Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the most frightening thing that's ever happened to you?

• 16-06-2009 1:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭

I'm sure you all have some super awesome stories on this subject!

For me, it's getting trapped in a rip current after being out fishing in a small craft with some mates.

The weather took a turn for the worse so we decided to return to the shore. By the time we got back the wind had strengthened considerably and the waves were picking up.

We thought we were home and dry, only 200 meters from the shore.. when all of a sudden the boat slowed right down. We didn't know what was going on and assumed we were snagged on something.

Then, all of a sudden we realised that we were drifting backwards. The rip current was too strong for us to row against and we ended up being swept out about half a mile in horrible conditions on a small sh!tty wooden boat!

Thankfully our phones had coverage and we contacted 999, they immediately scrambled a life boat.

We could have easily died that day if the phones didn't work or if the boat had capsized before help arrived.

Definitely the most scary thing that's happened to me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

Went white water rafting and i cant swim! was pretty scary :D

Oh also met Brendan Kilkenny on a night out on hols, that was some pretty scary sh1t too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭pandemonium

One that sticks out is getting spiked on my 18th last year,only had 3 drinks,but i dont remember anything after around 12am until 7,i sprained both ankles, luckily my best friend was there and she looked after me and brought me to her friends house,i only remember waking up shaking and feverish on the sofa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

I'm sure you all have some super awesome stories on this subject!

For me, it's getting trapped in a rip current after being out fishing in a small craft with some mates.

The weather took a turn for the worse so we decided to return to the shore. By the time we got back the wind had strengthened considerably and the waves were picking up.

We thought we were home and dry, only 200 meters from the shore.. when all of a sudden the boat slowed right down. We didn't know what was going on and assumed we were snagged on something.

Then, all of a sudden we realised that we were drifting backwards. The rip current was too strong for us to row against and we ended up being swept out about half a mile in horrible conditions on a small sh!tty wooden boat!

Thankfully our phones had coverage and we contacted 999, they immediately scrambled a life boat.

We could have easily died that day if the phones didn't work or if the boat had capsized before help arrived.

Definitely the most scary thing that's happened to me

My son was born 3 months (13 weeks) premature. That was terrifying. He is 3 and fine now though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

I stubbed my toe last year, I nearly fainted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

leaving cyprus a few years ago the plane hit some bad turbulence on takeoff. i thought my number was up. i wasnt fond of flying before that and that flight didnt help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Seeing a wild Indian Elephant charge at a group of us in a national park.

It reminded me of the scene in Jurrassic Park where you can't see the Raptors and all the trees are moving.

For an hour we tracked a herd. The guide told us that there was a baby in the herd and it was making a sound to say that they were under attack (from us). The bull elephant was making warning signs for us to go away. Then all of a sudden our guide screams 'RUN!' and I see an elephant charge us from about 10 metres away.

Insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Went through a hedge at about 80 mph after loosing control of a motorbike on gravel, not sure about my life flashing before my eyes but it was scarey :eek:

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Waking up in a leafy ditch on the road to Naas not knowing what day it was, covered in blood and with a tooth hanging loose. Turned out I was outside Oxegen and had drank about two litres of vodka and twelve to twenty-four cans the night before, gotten kicked out by security and somehow lost my mates trying to get back in. Completely my own fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Was working in Boston on a J1 10 yrs ago. I was working as a security guard and on the nighttime shift I had to do spot checks on every floor of the building (27 floors) and basement car park (5 floors underground).

Basically I was in my last stop in the basement (about 2 a.m.) and about to walk into the diesel/fuel room when the fire alarm went off and then my boss through the walkie talkie shouting "[my name] GET OUT NOW"

I ran across the car park and up 5 flights of stairs and I have absolutely no recollection of it...pure panic and adreneline rush kicked in.

It was like "Oh great...the fuel rooms goes up in a blaze of glory and of all the places in the building I could be I am standing in the doorway FFS"

It turned out to be the elevator room behind it over heating...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Being left at the parishioners when I was a kid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Being involved in a head on collision a few years back. Seeing the car coming and knowing it was going to hit me were the scariest few seconds of my life. All passengers were ok in both cars thank God.

That and getting married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Opening this thread and seeing your face avatar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

keano_afc wrote: »
    That and getting married.

told you so:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭and2

in cub scouts many years ago and in cork. We were staying on Foto Island in a small house owned by the scouts. One night in particular when the older leaders went into town, Cobh I think, for a few beers, some one was running out of the forest and knocking on the doors and windows.. all the kids, me included were terrified.. blair witch had nothing on this experience.. going to the toilet that night was the scariest as they were across the garden in sheds! have not been camping since :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

After the Champions League final last year in Moscow i had lost my crowd and i made the mistake of following the crowd that went to the train station thinking it was leading me to my airport. Whilst on the train i was talking to an irish couple and was telling them where i was heading and they said i could tag along to the airport, but when we got off the at the other station, we compared tickets and found out i was after taking the wrong route and was on the other side of Moscow...the couple gave me 3000 barneys to get an unlicenced taxi all the way back across with 2-and-a-half hours before take off. He couldn speak a word of English but i could tell he was saying we'll make it on time for 5.45. He got me there at half 5(he also gave me a good tour of moscow, really good architecture) and i ran through all the checks skipping ahead of the queue's and got to the gate in at 5.40. There was a man standing in front if the gate who i told to get the **** out of my way but he said no one going to dublin went through that gate, even thought it was on the monitor!! As i was walking to a help desk i found my mate asleep on the floor and he told me there's a 2hour delay !!

Never been so afraid in my life, could have been stranded in a kip of a shanty town full of russian knackers only for that couple, still cant track them down. If anyone knows Billy and Bridget(40's) that where there last year, tell me !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Fran79

Hi
    most scary moment was 8 years ago when the back wheel of the car I was travelling in sheered off whilst doing 70mph on the fast lane of the M6 near Coventry in afternoon rush hour.

Crossed three lanes twice and span....narrowly missed going underneath a lorry and stopped when we hit the central crash barrier.

I had nightmares for weeks and still cant bear to drive / or be in a car in the fast lane unless the road is quiet. (Obviously now that I live in Ireland this is not so much of a problem.)

Fran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

was in a car crash were the car went at 60mph into a tree.. dead stop... couldent feel anything for a min but started to move me legs and seemed every thing was ok.. after a while i was able to undo me belts and walk away... shouldent of tho should of got a ambulance out as my back hasent been the best sence... i put up photos on here years ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Having two months of radiotherapy after two operations to remove tumours. Not much fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Being in a car with my parents and seeing a tractor veering out of control towards us, knowing it was going to hit us and not being able to move...that was the scariest. Thankfully noone was injured but the drunk uninsured b*****d left the scene so couldn't be done for drunk driving, and intimidated my parents afterwards into not saying anything in the dangerous driving case against him. :mad:

dylano_k wrote: »
    After the Champions League final last year in Moscow i had lost my crowd and i made the mistake of following the crowd that went to the train station thinking it was leading me to my airport. Whilst on the train i was talking to an irish couple and was telling them where i was heading and they said i could tag along to the airport, but when we got off the at the other station, we compared tickets and found out i was after taking the wrong route and was on the other side of Moscow...the couple gave me 3000 barneys to get an unlicenced taxi all the way back across with 2-and-a-half hours before take off. He couldn speak a word of English but i could tell he was saying we'll make it on time for 5.45. He got me there at half 5(he also gave me a good tour of moscow, really good architecture) and i ran through all the checks skipping ahead of the queue's and got to the gate in at 5.40. There was a man standing in front if the gate who i told to get the **** out of my way but he said no one going to dublin went through that gate, even thought it was on the monitor!! As i was walking to a help desk i found my mate asleep on the floor and he told me there's a 2hour delay !!

Never been so afraid in my life, could have been stranded in a kip of a shanty town full of russian knackers only for that couple, still cant track them down. If anyone knows Billy and Bridget(40's) that where there last year, tell me !!

I'm them.
    Please send monies to my Nigerian bank account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

mathie wrote: »
    Seeing a wild Indian Elephant charge at a group of us in a national park.

It reminded me of the scene in Jurrassic Park where you can't see the Raptors and all the trees are moving.

For an hour we tracked a herd. The guide told us that there was a baby in the herd and it was making a sound to say that they were under attack (from us). The bull elephant was making warning signs for us to go away. Then all of a sudden our guide screams 'RUN!' and I see an elephant charge us from about 10 metres away.

Insane.

then you would be dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

and2 wrote: »
    in cub scouts many years ago and in cork. We were staying on Foto Island in a small house owned by the scouts. One night in particular when the older leaders went into town, Cobh I think, for a few beers, some one was running out of the forest and knocking on the doors and windows.. all the kids, me included were terrified.. blair witch had nothing on this experience.. going to the toilet that night was the scariest as they were across the garden in sheds! have not been camping since :(
    LoL. Where there any Ventures there? Sounds like a mad drinking game: whoever doesn't knock back a drink has to run down and knock on the door or window without being seen... :D

twinytwo wrote: »
    then you would be dead

Your logic is flawless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Doing a bungee in Greece 1998. The rope curled back up around my neck and was about to snap straight and snap my neck with it but I somehow moved it (don’t remember doing it at all) Got bad rope burn down the back of my neck and back from it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Having a blowout on a double bend last year, dunno how I didn't **** my pants.
    Being in a near head on collision a few years ago, I could see him coming but couldn't do anything, luckily it was at low enough speed.
    Nearly being run over by a speedboat a good couple of years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 nmg-lky

Getting split up from my school tour while walking around rome, i was about 14 at the time. I managed to find my way back to the bus after a hour but in totally the opposite direction we left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

For this guy it was seeing the Kenyan flag:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=60724643&postcount=1

nmg-lky wrote: »
    Getting split up from my school tour while walking around rome, i was about 14 at the time. I managed to find my way back to the bus after a hour but in totally the opposite direction we left.

You walked around the Earth in an hour?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

One time I forgot my boards login password. I tried it 3 times and my account was then permanently barred. I created another account but was permanently site-banned for having a duplicate account. :mad:

Then I woke up in a cold sweat. :)

All's well again with the world boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭doubtfir3

Had an accident almost 9 years ago, completely fscked up my arms.

Had extensive injuries which required among other things arterial bypasses in my left arms and a lot of skin grafts. Long story short, graft broke down and tore out the bypass.. cue me lying on the kitchen floor with the whole floor covered in my blood while waiting patiently for an ambulance.

If that wasn't enough of a shock, next morning in the hospital doctors removed the pressure bandage and the last thing I remember before I passed out was one of them say in a high-pitched voice.. "o jesus, there's at least a pint here" as blood seeped all over the place :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

doubtfir3 wrote: »
    Had an accident almost 9 years ago, completely fscked up my arms.

Had extensive injuries which required among other things arterial bypasses in my left arms and a lot of skin grafts. Long story short, graft broke down and tore out the bypass.. cue me lying on the kitchen floor with the whole floor covered in my blood while waiting patiently for an ambulance.

If that wasn't enough of a shock, next morning in the hospital doctors removed the pressure bandage and the last thing I remember before I passed out was one of them say in a high-pitched voice.. "o jesus, there's at least a pint here" as blood seeped all over the place :o
    Jesus christ! You win! Thats awful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

I was on a skiing trip with the family when I was 15. Staying near the Black Forest in Germany. The little snowboarder that I, I used to trek up to the ski slopes by my self in the morning. On our 2nd last morning there, I went up for one last session on les pistes. I went up really early to get the most out of my last day. The fog from the previous night hadnt blown on yet.
    Me being me, went up the highest and most difficult slope. Off I started anyway, bombing along, and I have this feeling after a few minutes that I should have reached the end by now. But it was so foggy I decided Id keep going and eventually Id reach the end....suddenly Im in the middle of a fcuking forest. The idiot inside me tells me to NOT turn around and walk back the way I know I came but to keep going.

Before I know it, Im deep deep deep (maybe 3/4 miles) down this little trail and there is no sign of life ANYWHERE. I was able to explain the situation to Dad on the mobile real quick before my credit ran out. I also got him to get the receptionist in the hotel to translate a sign I saw nailed to a tree. Turned out it read - 'Warning Bears'.

I was a very scared 15 year old when they found me huddled up 2 hours later :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

mathie wrote: »
    Your logic is flawless.

clearly... but you recall/reasoning is flawed... had you been on foot.. Usain Bolt couldnt outrun a bull elephant from 10 meters.. but then why you would be on foot in the first place... and if you were in a truck you wouldnt be running:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

I was held up in a garage I worked in years ago. Out of nowhere, he ran into the shop with a balaclava on, shouting and roaring and threatening me with a hammer.

I had served him in the shop about ten mins previous and he then hid behind the car wash until I was on my own. When he was in the shop, he had a look to see how much money was in the till - a fair bit. But between the time id served him and the time he tried to rob me, I had done a security drop of money. He didnt believe that I didnt have access to the safe and tried to hack the door in. He had the hammer to my head saying he was gonna smash my head in. He threw loads of stuff at me too.

Eventually he gave up and was chased away by some local lads. The pr1ck was caught in the end from our CCTV. He had only been out of mountjoy a week.:eek:

That was pretty scary tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 cozziej

jesus, david attenborough here....let people tell their stories...as long as they're entertaining i'm happy! i'm not gonna bring up a typo here and there...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Having my lungs collapse while I was driving my moped years ago. Heading from Glasnevin to Tallaght and about halfway I felt it happen (Happened a month earlier aswell, long story). When it happens one lung collapses and the opposite side of my body went numb, couldn't move a thing. Drove back, got to the front door and nearly ran the bike throught it. My bro came running out and threw me into his car and brought me to the hospital.

Got to A&E and told them what was going on, rushed me straight into an operating theatre type room. It was getting worse and the other half of my body was starting to go numb, doctor told me that he didn't know exactly what to do and someone was on their way from another hospital from somewhere else in the country. After a little chat and me having been awake for the last time it happened I told him exactly what I had seen. Local anestetic didn't work on me and I could feel every bit of pain as he start slicing open above my ribcage, tehre was a group of students in watching the procedure so I tried focusing on them instead of the pain, that was until he had to cut off some muscle before inserting a tube into my chest. Only got a morphene drip then, thats when the pain started to calm down.

For the next 6 months I was in and out of hospital with the same thing. Had to undergo 5 operations in total. But that time was the most painful, i thought I was going to die numerous times that evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

^^ Holy f*ck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The coffee machine clapped out in my office this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Yeah; I really can't beat most of these stories, but here's my tuppence

I was about 12, my brother would have been 9.
    Basically, we had a problem with some white pigeons, they were nesting in some enclave (is that the right word?) under the roof. We found a bloke in the yellow pages that "dealt" with them. Unbeknownst to me, he said he'd pop round and sort it whenever he could.

So one day; mom, dad and my other brother (6 at the time) popped into Birmingham, this'd be about 9pm, winter so it was pitch black. In the living room, my brother notices through a gap in the curtains, a fella outside, so we both go and have a subtle peek. "It's a man with lots of tattoos and one ear!" he screams.

Then we looked a bit more.
    "HE'S GOT A GUN!!". Me and my brother legged it upstairs and hid under my mom and dad's bed. Through the window, we saw these big white things dropping. My brother was going ****ing mental. We waited until the shooting had stopped (went on for 5-10 minutes) and looked outside, found he'd gone.

Mom, dad and brother come back and we tell them what's happened. "****, it was that pigeon bloke wasn't it?" Me and my brother felt so relieved/stupid

Oh, and getting trapped in a car wash for an hour was quite scary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Split condom. Caravan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Crashed my car years ago and ended up in the ditch trapped in the car, after banging my head, with no recollection of how I ended up there. My leg was sore so I ran my hand along it to see what the problem was, and managed to cut my finger on the bone sticking out of my thigh.

I had to be cut of the car and was in the car face down in the ditch with my full weight resting on thatg broken leg for an hour with my memory failing me every ten minutes or so. At the time I honestly thought I was going to die.

Even now its all patchy but I'll never forget the warm jelly like feeling of the muscle and then the sharpness of the bone as I felt along my leg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Nameajaysus

Two of my sisters were walking near some trees. Some guy disturbed a wasp's nest and they chased them all the way back to the car. Had to go and get antihistamine shots from the doctor. They were only small :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I just scanned through the thread expecting to see a post from Flutt about being caught short with no toilet paper, but no, nothing. His standards are slipping! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

I remember as a kid some random chap jumped out from behind a wall at me and a friend on our way home from school and scared the bejesus outta me... was told he thought we were his kids and he wanted to surprise them but it stayed with me for years and i was absolutely terrified everytime I saw him..it was the time when there were stories in school about "the blue van" with the kidnappers in it..

Also got into a bit of a mess in Oz in the sea trying to surf, not being able to swim didn't help. Really scared me...

Cant beat any of these stories before me though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Sage'sMama

May bank holiday last year got up off the couch and kicked a pint glass that was on the floor. It skidded along the floor and when i went to pick it up i lost my balance and landed on it with my right hand. Never have been so scared! I screamed like a banshee no messing and closed my hand into a fist as soon as i saw blood. I ran it under cold water screaming that i'd got an artery. My other half called 999 while i sat on the stairs screaming that the cat was gonna cut herself on the glass. I never saw so much blood in real life. We used two towels and two tea-towels to stem the blood all at the same time and it was still soaking through. Got in the ambulance and was brought to hospital and the nurse made me lie down and started to unwrap the towel. The blood just spurted everywhere all over her face and apron. The worse part was as soon as she loosened the towel i actually felt my hand split open as the warm blood flew out:eek:. Can't talk anymore about it makes me feel weird:(. My other half had the 999 call on his phone but he deleted it cos he couldn't bear to hear it. That's the scariest thing so far anyways! One pic of me with Sage after i got out of hospital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 emigrant36

jeeboz... some really scary stuff up there! I had asthma when I was younger, some pretty scary attacks. Thought I was cured, didn't have an attack since I was 12, then when I was twenty-one, driving in the middle of nowhere to leave my (very drunk) cousins home from a night out, I got a god-awful attack. I was terrfied :(
    Nothing as bad as my friend tripping at the very edge of the Cliffs of Moher though.. luckily he fell backwards (away from the drop).. but I actually peed myself a bit. Never bringing my children to that place!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

What's the most frightening thing that's ever happened to you?

Meeting the future mother in law. My gawd she was/is one ugly, fat lazy assed bitch.
    A degenerate gambler who dragged up her kids, blowing her and family money away, leaving them with barely enough food.

I set foot in her absolutely smelling filthy house once that time - and swore never again - and never did nor will.

She is still barred from my home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Having a fusebox explode in my face a few months back really scared the crap out of me. No damage done just a sharp pain in my eyes and I was left with alot more respect for electricity.

It basically disintegrated the plastic casing and it made an electric arc which ran down a metal frame of a mirror which caused it to shatter.

Another crap time was when a dog chased me for 10 minutes until I managed to reach my house when I was 8, I hated dogs before that and still hate them to today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

ugh some of these are making me feel a bit sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

If anyones ever got bad news about a parent hanging on for life, its an experience that I wouldnt wish on my worst enemy.

Good news is that all ended well.