Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Perfect Roster discussion

• 26-06-2009 6:22pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭

with SR's permission ive decided to open a second thread for discussion, so if any of you want to comment on each others rosters or mention who you agonised over leaving off your roster etc this is the place to do it.

So far not many old names have been used iirc, nor have too many international names but each roster submitted already does vary from the others submitted.

ill also list in here who has/hasnt submitted their rd1 or 2 posts and answer any further queries although I tried to make the rules fairly easy to follow

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Well I have mine up so i thought I would say why I selected the roster I did.

I was thinking of fueds I would like to see from the past. Then I realised there are some good feuds out there that have yet to happen with the guys who are wrestling today or could be wrestling today. There are also feuds that happened already but before guys reached their peak so I would like to see them again.

I decided to go with a roster that is a possibility, and one with potential for new fueds. I wanted legends, todays best, tomorrows best and the best in 3 or 4 years time. I hope that when I post up my card ideas you will see what I mean.

I picked a couple of inactive wrestlers on the card but I only selected them as to the best of my Knowledge they are fit to wrestle if they wanted too.

As RVD was picked already I feel its okay to mention him as a Guy I really struggled with leaving out. RVD could go with anyone and I am regretting leaving him out already, but I couldn't decide who to leave out in his place.

I had Rey picked but decided to go with Bourne as he has the potential to be great and offered some new feud ideas.

There are another few guys I wanted but had to leave out that I will mention after I see them in other rosters.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

MNG, DM-ICE, Bounty Hunter, McConnon already done Pt1

and after looking at McConnon i take back the comment about international names.

My roster: as i said a few times despite running this I actually hadnt put much thought into my own entry more so into the format/rules etc till this point. I guess i started with my card and tried to work out who i wanted on my roster via who i needed to make it and then who would be the biggest names i could get to fill out the rest of the roster. Honestly i dont know as much as many others about Japanese wrestlers (would love to see Fozzys perfect roster actually after some of his draft picks) for example and if it hadnt been for his recent passing (which lead me to watching many videos of his matches) I most likely wouldent even have included Misawa.

btw DM-ICE i like how you took a different approach to this, it might just make your roster stand out more and give you a good chance to get votes in this.

also fair play to the lads who went early on as others can obviously view your proposed rosters for ideas, although I do think even viewing the 4 up so far does show how varied these rosters may be despite some early worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭McConnon

Loving the three rosters posted so far guys, very varied. Can't wait to see the matches.

So far the closet roster to mine is yours Bounty Hunter, but then again we've only eight out of twenty five of the same wrestlers. Love how you've El Santo and El Hijo del Santo in there by the way!

McConnon wrote: »
    So far the closet roster to mine is yours Bounty Hunter, but then again we've only eight out of twenty five of the same wrestlers. Love how you've El Santo and El Hijo del Santo in there by the way!

again id credit the draft thread although i didnt get to draft them in it I had looked into both of em and found that it seems El Santo was considerd the biggest and best mexican wrestler and although the 2 of them and Aja & Misawa might seem like token foreign wrestlers i really wanted em. Plus I can imagine them forming a quality tag team and high profile tag teams would be needed considering I dont really have lower card wrestlers on my roster(although i doubt many will).

tbh this thread for me is taking care of my draft thread withdrawl :o:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

so sorry that i can't take part in this as i'm going to be away for a month.

this thread has the potential to be a cracker.

MNG, DM-ICE, Bounty Hunter, McConnon, Waltersobchak, Spongey 1975 pt1 done

two more quality rosters and soon ill comment on those i agonised over leaving out as more and more of them are now being picked on other roster like Ted Dibiase who spongey picked

im thinking off adding a 3rd section to help differentiate between rosters and make voting easier.

it would involve me removing the 10 lines to sell your roster after posting your PPV card in pt2 and instead giving you say a max of say 25 lines to sell your roster in pt3.

opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Now that other mess has been dealt with, I'll throw up my roster in the next couple of days. Thanks to SR and BH for ensuring a place was kept for me.

Mc Connon's is savage btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

Posted my roster might look a little messy but trust me Jung dragons and 3 count where the most entertaining undercard ive ever seen in my life :) and well worth 6 picks

pingu_girl wrote: »
    Posted my roster might look a little messy but trust me Jung dragons and 3 count where the most entertaining undercard ive ever seen in my life :) and well worth 6 picks

I love the way Luger was the first name you picked (and rightly so:pac:).

Great varied roster there pingu with names from various eras. You're right to pick people that entertained you personally first and foremost and I admire that you'd rather do that than pander to anyone else's expectations.

Quick question, BH. Would picking an established tag team (say the Road Warriors) count as one or two picks used up?

MNG, DM-ICE, Bounty Hunter, McConnon, Waltersobchak, Spongey 1975, Pingu Girl pt1 done

Counts as two picks, check other peoples submitted so far for any other such questions i think they are all fine (havent checked Pingus yet will later). its 25 wrestlers not 25 picks per roster

edit: of course Pingu's is also fine... although she did include a ring announcer and as a ring announcer was never mentioned it should be assumed as if everyone has a ring announcer of Vinne Mac's quality so it does not affect how anyone later votes but she does not have to edit it out or anything.

Counts as two picks, check other peoples submitted so far for any other such questions i think they are all fine (havent checked Pingus yet will later). its 25 wrestlers not 25 picks per roster
    Uh-Oh. Back to the drawing board, so. I may need another day or so in that case.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 paddy_5000

Posted mine. You will notice that the tag team competitors have one member in both the hardcore section and the IC section along with 2 other competitors in each division.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Amazed at the lack of Benoit so far

Bubs101 wrote: »
    Amazed at the lack of Benoit so far

Never fear Bubs, he's on my roster, (now posted) and furthermore, hes a goddamn Horseman!

People may want to google Rikidozan. His importance cannot be overstated. He's literally one of the most important people in Japanese history, nevermind wrestling history.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rikid%C5%8Dzan

Bounty Hunter.

If there is a 3rd post with 25 lines would it be okay to repost some of my roster and give an explanation of key members roles. Then use the last few lines to say whatever else needs to be said.

For Example,

Randy Orton: Always open to legend killing but has recently developed a taste for taking down future legends.

your the first to respond to the idea of the 3rd round but if there is one (and ideally i think there should so that itd be easier to pick a winner to vote on) you would be able to use those 25 lines (if that is whats decided on) to promote your roster in whatever way you please.

gotta say after checking his roster out it seems that the draft winner is also in this to win it, nice roster man and welcome back from your brief hiatus.

MNG, DM-ICE, Bounty Hunter, McConnon, Waltersobchak, Spongey 1975, Pingu Girl, Paddy 5000, Flahavaj pt1 done

gotta say after checking his roster out it seems that the draft winner is also in this to win it, nice roster man and welcome back from your brief hiatus.
    Thanks again for keeping the spot open BH, I won't forget that in a hurry my friend.

Good, But I think mine is better, the pay per view will show how i will manage my roster. It dont matter how popular the wrestlers are its what you do with them. Austin and Rock as a team? I dont think that would work to well.

paddy_5000 wrote: »
    Good, But I think mine is better, the pay per view will show how i will manage my roster. It dont matter how popular the wrestlers are its what you do with them. Austin and Rock as a team? I dont think that would work to well.

I think its a matter of mixing popular wrestlers AND knowing what to do with them. Rock/Austin would be a good classic reluctant partners who'll eventually split up kinda deal, IMO. Thanks for the input all the same, Paddy.;)

i would hope you think yours is better you picked it afterall. Yep the PPVs will tell a lot about how the rosters will be managed but who knows what rosters others will make.
    Flahavaj wrote:
    Thanks again for keeping the spot open BH, I won't forget that in a hurry my friend.

wooo i made a friend ;) your welcome man, I had no reason to take your spot away to be honest you missed no deadline afterall infact technically you still had until Friday to make your first post.

If im perfectley honest I made this cos I just really like threads like this and the draft thread, seing peoples fantasy rosters and ppv cards etc and you actually learn a lot from them i.e im about to go look up who Moose is (a womens wrestler Pingu picked ive honestly never heard of or atleast cant remember atm). If there was a fantasy booking thing on boards like ive seen elsewhere id actually take part even though previously (ill be honest here) I woulda thought the people involved in those were losers.

i would hope you think yours is better you picked it afterall. Yep the PPVs will tell a lot about how the rosters will be managed but who knows what rosters others will make.

wooo i made a friend ;) your welcome man, I had no reason to take your spot away to be honest you missed no deadline afterall infact technically you still had until Friday to make your first post.

If im perfectley honest I made this cos I just really like threads like this and the draft thread, seing peoples fantasy rosters and ppv cards etc and you actually learn a lot from them i.e im about to go look up who Moose is (a womens wrestler Pingu picked ive honestly never heard of or atleast cant remember atm). If there was a fantasy booking thing on boards like ive seen elsewhere id actually take part even though previously (ill be honest here) I woulda thought the people involved in those were losers.

Moose is the TNA persona of Ian Rotten's protege Mickey Knuckles. Shes quite entertaining when shes not trying double axe handles from ridiculous heights.:pac:

flahavaj wrote: »
    I love the way Luger was the first name you picked (and rightly so:pac:).

And proper order :pac:
    Great varied roster there pingu with names from various eras. You're right to pick people that entertained you personally first and foremost and I admire that you'd rather do that than pander to anyone else's expectations.

Thats what I have done picked the wrestler who have most entertained me over the years with the exception on Brian Danielson I only saw him the once at the ROH show I was at but he put on such a great preformance he deserved a place in my 25. I'm after getting a sneak peak at paddy_5000's ppv tonight I think I may have to up my game and rearange my ppv ideas.

Your roster is fantanstic and I feel that between Paddy_5000, minto(when ever he puts up his roster) yourself and myself we may have another title coming to the Déise

pingu_girl wrote: »
    And proper order :pac:

Thats what I have done picked the wrestler who have most entertained me over the years with the exception on Brian Danielson I only saw him the once at the ROH show I was at but he put on such a great preformance he deserved a place in my 25. I'm after getting a sneak peak at paddy_5000's ppv tonight I think I may have to up my game and rearange my ppv ideas.

Your roster is fantanstic and I feel that between Paddy_5000, minto(when ever he puts up his roster) yourself and myself we may have another title coming to the Déise
    We are truly becoming the dominant county on boards.ie PW and proper order.:pac:

Danielson was a great pick, I'd have loved to have him but i ran outa spaces.

your the first to respond to the idea of the 3rd round but if there is one (and ideally i think there should so that itd be easier to pick a winner to vote on) you would be able to use those 25 lines (if that is whats decided on) to promote your roster in whatever way you please.

MNG, DM-ICE, Bounty Hunter, McConnon, Waltersobchak, Spongey 1975, Pingu Girl, Paddy 5000, Flahavaj pt1 done

Maybe a brief story line, a few sentences long for each build up to everyones ppv matchs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Feck ya anyway Flahavaj, I wanted to do something with the Funks and Austin. Thinking hat is going back on for the time being so. I'll try and have mine up in the next day or two

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Feck ya anyway Flahavaj, I wanted to do something with the Funks and Austin. Thinking hat is going back on for the time being so. I'll try and have mine up in the next day or two
    You'd have to up early in the morning to catch me on the hop, Gerard C.:cool:

Maybe a brief story line, a few sentences long for each build up to everyones ppv matchs?

sounds good, like i said to DM-ICE you can use them to promote your roster in whatever way you want to convince others yours is the perfect roster and should get their vote.

when I asked opinions i was wondering if you all thought it might be a good idea to make a 3rd round as I thought it might be neccessary/handy to differentiate between rosters further and thus making choosing who to vote on easier. As nobody has said otherwise I guess I will just explain that their will be a 3rd part after everyone has posted their first response as ill then be making a post on the other thread saying part 2 has begun and reiterating its format whilst stating their will be a 3rd part.

edit:
    MNG, DM-ICE, Bounty Hunter, McConnon, Waltersobchak, Spongey 1975, Pingu Girl, Paddy 5000, Flahavaj, Kane-N-Nite, Cactus Col, done part 1

Minto, Thealltimelow, Gerard C, JP Liz, Chopperbyrne still to go

edit: this is in response to a post made in the other thread which has since been removed

Bubs technically i set a date for when it would start which id say most took as also the cut off date for entry but we did never get to 20 entrants by that date so id have no objection with you being no.17 to enter as long as like everyone else you have yours submitted by Friday (should be easy) and follow the very few rules outlined in the other thread afterall the more rosters to view the more interesting imo.

Intrested to see what cactus col does with Bob Backlund I was going to pick him myself but I hadn't a clue how to use him.

Machismo fan is also now included I guess i set a precident with Bubs (although he had been on holidays) but i did set a limit of 20 and now including Mr TNA we are at 18 so once he has his roster submitted by when all of you would have had to (friday) there should be no problem with his involvement and he has already told me he will. So have at it Machismo, cos afterall as i said with Bubs the more rosters the more interesting from a viewers standpoint.

Like the difference in Machismo's roster but think he made a massive mistake not picking Konnan with LAX, just weren't the same

btw im now taking suggestions for the next ATH as i need possible questions for it.... just decided id do it *hic*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Like the difference in Machismo's roster but think he made a massive mistake not picking Konnan with LAX, just weren't the same

While I agree that Konnan was great in LAX and he was a big part of their awesome feud with Styles and Daniels, I think LAX were at their most popular in mid-to-late 2007 (just after Konnan left) when they were insanely over and TNA never really capitalised on that popularity until it waned a little in May of '08.

Plus I don't really see who I might take out, the only person who maybe could be replaced would be Harris but I wanted Roode as a singles and I didn't want to leave out Storm (plus I've always loved Planet Jarrett) but the feedback is much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

ridiculous lack of Horsemen so far.

well done flahavaj.

Mines up anyway. I had a better idea in mind to be honest but noticed it had been touched on already in someone else roster, so I went back to the drawing board and feel that I have come up with a better idea in all honesty. It'll become more clear once the PPV card itself is up. I never fail to amaze myself.

I think I'm also the first eejit to use Matt Striker as a commentator, a bit suprised in all honesty, I love him on ECW, I'd say him and JR in his prime would have been a tender cuddle to the ear.

Fair play to Bounty Hunter for the idea too, It got the creative juices flowing like nobodys buisness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Gerard.C wrote: »
    I think I'm also the first eejit to use Matt Striker as a commentator, a bit suprised in all honesty, I love him on ECW, I'd say him and JR in his prime would have been a tender cuddle to the ear.

I can't stand Matt Striker, if you ask me (which I know nobody did but what the hell) he hides the fact that he's an average commentator behind big word and obscure references, plus he has very little chemistry with Josh Mathews.

I love the fact that he's a nerd, he'd be the first to tell you that I'd say. The difference between him and almost every other commentator in wrestling is that he is a wrestling nerd with an unreal knowledge of the sport, and has an endless list of fact and figures about whoever is in the ring, which helps build character and get them over. And he is entertaining IMO. Can't ask for much more in a commentator!

MNG, DM-ICE, Bounty Hunter, McConnon, Waltersobchak, Spongey 1975, Pingu Girl, Paddy 5000, Flahavaj, Kane-N-Nite, Cactus Col, Bubs101, Machismo fan, JP Liz, Gerard C done part 1

Minto, Thealltimelow, Chopperbyrne still to go

like the look of Gerrard C entry having only now had a look at it

Savage Gerard, great roster there bai.

Agreed on Striker, I love the guy to be honest. I love the way he throws in pure smarky references to puro and lucha as well and the fact hes a pure nerd makes him even more endearing to me. Its obvious Vince doesn't even listen to the commentary on ECW or he'd have nipped it in the bud months ago. His loss is our gain.

Antonino Rocca and Miguel Perez (despite what Flahavaj says I'm almost 100% sure that these guys are the best drawing tag team ever while Rocca was up there with Hogan and Sammartino)
    To be honest I've never heard of them Bubs (Not that that means you're in any way wrong, I like when games like this throw up a new name or two). I remember reading a big article in the Observer quite some time back saying the the Road Warrior were the biggest drawing tag team in history, but that may have been in NWA history, or biggest draw of the 80's I can't exactly remember. Either way they drew a hell of a lot of money, both in America and Japan, more certainly than 99% of teams in history.

Have you any links to some info on Perez and Rocca as I'm not finding much on google and I'd love to find out a bit more, as I say i'm always on for finding out mew things.

Also surprised at the lack of Austin on your roster.:eek:

Did i fail to understand this roster idea?

Just looking at the break down of contenders for the titles in some posts and I am shocked to see guys like Kurt Angle appear in the Intercontinental Title contenders list. I thought a guy in double digit world title reigns would be ineligable for such a grading?

I never thought Kurt in the midcard was a realistic option. I left out HHH because I wanted Angle and didn't think it was appropriate to place Kurt in the mid card to fit in another big name.

I am not having a go at anyone just wondering what the deal is, have I missed the idea completely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

DM-ICE wrote: »

Just looking at the break down of contenders for the titles in some posts and I am shocked to see guys like Kurt Angle appear in the Intercontinental Title contenders list. I thought a guy in double digit world title reigns would be ineligable for such a grading?

I never thought Kurt in the midcard was a realistic option. I left out HHH because I wanted Angle and didn't think it was appropriate to place Kurt in the mid card to fit in another big name.

I am not having a go at anyone just wondering what the deal is, have I missed the idea completely?

Kurt's been used at midcard level before. Remember his Summerslam 2004 feud with Eugene? And that was supposed to be for his gold medal.

I don't see why Kurt at the midcard is unrealistic when you look at some of the names on these rosters.

well considering the perfect roster where anyone from any era or promotion are eligable is bound to have more big names than the usual promotion so some big stars like Angle will/could be in the mid card on this roster instead of the main event.

I had no problem putting the likes of HBK, Bret and Kobashi in my IC title division. I think its reasonable to have great workers like them or indeed Angle as IC challengers. I reserved my World Title division for the ultimate superstars in history who drew the most money. Guys like those I've nmentioned, while big stars in their day, were never massive superstars on the Hogan/Austin level, so I put them in my IC division. If anything having them in the midcard points to the strength of a roster IMHO, that all the way down the card you can boast of having world champions left right and centre.

I guess thats the beauty of such games, every rule is open to interpretation and means we all approach it differently.

Thanks Guys I missed a trick so.

I took mid card as meaning Mid Card. Thats why I picked shelton Benjamin. A guy who can work a good match with anyone but is and probably always will be mid card at best.

As you say, rules are open to interpretation, i just never noticed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

personally ive Kurt Angle in my mid card purely because i wanted to have an amazing lower and middle card that can really wrestle, and leaving the main event as people who really drew

To be honest I've never heard of them Bubs (Not that that means you're in any way wrong, I like when games like this throw up a new name or two). I remember reading a big article in the Observer quite some time back saying the the Road Warrior were the biggest drawing tag team in history, but that may have been in NWA history, or biggest draw of the 80's I can't exactly remember. Either way they drew a hell of a lot of money, both in America and Japan, more certainly than 99% of teams in history.

Have you any links to some info on Perez and Rocca as I'm not finding much on google and I'd love to find out a bit more, as I say i'm always on for finding out mew things.

Also surprised at the lack of Austin on your roster.:eek:

I hate Stone Cold, also I'm of the opinion he would have been nowhere near as big without Vince unlike Hogan who would have been massive otherwise and I didn't want Vince. Also, in this game everyone's going to have Stone Cold, The Rock etc.

They're not the guys who'll win you the game. I have faith in the likes of Steiner and Jack Briscoe and I built a roster of what I like to see. Great chain and shoot wrestling by picking the best amateur's available and the greatest back and forth promo programme that never was, Steiner vs. the Rock.

As for Rocca, Meltzer wrote this on the most viable candidates for the hall of fame based
    4. ARGENTINA ROCCA - The biggest drawing card in the Northeast during the 50s and the person who is most responsible for Madison Square Garden being considered the top arena in the United States. Pro wrestling in New York died in the mid-30s, which can be traced to a number of factors, including Jim Londos, the era’s top draw, no longer appearing. Wrestling drew poorly from 1935 to 1938, at which point wrestling was dropped. In 1949, due to the popularity of Gorgeous George on television, the attempt was made to revive it, but unlike the rest of the country, the New Yorkers didn’t care for George’s act, and the return drew only 4,197 fans. However, ten months later, a second attempt was made to revive wrestling in MSG, on December 12, 1949, and Rocca against fellow babyface Gene Stanlee drew 17,854 fans, a near-sellout, and wrestling became a regular attraction there for most of the next six decades. Rocca remained the top draw through the end of 1961, when Buddy Rogers, took over the top spot, but Rocca continued to work second from the top for a while until being moved to the mid-card in 1962, being phased out at the end of the year with the emergence of Bruno Sammartino.

While Perez came 12th in the same list above Bret, Cena and Andre among others, despite doing nothing else in his whole career bar teaming with Rocca
    Miguel Perez, the name that will stand out on this list, was a consistent headliner for years as the tag team partner of Argentina Rocca. But he never headlined once as a single, and who wasn’t even a major star after his tag team with Rocca ended, working for years as a mid-carder barely above the jobber level.

They were the major stars of their era, the Hogans or Sammartino's while the Road Warriors were never the top stars, just the top tag team therefore I assumed that Perez and Rocca were the biggest drawing tag team in history comparitavely in the same way that Sammartino is considered a much bigger draw than Cena even though Cena has drawn more worldwide because Sammartino didn't have the chance to do that

Kurt's been used at midcard level before. Remember his Summerslam 2004 feud with Eugene? And that was supposed to be for his gold medal.

I don't see why Kurt at the midcard is unrealistic when you look at some of the names on these rosters.

Some of kurt's best stuff was on the midcard. His feud with Edge and his constant feuds with Benoit not to mention he was never that big of a draw