Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complete Morons

• 24-06-2009 9:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭

had 2 individual people in my dads shop yesterday

1. a guy bought a scott mtb off the internet ( in a box ) and he assembled it himself and had his front forks on backwards and didnt know it , so i pointed it out to him , and he said its the way scott sent it ( complete tool ) we all know he assembled it and guess what ???? he had a rake of problems because he didnt do it right

2. now this is the worst , a young mother and her son come in , the kid no more than 2 or 3 and sitting on one of them crossbar seats when theres a proper child seat on the back WTF , she also had her front forks on backwards , she admitted that she had assembled it , but her handlebars were a bit lose , she wanted a complete service :) but wanted it there and then , we were busy so told her she had to wait like 5 or 10 mins she seemed ok , then to my amazement i turned around and she was gone , cycling up the road with loose handle bars and loose wheel , with a kid on the bike , how F**king stupid was she , to risk a babys life ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Acoustic wrote: »
    he assembled it himself and had his front forks on backwards...he had a rake of problems

Duh-dum, tshhh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

But did any of them ask for a pump!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

strangely no

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Any of them ask for a slap!!!

What a bunch of looooders .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

So two people with bike problems entered a bike shop and was looking for a fix? No sh!t :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

It's too easy to point out and laugh -

I did that yesterday at a man with a stratos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

AstraMonti wrote: »
    So two people with bike problems entered a bike shop and was looking for a fix? No sh!t :eek:
    I think the point is that the woman wandered off with a child on an unsafe bike and the guy insisted the fork came mounted backwards.

thanks pete

theres always one isnt there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I was being ironic because i don't understand the point. There are morons everywhere. I saw yesterday a child in the car without a safety seat. I saw today a guy on a motorbike without a helmet. Should i go to motor forum and do a post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

AstraMonti wrote: »
    I was being ironic because i don't understand the point. There are morons everywhere. I saw yesterday a child in the car without a safety seat. I saw today a guy on a motorbike without a helmet. Should i go to motor forum and do a post?
    Up to you. some people would.

Let's say there's a thread I think is waste of time, should I read it and then post in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

So take their money and fix their bikes (am I missing something here :)) Be nice to them and they might become a long-term customer.

Possibly the fork did come backwards (they often rotate them to fit in the box) and yer man rotated the stem rather than the whole fork. I will grant this is a technicality that yer man was unlikely to be aware of.

No excuse for rudeness or demanding things "right now" on the part of the customers either mind... You wouldn't go to a garage and expect your car to have a complete service on the spot, why would it be different with a bike.

Some non-bike people don't really understand how certain things really need immediate fixing and are unsafe though, I remember one guy had a loose bolt on wheel and was going to cycle it, I strongly advised him to take that one to a bike shop ASAP (didn't have a 15mm spanner on me or I would have sorted it myself.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭DePurpereWolf

I like these stories, keep them coming.

blorg wrote: »
    So take their money and fix their bikes (am I missing something here :)) Be nice to them and they might become a long-term customer...................... we'd gladly take their money and custom

Possibly the fork did come backwards (they often rotate them to fit in the box) and yer man rotated the stem rather than the whole fork. I will grant this is a technicality that yer man was unlikely to be aware of.........ahh come on , when the fork is bent right back and brake is underneath the downtube... that doesnt look wrong ????

No excuse for rudeness or demanding things "right now" on the part of the customers either mind... You wouldn't go to a garage and expect your car to have a complete service on the spot, why would it be different with a bike................we'd gladly service her bike , but i was there and my dad and about 15 other people ( no joke ) and we were in the process of looking after other people , i told her when we look after the people ahead of her we'd service the bike , she looked and said ok thats fine thanks ,

Some non-bike people don't really understand how certain things really need immediate fixing and are unsafe though, I remember one guy had a loose bolt on wheel and was going to cycle it, I strongly advised him to take that one to a bike shop ASAP (didn't have a 15mm spanner on me or I would have sorted it myself.)

i mean is it worth your health and babys health because u got a halfords bike for €40 cheaper ???? then spend about €25 for somebody in the know to service it ????

or looking for spares for novelty bikes

these people infuriate me tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

1. a guy bought a scott mtb off the internet ( in a box ) and he assembled it himself and had his front forks on backwards and didnt know it , so i pointed it out to him , and he said its the way scott sent it ( complete tool ) we all know he assembled it and guess what ???? he had a rake of problems because he didnt do it right

2. now this is the worst , a young mother and her son come in , the kid no more than 2 or 3 and sitting on one of them crossbar seats when theres a proper child seat on the back WTF , she also had her front forks on backwards , she admitted that she had assembled it , but her handlebars were a bit lose , she wanted a complete service :) but wanted it there and then , we were busy so told her she had to wait like 5 or 10 mins she seemed ok , then to my amazement i turned around and she was gone , cycling up the road with loose handle bars and loose wheel , with a kid on the bike , how F**king stupid was she , to risk a babys life ???

ha are you only a newbie to the cycling trade?:). Thats common.. wait till they start threatiing to call joe duffy....(like I give a ****).

Or demanding to return a used bike. Shouting and screaming that the shop is crap because i refuse to do a warranty job...on a 3 yr old bike, no reciepts and clearly bought in another shop(shops sticker clearly visible on seat tube).

Yup people are retards.

I can understand the forks backwards to a extent.

If the put the forks on backward its odds on the crank threads are cross threaded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭*Hank Scorpio*

I hate going to bike shops with problems that are pretty easily fixed for more experienced riders. Feel really embarassed. Couldn't properly get my tube and wheel back on the other day and had to go up to the local bikeshop for them to do it. He did it in like 2 minutes D:

but now you know how to do it in the future;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

The scary part in all of this is that more and more people are riding bikes that are unsafe -- at the end of the day something will happen like someone dying before people realise that a qualified mechanic should be putting together a bike... I agree with the OP its stupid.

kona wrote: »
    ha are you only a newbie to the cycling trade?:). Thats common.. wait till they start threatiing to call joe duffy....(like I give a ****).

Or demanding to return a used bike. Shouting and screaming that the shop is crap because i refuse to do a warranty job...on a 3 yr old bike, no reciepts and clearly bought in another shop(shops sticker clearly visible on seat tube).

Yup people are retards.

I can understand the forks backwards to a extent.

If the put the forks on backward its odds on the crank threads are cross threaded

if you call over 30 years experience ( my dad ) a newbie

But you posted claiming it was you who experienced this. Any person ho has spend 6 months in a irish bike shop is used to this carry on.

So was it you or your dad who was invovled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭fiacha

It's too easy to point out and laugh -

I did that yesterday at a man with a stratos

Why were you picking on stratos guy ?

The scary part in all of this is that more and more people are riding bikes that are unsafe -- at the end of the day something will happen like someone dying before people realise that a qualified mechanic should be putting together a bike... I agree with the OP its stupid.

thanks scotty ( will give you that €5 later :) )

i heard halfords dont give you warranty , you buy a bike and you get it in a box and then you assemble it and take it on your own back if you fook it up , the amount of people dropping bikes into the shop in boxes to be assembled is unreal , and the others like that lady , she's a tool , she deserves what she gets for being that ignorant to safety , i feel sorry for that kid who hasnt a breeze whats going on

But you posted claiming it was you who experienced this. Any person ho has spend 6 months in a irish bike shop is used to this carry on.

So was it you or your dad who was invovled?

it was me , but i dont work for my dad , was just helping out on this particular day as he was on his own , he was dealing with others

Doubt it, it would be a rare bike that didn't arrive with cranks already on.

Maybe the fork/brake was one of these aero jobbies :)

prod_12217.jpg

There are absoloutley no regualtions on bikes. You dont go to a bike school(like in america to learn), its all done hands on, slowley.

The BS (british standard) doesnt cover parts, it just covers the frame and it dates back to 1991.

There needs to be a update in standards, it would eradicate all the cheap bikes.

Doubt it, it would be a rare bike that didn't arrive with cranks already on.

Maybe the fork/brake was one of these aero jobbies :)

prod_12217.jpg

I meant the L + R pedal, with the left being a reverse thread, people jhust grab any pedal and force it in. so R/h pedal into L/H crank would **** it up. especially a cheap one.

That fork, I always wondered why roadies had the brakes up front, behind seems much more streamlined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

I hate going to bike shops with problems that are pretty easily fixed for more experienced riders.

I know what you mean. When I started cycling, I had no maintenance experience. First two times the brake pads went I had them replaced in shops and both times one of them was not tightened properly and the brakes didn't work on first use. This was before I found out how easy it is to replace braked pads.

Still can't get the hang of gear tuning, though.

thanks scotty ( will give you that €5 later :) )

i heard halfords dont give you warranty , you buy a bike and you get it in a box and then you assemble it and take it on your own back if you fook it up , the amount of people dropping bikes into the shop in boxes to be assembled is unreal , and the others like that lady , she's a tool , she deserves what she gets for being that ignorant to safety , i feel sorry for that kid who hasnt a breeze whats going on

Of course you get a warranty but obviously the labour part is void.If you bring it to them for the 6week service then your warranty is covered. AFAIK.
    Never understood taking responsibilty of assembling somthing you dont have a clue about, Halfords know there are idiots who will do this for the sake of getting a bike a few days early, and capitalise. I think selling boxed bikes to customers is irresponsible IMO.

Although being built in another shop, will void it, im pretty sure.

Is your dads shop ****ing mental? the one im in is jammers. so many repairs and Cycle to works.

it was me , but i dont work for my dad , was just helping out on this particular day as he was on his own , he was dealing with others

so you kinda would be new to all this customer bull****:):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭*Hank Scorpio*

eightyfish wrote: »
    I know what you mean. When I started cycling, I had no maintenance experience. First two times the brake pads went I had them replaced in shops and both times one of them was not tightened properly and the brakes didn't work on first use. This was before I found out how easy it is to replace braked pads.

Gear tuning? intrigued...

he's a wholesaler too , so the wholesale is mega busy at the min

retail shop is mental also , hence why i was helping out , yeah the cycle to work scheme brings in a lot and repairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Gear 'tuning' is surprisingly easy..just have to be methodical about it. Google for Park Tools website, and search for gear indexing on YouTube. Well worth knowing how to do yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭MaxFlower

i mean is it worth your health and babys health because u got a halfords bike for €40 cheaper ???? then spend about €25 for somebody in the know to service it ????

or looking for spares for novelty bikes

these people infuriate me tbh

I'd imagine if you were on the dole of €200 a week and still have to get on with your life/kids etc then €40 will seem like a lot. Maybe she was doing the best she could under her circumstances.

You missed the chance of helping her out and making some money to boot. Win/win no?

MaxFlower wrote: »
    I'd imagine if you were on the dole of €200 a week and still have to get on with your life/kids etc then €40 will seem like a lot. Maybe she was doing the best she could under her circumstances.

You missed the chance of helping her out and making some money to boot. Win/win no?

ah but they dont want to pay:rolleyes:
    Most people who buy cheap **** are quite wealthy(or it would seem). People who seem to be on a low wage buy decent bikes too.
    There are retards both wealthy and poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

ah but they dont want to pay:rolleyes:
    Most people who buy cheap **** are quite wealthy(or it would seem). People who seem to be on a low wage buy decent bikes too.
    There are retards both wealthy and poor.

Alot of people think "its a bloody bike a childrens toy, of course they are meant to be cheap" and don't realise the false economy of a cheapo bike.

tunney wrote: »
    Alot of people think "its a bloody bike a childrens toy, of course they are meant to be cheap" and don't realise the false economy of a cheapo bike.

yup, spot on.:)

They are waking examples of how ignorant a country we are towards cycling.

The the classic.....1200? you can buy a car for that!....yes a piece of **** highmileage money pit maybe...but hey its still a car and its superior:rolleyes:
    could you take this car off road? nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

yup, spot on.:)

They are waking examples of how ignorant a country we are towards cycling.

The the classic.....1200? you can buy a car for that!....yes a piece of **** highmileage money pit maybe...but hey its still a car and its superior:rolleyes:
    could you take this car off road? nope.

What had you showed them your front wheel or something?

tunney wrote: »
    What had you showed them your front wheel or something?

eh:confused: that fell over there
    >

wait till they start threatiing to call joe duffy....(like I give a ****).

Ha! What do they threaten to call Joe Duffy over?

anything at all! my shoe lace untied, me not giving them a irish e2:rolleyes:(yes that was a good one), my favorite was one who actually did get on joe duffy, we gave her a free bike....she still complained:D(some people are jsut born gob****es)

Most recent was some eejit coming up, demanding "warranty" work:rolleyes:
    , with no reciepts or anything of course:rolleyes:(typical).

Of course she "knew her rights", personally i would be suprised if she could spell warranty. Anyways the bike wasnt in that back condition, she just didnt have a reciept, so I wasnt entertaining her requests of free work, I said the best I could do was e10 and bike in 10 mins, que the spoilt brat approach(30 year old woman now:o):

Shouting, stamping feet, wagging finger, shaking, telling other customers not to shop here, saying she will never shop here(thank **** I dont have to look at her or her cheap piece of **** ever again), then she goes, joe duffy is going to hear about this:D I Actually laughed in her face. Since when do people think a ****ty RTE radio programme hold so much weight with customer rights:eek:

But anyways she was "escorted" out.

If she was sane i probably would have done it for free if I had the chance. The fact her attitude was to throw a tantrum...get the **** out, your a fully grown adult woman, cop on.

Most recent was some eejit coming up, demanding "warranty" work:rolleyes:, with no reciepts or anything of course:rolleyes:(typical).

No receipt, no excuse, really. I mean, if you spend a few hundred quid an anything you keep the receipt, FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

...a qualified mechanic should be putting together a bike...
    Classic!
    Do you call an electrician to change your blown light bulbs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

No receipt, no excuse, really. I mean, if you spend a few hundred quid an anything you keep the receipt, FFS.

Not a problem with many shops, e.g. CSS who keep your personal details and a record of all purchases on the computer system.

best one was , i was in a well know shop in dublin city centre doing a delivery and while chatting to the owner , some asian guy comes in and asks for a tube , no problem says the owner , what size would you like he said , the asian guy just said tube , and the owner said i cant give you a tube unless you tell me the size , again he said tube and the owner was getting pisssed off , then the asian guy says " you racist " and then the owner just said will yeh ever fook off your not even black

i fell around the shop , classic

Gurgle wrote: »
    Classic!

thats the dumbest statement ive ever heard.

best one was , i was in a well know shop in dublin city centre doing a delivery and while chatting to the owner , some asian guy comes in and asks for a tube , no problem says the owner , what size would you like he said , the asian guy just said tube , and the owner said i cant give you a tube unless you tell me the size , again he said tube and the owner was getting pisssed off , then the asian guy says " you racist " and then the owner just said will yeh ever fook off your not even black

i fell around the shop , classic
    Hmm I wonder what shop that was :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

Gurgle wrote: »
    Classic!
    thats the dumbest statement ive ever heard.

I think Gurgle was getting at the fact that, for most cyclists, its very easy to put a bike together when its been delivered from CRC or Wiggle or some other internet bike shop, and it doesn't need to be brought to LBS. And to be fair if you spend more than 30 min's on this forum you'll find a lot dumber statements that his.

Hmm I wonder what shop that was :pac:

say no names :)

but not to many people would have said that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

72hundred wrote: »
    I think Gurgle was getting at the fact that, for most cyclists, its very easy to put a bike together when its been delivered from CRC or Wiggle or some other internet bike shop, and it doesn't need to be brought to LBS. And to be fair if you spend more than 30 min's on this forum you'll find a lot dumber statements that his.

from wiggle, a child should be able to do it, but off crc and some other sites there can be a fair bit of assembly where people not in the know can mis-assemble the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

from wiggle, a child should be able to do it, but off crc and some other sites there can be a fair bit of assembly where people not in the know can mis-assemble the bike.

Getting this in the post would present a challenge for many people:

22910-1.jpg