Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to deal with liars?

• 24-06-2009 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭

I have a " mate " and I use the term loosely as I'm fed up with his f*cking lies. About a year and a half of it, and I'll list some beauties below -

" i've slept with hundreds of girls "

" i went back to hers, shagged her, woke up and she was in this lingerie with a whip and we shagged about 6 times "

" i was praised as being unbelievably talented in [ sport ] after only doing it two months "

" [ celebrity ] offered me to stay in his house to save me on hotels "

Some of the lies have been so outrageous, others have later been factually discovered to be false.

What would ye do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Laugh at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭thealltimelow

maybe some are real ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Podman

The attention and interest you provide them is their reward.

Remove the reward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Look for advice on the internet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭thealltimelow

Look for advice on the internet which is fool of liars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Just ignore them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

lordy i hate people who do this;they're obviously fúcked in the head!

next time just say "really?cos that sounds like utter bull****" and see what he says. if he persists say, "ok prove it, show me how good you are at *whatever sport*" or "ok,get your celeb mate on the phone"

call his bluff and sit back,relax and watch him squirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

Tell a bigger lie.

eg. He Says "I've slept with hundreds of girls", you say "I've slept with thousands of girls"

He will soon realise how ridiculous he sounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,312 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Sounds like you're jealous tbh.

Try following him around and see if he telling the truth. Remain hidden at all costs and then you'll finally know.

WARNING: May lead to his next story being how he used to have a mate who lost the plot and went all ghey for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Ask him to involve/introduce you in some of the miraculous happenings in his life. See how that works out.

I trust you'll use discretion while choosing which to involve yourself in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Pretend to be interested and then...oh hang in, it seems you are interested, otherwise he would have stopped by now.
    I'd go for telling an even more unbelievable story, so if he says "I slept with hundreds of girls" you say, "I slept with hundreds of girls, and their ma's":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

I always find that setting their pants on fire ends any disagreement on the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Put them in the Dail with the rest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

I think we all know some Walter Mitty characters, as long as they're not hurting anyone they are harmless. He'll grow out of it when he looses his virginity....:)

Poke him in the eye everytime he tells a fib.

Pretend to sleep when he starts his stories

just say "stop lying you big liar"

If he says he shagged a girl six times, find said girl and get him to say it again in front of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

He's probably already been to the Dail, done the 3 Marys (that's Harney, Hanafin and Coughlan) and the two Brians (Lenihan and Cowan) on the way back out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Once a liar always a liar. Change the topic of conversation or just ignore him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Its not exactly rocket science. Tell him hes a lying bastard and not to bother his hole calling until he stops talking shite.

He will say that he is a rocket scientist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

This sounds like a job for Face Kicker..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

I have a " mate " and I use the term loosely as I'm fed up with his f*cking lies. About a year and a half of it, and I'll list some beauties below -

" i went back to hers, shagged her, woke up and she was in this lingerie with a whip and we shagged about 6 times "

" i was praised as being unbelievably talented in [ sport ] after only doing it two months "

Some of the lies have been so outrageous, others have later been factually discovered to be false.

What would ye do?
    Counter his lies with even more outragous lies of your own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

I have a habit of meeting, not "normal" liars, but compulsive liars. Friends that tell you they have cancer :mad: Their mam died :mad: They were mugged..serious! Everyone tells little white lies like "I ate something dodgy last nite and i won't be in for work" and it was because *I was on the *p1ss*. Not going to the extreme of some of the freaks I've encountered that were supposed to be close friends.

In my job I've learned a few things for interviewing people for vacancies.

The most common signs are:

1: To be honest (its commonly used by people covering up something or lying about something and buying time to think of a lie), used by a lot of HR departments, so never use the term at an interview
    2: People shrugging their shoulders and tilting their head to the left is a lie and to the right is the truth
    3: lick their lips alot
    4: hand to face touches (ears and hair etc)

The list goes on and it makes me paranoid when i'm talking to people as it feels you're trying to suss them out and you're on automatic mode. If you think someone is lying, you're probably right.

Friends that lie constantly, get rid! They're going to do ya damage eventually and God knows what they're saying about you behind you're back. They always have a motive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Throw a toilet roll at him and say "wipe your lip mate...because your talking shíte"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I reckon the OP's lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Kick his face in, and then lie and say it wasn't you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Ask him about his flying bicylce sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Mercilessly taske the pi55 out of him everytime I see him, preferably in front of other mates, for being such a bull5hitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Just wait until he tells you the next big lie, then say that someone had already mentioned that to you.

He'll have to either come clean or continue lying to you even though he knows you know its bullsh!t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Pretend to sneeze everytime hes lying then say Oh sorry I'm allergic to bullshit!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Frame him for murder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Astrogeek

No no just set him on fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

renraw wrote: »
    I have a habit of meeting, not "normal" liars, but compulsive liars. Friends that tell you they have cancer :mad: Their mam died :mad: They were mugged..serious! Everyone tells little white lies like "I ate something dodgy last nite and i won't be in for work" and it was because *I was on the *p1ss*. Not going to the extreme of some of the freaks I've encountered that were supposed to be close friends.

In my job I've learned a few things for interviewing people for vacancies.

The most common signs are:

1: To be honest (its commonly used by people covering up something or lying about something and buying time to think of a lie), used by a lot of HR departments, so never use the term at an interview
    2: People shrugging their shoulders and tilting their head to the left is a lie and to the right is the truth
    3: lick their lips alot
    4: hand to face touches (ears and hair etc)

The list goes on and it makes me paranoid when i'm talking to people as it feels you're trying to suss them out and you're on automatic mode. If you think someone is lying, you're probably right.

Friends that lie constantly, get rid! They're going to do ya damage eventually and God knows what they're saying about you behind you're back. They always have a motive

You'd hate me so, I'm a very nervous person and I do all of them in interviews or just around people I don't know that well, but I'm always truthfull. I've lost friends over there constant lying, it just frustrated me so much!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Knew a chap like this in collage. He had a different story everyday... Told me one time that he got this new Walkman one day in Dublin when a drug dealer, who was being followed by 2 guys with baseballs bats, pleaded with him to buy a Walkman off him for £100. This chap managed to talk him down to £50 it seems before the guys beat his legs to a pulp.

In the end one of the other blokes in the flat got tired of this so managed to find his home number and gave it a call the exact same weekend that Bob was supposed to be in Japan representing Ireland in some World Martial Arts Championship. When the phone was answered by a lady who said "Bob? Hold on... Bob! Phone for you...." my mate hung up knowing that Bob wasn't really in Japan.

Thing is, when he walked off the bus Sunday evening he had his arm in a sling. He must have realised that he had been found out and came up with another lie to cover himself :)

OP, if it doesn't really affect you then I'd just sit back and enjoy the storytelling. It's harmless really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I hate people who make up ridiculous lies.

I had this mate once, he told so many stupid lies his head blew up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

This statement is false

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I could trust a thief, But i could never trust a liar, they are the ones that would have you hanged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

I've one mate like that except he's always in cowboy style fights where people just get smart on him for no reason but he always is able to square his way out of it.

I don't talk to him cause he's full of **** and if I wanted to go on a night out and listen to a pack of lies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

I've known a few liars, and they really have come out with ridiculous crap like:

Got hit by a truck
    Blew up a hospital

One in particular. I told him I had a medical problem and asked if he had ever had the same thing. At first he said no, and in my mind I thought "wait for it" and suddenly he says, 'oh wait, yeah I have' and goes about telling me this grotesque story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Sick this chap on him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Podman

also check out this bullsh1t thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Starman07

Mate of mine keeps expanding on stories if he doesn't get the reaction he wants initially.Its quite embarassing to witness

"...and it turned out he was ghey!..(no laughs)...um,but then his father turned up and he had no shirt on,and his friend was a priest!...(awkward smiles)....uh,and in the end the prostitute ended up paying HIM!.."

In fairness,the "he was ghey" ending was f*cking hilarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Had a mate much like that when I was growing up, he was a handsome bloke now I have to say and the women did seem to fall for him. Nobody ever really believed he had slept with so many girls but we palled around together for close on 4 years and in that time I can safely say he had slept with at least, ooh, about 100 different girls I can remember myself anyway.
    He outwardly treated women like **** but most seemed to like it so I dunno, being a prick seemed to work for him I guess :confused:

Eh, well now, believe it or not that does actually happen, nothing unusual there ? wtf ?

Nothing unusual there either ??
    Grew up with lads who were better footballers than a lot of the crap in the English premiership, just that their attitude sucked and they had no self belief to push themselves toward that ultimate level, or that they never got the lucky break in the meantime, and/or mostly turned to drugs and ruined their own lives before they got a chance to do something better for themselves with the clear talent that they had.

Again, nothing really mad about that one either, nothing to say it wouldn't happen. Most people though wouldn't make a big thing about it.
    Maybe he took a few photo's he could show you ?
    What would ye do?

Stop being jealous for a start and/or get better friends who've achieved less than you so you can feel better about yourself ?

If you still think he is lieing a lot though then why not just say it to him and tell him to shut-up rather than asking on the interwebs (and AH for that matter) for advice ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Dancing_Priest

I had a mate like that in college. He was a legendary liar. He even told us that he wrote a novel, not just any novel, but a World War 2 epic about the seperation of a young japanese girl from the grandfather who had reared her...

One night at the start of the college year he claimed he was living in the G
    Untill he found a flat for the new college year.
    At about 3-4am, Drinking in a friends pub, I asked him what the residents bar was like in the marvelous G Hotel......
    The poor bugger, like a lemming picked up the phone and called a taxi for us to visit this place. I was bursting my hole laughing as we pulled up, wondering what the poor guy was going to say next..... The smile was wiped off my face when the fúcker only went and flashed his keycard to the receptionist who waved us onto the bar with a smile....:eek:

That night I learned that Bombay Saphire and Tonic is superior in every way to a miserable Gin and Tonic...
    After he went to bed we continued to charge 78 euro worth of these beauties to his room before having to jump off the smoking area to escape before he came down for breakfast (The front door just didnt seem safe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Next time be boasts of riding so many women, tell him that between the two of you, you've probably rode all the women in your area because you rode his ma and his sisters. That should piss him off.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭TheManWho

phasers wrote: »
    This statement is false

But if the statement is false, then that means that it's actually true, but if it's true then mabey just the subject matter itself and not the physical words are false, but that would make meaning of the sentance change which would nullify it's falseness or trueness, but if the trueness or falseness doesn't matter then whats the point of the sentence, unless the sentence is missleading, which would make it's meaning false but not necesseraly it's connotation, but that in itself would make the statment true as it's meant to be false which would contradict it's meaning and in this sentence it's meaning is all that matters but if the meaning is false then the statement is true which it can't be because being true would immediatly make it not false which it proclaims to be, but taking the meaning of false to be false in itself then the statment can be taken as true but that would make it false ...AAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH... SEE WHAT LIES CAN DO... AAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH..... <brain explodes>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Nehaxak wrote: »
    He outwardly treated women like **** but most seemed to like it so I dunno, being a prick seemed to work for him I guess :confused:
    Ill never understand this :(
    Thats it.Im off to be a complete cnut to all women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

People please; do not, I repeat, do not confront these individuals with the cold hard truth that they are actually sad pathetic losers.

It will only end in tears along with a possible battering and stabbing.
    If you dont believe me check out the link below:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/merseyside/4633339.stm

...for record, yeah I've been with hundred of women. In fact, I've had complaints I'm so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I love people like this, just feed them bull**** and watch them hang themselves..."oh yeah yer man the actor..he has a massive glass piano in all his homes, did ye get to see it?". Or just try to top their stupid stories with your own and they'll exaggerate so much to win that they become an object of ridicule. They're an endless source of amusment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

There's is nothing better than catching out a liar! Catch your "mate" out and let them try wiggle their way out of it for a while, then simple walk away and never talk to him again!