Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

allright teh boys! any suggestions for stag w/e?

• 17-06-2009 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭

I have the unenvoius task of planning the stag weekend, and I have partyers block :/

Any ideas for a stag weekeend in Ireland - the wedding is abroad so it's gotta be in the 32 somewhere...

Ed
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Fire a dart at a map of Ireland, wherever it lands, go there, get pished, and wreck the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Anywhere that isn't Temple Bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

Fire a dart at a map of Ireland, wherever it lands, go there, get pished, and wreck the place

Also known as "the Traveller Stag"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Do you want pure drinking or activities and drinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Hire a bus and driver and set put with a packed wallet and the intention of hitting every county before you stop. Rules include at least 3 pints in every county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Podman

how about paintball?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Do whatever the hell ye feel like. Just make sure ye do it well away from me and my house, alright?

Hire some strippers or some sh*te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Hire a boat in Carrick on Shannon. Small town, but a good night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Belfast is supposed to be nice at this time of the year. May I suggest you all dress up in Romanian soccer jerseys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

Shannon cruises are meant to be great craic, I know a good few stags that have gone on one and all raved about it. You rent your own boats and drive / sail them for the weekend, sleeping in them along the way and stopping off different places for dinner / drinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Cancel the wedding :D

Get a big bus, fill it with lads (or game women) and head off to loads of pubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

This is perfect timing. You'll just have time to get to the National Gallery and see the Thomas Roberts (1748-1777) exhibition. It's closing on the 28th so hurry! Your friends will be sure to thank you after.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I was in Carlow town for a weekend away not so long ago, fairly kickin' place tbh, I was suprised.. It's more lively than Kilkenny.. Full and I mean FULL of Hens parties... The Foundary is the best club in Ireland IMHO..

I'm assuming you're not from Carlow btw.. If you are, scratch the above :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭drunkymonkey

Coppers!

your garenteed your last ride before the ball and chain there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

OldGoat wrote: »
    This is perfect timing. You'll just have time to get to the National Gallery and see the Thomas Roberts (1748-1777) exhibition. It's closing on the 28th so hurry! Your friends will be sure to thank you after.

Make sure you show up locked though. Everyone else will be you dont wanna be the odd ones out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

A session of go karting in Santry , hire some strippers for a private poker party(PPP) and some booze. If i was a lad, i'd be in HEAVEN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Try to coincide with some sporting event your group is into. If you don't, you run the risk of actually having to organise something 'official' and you then run the danger of it turning into a hen night!

Other than that, bring a football and find a beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

thats awsome advice, 10 pints a few shots of Tequila, and some culture. That would be hilarious.

Make sure you show up locked though. Everyone else will be you dont wanna be the odd ones out.
    thats awsome advice, 10 pints a few shots of Tequila, and some culture. That would be hilarious.

Why do I have the feeling no one is taking me seriously? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Pub crawl in the wicklow mountains.

Why do I have the feeling no one is taking me seriously? :o

im as serious as erectile disfunction!

Shannon cruises are meant to be great craic, I know a good few stags that have gone on one and all raved about it. You rent your own boats and drive / sail them for the weekend, sleeping in them along the way and stopping off different places for dinner / drinks.

Yep, we had a great stag do on the shannon, although we didn't make it past the locks either side of carrick. Two boats and plenty of water bombs are the order of the day :D
    xzanti wrote: »
    I was in Carlow town for a weekend away not so long ago, fairly kickin' place tbh, I was suprised.. It's more lively than Kilkenny.. Full and I mean FULL of Hens parties... The Foundary is the best club in Ireland IMHO..

I'm assuming you're not from Carlow btw.. If you are, scratch the above :)

I did a stag in carlow last year. i must admit we all groaned when they told us where it was, but we had a very good time. i only did the Saturday night, but most of the lads went over on the Friday night, went out on thepish and spent saturday playing golf before more frivolity saturday night.

Agree on the foundry as well, huge bloody place and a good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Limerick. You'll have to go a fair bit out of the city to get into stabalot zones. Stayed in Jury's, went paintballing Saturday, Nightlcubs were a good laugh.

Only other place would be Galway. Again, stayed in Jurys (t'was the wedding this time), and I know from being in Galway many many times, the pubs are good, and theres an adventure centre or two nearby.
    I did a stag in carlow last year.
    If you goto there, check if there's a band in "The Tower". It's a venue hooked up to the foundry. Allowed you to go from dance club, into a gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

+1 got the boat on the Shannon trip.

Great fun with the extra spice of possibly drowning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

Killarney and Dingle are both great places to get pissed in.

im as serious as erectile disfunction!
    Now thats as seriously serious as you can get! :eek:

Hope the groom doesn't suffer from similar after his afternoon of strenious gallery gazing. Those Rubens and Botero paintings can scare the pants off the young and impressionable and about to be wed. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Any decent size town. They might sound bad when you compare with going to Amsterdam or Prague, but you'll have a decent time with a crowd of mates. Dingle and Killarney were mentioned. Letterkenny, Drogheda, Longford, Westport, Carlow, Wicklow, Navan, Mullingar, Carrick on Shannon (don't get confused with Carrick on Suir), Castlerea, Ennis, Sligo, Kells, Mallow etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Re: going out in Carlow.
    The foundry has had a complete overhaul and is pretty nice now! It used to be some kip.. Good craic though.

Oh and yeah.. foundry to the tower. Always good to change around depending on your mood!

Sleipnir wrote: »
    +1 got the boat on the Shannon trip.

Great fun with the extra spice of possibly drowning.

any stag there is that risk, drowning on beer, vomit or an awsome mixture of both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Carrickfergus
    Carrick on Shannon
    Carrick-on-Suir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Its not where you go that is important its how much alcohol is consumed, put some rules in place like having to down at least one shot every hour etc.

Get ****faced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

Last year we did Fri and Sat night in Carrick on Shannon. During the day on Saturday we went to this place www.odd.ie ...(well, those of us who weren't dying of hangovers:D)....t'was mighty craic!

SV wrote: »
    Re: going out in Carlow.
    The foundry has had a complete overhaul and is pretty nice now! It used to be some kip.. Good craic though.

Oh and yeah.. foundry to the tower. Always good to change around depending on your mood!
    Don't you DARE GO TO THAT KIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Don't you DARE GO TO THAT KIP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well that just makes me want to go again even more.. Why shouldn't I :D

Like you don't know it's a kip... :P

Was there once, and i'd never go back!!!!!

Like you don't know it's a kip... :P

Was there once, and i'd never go back!!!!!

Come back! ;)
    It's all been changed around and it's nice now!

Come back! ;)
    It's all been changed around and it's nice now!
    I was there 3/4 weeks ago... So that's quite recent... NFW!!!!

Overpriced drinks, music is ****e! and the place is crap... Do you want me to continue :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Tuam

I was there 3/4 weeks ago... So that's quite recent... NFW!!!!

Overpriced drinks, music is ****e! and the place is crap... Do you want me to continue :)

Haha.. Yeah there's that.. But the place itself is nice! Apart from overpriced drinks etc

You must have had a very bad experience! Oh well..

Haven't been in the place myself in a month or two anyway.

Haha.. Yeah there's that.. But the place itself is nice! Apart from overpriced drinks etc

You must have had a very bad experience! Oh well..

Haven't been in the place myself in a month or two anyway.
    Being a coppers regular myself, i was happy when i heard we were going there. So many of us in the group and we kept losing each other...
    Ah well, we'd leave this discussion for another day :D

if you are the organiser then it is also down to you to ensure that the basic stag weekend rules apply.

1) outside of the group who attend, you do not talk about the stag weekend other than "It was a good laugh, we all got very very drunk".
    2) as above
    3) as above
    3) if the groom to be looks at, touches, snogs, gropes or has full on carnel knowledge of any women, no one, not even those mentioned in 1) above talk about it. it never happened and it is your job to assassinate anyone who dare even think that it did.
    4) All cameras are your property and no one is to take any photos without your permission and you are solely responsible for processing those photos, destoying any that are deemed unsuitable.
    5) people will moan about the location/venue/activities taking place. tough ****, they should have organised it themselves. anyone not joining in will be sent to Coventry and regarded a "Big Girls Blouse".
    6) see 1) above.
    7) anyone who snogs a "Fatty" relinquishes their rights under 1) above and will have the pish taken out of them forever, regardless of their own girth.
    8) you can do what you like to the groom, providing any marks/tattoos/love bites/bruises or signs of anal rape are not visible once he is wearing a shirt.

There are probably more, but these are a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Drumshambo.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Kilkenny City! Was their on a stag the weekend. Good fun.

Carlow also gets my vote. Good place.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

cheap ryan air flight to somewhere where bars stay open 24 hours so no need to book rooms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Forgot to mention: in the Limerick paint balling place, the stag was dressed up in bright orange, and was shot by both sides :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Magnus wrote: »
    Carrickfergus
    Carrick on Shannon
    Carrick-on-Suir
    Carrick on Suir? I presume this is taking the pish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Carrick on Suir? I presume this is taking the pish

Yeah seriously we're talkin bout people who bring hammers with them on a night out. Nobody ever go to this ****hole. The whole town is begging to be number one (town) on "what county should be nuked thread" i.e. Tipperary.