power and a few others.