Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not to brag but........

• 16-06-2009 12:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭

I seen Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen this morning in a special advance screening in Cineworld (Parnell Street) :p:p.
    (The first screening in the country i believe)

First of all, it is better than the first. it's epic (over two hours long), the trailers don't do the film justice.

Although i saw it for free:p, it'll be worth every cent to go see it on the big screen so I'd recommend it.. (i gave it 8-9 of Ten on The Lock In on Spin Fm

and I didn't think it was possible but Megan Fox got sexier :pac::pac:(sp)

Anyways, this is not the films forum, I got this opportunity to see this through my job, a job that doesn't come with many.It also resulted with me going on The Lock In (Spin Fm) tonight. I told them i had seen the Film and the rang me back and i was put on live :o:o.

So whats the best quirk, freebie or bonus that you've gotten through/from your job??
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I run a brothel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

gandhi123 wrote: »
    I got this opportunity to see this through my job,
    The real question is:

how did you get a job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

a bj from my ex boss in the jacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Film > Film Reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭gandhi123

TheZohan wrote: »
    I run a brothel.

Do you get staff discounts? ;)
    K4t wrote: »
    The real question is:

how did you get a job?

You don't really want to know (shiver)
    nuxxx wrote: »
    a bj from my ex boss in the jacks.

Niiice... a female boss i hope:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

blah blah blah, I wasted two hours of my life whackin' off to megan fox in the cinema

While you were doing that OP I slept in until 3pm.

markok84 wrote: »
    While you were doing that OP I slept in until 3pm.

Don't be getting jealous:rolleyes:

And btw a good **** is hardly time wasted:pac::pac:

...And btw a good **** is hardly time wasted:pac::pac:

touché

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

OP are you old enough to watch Transformers? That post is a digital form of schoolyard bragging
    "I got to watch the film, and then I got to go on the radio"

You remind me of the little boy in that StenaLine ad I hate
    "It went weally fast and I got to watch cartoons and I got to meet Curious George" :rolleyes:

PS Most people who listen to Spin FM aren't old enough to see the new Transformers.

Yes i'm old enough... Everybody brags now and then:rolleyes:
    upmeath wrote: »

..but I'm not retarded

PS Most people who listen to Spin FM aren't old enough to see the new Transformers.

Wasn't my choice to be listen to it, i was in my mates car. I just texted in for a laugh... didn't think they'd actual reply...:o

OP you say that you're not reatarded but boasting about being on spin fm is pretty damned retarded. Also your bragging about seeing either a press screening or print test is not really all that worthy of bragging rights.

Pretty much every one at some stage or another gets to see a film before the general public, why I could tell you all about the tiem I watched a preview of Grindhouse while sitting ebside Robert Rodriguez or the time I went drinking with Thomas Jane and Josh Lucas and then slept on Jane's hotel floor. Both feets which are substantially more brag worthy than yours.

OP you say that you're not reatarded but boasting about being on spin fm is pretty damned retarded. Also your bragging about seeing either a press screening or print test is not really all that worthy of bragging rights.

Pretty much every one at some stage or another gets to see a film before the general public, why I could tell you all about the tiem I watched a preview of Grindhouse while sitting ebside Robert Rodriguez or the time I went drinking with Thomas Jane and Josh Lucas and then slept on Jane's hotel floor. Both feets which are substantially more brag worthy than yours.

The fact that it was spin doesn't matter.. it was just cool to be radio..

"Pretty much every one at some stage or another gets to see a film before the general public" Doubt that...

So you've never "bragged" to anyone about them two instances??
    Bollocks!!!

Very Subtle on the Names Drops, Yeah?

The fact that it was spin doesn't matter.. it was just cool to be radio..

I wonder how could I get to be on the radio? Could I perhaps ring up Joe Duffy or simply ring into any of the countless radio shows out there all of which take listener call ins lvie.
    "Pretty much every one at some stage or another gets to see a film before the general public" Doubt that...

There's nothing special about seeing a film a few days before it release. Now if it was a premier with the cast and crew there then it's boast worthy. Your thrilling experience is not.
    So you've never "bragged" to anyone about them two instances??
    Bollocks!!!

Very Subtle on the Names Drops, Yeah?

If you read my post you would see that nowhere do I say that I did'nt boast about it I merely said that it was a far mroe impressive boast thatn your pathetic attempt at boasting. I was'nt trying to be subtle with the name drops and if you want I can give you some more.

Lets see, I attended Eli Roth's Halloween party a few years back. I had a drink with lloyd Kaufman, Gillian Anderson kissed my cheek. I drank with Robert Carlyle and James franco. I've met Kiera Knightly who also kissed me.

You want some more boast worthy examples of experiences I have had op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I do, I do!

I wonder how could I get to be on the radio? Could I perhaps ring up Joe Duffy or simply ring into any of the countless radio shows out there all of which take listener call ins lvie.

Well it's not everyday i'm on radio is it?

And i guess you've ****in met Joe Duffy too
    There's nothing special about seeing a film a few days before it release. Now if it was a premier with the cast and crew there then it's boast worthy. Your thrilling experience is not.

Again, seeing one of the most anticipated films of the year doesn't happen everyday.
    If you read my post you would see that nowhere do I say that I did'nt boast about it I merely said that it was a far mroe impressive boast thatn your pathetic attempt at boasting. I was'nt trying to be subtle with the name drops and if you want I can give you some more.

I didn't mean on boards, just in general.

More?? i never asked in the first place and it Seems like your doing enough of that yourself.

I do, I do!

Lets see. E from the Eels peed on my shoe in urinal one night and after apologising we got talkign for awhile about the gig. he asked me my favourite Eels song and later that night dedicated the song to me. I met James Hetfield and he laughed when I compared Lars to Golllum. My cousin was a writer on friends and is married to a very successful sitcom actress. He has also done uncredited rewrites on films such as Armageddon.I spent time with Terry George and John Maybury discussing film. I once got into an arguement with Zachrey Quinto where I repeatedly insisted that he was the dude from 24, I was quite drunk at the time. I also argued with Adrian Brody over who the most attractive female actress was. Michael Dudikoff called me a true inspiration to any wannabe film maker. I have had long email conversations with Jeff Burr and Robert Kurtzman. Rob Zombie once rang my house to apologise for not being able to do an email interview with me as he had jsut signed on for Hlloween 2.

There's more but I think that will suffice for now.

Well it's not everyday i'm on radio is it?

And i guess you've ****in met Joe Duffy too

I did meet him once but I had no idea who he was and was kinda distraced by some shiny objects. Plus meeting Joe Dufffy is hardly boast worthy.

Again, seeing one of the most anticipated films of the year doesn't happen everyday.

It's not that big a deal. movies.ie regulary screen films in advance of their opening and most of them are highly anticipated films such as Star Trek and Iron Man.

I'll compile a full list and pm it to you in the morning. That way we can share our experiences and become closer as a result.

I didn't mean on boards, just in general.

But you way you worded you post it seemed to imply that I had somewhere said that I had never boasted about them.

More?? i never asked in the first place and it Seems like your doing enough of that yourself.

Just thought of one more. During the Galway film fleadh last year a friend had Bill Pullman ring me and he asked to hear me reciete the presidents speech from Independence Day. I did hang up on him the first time convinced it was jsut a friend messing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

So whats the best quirk, freebie or bonus that you've gotten through/from your job??

I got free days off work for the forseeable future, it's awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

TheZohan wrote: »
    I run a brothel.

I'm not jealous of you, your most likely a menapausal middle aged old bag.

Well I shook hands with Mary Robinson when she visited our home town...... beat that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

jesus lads. Me man is delighted with himself. Why piss on his parade?.

Didnt even watch the first transformers to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Well I shook hands with Mary Robinson when she visited our home town...... beat that.

Did you beat it afterwards?

Shes from my home town. Met her a few times and she seemed like an awful tit tbh.

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Did you beat it afterwards?

I was only 9 at the time so that would have been an achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Late bloomer, eh?

Stekelly wrote: »
    Late bloomer, eh?

must've been.

what ya mean only 9. Im a respectable 8 and a half and proud

seanybiker wrote: »
    what ya mean only 9. Im a respectable 8 and a half and proud

8.5cm???? :eek:

My god man you're hooj

too late OP this thread has been well and truely derailed.

:(.... At least you actually tried...;)

I got a free simpsons mug from work a few years ago. Had to rob it though, didnt earn it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭j1smithy

"It went weally fast and I got to watch cartoons and I got to meet Curious George" :rolleyes:

pfft Bi-Curious George is where its at these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Codofwar

Im jealous OP, I've been lookin forward to transformers 2 for ages, would have loved to have seen it already.

@ Darko, Why be such a complete knob, for you meeting famous people and seeing movies before they are released seems to be the norm for you, big feckin deal, who are you to rain on someones parade just because you feel superior. Why bother comenting at all? Was it only to build up your own ego by doing your little name dropping thing there so your internet people can look up to you in awe?

/end rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

You got to go to the cinema because of your job. Big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I didn't post in this thread.

Damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Lets see, I attended Eli Roth's Halloween party a few years back. I had a drink with lloyd Kaufman, Gillian Anderson kissed my cheek. I drank with Robert Carlyle and James franco. I've met Kiera Knightly who also kissed me.

Lets see. E from the Eels peed on my shoe in urinal one night and after apologising we got talkign for awhile about the gig. he asked me my favourite Eels song and later that night dedicated the song to me. I met James Hetfield and he laughed when I compared Lars to Golllum. My cousin was a writer on friends and is married to a very successful sitcom actress. He has also done uncredited rewrites on films such as Armageddon.I spent time with Terry George and John Maybury discussing film. I once got into an arguement with Zachrey Quinto where I repeatedly insisted that he was the dude from 24, I was quite drunk at the time. I also argued with Adrian Brody over who the most attractive female actress was. Michael Dudikoff called me a true inspiration to any wannabe film maker. I have had long email conversations with Jeff Burr and Robert Kurtzman. Rob Zombie once rang my house to apologise for not being able to do an email interview with me as he had jsut signed on for Hlloween 2.

Just thought of one more. During the Galway film fleadh last year a friend had Bill Pullman ring me and he asked to hear me reciete the presidents speech from Independence Day. I did hang up on him the first time convinced it was jsut a friend messing.

Thaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnkkkkkkkkssssssssss
    south-park-smug-313.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

epic and film directed by michael bay should never or will never be used in the same sentence ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

*Looks Up*

Awe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Facepalm for Darko..

Just thought of one more. While I lived in California I worked as a fluffer for Lex Steele on the film blue rain.

WOW!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I seen Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen...

So you're bragging that you're 12 and a half or you've the mind of a 12 and a half year-old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I seen saw Transformers 2

Not to brag but I can speak English :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Best job freebie... Free beer I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Soul Cake Duck

seanybiker wrote: »
    I got a free Simpsons mug from work a few years ago. Had to rob it though, didn’t earn it.

Simpsons Eh?

I also acquired a mug….my boyfriend!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I saw the gay weather man from TV3 & got all excited.
    Not because he's 'famous' but because I recognised him.

Apparently I have been near (as in reach out & touch) Michael Stipes, Angela Lansbury, Larry Mullen & Gerry Adams. I don't think it counts though because I didn't recognise them at the time & even if I did I probably still would have pottered on at what I was doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

easyeason3 wrote: »
    I saw the gay weather man from TV3 & got all excited.
    Not because he's 'famous' but because I recognised him.

Apparently I have been near (as in reach out & touch) Michael Stipes, Angela Lansbury, Larry Mullen & Gerry Adams. I don't think it counts though because I didn't recognise them at the time & even if I did I probably still would have pottered on at what I was doing.

You saw them on the TV?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Saibh wrote: »
    You saw them on the TV?

How did you know?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Today alone I've seen Matt Lauer, Al Roker, Christian Bale, and Optimus Prime. We had coffee together. it was great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Why would you brag about having to sit through another Transformers movie? Jaysus!

Best freebie I ever through work was when I got to go censored with also censored from this too is censored. Possibly the greatest deleted and erased of my entire life.

Beat that ya bastards! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

easyeason3 wrote: »
    How did you know?????

Just an easy guess.... :D