Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meeting the parents

• 26-06-2009 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I've been with my boyfriend for a year love him to bits and am meeting his parents tonight for the first time as his girlfriend have met them before we started dating but that was over a year ago. also his sister will be there, we used be friends until i started dating her brother and i know she is going to make it so difficult.
    advice or words of confidence will be greatly appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭I_am_Jebus

Cliché of course, but very relevant:

Just be yourself. You're bound to be nervous and that is fair enough. You're bf will be nervous too and possibly his family as well. It'll be grand. You've met them before so you are lucky in that you know what to expect.

Why is there an issue with the sister? I assume, whatever the issue is, that your bf is aware of it and if he's a decent guy he will do what it takes to counteract any problems caused/raised by his sister.

A year is fairly long time to wait to meet the parents isn't it? (or is it just me?)

Best of luck with it anyway, this time tomorrow, it'll be like it never happend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Ok, first of all deep breath....

You will be absolutely fine. Try to remember that it's about meeting the people responsible for moulding the guy your completely in love with...and if he ain't so bad then chances are they will be lovely too! Also if they have met you before that might kinda take the edge off -and after a year I'm sure your man has been singing your praises so they will more than likely already have formed a good opinion of you!

Now...as for the sister...I understand how that makes things awkward! Has she been bitchy towards you - like do you feel she would be bad-mouthing you to his parents? If it's just that things are strained prehaps she just feels strange about you kinda entering the family unit?

Wow, a year is a long time! Well that will actually go in your favour, you have been in their boys life quite a while and I am sure he has painted you in a good light so just chill and be yourself.

I met my man's parents on our second date, now THAT is scary! He was going for a family meal and invited me, was scary but once you get into it, it is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Red Tempest

Thats right, just be yourself. The best way, I've found, to secure the respect and regard of your boyfriend's parents is not to be afraid to be affectionate and still enjoy his company in front of them. If he looks happy to be with you and vice versa, then any normal parents will be happy with that. Try to have a laugh with them and not be too nervous, then their memories of you will be enjoyable ones.

You'll be fine!

Thanks for the advice u guys x
    Now as for the few questions raised. his sister and i used be very good friends but when i got with her brother [which neither himself nor i saw coming but are so happy it did] she totally changed - she told her parents im not good enough and a lot more that she had no right to ever mention. She told him these things too but he already knew. I have never said anything to her about this as i am now going to lower myself to her childish level.
    Am staying over for the weekend so i am very nervous, i know my boyfriend is too but he wont admit to it. He promised me he will be right there beside me through the whole weekend.

Okay....that sister sounds like a right be-atch! Well at least you have a heads up on the type of person she is, you are so right not to lower yourself to her level.

A full weekend is very intense for the first meeting as an official couple but you will fly through it - just try to stay relaxed and remember that if his parents really believed what his sisters been saying they prob wouldn't agree to have you stay a whole weekend?! Plus it'll give you the chance to really spend some quality time with them and prove her wrong...you sound like a decent person so just go there and be completely genuine.

Best of luck hun

Hey guys thanks so much for the advice said id let ye know that everything went perfect had a lovely time. his sister said about two words to me and then left for the weekend-her problem not mine! I enjoyed myself so much and so did my boyfriend.
    Thanks so much.