Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Refinishing a guitar

• 23-06-2009 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭

Hey Lads,

Lokking for some info, I want to strip down and re-spray a guitar, pure project and I would like to put some sort of decal on it when I am redoing it.

I have never done anything like this so I am just wondering where would I buy supplies etc and what would be the best steps to take / not to take and if there are some usefull websites etc ..

I am sure this has been asked before, but I am quite new so Thanks in advance..

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Is it a project to learn how to properly refinish a guitar, or a project to get a guitar that's a new colour by any means necessary?

I have a Squier strat a sprayed white with regular everday normal paint. I rushed it a little, so the paint is a bit thick and crap-looking in places, but if you took your time doing a lot of thin coats, you could get it looking pretty good.

ReRanch seems to be the best place to learn about/buy for guitar refinishes.

http://www.reranch.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Yup reranch is the place to be. Also for supplies over here you would need to look at the likes of halfords or other motorfactors as well as wood work and hobbies. Its very hard to get the correct paints and finished in Ireland as most online suppliers cant ship here since the stock is flamable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Stratocaster

I have finished a couple of guitars, If you have never spray painted before I wouldn't recommend doing it until your fairly confident especially if this is going to be your main guitar. The problems you could face would be too much spray and too little spray. Too much spray and you will get paint runs and too little will result in a poor gloss, uneven finish. You have to build each coat up gradually and its a bit of a fine art as each pass of the spray must be even.

You mention something about a sticker, so I take its going to be a clear finish. This type of finish is even more tricky than standard colors, any small blemishes will be really noticeable and you might have to sand it again and touch up.

I can recommend another process which will give similar results and would be easy to do. You could call it french polishing, sounds like you have the guitar fully sanded so just make sure your happy with the finish. De grease the guitar give it a good clean over with white spirits there is also some special wood De greasers. Next pick a sanding sealer similar to the color of the wood and they also come in different shades so its possible to darken the wood if required. Once that's dry go over it again with a fine grade sand paper 200+grit and De grease again.

For the finish there is a couple of options, different types of clear shellac and different varnishes both tinted and clear. Its up to you to decided. All you got to do now is build up your layers and sand and De grease between each layer. You can build the finish up to a simple vintage nitro type and right up to a standard high gloss poly type. It all depends on how many coats you apply.

The method used to apply each coat would be starting off with the pure shellac/varnish, pour it into a small dish and dip with a soft cloth. You apply the coat in a circular motion. As you move on to the next coat thin down the shellac with some white spirits, by adding a small amount, you gradually thin the mix with each coat and don't forget to sand and De grease between each coat.

Lots of people use this method on guitar necks, the neck could be bone white and this finish would be applied to give it a more vintage look, also to give a better feel over the sticky poly stuff while still protecting the wood. I have used this finish on both body and neck. I had no problems going over the decal just careful with the white spirits as it may fade the color.

Might seem like a lot of info up there but once you start doing it you'll see how easy it is and it gives a great durable finish with the best advantage of all, better tone from your guitar as the wood is free to breath and resonate.

Do a quick search on french polishing and you'll find some great step by step guides and all the stuff required can be found in any of the larger DIY places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Just a small note about reranch... you can't buy the paint from there and have it sent to Ireland. This is due to restrictions on sending nitrocellulose products by air.

Their forums give some good advice though > http://www.reranch.com/reranch

You can build the finish up to a simple vintage nitro type and right up to a standard high gloss poly type. It all depends on how many coats you apply.

I'm sorry but this is rubbish. You can't change the type of lacquer just by varying how you apply it. B0ll0x!

Nitrocellulose & Polyester/Polyeurathane finishes are totally different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭User2

Guys thanks for all the advice I will check the forums etc on re-ranch and I am still a little bit confused on what type of paint to buy any suggestions???

Dord wrote: »
    I'm sorry but this is rubbish. You can't change the type of lacquer just by varying how you apply it. B0ll0x!

Nitrocellulose & Polyester/Polyeurathane finishes are totally different.

I know the difference between Nitro and Polys. I am talking about the overall "appearance" of the finish. By adding a few layers you bring the finish just above the grain "similar" to the soft matt nitro finish. By adding many layers you bring the finish well above the grain which "similar" to a deep gloss poly finish.

I gave a quick explanation as to how the process goes and some examples and provided information on how to finish a guitar with products you can find easily. I don't have time to write a novel about lacquer differences. I come from car spray painting back ground and have finished guitars for both myself and others and I feel I am experienced enough to give advice.

I don't know if your experienced enough to give criticism on my post maybe you are. What I do know is that's a very childish and immature response to a post and those kind of criticisms are enough to put people off giving information on subjects they are familiar with. I wouldn't normally bother to write this up but I see you are a "Moderator" and should know better.

User2 wrote: »
    Guys thanks for all the advice I will check the forums etc on re-ranch and I am still a little bit confused on what type of paint to buy any suggestions???

I've used automotive paint, similar to the ones available at halfords etc.
    There not ideal but they will work once you prime the guitar with a wood primer. The primer holds the paint to the body, if you don't prime the wood theirs a chance the paint will flake off while preparing for lacquer.

Dont forget to practice spraying first and see how it turns out when dry, once your happy with the result, move onto the guitar and take your time.
    Best of Luck with the project.

I wouldn't normally bother to write this up but I see you are a "Moderator" and should know better.

I really hate when people do this. I'm not a moderator in this forum. Along with that being a moderator doesn't mean you can't challenge others posts. This is a discussion forum after all! :rolleyes: I'm really just another user but with a little extra responsibility...thats about it.

Anywho back on subject, maybe you should have clarified this in your original post. I just thought it read (to someone without the knowledge) that you could change easily between the types.

I really hate when people do this. I'm not a moderator in this forum. Along with that being a moderator doesn't mean you can't challenge others posts. This is a discussion forum after all! :rolleyes: I'm really just another user but with a little extra responsibility...thats about it.

Anywho back on subject, maybe you should have clarified this in your original post. I just thought it read (to someone without the knowledge) that you could change easily between the types.

Well if you read my first post you will see I use the word "type of finish" which gives the impression of the finish being similar. I don't recall mentioning by adding more or less you "will" get a nitro or a poly finish.

The words "rubbish" and "B****x" are not considered as challenges or discussions. They are words used to put someone down and that's the problem with this forum I see it all the time. On my first ever thread both you and I think another "Moderator" made a joke about my choice of guitar hardware. There's no need for it and it puts people off posting valuable info. The forums should be used for advice and information not egos.

Thanks for all the tips lads...

Much appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭legologic

I have a post in a previous thread That I think explains the whole process in fairly good detail.

Legologic thanks for that man, super post..

On my first ever thread both you and I think another "Moderator" made a joke about my choice of guitar hardware. There's no need for it and it puts people off posting valuable info. The forums should be used for advice and information not egos.

It wasn't a joke, it was a constructive comment and I don't have an ego.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Stratocaster, if you have a problem with a post, report it. Do not drag the thread of topic.

Dord, you should know better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭legologic

Legologic thanks for that man, super post..

No bother man. Just dont get put off by the wall of text there. The effort is definitely justified by the rewards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭aurin07

Hey Lads,

Lokking for some info, I want to strip down and re-spray a guitar, pure project and I would like to put some sort of decal on it when I am redoing it.

I have never done anything like this so I am just wondering where would I buy supplies etc and what would be the best steps to take / not to take and if there are some usefull websites etc ..

I am sure this has been asked before, but I am quite new so Thanks in advance..

Cheers

can i suggest something.. i looked into your road too.. was gonna buy the gear do it myself blah.. was up in the 300+ euro mark by the time i was lookin at a compressor and decent gun... where are ya based

i got this done for 100 yoyos ;)
    BEFORE
    DSC02035.jpg
    DSC02036.jpg

AFTER
    P5110038.jpg
    P5110042.jpg

aurin07 wrote: »
    can i suggest something.. i looked into your road too.. was gonna buy the gear do it myself blah.. was up in the 300+ euro mark by the time i was lookin at a compressor and decent gun... where are ya based

i got this done for 100 yoyos ;)
    BEFORE
    DSC02035.jpg
    DSC02036.jpg

AFTER
    P5110038.jpg
    P5110042.jpg

Nice! Who did that for ya?

How do you like the Delano P btw? I have the two of the J versions in my Jazz bass. Very cool! :)

Nice! Who did that for ya?

How do you like the Delano P btw? I have the two of the J versions in my Jazz bass. Very cool! :)

A local guy, lives about 11miles up the road from me does custom bike spraying for a living..(Can pm if interested) have got bits on my bike done by him before so i kinda asked as a favour turned out it wasnt his first

the Delano is SWEET!!

shes wired straight to the Jack so theres serious tone in it :D crystal clear and Huge output.. yoke is louder then my Jazz ith Qp's and Jeast retro!!
    DSC01996.jpg

black hardware is off it now..

this is my latest project.. got a set of VJ4 nordys for it.. and a tort guard coming this week..

P6030055.jpg
    Aurin

A local guy, lives about 11miles up the road from me does custom bike spraying for a living..(Can pm if interested) have got bits on my bike done by him before so i kinda asked as a favour turned out it wasnt his first

the Delano is SWEET!!

shes wired straight to the Jack so theres serious tone in it :D crystal clear and Huge output.. yoke is louder then my Jazz ith Qp's and Jeast retro!!

Holy carp, I just noticed it's wired direct to the jack. I have my fretless done like that but I have pots in it with knobs (just for show). Where did you get the pickguard with no pot holes?

Thanks for the offer of the details but I don't need them. Good idea tho! :)

The other basses look hot too! :cool:
    Where bouts are you living? :p

i am based in deansgrange...

I think i may want to give it a go, my uncle is a panel beater and has the guns and knowledge etc...

Holy carp, I just noticed it's wired direct to the jack. I have my fretless done like that but I have pots in it with knobs (just for show). Where did you get the pickguard with no pot holes?

Thanks for the offer of the details but I don't need them. Good idea tho! :)

The other basses look hot too! :cool:
    Where bouts are you living? :p

living in cork , kinsale area.. ah got the pickguard from Warmoth.. 28 dols and 30 for postage :rolleyes:
    i am based in deansgrange...

I think i may want to give it a go, my uncle is a panel beater and has the guns and knowledge etc...

ah your sorted so! best of luck with it!! :)

living in cork , kinsale area.. ah got the pickguard from Warmoth.. 28 dols and 30 for postage :rolleyes:

ah your sorted so! best of luck with it!! :)

Lads cheers for all the info, you's know your stuff inside out fair play

its all just bluffing i swear :P

let us know how it goes!! :)

Will do, I will do a before during after set of snaps and I will throw them up wrzta or photobucket and post the link here... Cheers Lads...