Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

gym worries....

• 16-06-2009 1:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭

Hey, about 3 weeks ago i went to my gym and an instructor gave me a bit of a starting programme and First i overdid it on squats and then was on holidays and working nights and then sick so i am sorta dreading going back and telling the instructor this....

now partly i am just unhappy about going back because while i am happy to use the machines I feel like a completely useless lump doing split squats and planks and so on.... I'd be happy to do them either ALL at home or on a mat in the womens only section of my gym.... but they gave me an order in which to do them that mixes up working machines and stuff i'd do on the mat on floor.... so its a pain going from mat in ladies gym to main gym every few minutes just to maintain a bit of dignity. :o

Is there a way of doing ONLY the mat stuff and maybe getting a few proper heavy (not expensive) dumbells OR just machine workouts?
    Also gymheads (i mean that in a nice-in-awe-of-ye-way) when ye see a poor creatur like meself looking lost and useless in the gym, do ye take even notice us? or are we totally in the way?
    I generally WISH i was invisible or just alone in the gym as all i see are lanky, muscley, uber fit people and it gives my confidence a real dip....

Thanks in advance, ye're great to reply from previous posts....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

A few options;

-learn the moves in the privacy of the womens gym. They're hard and you're talling about cos you're knew to them, as your balance and awareness improves you'll be able to knock them out without thinking

-go when the gym's quiet, if possible

-do a couple of sessions with a PT if you can afford to, get him to show you what's what and walk your thru the movements

-tell the instructor you don't feel comfortable and you'd like something that doesn't involve you being put in uncomfortable positions

-suck it up and deal with it

My preference would be the first and last ;)

Tbh, I'm the meatiest of meat heads (or might look that way at least) and when I see newbs wandering around I don't laugh at them, I wish they'd ask for help or advice off SOMEONE because they're only short changing themselves.

There's so many people I wouldn't even recognise from the gym if I saw them out. Any one who's actually putting effort into their own training will probably appreciate everyone starts somewhere, and wouldn't look down at you or laugh at you in any way.

What gym are you in anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mack1

Don't worry so much, it's all in your head.
    The other people in the gym are there to train, most are too focused on what they are doing to be paying attention to what anyone else is doing.
    You should do the same, ignore everyone else, focus on yourself and get on with it.

As an aside, I personally feel that the "women's area" actually makes this kind of thing worse, if a gym provides such an area it only magnifies the anxiety for some when they have to go out into the "real" gym - but anyway! </ gym apartheid rant>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

all_smilz wrote: »

Also gymheads (i mean that in a nice-in-awe-of-ye-way) when ye see a poor creatur like meself looking lost and useless in the gym, do ye take even notice us? or are we totally in the way?
    I generally WISH i was invisible or just alone in the gym as all i see are lanky, muscley, uber fit people and it gives my confidence a real dip....

Ahh stop, seriously, you're breaking my heart you sound so forelorn :(

It's terrible that you feel that way but I understand you can't help but feel selfconscious.

If it helps the only people judging you by the way you look are the same assholes who count catching site of themselves in windows as a hobby. Seriously, no one who's opinion actually counts is going to judge you.

If it helps, I look a state in the gym too and I spend half my life in there. I mean I discovered my shorts were crotchless the other night and that they probably have been for several weeks and last night I sweated so much in my white T-shirt I looked like I should have been dancing on a bar in Cancum, on trans-gender night, for people who's hormone treatment isn't going well.

Try to persevere with the program and keep your chin up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭all_smilz

*thanks but as far as sucking it up goes its not something i am good at and if i feel demotivated like i have been the last few weeks then i tend NOT to go which i am seeing as being very counterproductive weightwise...
    I am in the Mardyke gym in cork. It seems pretty decent place.

mack1 wrote: »
    Don't worry so much, it's all in your head.
    The other people in the gym are there to train, most are too focused on what they are doing to be paying attention to what anyone else is doing.
    You should do the same, ignore everyone else, focus on yourself and get on with it.

As an aside, I personally feel that the "women's area" actually makes this kind of thing worse, if a gym provides such an area it only magnifies the anxiety for some when they have to go out into the "real" gym - but anyway! </ gym apartheid rant>

I KNOW its in my head but well, you havent seen the size of my arse! actually my arse isnt the worst of it.
    I only really like the womens gym cos its quiet and dark and it overlooks the pool so i know when its quiet enough for a swim.... i've seen some muslim girls there with their scarves on and i guess they probably appreciate it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Don't be egotistical - no one is looking at you - no one gives a ****e if i'm honest & If anyone is - they're the ones who ahve no business in the Gym. Keep doing what your doing and don't let anyone put you off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Hey, about 3 weeks ago i went to my gym and an instructor gave me a bit of a starting programme and First i overdid it on squats and then was on holidays and working nights and then sick so i am sorta dreading going back and telling the instructor this....

now partly i am just unhappy about going back because while i am happy to use the machines I feel like a completely useless lump doing split squats and planks and so on.... I'd be happy to do them either ALL at home or on a mat in the womens only section of my gym.... but they gave me an order in which to do them that mixes up working machines and stuff i'd do on the mat on floor.... so its a pain going from mat in ladies gym to main gym every few minutes just to maintain a bit of dignity. :o

Is there a way of doing ONLY the mat stuff and maybe getting a few proper heavy (not expensive) dumbells OR just machine workouts?

Not in a position to give you good advice on your exercises but I wouldn't worry at all about what other people may think of you. If I see some one new/unfit/overweight whatever I wouldn't look down on them, I think to myself fair play there putting the effort in.

Anyone in the gym that's uber fit all started from scratch at some stage and were new themselves at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Just do your own thing.... the only people I truly don't like to see in the gym are posers. People who take their time with stuff and seem new to it are grand. Anyone who thinks otherwise ain't worth your time or worry.

It'll all come together and make sense soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

ragg wrote: »
    Don't be egotistical

Wow what a great understanding of the issues...

You seriously think she's being egotistical?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

kevpants wrote: »
    Wow what a great understanding of the issues...

You seriously think she's being egotistical?

...no... I won't....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Don't be egotistical

She's self conscious, not egotistical, and comments like that don't help.

I'm too busy to notice. Wouldn't have any problem with being asked for help in a gym. Usually when I go to the gym it's to do a crossfit style workout, so I tend to be the one looking like a twot. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

*thanks but as far as sucking it up goes its not something i am good at and if i feel demotivated like i have been the last few weeks then i tend NOT to go which i am seeing as being very counterproductive weightwise...
    I am in the Mardyke gym in cork. It seems pretty decent place.

Shur all the big meatheads are in a little room of their own in the mardyke!!!

Are you happy with your program? i wouldn't trust some of the instructors there as far as i could throw them!!:)

Shur all the big meatheads are in a little room of their own in the mardyke!!!

Are you happy with your program? i wouldn't trust some of the instructors there as far as i could throw them!!:)

oooh dish the dirt! cmon?:D

i am far from egotistical, but ur heart was in right place and i know what u meant. Its hard being fat and unfit in a room of what *to me* seems full of healthy fit goodlooking ppl....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

i am far from egotistical, but ur heart was in right place and i know what u meant. Its hard being fat and unfit in a room of what *to me* seems full of healthy fit goodlooking ppl....

It can be, but ya either have to get over it or don't. There's plenty of fatties and rakes around, ya don't notice them. Unless you're at the gyms with mates you should be working hard enough to barely notice anyone else around, much less size them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

OP, i do empathise with your position, and i know how dauting ikt can be starting out. When i joined, i was five stone overweight and felt very self conscious joining.

When i started out, i felt like everybody would be looking at me and that i would be completely out of place. However, after a very short time i realised that was far from the case. Firstly, nobody pays you any mind - normally they are too focused on what the are doing themselves. Sure, you will see people looking around, but trust me, they are not looking at you - they are just looking around! Eyes are attracted to movement - an evolutionary habit we picked up in the jungle - doesn't mean they are looking at you!

And secondly, there are very few people in the gym with a perfect physique. Most of us are carrying around a decent size belly, even the serious "meatheads." You must be at a truly gifted gym if the people all look that good. I doubt they do tough.

You will find that people in the gym are in fact the least judgmental when it comes to appearance, because if you are a regular gym goer, no matter what shape you are in, you will appreciate that nobody is born with a perfect body! A lot of work goes in. We all had to start somewhere and we were all pretty clueless then too, so we won't judge.

As for your own part in this, you do have to suck it up to an extent. Ask yourself the following:

1. Whats the worst that can happen? Someobdy will see you - big deal. if they judge (although i doubt it), they are clearly a spanner, and therefore why would you worry about their opinion.

2. what difference does it make if you look a bit silly in front of complete strangers? None.

You are just as entitled to be there as anyboy else, so don't you pay one bit of attention to what other think. just say to yourself, i'm going to do this, and to hell with anybody who gets in my way.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

oooh dish the dirt! cmon?:D

You have to remember that some of those fit looking people were in the same position to begin with. Anyone who looks down on you for going to the gym is an idiot, if I see someone who's overweight in the gym I always think "fair play to them, at least they're trying to do something about it".

Oh yeah, if you're squatting as heavy as you can you're probably working more efficiently than 80% of other gym goers. Well done.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

You have to remember that some of those fit looking people were in the same position to begin with. Anyone who looks down on you for going to the gym is an idiot, if I see someone who's overweight in the gym I always think "fair play to them, at least they're trying to do something about it".

BIG thanks to everyone so far for being fairminded and encouraging...
    Helps a LOT to know i am not just pretending that they arent looking down on me.

Oh yeah, if you're squatting as heavy as you can you're probably working more efficiently than 80% of other gym goers. Well done.

as for squatting briankeating i am just doing split squats so far but the first time i was shown them, went back later in the day and did a few, felt i wasnt doing it right so got an instructor to show me and then i did my 8reps so i ended up doing twice as much as i should have and couldnt walk for 4days.... toilets were agony! I am not using any weights with the split squats so i am not sure i deserve your praise in that respect.

split squats or lunges??

well they told me they are split squats........ (in my brain they feel like i am lunging but what do i know?)

Don't worry about being sore/stiff - its a sign of a good workout!

And as for not using weights, it doesn't make a difference. You're only starting. The important thing is that you are making the effort, and pushing yourself. As long as you are pushing yourself you are on the right track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

If you are getting four day DOMS you are working out like a champ. Well done :D
    Seriously OP - its something that really upsets me - never, ever feel uncomfortable for doing something thats so good for you.
    Walk in proud, it sounds like you are doing a more efficient workout then 90% of people who go to the gym and just do 5,000,000 bicep curls and then go home.

Congratulations & make sure you stick with it - if you were in my GYM, i'd buy you a protein shake afterwards :D

If you are getting four day DOMS you are working out like a champ. Well done :D
    Seriously OP - its something that really upsets me - never, ever feel uncomfortable for doing something thats so good for you.
    Walk in proud, it sounds like you are doing a more efficient workout then 90% of people who go to the gym and just do 5,000,000 bicep curls and then go home.

Congratulations & make sure you stick with it - if you were in my GYM, i'd buy you a protein shake afterwards :D

well shucks......... you fitboardsies are so nice.... what are DOMS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Listen, as said before, people will not be looking at you. They'll be concentrating on their own work-out. And if they are thinking anything it'll be fair play to you for going to the gym.

It gets easier the more you go. And hey if you are still feeling self conscious in the gym just think of my pain:

I can't do press-ups/push-ups. Can lift 14kg, do plenty of sit-ups, lunges, sqwats etc. etc. But can't do push-ups, even girly ones. When living in Australia, my PT used to have to help lift me up with a towel round my abdomen! :o Now that's scarlet.....!

Everyone has to start somewhere!! (and no I still can't do them! Think its all in me head at this stage!)

As are most people in the gym! Believe it!

DOMS are delayed onset muscle soreness - basically the stiffness you get after a good workout. It hits you hardest when you're starting, but one your body adapts you shouldn't really get it too badly at all.

Except me... i'm a pr*ck:D DOMs= Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness

thanks folks

i might post my workout on another thread for y'er input...
    am making wholemeal and oat banana bread with honey walnuts and vanilla if ye want any? :p
    it's out of the oven in ten mins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mack32

OP, im in the mardyke too and i have never seen anyone look down on somebody whos there to work out and doing their best. its the guys who walk around posing after one set when they've just held up a bench for ten minutes that get on people's nerves.

as far as wanting to be invisible goes, you have just as much of a right to be there as anyone else! do you think that all these "lanky, muscley, uber fit people" were born that way with an in built knowledge of the exercises?

everybody has to start somewhere, but the thing about fitness is that you cant compare yourself to others - imagine two people, trainee1 started working out 4 years ago and has had a good diet and has been training consistently. they have seen good results and is now one of these "fit" people you see in the gym.

now, trainee2; they are starting out overweight but have decided to make a go of it. say he follows the exact same diet and routine (adjusted for his ability) as trainee1.

now who's working harder? the only difference between them is that trainee1 started 4years before trainee2. is that something to be ashamed of? its only a matter of time before trainee2 makes huge gains and becomes a "fit" person.

obviously the above eg is very generic but you get my drift

if you are still self conscious ( and you have absolutely no reason to be) the gym is very quiet between 1 and 5 midweek and i had the whole place to myself last sunday.

as far as the trainers go, there are good and bad, the best guys seem to be the bald big guy, the foxy guy and the american guy. (but thats just my observation from seeing them around the place and i could be wrong!)

Thanks fellow mardyker!

I know it all makes sense and in the end i WILL bite the bullet and go back...

want some banana bread as a pwo snack? LOL