Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What cycling shoes?

• 23-06-2009 10:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭

I'm planning to start using clipless pedals on my road bike. I have bought the pedals, Shimano R540s and cleats. Now I need to get some suitable shoes. I'll looking for well-ventilated shoes because I intend to use them mostly in summer weather.

The choice offered by CRC is dazzling, even in the under €50 bracket. Any recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

These.

I have the MTB version, and they're great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

ah you gotta get white ones, otherwise it just looks like you are wearing your dads business shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

Only problem with them is that they are so bling you blind passing motorists

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

http://www.specialized.com/gb/en/bc/SBCEqProduct.jsp?spid=40468

I have these very good fit and black to boot, like any self respecting cyclist should have :rolleyes:

Raam wrote: »
    ah you gotta get white ones, otherwise it just looks like you are wearing your dads business shoes.

OK then, perhaps these:

speca_pro_carb_rd_wht_07_m.jpg

Sidi for show, Specialized for go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

If you are really looking for well ventilated hard to beat SPDs and Shimano sandals. Not available for a road system unfortunately although I have considered taking a box cutter to a pair of carbon-soled Sidis.

Having said that most cycling shoes are pretty well ventilated. I have Specialized ones myself and they are very cool, almost to the extent that there is little difference from the sandals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Just as a matter of interest folks. I got the MTB version of the cleatsa nd shoes for my new Specialised Tricross bike at the weekend. There a little diffrent to the clipless pedals I use on my other road bike and I find it hard to relaease my feet fro the MTb ones. Any tips or hints to make it easier and safer to release your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭paddyb

Lumen wrote: »
    These.

I have the MTB version, and they're great.

I have the mtb version of these as well and they are really good shoes

blorg wrote: »
    If you are really looking for well ventilated hard to beat SPDs and Shimano sandals. Not available for a road system unfortunately although I have considered taking a box cutter to a pair of carbon-soled Sidis.

Do not listen to this man. He is clearly crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Or even these

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

sandals.

Feckin hippie !

"But under no circumstances should a replica pro team kit or a national/world champion kit be worn unless you’ve earned it. "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

Are there any compatibility issues with Shimano cleats going with other shoes? Or is it all standardised?

White shoes might be better too, not just for Euro reasons but also for reflecting sunlight.

Another criteria that would be nice is if the shoes were suitable for both walking and clipping into pedals. That way I don't have to bring two pairs of shoes on this tour. I am willing to go beyond €50 on the budget, if anyone has further recommendations.

Húrin wrote: »
    Another criteria that would be nice is if the shoes were suitable for both walking and clipping into pedals. That way I don't have to bring two pairs of shoes on this tour. I am willing to go beyond €50 on the budget, if anyone has further recommendations.

Specialized BG MTB shoes; I think I have these Sport ones.

Are there any compatibility issues with Shimano cleats going with other shoes? Or is it all standardised?

White shoes might be better too, not just for Euro reasons but also for reflecting sunlight.

If you are going for the SPD system (not SPD SL), then you should be grand with any MTB style shoe. Just post up here if you are buying off t'internet. If in a shop, they can tell ya.

You might not get too many white MTB shoes, although Sidi do a pair, over 100e though. Silver/blue/grey ones out there though.

Edit: 3 uses of the word "though" in two sentences, not bad.

These are the shoes I have but thier a bitch to get your feet out of the pedals
    Lumen wrote: »
    Specialized BG MTB shoes; I think I have these Sport ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

billyhead wrote: »
    These are the shoes I have but thier a bitch to get your feet out of the pedals

That's not the shoes, it'll be how tight the engagement is at the pedal. You can adjust it at the pedal, you'll see a little nut with + and -, turn towards the latter to loosen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

I need to get pedals and shoes for a road bike - under €150 for both. Has to be from chain reaction cycles - any recomendations ?

If you want walkable shoes you will have to change your pedals to MTB ones. I would highly recommend this for touring/commuting/utility cycling, a road system really only makes sense for racing and spins where you will not have to walk off the bike AT ALL. You cannot walk in any shoe using the pedals you have, the cleat sticks out from the bottom of the shoe and makes it impossible. The MTB systems recess the cleat in the sole.

Road (SPD-SL):

060909175753.jpg

MTB (SPD) - note the cleat is recessed into the sole:

shimano-sandal.jpg?w=495&h=217shimano_shoes1.jpg

Specialized BG MTB shoes would be a bad idea, they are very stiff and designed for racing. They are excellent shoes for cycling in but not great for walking. For a single shoe to take on a tour you need something with a somewhat soft and flexible sole. Again I will suggest Shimano SPD sandals which are the only shoes I take on tour in hot countries (and even in Ireland in the summer, with overshoes and waterproof socks.) Apart from the sandals there are a number of shoes that look like runners or hiking boots that may well be suitable for walking (I don't own any.)

EDIT: Roughly, you want something that looks like this:

9508.jpg

NOT something that looks like this:

29820.jpg

a road system really only makes sense for racing and spins where you will not have to walk off the bike AT ALL.

Aren't you overstating the not walking just a tad there?

You can walk, with varying degrees of difficulty depending on the pedal system, but you wouldn't want to go for a walk.

Actually, Time may be more walkable-in than other systems. It's those nifty cafe cleats. That never break.

Thnaks Lukestar. I will try it when I get home. The shimano clipless shoes and pedals I have for my other bike are grand. I suppose its also a matter of getting used to these
    lukester wrote: »
    That's not the shoes, it'll be how tight the engagement is at the pedal. You can adjust it at the pedal, you'll see a little nut with + and -, turn towards the latter to loosen.

lukester wrote: »
    You can walk, with varying degrees of difficulty depending on the pedal system, but you wouldn't want to go for a walk.
    You can hobble. The man wants to bring a single pair of shoes for a two week tour. Even Time's cafe cleats will not be suitable there! Any sort of cycling where a proportion of walking is involved beyond hobbling to the counter in a cafe at the midway point you really want a MTB system (and even there if they are the only shoes you are bringing on holiday you would want non-racing MTB shoes.)

The man wants to bring a single pair of shoes for a two week tour.

He just needs to HTFU :pac:

I think I'll just bring a pair of sandals to wear while walking! It's come down to two pairs. I'm not sure which to choose; otherwise I'll just choose based on price:

Shimano R085 SPD for €64

or SIDI Zephyr 2009 for €99

OK, so I've got my shoes. I find it difficult to clip in to the pedals. Is this normal or do I need to loosen the spring in the pedals in some way?

It's usually tricky the first few times as you learn how to do it.

I clip the front of the cleat in but then ye gads, it's impossible to get the back of the cleat into the sprung part of the pedal! It just keeps obeying gravity and falling downwards!

the shoes and cleats:
    3697818626_ae613dbb90_b.jpg

the pedals: I turned the allen bolt counter clockwise so that the spring would loosen. It did loosen but not very much.

3697818632_3d8fd786d2_b.jpg

Should I sand down the 'leading edge" of the cleat where it meets the sprung part of the pedal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Are you pushing with enough power to clip on? I moved recently from mtb cleats to road cleats and i found it harder to clip in and out. After few minutes of practice i was fine though.

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Are you pushing with enough power to clip on? I moved recently from mtb cleats to road cleats and i found it harder to clip in and out. After few minutes of practice i was fine though.

Is there any trick to preventing the back of the pedal from slipping down? Should I be pushing down on the opposite pedal at the same time?

I clip the front of the cleat in but then ye gads, it's impossible to get the back of the cleat into the sprung part of the pedal! It just keeps obeying gravity and falling downwards!

Should I sand down the 'leading edge" of the cleat where it meets the sprung part of the pedal?

By the way if the hole at the front of those shoes annoys you too much (as it did me) you could get some black tack and place it in the holes. Or someone else here suggested candle wax.

Hook the front bit in first. Then push the pedal forward so that it is level. Then move it forward as if you are pedaling. The back of the cleat should click in as you apply downward force.

It's also easiest to clip in when the relevant foot is in the 6 o'clock position.

Dónal wrote: »
    By the way if the hole at the front of those shoes annoys you too much (as it did me) you could get some black tack and place it in the holes. Or someone else here suggested candle wax.

What's the purpose f that hole?

To let air in I suppose. Haven't had problems with overheating with it closed off myself.

Maybe in hotter countries though..