Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People with NYPD and FDNY clothing.

• 21-06-2009 11:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭

Seriously, WTF?

You are not American, you are not a member of the emergency services, and any sympathy for the events of sept 11th 2001 have surely been chastened by the events in the middle east since, at least enough not to dress up like a fake cop.

There's a guy in work right now (yes I work nights) with a NY Fire Department fleece.

Unless you have no other clothing, stop wearing this sh!t ... retard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

I think it's both hilarious and sad that even in the face of a catastrophic event like Sep. 11 , a buck can still be made by the marketing men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

It never occurred to you that the NYPD and the FDNY may benefit from the sale of that clothing?

Solidarity ftw. But at least your hearts in the right place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Those shirts were around looooong before 9/11, jusus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Someone bought me a FDNY t-shirt a few years ago, I wear it because it's comfortable. Does that offend your sensibilities?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

davyjose wrote: »
    Seriously, WTF?

You are not American, you are not a member of the emergency services, and any sympathy for the events of sept 11th 2001 have surely been chastened by the events in the middle east since, at least enough not to dress up like a fake cop.

There's a guy in work right now (yes I work nights) with a NY Fire Department fleece.

You must have a good life if this is the kind of thing that bothers you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

So.... nobody is allowed wear the jersey of their favourite sports team either? There not on the team and may not be sporty so you cannot wear the official jersey. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Offends the crap out of them Rhyme. I want to stick the heads of people who wear this stuff down the toilet, and flush repeatedly.

I don't get it. "Hey guys, I'm just advertising the fact that I want fires to be put out - particularly in New york. And i also want to show that I approve of an organisation put about to police that city."

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I support the FDNY through a campaign of arson.

Robbo wrote: »
    I support the FDNY through a campaign of arson.

That's the spirit Robbo. Keep them in jobs. Particularly in a recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

any sympathy for the events of sept 11th 2001 have surely been chastened by the events in the middle east since
    Damn right, how dare the NYPD and FDNY invade Iraq! The BASTARDS! :mad:

I have an NYPD mug around somewhere. I'm going to dig it out and use it from now on.

Offends the crap out of them Rhyme.
    did you survey them all? 40,000+ Officers and 14,000+ Firemen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Agamemnon wrote: »
    Damn right, how dare the NYPD and FDNY invade Iraq! The BASTARDS! :mad:

I have an NYPD mug around somewhere. I'm going to dig it out and use it from now on.
    Just in case the OP comes round for tea? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I love the NYPD T-Shirts. Maybe the job has been glamorised for me in the media though.

Who cares what people want to wear once it doesn't get in my way.

Overheal wrote: »
    did you survey them all? 40,000+ Officers and 14,000+ Firemen?

i was referring to my sensibilities.

Overheal, you're American, I get it. I'm Irish, I've yet to see a Dublin Fire Brigade, or Gardaí t shirt worn around these parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Couldnt you say the same thing about sport team jerseys, you dont play on the team why wear them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I've yet to see a Dublin Fire Brigade, or Gardaí t shirt worn around these parts
    Because it's illegal / not allowed (at least in the case of AGS).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Overheal wrote: »
    It never occurred to you that the NYPD and the FDNY may benefit from the sale of that clothing?

Solidarity ftw. But at least your hearts in the right place.
    I love Rescue Me.
    Great programme starring Denis Leary.:pac:
    Rhyme wrote: »
    Someone bought me a FDNY t-shirt a few years ago, I wear it because it's comfortable. Does that offend your sensibilities?

Comfort ftw, we don't want to get into creating clothesism.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I, for one, have been shamed by davy's great post.

I have just thrown out all the clothes in my house with any sort of label, including thw OH's work suits. (well she doesn't work for St Bernard St Michael Oxfam. :D)

No one has any connection to adidas, nike, asics or Clarks, so all the footwear has gone, too.

The kids will go to school naked tomorrow, but at least my conscience is clear.

Random wrote: »
    Because it's illegal / not allowed (at least in the case of AGS).
    I figure if the NYPD didnt want it going on they would ban the merchandise as well.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

and any sympathy for the events of sept 11th 2001 have surely been chastened by the events in the middle east since

I'm not convinced I see the correlation between FDNY/NYPD and the events in the Middle-East.

If they want to wear them, they can wear them. What's the harm?

NTM

/burns Ferrari t-shirt..:(

Pherekydes wrote: »

The kids will go to school naked tomorrow, but at least my conscience is clear.

Most schools are subsidised by the church, your conscience should be sticking needles in your eyes.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

My Dads in the DFB, so growing up we basically looked like child-models for the FDNY.

Post 9/11, much of the money thats gone to the kids of the 343 men lost that day has come from merch (And some from kind celebrities, think Denis Leary, Dropkick Murphys etc.) sold by the FDNY. All I'd ask is if you're going to buy it, please buy it from the FDNY themselves and not on the street, might be a bit dearer but the money goes to the right place.

any sympathy for the events of sept 11th 2001 have surely been chastened by the events in the middle east since

Absolutely. I think the firefighters who went to work that day like any other morning to do their job impartially are to blame for American imperialism :rolleyes: Bang out of tune attitude mate, look at the Fire Brigade Union in the U.K. They raised thousands for the 9/11 orphans, and at the same time delievered new fire equipment to Iraqi firefighters. There's a very important word in the world called class, and the men who made the decision to rape the resources of Iraq don't belong to the same one as those who died on 9/11, be they secretaries, cleaners, firemen or anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

I have an fdny hoodie. Its cosy so I wear it, I'm not trying to be american by wearing it, it's simply cosy.

Don't see the problem with them. What do you think when people go around wearing Brazil or Barcelona shirts? Isn't it kinda the same thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

Hogzy wrote: »
    Couldnt you say the same thing about sport team jerseys, you dont play on the team why wear them?

No. People don't actively follow the goings on of the NYFD, and cheer them on as they do it. Literal interpretation, because of the entirely different premises in your argument.

Also, this thread is mainly against the OP's point of view, but I too never "got it" in regards to these t-shirts... It'd be the same as wearing or selling Garda Síochána t-shirts, which I know would be seen as crazy were it to happen.

But ultimately I don't care...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Seriously, WTF?

So i can't wear a Nike t-shirt if i'm not the Greek Goddess of Victory?

I have an NYPD shirt, my sister brought it home from NY and i think it's quite nice, so i wear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Seriously, WTF?

Rip it off him and toss it in the bin. We'll back you up behind our computer screens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭su_dios

i was referring to my sensibilities.

Overheal, you're American, I get it. I'm Irish, I've yet to see a Dublin Fire Brigade, or Gardaí t shirt worn around these parts

Not taking away from the Dublin fire bridage but having been in NY this year for Paddy's day..the FDNY are seriously impressive looking. Quite a large amount of them around 7foot tall, proper uniforms and a good few handbar mustaches!

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v652/179/108/508865008/n508865008_2112559_2056827.jpg

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v652/179/108/508865008/n508865008_2112563_1258768.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I'll make sure to burn my FDNY t-shirt in the morning before I head to work. I've an issued Marines jumper lying around somewhere as well, so that'll have to join the FDNY t-shirt.

Anything else I should get rid of while I'm at it OP? Lord knows I'd hate to have you annoyed at me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

I have friends in the FDNY and they tried to give me free hoodies and fleece and t-shirts but I refuse to take them for free without contributing to the Firemans fund. I second what private eye says buy them from the official means if you decide to buy as it supports them. Sent my buddies a few texts and they all have said it doesnt bother them and they dont find it disrespectful 4 of them in total.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

ah crap. Cant watch telly now cos its philips. :( me neighbour philip must have some load of tellys now.

seanybiker wrote: »
    ah crap. Cant watch telly now cos its philips. :( me neighbour philip must have some load of tellys now.

Must get my screwdriver back too..

Poccington wrote: »
    I'll make sure to burn my FDNY t-shirt in the morning before I head to work. I've an issued Marines jumper lying around somewhere as well, so that'll have to join the FDNY t-shirt.

Anything else I should get rid of while I'm at it OP? Lord knows I'd hate to have you annoyed at me.

How ironic would that be?

And surely in keeping with your irony, you should drown the Marine's jumper?

Must get my screwdriver back too..
    hey when I drop back me philips screwdriver is there and chance ya can give my other one to mr flathead. That allen keys fella is a tit so Ill keep his stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

MrStuffins wrote: »
    How ironic would that be?

And surely in keeping with your irony, you should drown the Marine's jumper?

Well considering the USMC is a combined arms force and pretty much it's whole organization revolves around Marine Air-Ground Task Forces, be they MEF's, MEB's or MEU's, no there's no real point in drowning it.

However, I applaud your post cause it made me chuckle. :D

Well considering the USMC is a combined arms force and pretty much it's whole organization revolves around Marine Air-Ground Task Forces, be they MEF's, MEB's or MEU's, no there's no real point in drowning it.

However, I applaud your post cause it made me chuckle. :D

I'm not even going to pretend i know what any of those acronyms stand for.

But i like the idea of a t-shirt with all of those listed on it!

, be they MEF's, MEB's or MEU's, no there's no real point in drowning it.
    wtf? Lol.rofl ha ha. Brb kk still lol

Sorry j/k

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

NYPD and FDNY gear are available online with a leading GAA supplier, so the OP mite want to get onto them to stop the influx of such material!

Actually, looking that up, I've taken a fancy to the NYPD one, looks very nice TBH! Its the same as wearing the jersey of any soccer team, or wearing the jersey of a county that u are not from IMO.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I prefer my Al-Qaeda tshirt

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

You better be a member. Shame on you if your not.

Bet it's two sizes too big.:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Seriously, WTF?

So in return if we all do, will others stop wearing "Nike" (its not your name I suspect), "Addidas" (are you an arab and are you doing a runner?), will ye leave your "D&G" bag at home (sounds like a dog food) and should we call ye all "Ben Sherman" - is there that many of you that ye all have your name on your shirts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I have both a hat and T-Shirt that reads F.B.I Female Body Inspector, both were the ubiquitous present from such farflung exotic: destinations as Playa Del Ingeles and Santa Ponsa:D, before I would ever be caught in such dives. Still they are pretty funny, I also have an "I'm with stupid" and "The man the legend" T-Shirt.

Look guys, as far as i can see 1 of 3 things is going on:

1) People actually think this stuff is cool (and I suspect this the most), but it isn't cool. It's dorky and stupid looking, particularly for an IRISH man to wander around wearing this stuff.

2) People have genuine support for the Police and/or Fire Department, in which case I'm sure they've a collection of LAPD and Chicago Fire Department T-shirts and caps ... oh but wait, I have never in my life seen these items on people in Ireland, which kinda leads me back to point 1 again. they wear NYPD stuff cos its "fashion".

3) It's politically motivated, given the tragic occurrances on sept 11th '01, and TBH i find it a very vague way of supporting one particular side of a conflict between two entirely foreign nations.

And no it's not the same as wearing a Nike T-shirt, because Nike is a brand, not a slogan or a statement. And yes wearing Sports Jersey's is similar, but it's genuinely difficult for me to reconcile someone having a passion for a team or a rock band, with having a passion for the cops.

I'm also aware that this probably shouldn't bug me, but it does. That's my cross to bear. But I feel sure that If I started a thread about some eejit wearing a Fianna Fail T-shirt, there'd be less an outpour of gasping indignance. I'd still slag him either way, because I don't particularly have a problem with the NYPD, I just think guys wearing NYPD caps look like eejits. In fact I genuinely wouldn't have a problem with points 2 & 3, if I didn't have a sense that it's very similar to the whole Ché Guevara T-shirt/Poster trend of years gone by. A statement without making a statement at all.

Maybe I'm thinking this out a bit too much - what initially was a throwaway remark. But I'm glad I did. I knew it irked me, I just hadn't thought why, but the process of explaining it to you guys has made it clear. So thanks for that :) And yeah it still annoys me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I'm not even going to pretend i know what any of those acronyms stand for.

Marine Expeditionary Force/Marine Expeditionary Brigade/Marine Expeditionary Unit.

Of course, Marine is also an acronym.

"My Ass Rides In Navy Equipment" or "Muscles Are Required, Intelligence Not Essential"

NTM (Army)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

im originally from ny, think ill buy some just to make your day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭sitout

Random wrote: »
    I love the NYPD T-Shirts. Maybe the job has been glamorised for me in the media though.

Who cares what people want to wear once it doesn't get in my way.

You sound tough , id say yore some sort of a bouncer, i would not get in your way, no flippin way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Bet it's two sizes too big.:pac:

It doubles as a tent for those long weekends out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Seriously, WTF?

So what you are telling me is that you ONLY wear clothes with labels and slogans on them that you have a direct affiliation with?

I doubt it.