Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Emerging Springboks vs Lions - pre/during/post match discussion

• 23-06-2009 1:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭

British and Irish Lions: 15 Keith Earls (Munster/Ireland), 14 Shane Williams (Ospreys/Wales), 13 Riki Flutey (London Wasps/England), 12 Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster/Ireland), 11 Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster/Ireland), 10 Ronan O'Gara (Munster/Ireland), 9 Harry Ellis (Leicester Tigers/England), 8 Andy Powell (Cardiff Blues/Wales), 7 Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues/Wales), 6 Joe Worsley (London Wasps/England), 5 Nathan Hines (Perpignan/Scotland), 4 Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster/Ireland), 3 John Hayes (Munster/Ireland), 2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh/Scotland), 1 Tim Payne (London Wasps/England).

Replacements: 16 Lee Mears (Bath/England), 17 Phil Vickery (London Wasps/England), 18 Simon Shaw (London Wasps/England), 19 David Wallace (Munster/Ireland), 20 Mike Blair (Edinburgh/Scotland), 21 James Hook (Ospreys/Wales), 22 Ugo Monye (Harlequins/England).

Emerging Springboks: 15 Zane Kirchner (Blue Bulls), 14 Luzuko Vulindlu (The Sharks), 13 Deon van Rensburg (Leopards), 12 Morgan Newman (Western Province), 11 Bjorn Basson (Griquas), 10 Earl Rose (Golden Lions), 9 Jano Vermaak (Golden Lions), 8 Duane Vermeulen (Western Province), 7 Jean Deysel (Sharks), 6 Dewald Potgieter (c) (Blue Bulls), 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp (Blue Bulls), 4 Steven Sykes (Sharks), 3 Werner Kruger (Blue Bulls), 2 Bandise Maku (Blue Bulls), 1 Wian du Preez (Free State Cheetahs).

Replacements: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg (Western Province), 17 Pat Cilliers (Sharks), 18 Franco van der Merwe (Golden Lions), 19 Jacques Botes (Sharks), 20 Heini Adams (Blue Bulls), 21 Willem de Waal (Western Province), 22 Danwel Demas (Free State Cheetahs).

Ronan O'Gara is captaining the side, great news for him

Bulls full-back Zane Kirchner has been passed fit for the Emerging Springboks and will line up alongside starting wingers Luzuko Vulindlu and Bjorn Basson.

Earl Rose has been named at fly-half outside team-mate Jano Vermaak with flanker Dewald Potgieter captaining in a strong-looking back-row.

"We are blessed with the amount of depth we have in South African rugby and the group of players assembled here proves that," said coach Dick Muir.

"We are wary of the fact that the British and Irish Lions will be looking to bounce back after their defeat in the first Test, but I'm confident that we'll be competitive against them on Tuesday."

COME ON THE LIONS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I could have done a better job of that preview. :p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Sand Wedge

Obviously good news for O Gara to captain Lions. But this also means that he will not start second test. I know he would rather the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

When's kickoff?where is the match?who should i look out for on the Emerging Springboks side?

My preview would have sorted you out mate. :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

Anyone else thinking upset today? Bad feeling about this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

subfreq wrote: »
    Anyone else thinking upset today? Bad feeling about this one.

Upset? No. ES are a really good side with a real chance of beating us. I wouldnt call that an upset, just a victory for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

I don't think anyone is expecting a huge Lions win. I think now that the Tests have started, that is where the focus is. This match is to see how some Test options are performing, like Fitz, ROG and DOC.

With the greatest 10 in NH ROG to lead us, how can we lose??

If this doesn't get a torrent of abuse, I'll vomit on my jaffa cakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Any streams of the game around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Games not till tonight 6 O'Clock is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

With the greatest 10 in NH ROG to lead us, how can we lose??

If this doesn't get a torrent of abuse, I'll vomit on my jaffa cakes.

/nips out to shop to buy thomond a pack of jaffas.... :D

/waits for inevitable provincially-biased post about how Sexton should be there instead... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Junior wrote: »
    Games not till tonight 6 O'Clock is it ?

6.10 I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Amabokke

RHunce wrote: »
    British and Irish Lions: 15 Keith Earls (Munster/Ireland), 14 Shane Williams (Ospreys/Wales), 13 Riki Flutey (London Wasps/England), 12 Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster/Ireland), 11 Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster/Ireland), 10 Ronan O'Gara (Munster/Ireland), 9 Harry Ellis (Leicester Tigers/England), 8 Andy Powell (Cardiff Blues/Wales), 7 Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues/Wales), 6 Joe Worsley (London Wasps/England), 5 Nathan Hines (Perpignan/Scotland), 4 Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster/Ireland), 3 John Hayes (Munster/Ireland), 2 Ross Ford (Edinburgh/Scotland), 1 Tim Payne (London Wasps/England).

Replacements: 16 Lee Mears (Bath/England), 17 Phil Vickery (London Wasps/England), 18 Simon Shaw (London Wasps/England), 19 David Wallace (Munster/Ireland), 20 Mike Blair (Edinburgh/Scotland), 21 James Hook (Ospreys/Wales), 22 Ugo Monye (Harlequins/England).

Emerging Springboks: 15 Zane Kirchner (Blue Bulls), 14 Luzuko Vulindlu (The Sharks), 13 Deon van Rensburg (Leopards), 12 Morgan Newman (Western Province), 11 Bjorn Basson (Griquas), 10 Earl Rose (Golden Lions), 9 Jano Vermaak (Golden Lions), 8 Duane Vermeulen (Western Province), 7 Jean Deysel (Sharks), 6 Dewald Potgieter (c) (Blue Bulls), 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp (Blue Bulls), 4 Steven Sykes (Sharks), 3 Werner Kruger (Blue Bulls), 2 Bandise Maku (Blue Bulls), 1 Wian du Preez (Free State Cheetahs).

Replacements: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg (Western Province), 17 Pat Cilliers (Sharks), 18 Franco van der Merwe (Golden Lions), 19 Jacques Botes (Sharks), 20 Heini Adams (Blue Bulls), 21 Willem de Waal (Western Province), 22 Danwel Demas (Free State Cheetahs).

Ronan O'Gara is captaining the side, great news for him

Strong enough Lions squad and expect them to win just marginally. Some players have something prove and would like to be picked for Saturday so expect a tough match.

Players from EB to watch:

15 Zane Kirchner (Blue Bulls), 14 Luzuko Vulindlu (The Sharks), 9 Jano Vermaak (Golden Lions), 8 Duane Vermeulen (Western Province), 7 Jean Deysel (Sharks), 6 Dewald Potgieter (c) (Blue Bulls),

This is a very good squad and I think they can do it. We will win the breakdown as Vermeulen, Deysel and Potgieter are animals and any 3 could be in the bok team as replacements.

Unluckiest player is Kirchner, would luv to see him in the bok team. Expect big things from him whenever he get the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Lions are favoured by 6. I'm not sure they have enough in this team to do it.

Yes KO is 6.10pm Irish time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

beat you to it thomond :P i wonder does this game count in the fantasy league, i thought phase two was just the tests in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

Apparently the weather today in Cape Town is dire, so it could be 80 minutes of trench warfare & rolling mauls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

TarfHead wrote: »
    Apparently the weather today in Cape Town is dire, so it could be 80 minutes of trench warfare & rolling mauls

Looks that way. Bad for the back 3, good for O'Gara and the potential test starters in the pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Go O'Gara :D

jaffa-cakes.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

Any streams to be found lads for a wee fella all the way over in San Francisco?? Pubs are charging $20 just to be inside for the game :(

quirkster wrote: »
    Any streams to be found lads for a wee fella all the way over in San Francisco?? Pubs are charging $20 just to be inside for the game :(
    http://www.justin.tv/live24live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

http://www.justin.tv
    http://www.myp2p.eu
    they'll have streams closer to ko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

"John Hayes Prop" - Classic stuff.

Bull struggling to introduce himself there.

Good man Bull, SS not worthy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Oh no.... feck ya ROG:(

Nice Fitzy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

i love Rolland refereeing matches top class ref!!

sweetly done DOC, saved an attacking score, peno lions from their own 5m line

The fitz kid is playing well tonight!!

Rolland doing his Bryce Lawrence impression. All the penos goin the lions way. Not that he is wrong but u have to wonder.

Very nice finish from Keith Earls!

try Earls!

go on earls you good thing!!

Converted by ROG

ESA 0 - 10 Lions

Earlsy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is Powell Denis Hurley's brother? :D:D

No, but he is pure ****e though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭LeoGilly

My god thats some rain!!

DO'C is well and truly playing for the no. 4 jersey for saturday, he is having a gr8 game. Talk about being up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Well there goes a decent game

Payne is as bad as Vickery. Oh for Cian Healy now. Bleedin hell where do they get them english props from?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Payne is as bad as Vickery. Oh for Cian Healy now. Bleedin hell where do they get them english props from?.

Oh it does it really matter Sheridan would of been starting anyway, Healy is better off enjoying the CC win in Denver.

I'll never complain about the rain in Ireland again.

****ing unbelievable conditions.

Decent kick by ROG, at last. He has not started gr8 from a kicking point of view.I don't agree with the SKY lads. Sounds like they want O'Gara at 10 saturday. They are so far up his ass.

nice kick ROG, makes up for earlier mistakes

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Decent kick by ROG, at last. He has not started gr8 from a kicking point of view.I don't agree with the SKY lads. Sounds like they want O'Gara at 10 saturday. They are so far up his ass.

Considering the conditions he is kicking pretty well.

I thought Rose was more than a kicker. Will he ever pass it?.

Jackz wrote: »
    Considering the conditions he is kicking pretty well.
    His last 2 were good, before that no. The up and unders were awful. I know the conditions are tough, but the SKY guys are really talking him up.

Good man Hines. You tell em who's boss. :D:D

There goes Hine's chance.