Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster Football Final 5th July 2009

• 16-06-2009 12:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭

Cork -v- Limerick @ 2pm ... with the venue, as of today, to be confirmed ... but does anyone know when the tickets will be on sale?

Right now I don't forsee any other result other than a Cork victory. They have such immense talent after coming through the ranks that are now on the senior panel. To me, they will be the team to beat for the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Cork -v- Limerick @ 2pm ... with the venue, as of today, to be confirmed ... but does anyone know when the tickets will be on sale?

Right now I don't forsee any other result other than a Cork victory. They have such immense talent after coming through the ranks that are now on the senior panel. To me, they will be the team to beat for the next few years.
    I hope all the media (and the Cork supporters themselves) continue to talk about Cork winning the All Ireland - they may well do so. At present the Munster Final is only receiving lip service, maybe rightly so after Cork's impressive disposal of the Kingdom. However, all this hyping up of the Cork team plays right into Limerick hands. I don't think it does Cork any good to be peaking in June when the real business end of football comes around in September. The Limerick players will never have a greater motivator to win a match - claim a first Munster title in 113 years and throw Cork's summer plans into disarray. I admit, at this moment in time its hard not to see Cork winning. But even though its a Munster final, i can't see Cork being as fired up against Limerick as they were against Kerry. It will be a lot closer than the pundits are predicting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭tippguy

2009 Munster Senior Football Championship

Final Corcaigh Luimneach 05/07 Pairc Ui Chaoimh

Munster GAA website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Absolute shambles that it is in Pairc Ui Chaoimh.After Saturday's debacle,why not review the situation and play the match in the Gaelic Grounds or in Killarney...or even Semple Stadium.

I think the GG or Killarney would be ideal for the crowd attendance anyway.I'd say you'll get 33,000 at this.

As for the game,it is hard to see Cork not winning after those two games and Limerick will need everything to go right for them.They should have had them last year but they'll need to learn to hang on to leads and close a game out.Maybe practising possession football would not be a bad idea.If Limerick are a point or two ahead coming into the 70,they'll need to put this into practise and maybe aim at winding down the clock at the Cork end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

tippguy wrote: »
    2009 Munster Senior Football Championship

Final Corcaigh Luimneach 05/07 Pairc Ui Chaoimh

Munster GAA website

Pairc Ui Chaoimh:eek:
    Noooooooooooooooo!!!..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Declan30

It was always going to be Cork as the Munster Council would not move it away from there.

Limerick Find it very Hard to play possession Football tired this against Tipp and it nearly caught us.

I think we have the better midfield and this where it will be won and lost imo.
    Stephen Lucey Marking Pierse o'Neill will be the key battle as well.

Given the S.Lucey will start again next sat for the hurlers.He could be a
    Tired player taking to the pitch against cork.
    It will be his Third Game in a Row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

Cork played Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds last year and they've a rotation system so it was always going to be in Cork. I reckon that there'll be a poor crowd. Will the Cork Football bandwagon roll into the Páirc. They didn't for last years Munster Final with only 22,000 at it and Limerick Footballers have a relatively small support base. Might scrap 20,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Nobody really expects Limerick to do anything in this game, so I don't think people will bother to turn up in any great numbers. Hope I'm wrong!

Can't see past Cork really. They look like they could challenge for the big one in September from what I've seen of them so far.

Gingy wrote: »
    Cork played Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds last year and they've a rotation system so it was always going to be in Cork. I reckon that there'll be a poor crowd. Will the Cork Football bandwagon roll into the Páirc. They didn't for last years Munster Final with only 22,000 at it and Limerick Footballers have a relatively small support base. Might scrap 20,000.
    I can guarantee you, once Limerick are in a final, the supporters will come out in force. As will the Cork supporters. There should be easily 30,000 at this. Limerick made up half of the 29,000 crowd in the 2003 final, more than half of the 23,214 crowd in the 2004 final and outnumbered Kerry supporters in the 2004 final replay in Killarney.

As with any final, the fair weather supporters will appear from under the woodwork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Gingy

grenache wrote: »
    I can guarantee you, once Limerick are in a final, the supporters will come out in force. As will the Cork supporters. There should be easily 30,000 at this. Limerick made up half of the 29,000 crowd in the 2003 final, more than half of the 23,214 crowd in the 2004 final and outnumbered Kerry supporters in the 2004 final replay in Killarney.

As with any final, the fair weather supporters will appear from under the woodwork.

I hope that you are right grenache, but I just don't think it will happen. I was down at Cork v Limerick in 2007 down in Páirc Uí Chaoimh and I doubt that there were 4,000 at it. Finals are different, but Cork football folk are incredibly fickle and unlikely to come out in large numbers for a game against Limerick. And, as you said, the weather will play a huge part in it.

Gingy wrote: »
    I hope that you are right grenache, but I just don't think it will happen. I was down at Cork v Limerick in 2007 down in Páirc Uí Chaoimh and I doubt that there were 4,000 at it. Finals are different, but Cork football folk are incredibly fickle and unlikely to come out in large numbers for a game against Limerick. And, as you said, the weather will play a huge part in it.
    To be fair, Cork didn't have the same momentum back then that they have now. Also that Limerick side contained many youngsters following a raft of retirements and the loss of dual players to hurling. Thus neither set of supporters felt any great optimism, certainly not the Limerick ones. But this is a final, trust me, there will be at least 25-30,000 at it. Anything less and i'd be surprised. The Cork hurlers won't have any Munster final so the Cork public will get right behind the footballers, and for Limerick, Munster football finals don't come around too often so we'll bring good numbers down.

Really getting excited about this one now. Obviously Cork are strong favourites and rightly so. They're very strong up the middle with Shields, Canty, Murphy, O'Connor, O'Neill - all excellent players. They've also got an abundance of scoring forwards, O'Connor and James Masters (who's returned to his '07 form) can pop them over from any angle, and the arrival of new finds such as Kerrigan and Goulding only strengthens their forward line. They also possess in Anthony Lynch the games best man marker, he's been consistently the best for 10 years or more. John Miskella has to be one of the most under-rated players in the country, a pure workhorse and his versatility in being able to play half back or half forward adds greatly to the team. Limerick will have studied Cork and i'm sure they will look to stifle the influence of Nicholas Murphy and in particular Pierce O'Neill. I cant see Stephen Lucey giving O'Neill the same amount of room that Aidan O'Mahoney afforded him. Mickey Ned might look to deploy a third midfielder to sit in front of O'Neill and look to cut off the supply of direct ball from Alan Quirke's kickouts. Limerick with John Galvin and Jim O'Donovan in midfield, are stronger than Kerry were here, and will pose more of a threat to Cork in the middle third. Cork should look to expose the Limerick half backs, Browne and Lavin are terrific going forward and love to attack, but often neglect their defensive duties. I can see Miskella and Kerrigan doing well here. I hope that Johnny McCarthy reverts to full back from the corner for Limerick, he's one of the country's best in this position. If he doesn't, it will be left to Shane Gallagher to track danger man Masters. At the other end, will Limerick look to place fit again Stephen Kelly on the 40? - he scored 0-3 from play last year against Cork. I hope Ian Ryan starts in the full forward line, he's too dangerous not to! Ger Collins is another points scorer for Limerick at corner forward, most of Limerick's scores will comes from him and Ian Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 ddddd

well if there's going to be a "shock" in a provincial final this year it will be in this match so I think there will be a big enough crowd there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

ddddd wrote: »
    well if there's going to be a "shock" in a provincial final this year it will be in this match so I think there will be a big enough crowd there!

I think your right, and I agree with the many Limerick supporters who foresee a Limerick victory. Remember, Cork have only managed to beat Kerry so far this year, and even then it took us two goes.

Limerick by 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Will such a result lead to an all out players strike and the replacement of the management team?? ;) Or will all the blame be directed at Mr Murphy?

I wont say anything about you orizio this time as i hope you are right. If Limerick can get this idea outta their heads to handpass, handpass, handpass then we might have a chance at winning. Id say the match would draw a fair enough crowd of 30000 at least with many of the Cork and Limerick supporters hopping on the bandwagon for a day in a munster final as the hurling didnt fair out for either teams. Cork wont be as motivated as they were for the kerry match but Limerick have it all to win at this point. Lets just hope last years munster breakdown doesnt come back to bite us again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Just a reminder, buying and selling of tickets is not allowed on this forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭DC_Roscommon

ddddd wrote: »

Antrim? LoL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭AMixedBag

Anyone else been listening to the radios? According to a certain radio programme, limerick beating cork is like a jack russell winning the grand national. Maybe im just giving limerick too much of a chance but realistically, I never thought that it might be that hard to defeat us?? I think its preety pathetic though of radio programmes saying crap like that though on their shows, no matter what county. Part of me wants limerick to win to show those siht heads that nothing is impossible but thats a small part of me :P..

AMixedBag wrote: »
    Anyone else been listening to the radios? According to a certain radio programme, limerick beating cork is like a jack russell winning the grand national. Maybe im just giving limerick too much of a chance but realistically, I never thought that it might be that hard to defeat us?? I think its preety pathetic though of radio programmes saying crap like that though on their shows, no matter what county. Part of me wants limerick to win to show those siht heads that nothing is impossible but thats a small part of me :P..
    That comment was texted in by a Meath supporter to Newstalk's 'Off The Ball' show tonight. He said that ''Limerick football supporters have a large chip on their shoulders when it comes to their team being written off or not mentioned in the Munster shakeup''. Looks to me like its this Meath supporter who has the chip on his shoulder, which was probably attained in the Gaelic Grounds last July :-)

If Limerick play the direct fast game we will beat cork. However against Tipp we did the direct fast game for the first 20 mins and out scored they 1-6 to no score.
    Then we went back to the hand passing game and it slowed the game up and allowed Tipp to get back at us.

The Team that was picked for the cork game seems to be on that will play the Direct Fast Game.

I do believe we will beat cork on Sunday as we have been given no chance at all.

I think as well u can get limerick at 5/1 for a win on Sunday.

I backed Limerick to win Munster at 12/1 before the Tipp Game

That comment was texted in by a Meath supporter to Newstalk's 'Off The Ball' show tonight. He said that ''Limerick football supporters have a large chip on their shoulders when it comes to their team being written off or not mentioned in the Munster shakeup''. Looks to me like its this Meath supporter who has the chip on his shoulder, which was probably attained in the Gaelic Grounds last July :-)

Liam Hayes IMO :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cupthehand

Declan30 wrote: »

I think as well u can get limerick at 5/1 for a win on Sunday.

Paddypower.com

Cork 1/10
    Limerick 13/2
    Draw 14/1
    Handicap 8pts evens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Have to admit that the Meath fans were the most sour losers ever, very ungracious in defeat to Limerick last year.

As a Limerick supporter and a brother playing on the team, I am very confident for Limerick on Sunday! Players such as Stephen Lucey,John Galvin, Jonny Mc Carthy are all very experienced players. They know this is their year to win Munster and they are thirsting to win it.

I think it will be a very close,exciting match (well I hope!), but I tip Limerick to win by 2 points.

Not looking forward to the agonising 70 minutes in Pairc Ui Chaoimh. At 6'1 the Kerry/Cork replay was just agonising,I lost all circulation in my legs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭pajoguy

A limerick football/Offaly hurlling double would be a good bet this weekend.

The rebels would be on the streets monday evening picketing then!

Thought I reckon Cork by 5/6 after a tight 50 mins.

pajoguy wrote: »

It would alright........ if your trying to get rid of money in a hurry like :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭pajoguy

It would alright........ if your trying to get rid of money in a hurry like :rolleyes:

Not a big betting person so thinking €10 so when and not if you lost you wouldnt really miss it..... Be worth a few hundred if it came in unlikely as it seems.

Cork will win football but the hurling might be sticky in Tullamore.

pajoguy wrote: »

The rebels would be on the streets monday evening picketing then!

Thought I reckon Cork by 5/6 after a tight 50 mins.

What are the odds? Might have a flutter, very good chance of a payday.

Orizio wrote: »
    What are the odds? Might have a flutter, very good chance of a payday.

Just over 35/1 - anyone foolish enough I will personally give 40/1 to any boardsie ;)

Obscenely high odds - should be more like 10/1, at least. ;)

I'd imagine you will be down in Cork on Sunday to watch the Tipp minor footballers PS...

Orizio wrote: »
    Obscenely high odds - should be more like 10/1, at least. ;)

I'd imagine you will be down in Cork on Sunday to watch the Tipp minor footballers PS...

No Im afraid I wont be making the trip, I have trouble convincing myself to attend that stadium for a hurling never mind a football mis-match ;)

panda100 wrote: »
    Have to admit that the Meath fans were the most sour losers ever, very ungracious in defeat to Limerick last year.

As a Limerick supporter and a brother playing on the team, I am very confident for Limerick on Sunday! Players such as Stephen Lucey,John Galvin, Jonny Mc Carthy are all very experienced players. They know this is their year to win Munster and they are thirsting to win it.
    Agree with you on the Meath supporters, think they were in total shock though, couldn't accept being beaten by a ''lesser'' team. I'm like you in that i also have a relation playing, so i probably am a little biased in my reasoning. I do think Limerick will have one thing Cork dont have though and that is hunger, i'm certain that some of the older guys like Galvin, Lavin, Kelly, Stokes and O'Donovan dont want to go thru their careers without winning a senior munster medal. I expect Limerick to really start off high tempo and take the game to Cork in the first 20 mins. If they hit Hit Ger Collins and Jason Stokes with plenty direct ball, get rid of this sideways handpassing crap, then they might have some success. It will be important not let Cork get on top early on and build up a lead. If this happens i fear the floodgates might open. Whatever chance we have we need to be within a couple of points of them at HT.

Is Stokes not droped for the rugby guy Kelly??

i didn't hear the team yet, so you could be right.

I heard that. Its on rte aertel anyways. Check page 202 for the gaa.

Yeah just heard the team, Stokes dropped, Kelly in. Stokes did nothing against Clare and think he might have been carrying a little niggle. Stephen Kelly is named at 14 but he'll start in his normal position at 10. Looks like we'll play a two man full line again, Ger Collins and Ian Ryan. Looking forward to seeing how they do against Shields and Lynch. It will also be interesting to see will Limerick play a 4 man half forward line to try nullify the runs of Canty and Miskella, or will they do have a 3 man midfield. I'm looking forward to an interesting game.

Grenache Do you think they will bring CJP to midfield like they did against clare.
    Limerick will need to win midfield.As i remember last yrs game in limerick the last 5 mins cork moved pierse o neill to midfield and this worked out well for them given the got 2 goals that won they the match.
    He must have caught 4 kickouts in the last few mins of the game

Yeah just heard the team, Stokes dropped, Kelly in. Stokes did nothing against Clare and think he might have been carrying a little niggle. Stephen Kelly is named at 14 but he'll start in his normal position at 10. Looks like we'll play a two man full line again, Ger Collins and Ian Ryan. Looking forward to seeing how they do against Shields and Lynch. It will also be interesting to see will Limerick play a 4 man half forward line to try nullify the runs of Canty and Miskella, or will they do have a 3 man midfield. I'm looking forward to an interesting game.

Declan30 wrote: »
    Grenache Do you think they will bring CJP to midfield like they did against clare.
    Limerick will need to win midfield.As i remember last yrs game in limerick the last 5 mins cork moved pierse o neill to midfield and this worked out well for them given the got 2 goals that won they the match.
    He must have caught 4 kickouts in the last few mins of the game
    yeah Joyce-Power is fairly versatile, thought he was unlucky to be taken off in Clare game. He's good to pick up breaking ball so he could well be the third midfielder. Yeah i remember only too well last year, they got a grip in midfield in last 5 mins but were it not for two clangers from the normally reliable Sean Kiely, it would have mattered little and we'd have won the game. Hope to god Ian Ryan wont be deployed at centre forward like against Tipp and Clare, he's wasted there. He will do damage if he's in the full line.
    John Galvin was targeted by the Clare boys who bunched midfield but Jim Donovan broke a lot of ball down to Lucey and Lavin. I think he's highly underated. They're capable of at least breaking even there and hopefully winning it. *On a slightly related note, just seen the TV3 ad for the match coverage on Sunday. Lots of clips of Cork for the promo, and of KK and Dublin for the Leinster final, but not one of Limerick. Typical TV3, useless tw*ts.

How much is it for u16s tomorrow, does anyone know?

?10 i would imagine. I know its normally free for u-16s in any other game but since this is a final i'm sure its not free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Cork scrape through by a point against Limerick. Referee Rory Hickey makes new history for the GAA in being the worst possible referee imaginable. The GAA might aswell liquidate themselves as an organisation when the have referees like him destroying the game. Limerick robbed by one man Referee Rory Hickey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

netwhizkid wrote: »
    Limerick robbed by one man Referee Rory Hickey.

Do referees normally consist of body parts from more than one person? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Yep, he made some hapless decisions in the second half particularly. They can't blame the ref entirely though, their forwards collapsed in the second half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Phew that was close! Woo hoo for Cork, unlucky Limerick and yes I agree that referee was brutal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭asmobhosca

Cork scrape through by a point against Limerick. Referee Rory Hickey makes new history for the GAA in being the worst possible referee imaginable. The GAA might aswell liquidate themselves as an organisation when the have referees like him destroying the game. Limerick robbed by one man Referee Rory Hickey.

Ah come off it Limerick missed too many chances in the first half and died in the 2nd half, the penalty was debatable but as for him being biased in any way thats just laughable. He's from Clare after all and would have no great love for Cork, if anything I'd say he'd have preferred to see Limerick win like most neutrals.
    Its a pity though would love to have seen Limerick do it....

Just walking out from the match. Cmon limerick, proud of 'em. They did well. Robbed by the ref. That penalty was barely a penalty. But to be honest, losing by 1point is worse than losing by 10. Screaming my heart out in the middle of a sea of red,i was. Anyways, the amount of wides cork scored was a wreck! Definetly not all ireland contenders after that performance.
    To all those feckers that doubted limerick, screw ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Just walking out from the match. Cmon limerick, proud of 'em. They did well. Robbed by the ref. That penalty was barely a penalty. But to be honest, losing by 1point is worse than losing by 10. Screaming my heart out in the middle of a sea of red,i was. Anyways, the amount of wides cork scored was a wreck! Definetly not all ireland contenders after that performance.

Easy now :)

Clare Bear wrote: »
    Easy now :)

sorry but if you heard the radios and what people were saying.. Sure, limerick were the better team for most of the game :D mark o riordain had a stormer of a game. Played class. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭garbanzo

Good game, plenty to be proud of from a Limerick perspective. Didn't think the penalty decision was correct. Limerick will be a tough opponents in the qualifiers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

lol and this is worst post imaginable...

limerick mad balls of it..end of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

But Cork played shocking and still won...

does not say much for Limerick really being honest