Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The God of Supplements?

• 22-06-2009 5:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37

Im starting to get into building body and muscle mass.Im only 5'7 (pretty small) and weigh 11 and a half stone.I want to know if there is a "god" among supplements.Some supplement that has everything I need!Or do I have to buy separate products for whey, cretine etc. to get best results?What is the best supplement for protein, creatine etc.

Also,anyone who has taken supplements,any advice and experience?Anyone have bad side effects from taking supplements?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Steak, eggs and milk sound like what you're looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

There are no miracle supplements. Your best friends will be a solid diet and dedication to training. Once you have your diet in order, then start thinking about supplements. If your diet is up to scratch as-is, then whey protein/casein protein would be pretty common suplements for bodybuilders. You won't really find many products that have protein and creatine in them, as they're better taken separately usually. There are a few but they are ridiculously expensive and you'd be better off buying separate products.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Synergy :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Hammer down a solid diet and any supplement you take will help you.

But DIET is key man,its worth while looking into it a good bit,id say its about 65:35 ratio of diet to training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 The Dukie

amacachi wrote: »
    Steak, eggs and milk sound like what you're looking for.
    Already eat and drink them.
    Parsley wrote: »
    There are no miracle supplements. Your best friends will be a solid diet and dedication to training. Once you have your diet in order, then start thinking about supplements. If your diet is up to scratch as-is, then whey protein/casein protein would be pretty common suplements for bodybuilders. You won't really find many products that have protein and creatine in them, as they're better taken separately usually. There are a few but they are ridiculously expensive and you'd be better off buying separate products.
    I know there is no supplement that does the work for you but want to know if there is a supplement for protein or creatine that is better than the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

The Dukie wrote: »
    I know there is no supplement that does the work for you but want to know if there is a supplement for protein or creatine that is better than the rest.

By and large, they're all the same, except flavour which varies from brand to brand. All the main companies have pretty much the same standard mixes, some might taste nicer, or be a small bit cheaper etc etc.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Already eat and drink them.

Try eating more of them and see how you get on, before you start spending money on supplements.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

fish oils would be my number 1 supplement as there is soooooo much research showing benefits and protein can be gotten from natural foods instead of supplements (not that i would give up my drinks they are just convenient).

So trying more steak, egg, etc. If I go for supplements on the side, is there any I should avoid?I wouldn't be in to steroids but is there any other controversial supplements on the market?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

So trying more steak, egg, etc. If I go for supplements on the side, is there any I should avoid?I wouldn't be in to steroids but is there any other controversial supplements on the market?

Avoid weight gainers as they'll make you fat,avoid tribulus as it doesnt work and forget all about the magic power of supplements,its all marketing.
    Lift weights and eat proper food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

Degsy wrote: »
    avoid tribulus

That's a bit harsh, he's not that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

In my experience the below have helped me with general health & training!
    *A good vitamin supplement
    *Fish oils or veg oils w/ Omega 3,6,9 if you cant stomach fish oils!
    *Glucosamine/Chondroitin complex
    Great everyday supplements & relatively cheap regardless if youre training or not!
    I personally throw Milk Thistle & drink green tea for detoxing purposes...
    Have also heard good things about co enzyme q10 & have just started taking it today.

As everyone else has said get your diet & training sorted before you consider Creatine & the like's.They can be used down the road as a Plateau buster if.

IMO
    My favourite creatine supplement which I keep going back to is Universal Storm http://www.nutritionconnection.ie/goods-198.html

Then protein wise I love
    Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey
    http://www.nutritionconnection.ie/goods-10.html

Again this is what works for me & Im sure people on here will completely disagree with me on what to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭T-rev

should you take the fish oil from a bottle rather than a capsule?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

sorry to hijack thread but can someone recommend a protein shake that can me made without a food processor and that tastes decent

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

sorry to hijack thread but can someone recommend a protein shake that can me made without a food processor and that tastes decent

You could get taster tubs and see which you like the best:

http://www.thesupplementfactory.com/p12/Whey_1lbs/product_info.html?osCsid=8232bcc3c34489baf4cd067f5d33497e

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭slemons

You know all this about eating food, its better than any supplement. Balls...
    PC bull****

I havent seen any kind of food do for me what creatine and BCAA's do.
    Or orthocore, or coconut oil, or ZMA, or fish oil.

**** it, 19 hours days are nothing now.
    2 years ago at only 24, i had to get a 'power kip' every evening after lazing my way through work for a measly 8 hours

For me..
    1 - OrthoCore
    2 - BCAA's
    3 - Whey
    4 - Caffeine
    5 - Vitamin E
    6 - ZMA
    7 - Coconut/Fish Oil
    8 - Physilium Husks - See Emmett excellent post on these. Cheers dude
    9 - Creatine

Cut the bull**** lads. If food does all that then what the **** are ye eating? Cornflakes laced with Dianabol? lol ;)

Degsy wrote: »
    Avoid weight gainers as they'll make you fat,avoid tribulus as it doesnt work and forget all about the magic power of supplements,its all marketing.
    Lift weights and eat proper food.
    So I'm lifting weights while taking weight gainers, will it not make my bigger and muscly or just put on fat?Tribulus I hear is good and bad.Some say it works,some say its useless. There is a piece on internet that talks how good tribulus is. But not too sure bout taking it myself!Lift weights 3 times a week, with cardio as well. Other days are for abs and boxing.Will that still make me big or should I take supplements like creatine?

slemons wrote: »
    PC bull****

2 years ago at only 24, i had to get a 'power kip' every evening after lazing my way through work for a measly 8 hours

For me..
    1 - OrthoCore
    2 - BCAA's
    3 - Whey
    4 - Caffeine
    5 - Vitamin E
    6 - ZMA
    7 - Coconut/Fish Oil
    9 - Creatine

Cut the bull**** lads. If food does all that then what the **** are ye eating? Cornflakes laced with Dianabol? lol ;)
    And how is it going for you?What do you think i should take?I don't want to be huge but want to put on some decent muscle to not look like such a weed!Being only 5'7 sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

PC bull****

For me..
    1 - OrthoCore
    2 - BCAA's
    3 - Whey
    4 - Caffeine
    5 - Vitamin E
    6 - ZMA
    7 - Coconut/Fish Oil
    9 - Creatine

Thats a very ****ing responsible post, look at OPs posts and tell me if you think he's a prime candidate for becomming a supplement guinea pig??

Try and have a bit of cop on, people are only trying to meet the OPs basic dietary needs before he goes off wasting money on supps he doesn't need yet/ wont be getting the full benifit from.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

mloc wrote: »
    That's a bit harsh, he's not that bad.

Lol, though I agree with Degsy about it.
    I liked Alpha Male when I got some but that was a concoction of all types of stuff from what I recall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

Just some random curiousness here.....
    I was looking at the ingredients of that OrthoCore stuff and N-Acetlycysteine was listed as one. Apparently it is used in a number of supplements but does anyone know why? I know that it is effective aainst some illnesses and can act as an anti-oxident but i cant see anything to indicate that it can improve performance in healthy people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

injured365 wrote: »
    Just some random curiousness here.....
    I was looking at the ingredients of that OrthoCore stuff and N-Acetlycysteine was listed as one. Apparently it is used in a number of supplements but does anyone know why? I know that it is effective aainst some illnesses and can act as an anti-oxident but i cant see anything to indicate that it can improve performance in healthy people

Sure what the fcuk good is Vitamin E either!! yet i still have a heap of em!!

Thats a very ****ing responsible post, look at OPs posts and tell me if you think he's a prime candidate for becomming a supplement guinea pig??

Try and have a bit of cop on, people are only trying to meet the OPs basic dietary needs before he goes off wasting money on supps he doesn't need yet/ wont be getting the full benifit from.....

lol, what?

The man asked a question.

Why not just answer it, instead of making assumptions?

And how is it going for you?What do you think i should take?I don't want to be huge but want to put on some decent muscle to not look like such a weed!Being only 5'7 sucks.
    Start off simple.
    Whey and fish oil.
    Figure out the basics. Read the stickies about protein:carbs:fats ratio.
    Figure out your goals. You wanna be just big? Fast? Powerful? Play sports?

All questions for you to answer...

Dont worry about getting huge. Most people have to work hard for years to get there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Personally I use Kapow! by Multimuscle. The pumps are hellacious.

I use the occasional supplement, but only when my diet is 100%. Before trying supplements, get the diet in order. You should know how many calories you're consuming, and how much of those are protein/carbs etc. Otherwise you're just papering over cracks.

Start off simple.
    Whey and fish oil.
    Figure out the basics. Read the stickies about protein:carbs:fats ratio.
    Figure out your goals. You wanna be just big? Fast? Powerful? Play sports?

All questions for you to answer...

Dont worry about getting huge. Most people have to work hard for years to get there...
    And what supplement brand would you reccomend? I need something that will hit me hard and fast!I really want to see results quickly. Only dose is that I work from 5am-5pm.So hard to get in decent session before I head to bed, to be able to get up the next morning. Diet at moment is porridge in morning, peanuts for snack, brown ham and cheese sandwhich with an apple and banana, peanuts for snack again. For dinner, steak and chicken curry and rice! Is it any good?

You wanna be just big? Fast? Powerful? Play sports?
    All of the above!!!:DI already play football,only practice boxing.Playing sports is ok for the moment.Just wanna get bigger, stronger and faster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭nikolaitr

I was exactly in your shoes a few years ago thinking that supplements were what I needed to start putting on mass.

Supplements are not some miracle that will make you grow instantly.

You need to get your diet down first
    If you want to put on mass eat 25g of protein every 3-4 hours.
    Eat it with some Carbohydrate like brown rice/baked potato/pasta/steamed veg

Also spending 50 euro on a book like Encyclopedia of Bodybuilding by Arnold or the one by Weider will be of more use than any supplement at this stage.

After that the first supplement I would recommend to buy is a whey protein, I use Optimium Nutrition 100% whey, good value for money.

Stuff like ZMA, Creatine, Trubulus, Aminos etc are not much good to you unless you have been training for at least a few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

nikolaitr wrote: »
    Also spending 50 euro on a book like Encyclopedia of Bodybuilding by Arnold
    I got that in my local library costs 50cent to bring it in from another library

can someone recommend a protein shake that can me made without a food processor and that tastes decent
    I can't but if people haven't tried it I would highly recommend using a blender for your shakes, with ice which is the most important bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

T-rev wrote: »
    should you take the fish oil from a bottle rather than a capsule?

Makes no difference. Questions like this go in the supplements sticky.

Again, the supplements sticky please.

Bah. I see I have to read back through this thread now. Damn you all to hell!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

PC bull****

For me..
    1 - OrthoCore
    2 - BCAA's
    3 - Whey
    4 - Caffeine
    5 - Vitamin E
    6 - ZMA
    7 - Coconut/Fish Oil
    9 - Creatine

So hotshot,you must be HUUUUGE..
    How big are you?
    What kind of weights are you lifting?

lol, i got muscle on my muscle and i dont even bother training.
    When i do train i easily bench twice what you can.
    Now i gotta go bate 10 youngfellas with machine guns :D

Haha!Lads take it easy!I'm only getting every ones opinion before I do anything!No need to get upset or uptight about anything.Looking for everyones opinion and what worked for them.Does anyone else have advice or opinions for me and what worked for them?