Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A modern day psyco.

• 24-06-2009 6:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/uk-world-news/2009/06/18/son-dressed-up-as-dead-mum-to-claim-benefits-for-six-years-86908-21450168/

Son dressed up as dead mum to claim benefits for six years

Jun 18 2009 By Amy Devine

A SON dressed up as his dead mum for six years to claim £72,000 in benefits.

Thomas Prusik-Parkin donned a wig, nail polish and heavy make-up and walked with a cane to collect the social security cash.

He also gave funeral directors the wrong details for mother Irene Prusik, so her death would not be registered on government databases.

Prusik-Parkin kept up the astonishing charade for six years while picking up around £430 a month.

He is also said to have taken out a million-dollar mortgage in his mother's name.

Investigators believe Prusik-Parkin roped in a pal to act as a "nephew" to help his alter ego walk and to talk on her behalf when she arrived at appointments.

Prusik-Parkin, of Brooklyn, New York has been arrested and charged with grand larceny, forgery and conspiracy charges linked to a deed and mortgage fraud scheme.

He told detectives: "I held my mother when she was dying and breathed in her last breath, so I am my mother."

Irene died in 2003 aged 73.

Prusik-Parkin's behaviour mirrors that of the Psycho movie character Norman Bates, who assumes his mother's personality.

The accused gave the funeral director the wrong social security number and date of birth, so Irene's death would not be registered.

Officials say Prusik-Parkin then began dressing in old-fashioned frocks to collect cheques, social security cash and his own disability cheques.

He also enlisted a close friend, Mhilton Rimolo, 47, to pose as Irene's nephew, help the "ailing aunt" get around town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Guess he'll be Parkin it in prison now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fair play to him for managing to get away with it for six years, obviously a nutter though.

pics here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I'd say PJ Gallagher is kicking himself he didn't think of it first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

*Takes off wig and glasses*

Disgusting...

Fair play to him though, to get away with it for 6 bloody years isn't bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Takes the phrase "Mummy's boy" to a whole new level...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He won't have to dress up to be someone's bitch in the slammer.:eek: