Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rumoured Lions team for 1st test

• 18-06-2009 8:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭

Got word from a reliable source last night that this is the team & bench that will line up on Saturday. Jones is a surprise (is he better than Jenkins at the breakdown??) so I suppose we'll have to wait for the official announcement to see if my source is correct.

Byrne
    Bowe
    Monye
    Roberts
    O’Drisc
    Jones
    Philips
    Heaslip
    Wally
    Croft
    Alwyn
    Paulie
    Meers
    Vickery
    Jones

Prop
    Hooker
    Shaw
    Martyn Williams
    Ellis
    Rog
    Kearney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Onearmedbandit

Jenkins could be injured although I don't think there is much point speculating until the actual team is announced. When is the announcement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Three hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭7mountpleasant

No way will Jenkins be on the bench.

Crash wrote: »
    Three hours.

Cheers cant wait, i reckon ROG to get the nod ahead of Jones (just a feeling).

Rumour is Wallace & Williams will play but it looks unlikely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

You mean the team nearly everyone has predicted anyway? :rolleyes:

The team is announced at half twelve today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Jaysus, thought BOD was on the wing at first. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

dan719 wrote: »

Well excuse me for posting some information which I thought people might be interested in knowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

dan719 wrote: »

The team is announced at half twelve today.

There's some interesting calls if that team is accurate i would have thought. Jenkins on the bench, Jones in the 2nd row with POC, Kearney on the bench, Monye being picked over Fitz.

spoon wrote: »
    There's some interesting calls if that team is accurate i would have thought. Jenkins on the bench, Jones in the 2nd row with POC, Kearney on the bench, Monye being picked over Fitz.

I think the Monye/Fitz situation is a close call, as has been previously discussed on the southern kings match thread with many differing views. I wouldn't be surprised to see either picked ahead of the other one.

Jenkins should be picked though, especially considering the problems at the breakdown in the last match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

I think the Monye/Fitz situation is a close call, as has been previously discussed on the southern kings match thread with many differing views. I wouldn't be surprised to see either picked ahead of the other one.

Jenkins should be picked though, especially considering the problems at the breakdown in the last match.

Chances are Monye will be picked, but it's definately close, however, if he was picked i would have thought Fitz would have been on the bench, or even Earls since they can both cover the centre and the back three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭gav86

I thought AWJ in the second row was a given at this stage
    Its tough on Fitz but he'll get his chance in a test i'm sure, thought he'd be on the bench as he can cover the midfield but suppose he might be a bit too light but still would prefer him to Kearney if Roberts or BOD had to come off
    As someone else already posted Jenkins might be struggling with an injury so could be possible he's being rested.

edit:started writing this before the post above, same points made

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

SSN reporting that they are confident team will be- monye croft wallace awj stephen jones jenkins all starting, rest as expected.

A mod should change the thread to "Lions Team for 1st Test" to stop other threads cropping up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭wexican

If that is the team, I'm a little disappointed that Fitz hasn't made the bench even.

ROG is unlucky, but he was always up against it when competing with Jones.

I have a good feeling about the 1st test.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

That won't be the team, Vickery and Jones are both THs. Vickery and Jenkins will be the props I would think.

From Lionsrugby.com

Lions (vs South Africa, first Test, Saturday June 20)

15. Lee Byrne (Ospreys/Wales)
    14. Tommy Bowe (Ospreys/Ireland)
    13. Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster/Ireland)
    12. Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues/Wales)
    11. Ugo Monye (Harlequins/England)
    10. Stephen Jones (Scarlets/Wales)
    9. Mike Phillips (Ospreys/Wales)

8. Jamie Heaslip (Leinster/Ireland)
    7. David Wallace (Munster/Ireland)
    6. Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers/England)
    5. Paul O'Connell (Munster/Ireland) Captain
    4. Alun-Wyn Jones (Ospreys/Wales)
    3. Phil Vickery (London Wasps/England)
    2. Lee Mears (Bath/England)
    1. Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues/Wales)

Replacements

16. Matthew Rees (Scarlets/Wales)
    17. Adam Jones (Ospreys/Wales)
    18. Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster/Ireland)
    19. Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues/Wales)
    20. Harry Ellis (Leicester Tigers/England)
    21. Ronan O'Gara (Munster/Ireland)
    22. Rob Kearney (Leinster/Ireland)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 charliesboots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Glad to see my source was wrong and Jenkins is selected. Roll on Saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭ch2008

Best team picked IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭shanagarry

Disappointed ROG missed out, but always going to be a close one. I think he'll play in the Highveld if they win on Saturday.

No other surprises really, though fair play to DOC for playing himself onto the bench as I don't think he was there at the start of the tour.

Hope nothing happens to the centres though!

lock this thread, there's one already.