Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trinity or Galway ?

• 17-06-2009 2:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 48

Id like to study medicine next year but im torn between these two universities! I know people who seem equally happy in both which would you recommend? (i live in munster)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Where would you prefer to live? Galway or Dublin? In Galway you can probably walk to the uni etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

If you live in munster wouldn't UCC make more sense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 CallMeDoctor

If you live in munster wouldn't UCC make more sense?

Good point but im not stayin at home (i hope ) by munster i mean clare:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Bummer

Would galway not be better for you,Its not to far away from home if u had 2 go home for a eve...Also take into consideration prices in Dublin city center and Prices around Galway city center.....for myself,between Dublin and Galway id go For galway....Sounder people in my op:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭fifomania

OP, really good post. I'm in the same dilemma. Hard to know which is better. Dublin is so pricey but easier to get to (for me). I've only been once to Galway and found it more personal than Dublin.
    If I was you I'd prob go to Galway, just for convenience sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

Galway isn't that much cheaper than Dublin.

But Galway would be my choice having been there for 5 years in college and now working in Dublin for the last 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

qwytre wrote: »

But Galway would be my choice having been there for 5 years in college and now working in Dublin for the last 8.

Ah it is. You save a euro a pint. Say average of 6 pints a week for 30 weeks and thats 180 just on drink.

Plus rent is cheaper.

I reckon you could easily save a grand a year living in galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭TheInvisibleFie

Pick Galway.

I'm from the general area and I just don't think it's worth going to college in Dublin.

People I know who were nice normal kids became so insular in Trinity. Dublin city can be great craic but even the last day when I went out girls were saying how they really didn't know the city because they thought everything was so far away they barely left the Trinity campus. That's something you won't have in Galway. Yeah there will be people who have a triangle of College-Corrib Village-CPs but they get over it. The Trinity crowd just seem to get worse.

And some of them will go on (and on and on) about how much world class lecturers they have and about how old their college is but I don't know how important that really is to your time at college.Loads of people from my year have gone to Trinity and dropped out because they really hated it there.

Galway isn't perfect. The year is a bit short (medicine possibly goes on longer than others if it does it means you can enjoy the year and have time to study when the arts students are gone home and not causing hassle) and plenty of people go home at the weekend (once again, this means you can study at the weekend or get involved in stuff going on in town).

Also, on the money aspect. If you're going out in Galway some lovely people standing on the streets give you free stamps into places but no one seems to do that in Dublin.

And yes all this is very objective and scientific!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

i did my under grad in Galway and am doing a masters in Trinity.

in terms of organisation and personnel I found little difference tbh. I can't really comment on standards as there's a jump in masters level anyway, but i found myself a bit disappointed with Trinity. Thought the organisation and personnel would be better on the whole, but it's not really. Just more an emphasis on money making through research tbh.

As for the insular thing, yeah I can see how easy it is to happen. Dublin city centre just isn't a nice place to hang around, too much hustle and bustle imo. I tend to stay out of it unless I have to.

also, some Trinity students can become a breed unto themselves. I do know some people who I would have hung out with in secondary school, who wouldn't even be bothered to stop in the street to greet me now. But, it's a relatively small subset tbh, which can mainly be found wearing overgrown sunglasses and sipping coffee in the arts block.

the "Trinnerisation" process is weird though. After a few months of going to Trinity I've seen people go from wearing jeans and and trainers to pressed slacks and shoes. Find it really really odd seeing guys my own age wearing formal clothes into college everyday...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

Galway, Hands down

Having been to trinity last year and not being able to stand the rubbish that goes on.

Im now after finishin 1st year at NUIG and couldnt have had a better year, made a tonne of sound friends, plus the academic staff are very helpful and friendly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭i'm a smiler

I'm living in Waterford but really want to do medicine next september. I have Galway down on the cao but it will be a 6 year bus journey from home. Having said that it seems like a nice college with friendly, "normal" people. Should I put it ahead of rcsi in my list of preference? dublin is closer but....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Boxtyeater

It's in the mindset of the people that you'r dealing with in the post student life.
    Trinity........wealth/placement and status.
    Galway......hurlers, footballers and farmers....

But fair play....good to be in that position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭pmg58

I have Galway down on the cao but it will be a 6 year bus journey from home.

Thats a hell of a bus journey.

pmg58 wrote: »
    Thats a hell of a bus journey.
    Oh god yeah 6 years lol! what I mean, obviously, is 6 hours!!:p
    But that is still a long journey. ..

Would there be many who come a good distance like that to galway for college??

Not that many to be honest. I had to travel 3 or 4 hours myself, and I found it was a fair journey. I suppose it depends on how much it would bother you to not get home every weekend. I can tell you that some of the best craic is had at the weekends, but if you get easily homesick, then it might be a bit much.

tbh I don't plan on coming home every weekend, wherever I go. Although my mum doesn't know this yet, so maybe she will the homesick one! lolI never even went to the open day and I have only been in galway once before.But I do want to do medicine. Maybe I'll take the plunge and out it down on the cao...Would it be hard to fit in if everyone is from the same general region??

No there'll be people from all over. As far as I know, in medicine theres also a lot of international students, for example a high proportion of Malaysian students, so I don't think being from the South East will make you stick out that much :pac:

Thanks for all your advice! okay, will put galway down! Is it tough to get accomodation, I would like to be with other first years if possible? Any recommendations?

Up to you! Just don't hold me responsible if you don't like it!

Accommodation: official student accommodation is gonna be pretty hard to get at this late stage, probably impossible. Your best bet would be to look on daft.ie I'd say but it'll probably still be too early at this stage of the year to find anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭TheInvisibleFie

Most student accomodation would be difficult to get at this stage but you should call them up and get your name down on backup lists because by the time the CAO somes out people who have got accommodation might decide to go to another college, might not have gotten into NUIG, or might have decided against college at all.

NUIG doesn't run any of the student residences. They're all run by seperate companies. Corrib Village is one loads of first years go to. It's ten minutes from college, basic, and where you can meet loads of new people. Gort na Corribe and Cuirt na Corribe are over the bridge - so a bit further from college but close to town (as well as the cinema, dunnes, tescos, and lidl). They're the ones most likely to be booked out.

Past them again is Centrepoint. It'slovely accommodation but is a serious walk (especially over that bridge). Seriously want to get a bike if you're thinking about living there. Menlo I don't know about except it's meant to be

If you want more information check out some of the accommodation threads or contact the Accommodation Office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 eimsnic

go to galway! its way friendlier than dublin (thats coming from a dub) and just an easier place to live.
    i think the points are a little lower as well, if thats a problem i'm sure you know that already though!!

plus everyone is so serious in trinity, went visiting my friend up there we all went out got home at 5, they got up the next morning for a 9 o clock lecture! a lot of them had never missed a lecture and this was march.
    everyone knows any lecture before 11 is optional.
    now while you do need to go to lectures, its not school. you won't fail the year by missing the odd lecture.

oh and relatively few d4s in galway! a better mix of people i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Cathal Kelly

It's gotta be Galway for noting
    Would there be many who come a good distance like that to galway for college??
    I went to galway from kerry (hate cork city)
    The journey is sereously long, takes me 2 days to get home
    But its not as if u'll be goin home every weekend
    i only went home for christmas and 3 days at easter

galway people are really sound and if you join a few clubs
    theres always loads 2 do at the weekend

regarding accomodation
    if ur doing med avoid corrib village
    i would say cuirt na coirbe (probably full), gort na coirbe, dunaras or atlantis appartments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Zeping

Gort na coiribe is amazing... currently i staied there, and it is very close to the GYM.... only need to pass a bridge... but,maybe it is full now...

I think , Trinity is more famous, 'cause the media said it is same as Cambridge university or oxford...Is that true?...

Zeping wrote:
    Is that true?...
    no, triniy isnt at all famous apart 4rm da museum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭NickCarraway

qwytre wrote: »

Rent is about half as much in Galway as it is in Dublin. It may not seem like a big deal now but it will in 5 or 6 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭laoiserick

Hi guys :D Just updating this thread :)

I'm in more or less the same dilemma here.
    I'm in 6th year at the moment and I'm absolutely torn between Galway and Trinity.

It's between doing English and French in Trinity and Arts with Creative Writing in NUIG.

My head is saying Trinity... the usual reasons (the pretty buildings... the reputation.... prospects, etc.) and the facilities (the library) are class.

But my heart is telling me to go to Galway... smaller, friendlier, GREAT CRAIC.

Although is the craic too mighty at times? The problem - a friend of mine pointed out - about doing Arts in Galway is that a lot of the students doing Arts didn't actually want to do it in the first place... it was just a back up plan. So basically there wouldn't be as much emphasis on study as there is in Trinity?

Could someone please help me out here? Any insights would be very much appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

laoiserick wrote: »
    The problem - a friend of mine pointed out - about doing Arts in Galway is that a lot of the students doing Arts didn't actually want to do it in the first place... it was just a back up plan. So basically there wouldn't be as much emphasis on study as there is in Trinity?

You'd be hard pressed to find an Arts student who actually enjoys the work, if your the type of person who would enjoy talking about your course and want to do well then I wouldn't reccomend galway. It may be different in specific strands such as creative writing, I'm not sure. All I know is that I've yet to meet and Arts student who is there for the right reasons. I'm sure they exist but I haven't met one yet.

Yeah... I'm a bit of a nerd when it comes to studying... One of the things drawing me to Galway is the fact that it's so laid back. However, it might be too laid back for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

I'm in 6th year at the moment and I'm absolutely torn between Galway and Trinity.

It's between doing English and French in Trinity and Arts with Creative Writing in NUIG.

My head is saying Trinity... the usual reasons (the pretty buildings... the reputation.... prospects, etc.) and the facilities (the library) are class.

Although is the craic too mighty at times? The problem - a friend of mine pointed out - about doing Arts in Galway is that a lot of the students doing Arts didn't actually want to do it in the first place... it was just a back up plan. So basically there wouldn't be as much emphasis on study as there is in Trinity?

Could someone please help me out here? Any insights would be very much appreciated!
    Can't speak for Arts specifically but, as a current Trinity student and NUIG graduate, I'd honestly say NUIG. BTW, the buildings in Trinity aren't so pretty once you get past front gate and the library is a joke if you want to take out books outside of hours - still waiting for automation in this regard! Much greater attention given to clubs and societies in NUIG IMHO. But the admin in TCD shows up that shower of useless and narky biddies in Áras Uí Chathaill so badly. NUIG is so relaxed though in comparison - no random security checks, no cameras in PC suites or restrictive access at weekends when you need to get something done. Anywho, that's only me babbling so follow your heart! :)

Very interesting insight :) what area are you studying ethernet if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

Very interesting insight :) what area are you studying ethernet if you don't mind me asking?
    Computer science. But, as a postgrad, I might see things differently to an undergrad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Reillyman wrote: »
    You'd be hard pressed to find an Arts student who actually enjoys the work, if your the type of person who would enjoy talking about your course and want to do well then I wouldn't reccomend galway. It may be different in specific strands such as creative writing, I'm not sure. All I know is that I've yet to meet and Arts student who is there for the right reasons. I'm sure they exist but I haven't met one yet.

I did Arts. I liked it. Did it in order to figure out what I was good at. IT was the answer - did the degree in IT and economics. Now doing the MSc in Software Design and Development.

As I said,
    I'm sure they exist...

Anyways the demographic on boards.ie would be skewed as someone who would post in a university forum would most likely have an interest.

Arts, in my opinion, just seems to have a proportionately higher level of students who have no interest whatsoever. Not to take away anything from people like you who obviously enjoy it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭nobbo

My housemate last year was a creative writing student, and once you get past first year it is quite different to the traditional arts course IIRC.

OP, forget about what other people are there for, its what you are there for that counts. Besides, there is about 1000 people in arts so there is goiing to be others like you who want to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Now I had a long gap between being in TCD and NUIG but are you not talking about too completely different levels of courses with one being 4 years and involving a serious final year project whilst the other is 3 years with a much less significant final year project.

I'm not sure if it would make a difference in your courses but take a look at the staff to student ratio's in TCD and NUIG the staff in Galway are great (as they were in TCD) but they also seem much more stretched.

In terms of standard of living and niceness Galway is way ahead of Dublin. But Dublin is a different beast altogether, you may get junkies on the Boardwalk but you also get a city center with interesting shops and 'real' ethnic restaurants, you may be ripped off severely in bars but you also have a really large selection of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Ruire

O hai there! You rang?

Arts, in my opinion, just seems to have a proportionately higher level of students who have no interest whatsoever. Not to take away anything from people like you who obviously enjoy it though.

This is definitely true. I've been in seminar groups where I'm the only to do any work or even participate in class. One was so bad that it was effectively a two-hour conversation between myself and the lecturer.

Ruire wrote: »
    O hai there! You rang?

Wha?

Getting away from the academic side... What's Galway like to live in compared to Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Camilo

Let me throw in my two cents here.

I'm a first years arts student(don't mind the pathetic, insecure twats insulting it) here in NUIG and to be honest i would prefer it to Dublin.
    BUT it is not perfect; It does depend on the type of person you are and where you live here. One thing that has gotten to me about some of the students here in Galway is the run-of-the-mill, craic loving "one of the lads" type of attitude. I am not saying that is bad at all but it can be difficult to find diversity and people you can really get on with, but as i said that completly depends on the type of person you are.

As for where you live: I live in Cuirt na Coiribe and i must say i could not have been luckier, i heard many horrible stories about its deathcamp like rules and security but i have seen very little eveidence of it this year and my apartment wouldnt be the quietest to say the least ;) Gort is also very, very nice and great fun and the location is perfect. Both are 10 min walk from city centre and college and only a few min walk to Tesco, Dunnes, cinema, etc.
    As for Corrib.....Ive several friends in Corrib and it isnt terrible but it isnt nice either. You will get many folk telling you "ah boi cum to corrib tis mighty craic mad session boi!" and thats true it is mad but remember you are the one living amongst the madness and filth and bull****. Tis better to have mates in corrib so you can trash the place then go back to your own warm clean apartment elsewhere ;)

The library is grand if a bit overcrowded and although the campus looks like a faded city from 1960's Soviet Russia it too is also grand.

Many people will pick Dublin because of its suppossed size and diversity but you must realise you wont be spending every day exploring every nook and cranny of the city. Were all human and fall into our predictable haunts and habits, Galway is good in this regard as it is a city but it is insular and compact. Theres so much going on's squeezed into such a small area that you will constantly find yourself amongst new settings and people.

So in conclusion Galway is good if you think it will be GOOD. Don't go anywhere thinking it will be the greatest place on earth, that path leads only to disapointment. Get a place to live, GET ON WITH YOUR ROOMMATES FROM THE VERY START(!) and just a nice, honest and open person who isnt afraid to hang with peeps you wouldnt normally hang with and do things you think you might not normally do and you will be grand. Just keep it groovy mate :)
    *apologies for lenght
    EDIT: just saw your comments about worrying about studying and whatnot. As with everything in life if your interested in it then work, if you dont like you're not going to work. fcuk what everone else does, it only matters what you do for yourself. I myself am doing Arts with Latin American studies and i am loving it but there are folk doing arts who hate it. To each their own. Do whats best for you and bugger what anyone thinks about it.

Great reply Camilo :) seriously, you hit the nail on the head there!
    I love Galway city because it's the right size - not too big and not too small... And it's familiar. I really like that aspect of it. I really liked UCD and Trinity But i found them a bit impersonal and I know i would find that difficult to cope with.
    But at the same time as you said - the ''one of da boiis'' thing is definitely not my scene...
    Hmmm...
    What subjects are you doing in Arts?
    Do you find that Arts students in general tend to be a little too laid back?
    Sorry for all the questions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Camilo

No need to apologise for anything. I'm new here myself and know how confusing it was to try and pick a college.

In regards to the "bois" aspect the most important thing ive learned is dont judge too harshly and you wont be judged. Ive made many friends with people whom i normally wouldnt think i'd get along with but if you heed any of my advice then let it be this: Be a nice guy, dont be a pushover or afraid to speak your mind but dont be a dick. When you meet someone plant on a big ol' smile and give them a friendly handshake, and just be groovy. The more people you know the better and its nice to be known as a sound guy. I shall say once again; keep it groovy mate ;)

Are arts students laid back? Arts peeps are humans you know(regardless of what some people say) and as with all humans you will have some lazy and some keen. Arts students are perceived to lazy and whatnot but those buggers get weeded out and people mature. We're only young after all and still learning. Lazy arts students would make equally lazy science students or whatever and some people are just **** anyway. but ive not met many OVERLY lazy arts folk.

I myself am doing Spanish, sociolology and political science(just soc&pol here), philosophy and Latin American studies. I love them all except Philosophy which i will drop. I would reccomend a BA connect course as they are alot more immersive and enjoyable, and beneficial, than an ordinary arts but the difference isn't too great.
    *also i would reccomend doing/keeping on a language as it is invaluable to your future life and experiences

Take it easy man and i hope ive helped a wee bit.

Thanks very much Camilo. This is the best insight I could've gotten - more informative than reading any auld prospectus :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Hello! Another Arts lover here.
    Laoiserick, don't let the meds and engineers tell you that all the Artsies are a waste of space. I loved my course and chose it specifically because I wanted to pursue my languages. I've finished my degree in French and Spanish and am now doing a masters. You say youre interested in taking French anyway - I'm not sure what the Trinity set-up is but in NUIG if you do a language then you go on Erasmus, and hence the whole prospect of having to study abroad for a year means that the piss-takers don't bother with the subject. Like in every subject you have the serious ones who put in 40 hour weeks and the messers who put in about 20 (me in 2nd year!), but the wasters that give Arts a bad name tend to stay away from languages. You need to be pretty copped-on to sign up for a year abroad, after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Skopzz

Trinity and Galway are the same. There's a perception out there that Galway is more layed back but it's not. If cost is an issue, then Galway is cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Curlyhatescurls

laoiserick, I'm in second year in TCD doing Single Honours English. I really REALLY think you should look at the course modules before you decide, doing Arts and Creative writing in NUIG will be completely different to doing English in Trinity. I can only speak from the English perspective, something that was not emphasized at all to me was that there is NO CREATIVE WRITING at all, it is extremely academic, it focuses entirely on literature. As an example, as a TSM student which is what you would be if you took English with french your first year modules would be Romanticism, the Enlightenment, Medieval and Renaissance Romance, Irish Writing and American Genres. You will never be honing your own skills as a writer or poet.

In terms of careers, if you are looking into one relating to English such as being a journalist(having an extra language like French would be great for this), working in publishing etc it would probably be better to do English with French in Trinity rather than an Arts course in NUIG and then majoring in English, employers seem to prefer it and it makes sense, you would be studying purely English and French for 4 years rather than a 3 year arts course. Both my English teacher and career guidance teacher told me this.

Also, I'm from Galway and I decided to move down to Dublin, I love it so much, I live right in the city centre, never went to Halls and I explore all over the city, both North and South so I don't understand people who say that you get very insular when you go to Trinity. There is always so much to do, all the time. Anyway, make your choice carefully and best of luck!

Hello! Another Arts lover here.
    Laoiserick, don't let the meds and engineers tell you that all the Artsies are a waste of space. I loved my course and chose it specifically because I wanted to pursue my languages. I've finished my degree in French and Spanish and am now doing a masters. You say youre interested in taking French anyway - I'm not sure what the Trinity set-up is but in NUIG if you do a language then you go on Erasmus, and hence the whole prospect of having to study abroad for a year means that the piss-takers don't bother with the subject. Like in every subject you have the serious ones who put in 40 hour weeks and the messers who put in about 20 (me in 2nd year!), but the wasters that give Arts a bad name tend to stay away from languages. You need to be pretty copped-on to sign up for a year abroad, after all.

Hi The Cool. Haven't checked this thread in a while and just saw your post just now - what's French like in NuiGalway? What are the lecturers like? And do you know anyone doing French through Irish ( i heard that option is available) ? Sorry for all the questions! I'm just a very confused LC student!