Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Air test

• 13-06-2009 6:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭

Is an air test required on every new house now built regardless of specification in order to meet the latest regs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭sinnerboy

Every one off house - yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭MrLNB

straight and real answer is no.

BER assessed yes. . .

Air tightness test, no,
    usually only if you are trying for a passive house. .

PM me if you want a simple explanation of this..

Mr LNB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,552 ✭✭✭✭muffler

sinnerboy wrote: »
    MrLNB wrote: »
    Interesting :pac:

BER assessed yes. . .

Air tightness test, no,

Mr LNB

Post here . I'm all ears

thats the problem. . .

best leave it to PMs

brundle wrote: »
    Is an air test required on every new house now built regardless of specification in order to meet the latest regs?

This is the latest regs - the requirements for air testing can be found here

http://www.environ.ie/en/Publications/DevelopmentandHousing/BuildingStandards/FileDownLoad,19069,en.pdf

BER assessed yes. . .

Air tightness test, no,

Mr LNB

I see you know what your doing ...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055592121

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

BER assessed yes. . .

Air tightness test, no,

Mr LNB

either post on the forum to back up your claims, or admit that youve made an incorrect post...

if you do not or cannot back up this claim, action will be taken.

ok lads, nip it in the butt. .
    it would be against rules if I posted what I know, and therefore, will not be pushed in to posting.

I can tell you brundles question has been answered. Whether he/she takes it as opinion or fact thats for them to decide.

Im just stating what i am aware of and the way i know things are been done in the real world.

my view didnt sink the hearts of BER people, did it?:rolleyes:

LNB. .

PS, sinner, Im a heart surgeon, accountant, solictor and even a builder, lol:D

I look forward to your future posts so

The second part of this link is "real world" too

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/property/propertyadvice/jeffhowell/5344583/DIY-advice-compact-fluorescent-lamps-and-spray-on-foam.html

It does not relate to air tightness . It is a cautionary tale for wishful thinkers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭brundle

Well after reading through some of the building regulation relating to this, I would assume an air test is required for a one off house. It does say though that if it can be shown that a similar house was build by the same builder in the 12 month period previous that a test may not be required. I guess if its a one off house, a similar house would not have been constructed. This does leave it open to a certain level of interpretation though so what is the experience so far? Are builders putting forward results for a test carried out on an earlier build and then claiming equivalent construction details & methods for the later projects thus making the earlier test valid and covering the airtightness requirement?

so what is the experience so far?

Currently - a housing scheme I am involved in - every single house - all same type - all same builder - are being tested . Why ? Consumer demand .

It would be false economy to try to "save money" on a self build one off by not testing. If your building is not air tight it will cost you in fuel bills .

A BER assessment without a test MUST assume a poor air tightness and your BER cert will reflect this

Not doing a test because "no one will make me" is as self defeating as driving with bald car tires .

ok lads, nip it in the butt. .
    it would be against rules if I posted what I know, and therefore, will not be pushed in to posting.

I can tell you brundles question has been answered. Whether he/she takes it as opinion or fact thats for them to decide.

Im just stating what i am aware of and the way i know things are been done in the real world.

my view didnt sink the hearts of BER people, did it?:rolleyes:

LNB. .

PS, sinner, Im a heart surgeon, accountant, solictor and even a builder, lol:D

as you cannot back up your claims that an air tightness test is not required, i must advise you you should prefix your posts with 'in my opinion' when in fact, it is an opinion that you are giving.
    also, when the actual regulation is plainly shown before you, have the decency to admit when you are incorrect....

what you think is acceptable in the 'real world' has nothing to do with the question as asked.....

to brundle, yes, an air tightness test is required to be carried out and a result of 10m3/m2/yr minimum is required in order to pass this test.

any professional should, and will, require this result in order to certify compliance with building regulations, which in turn, is required to complete the mortgage legalities and required to have a clean product at teh end...

sydthebeat wrote: »
    as you cannot back up your claims that an air tightness test is not required, i must advise you you should prefix your posts with 'in my opinion' when in fact, it is an opinion that you are giving.
    also, when the actual regulation is plainly shown before you, have the decency to admit when you are incorrect....

what you think is acceptable in the 'real world' has nothing to do with the question as asked.....

to brundle, yes, an air tightness test is required to be carried out and a result of 10m3/m2/yr minimum is required in order to pass this test.

any professional should, and will, require this result in order to certify compliance with building regulations, which in turn, is required to complete the mortgage legalities and required to have a clean product at teh end...

ok ok, your right. . . you must do as the law says PART L. and the law will be enforced by someone like a BER guy assesser, if you call him. or not sure if the ESB meter reader will do it. or the tv licence guy in the future could be asked to check if you have one done.

the people who regulate the country are regulating this.

one question guys, my sister hasnt done one. what does this mean for her?
    I am pritty sure now after 280K she wont go ripping up the house to get a better Air test. she is not interested in a passive house or anything.

who will come knocking?
    what will the penalty be for her?

ok, just to sign off on this "another mad thead.

first post was yes,
    second post was no,

in an ideal situation you should have a follow on from this, but like most threads here, you wrong, no your wrong, no your wrong, prove it, (I cant Im just telling you what i know from people). . its not written anywhere. .

nice work fellas, , out of work archs and BER assessers if you ask me. .

LNB

ok ok, your right. . . you must do as the law says PART L. and the law will be enforced by someone like a BER guy assesser, if you call him. or not sure if the ESB meter reader will do it. or the tv licence guy in the future could be asked to check if you have one done.
    Loose the attitude or loose the forum.

You made a wild sweeping statement which when challenged you refused to back up. Quite frankly I or any of the mods or contributors of this forum dont need your "personal thoughts and opinions" posted here in place of hard facts.

ok, just to sign off on this "another mad thead.

first post was yes,
    second post was no,

in an ideal situation you should have a follow on from this, but like most threads here, you wrong, no your wrong, no your wrong, prove it, (I cant Im just telling you what i know from people). . its not written anywhere. .

nice work fellas, , out of work archs and BER assessers if you ask me. .

LNB
    I've had enough.

There's enough tripe around the place without you trying to smother us in it. You can have the next month away from here to think about your contributions to the forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭brundle

I guess the final question here is: Can a compliance document be given (properly & by the book) without a test being done and is a BER carried out with an assumed value (without testing) valid? or of any value?

I guess the final question here is: Can a compliance document be given (properly & by the book) without a test being done

no
    and is a BER carried out with an assumed value (without testing) valid? or of any value?

yes and yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 The Banks Home

sinner, muff and syd. . . well well well. . .what have we here. . .another issue to report. .

I am watching this forum like a hawk. . and your behaviour is nothing short of disgraceful. still keep it going, its all going in the report.

oh and ps. Forum, ahhhh, its for facts/opinioins/thoughts what ever . . . do ye think ye actually own the internet?????

ps, i dont think a ban on a forum is sufficient. it needs change of attitude, take a look again who decided to set a mine on this tread. . .thats right, sinner felt left out. . lol. .

Bank..

sinner, muff and syd. . . well well well. . .what have we here. . .another issue to report. .

I am watching this forum like a hawk. . and your behaviour is nothing short of disgraceful. still keep it going, its all going in the report.

oh and ps. Forum, ahhhh, its for facts/opinioins/thoughts what ever . . . do ye think ye actually own the internet?????

ps, i dont think a ban on a forum is sufficient. it needs change of attitude, take a look again who decided to set a mine on this tread. . .thats right, sinner felt left out. . lol. .

Bank..

as the banned poster was trying to advise a member not to comply with building regulations, it was seen in the same light as someone advising not to comply with planning law.....

this will not be allowed on this forum.

This is not a forum that allows people who give incorrect advise to go unchecked, especially in matters as serious as building reg compliance. The banned poster presented his opinion as fact, which he was incorrect in, and when challenged to back up his claim he could not.

If you have a problem with the way this forum is moderated, please post elsewhere. If you continue in the vein of your last post, you will also find yourself frozen out.

Bank..
    And dont forget to report the fact that you are banned from here for 3 months and the next breach of the charter will be a permanent ban.

We dont need the trolling and disruption. Try posting in After Hours - it may be more to your comical entertainment expectations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭ardara1

1.5.4 A I R P E R M E A B I L I T Y P R E S S U R E
    TESTS
    1.5.4.1 Air permeability can be measured by means
    of pressure testing of a building prior to completion.

1. 3. 4. 3 Achievement of reasonable levels of ai r
    permeability can be facilitated by adopting
    the standard details
    referred to in Paragr aph 1. 3. 3. 2
    (ACCEPTABLE DETAILS - see below)
    above , together with an appropriate performance
    specification and the on-site inspection regime and
    related quality control procedures, referred to in that
    paragraph.

..........However, if the assumed air change rate in the
    calculation of the EPC and CPC using the DEAP
    methodology is less than the criterion set in
    Paragraph 1 . 3 . 4 . 3 , a pressure test to verify this
    assumed value should be carried out.

Limiting Thermal Bridging and Air Infiltration
    Acceptable Construction Details

'Adopting the details in this publication will help to achieve airtightness of
    10m3/(h.m2)@50Pa or better.' - THE ASSUMED PERMEABILITY

ardara1 wrote: »
    1.5.4 A I R P E R M E A B I L I T Y P R E S S U R E
    TESTS

1. 3. 4. 3 Achievement of reasonable levels of ai r
    permeability can be facilitated by adopting
    the standard details
    referred to in Paragr aph 1. 3. 3. 2
    (ACCEPTABLE DETAILS - see below)
    paragraph.

..........However, if the assumed air change rate in the

Limiting Thermal Bridging and Air Infiltration
    Acceptable Construction Details

'Adopting the details in this publication will help to achieve airtightness of
    10m3/(h.m2)@50Pa or better.' - THE ASSUMED PERMEABILITY

very interesting.....

im going to contact the dept for clarification on this....

throws up many issues as to suitability of 'on site inspector'.... are they referring to the certifying architect / engineer... or simply the site foreman???....

to be honest, i would be unwilling to accept 'signed accrediated details' as proof that min standards are met....

more to follow...

no need . A1 is referring to text which guides towards achieving air tightness

tests must be carried out irrespective

1.5.4.2 Subject to the guidance in Paragraph
    1.5.4.7, air pressure testing should be carried out

1.5.4.4 requires repeat testing if min AT levels are not achieved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭busman

who will come knocking?
    what will the penalty be for her?

As for every law in Ireland it's not about what's written or may not be written in the statute books, it's about enforcement. Just take a look at the Garda traffic program on RTE!

So without getting into the politics of it I think that the above questions are very valid.

On a similar line, I'm currently looking at getting a new apartment. Of the approx 15 I looked at, none had a BER Cert and none had any intention of getting one!

The same questions apply!!

busman wrote: »
    As for every law in Ireland it's not about what's written or may not be written in the statute books, it's about enforcement. Just take a look at the Garda traffic program on RTE!

So without getting into the politics of it I think that the above questions are very valid.

On a similar line, I'm currently looking at getting a new apartment. Of the approx 15 I looked at, none had a BER Cert and none had any intention of getting one!

The same questions apply!!

in this case it MUST and SHOULD be requested by the certifier prior to final certification... in every case!!!

this means
    1. no last stage payment draw down
    2. no final cert = no future sale based on on-site inspections....

In your case re the apartments, enforcement is down to building control, which is almost non existent in this country... however, this does not stop you from asking for one.....
    the purchaser holds the power....

Or put it another way . Those who lend us money to buy or raise mortgages on properties we own already act as de facto enforcers

I posted a link earlier to a tale whereby a couple's plans to move were frustrated by lack of attention to specification and consequent lack of certification . I have seen several sales fall through over issues of non compliance

A false sense of security has built up over the last decade when funds flowed freely . They don't now . Attention to detail and regulations will be more and more important .

One may appear to "get away with it" because we are lucky enough to live in a state where our authorities do not "come knocking on our door" . Sometimes we lose the run of ourselves with this freedom . We don't bother to have our new houses tested for air tightness because "no one will MAKE me" . But we will have to . One day .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Edoc Macein

Everyone knows and I assume LNB knows that buying or selling a home should involve a BER cert.

However, I will say that as of yet, my parents dont have one, and they moved in to their new house last sept.

They were asking me about the BER/air test/energy rating..
    I said, as the ad on radio says, are ye selling this house. . nope
    renting it. . nope. .
    last then was are ye wanting to see the enegy rating/usage on this house. . . . answer was, well we arent changing anything on the result of it. .
    then i said get it if your curious want. ..

ta
    Edoc

no need . A1 is referring to text which guides towards achieving air tightness

tests must be carried out irrespective

[HTML]1.5.4.2 Subject to the guidance in Paragraph
    [HTML]1.5.4.7, air pressure testing should be carried out[/HTML][/HTML] - 1.5.4.7 let you take the assumed value of 10 by following std details - IF yu choose better than than this in DEAP - then yea you should test a proportion on all sites.

ACTUAL QUOTE However, if the assumed air change rate (10? Ardara 1) in the calculation of the EPC and CPC using the DEAP

[HTML]1.5.4.4 requires repeat testing if min AT levels are not achieved[/HTML]

Again - if 1.3.4.3 standard details (Assumed 10) is not used by 'Adopting std details'

Just My reading of things -

1.5.4 AIR PERMEABILITY PRESSURE
    TESTS
    The procedure for testing is specified in IS EN
    13829:2000 “Thermal performance of buildings:
    determination of air permeability of buildings: fan
    pressurization method”. Additional guidance on testing
    procedure is given in Sections 2 to 4 of the BSRIA
    Guide “Airtightness testing for new dwellings” and
    CIBSE Technical Manual TM 23 “Testing Buildings for
    Air leakage”. Permeability is calculated by dividing the
    air leakage rate in m3/hr by the envelope area in m2
    The performance is assessed at 50 Pascals pressure
    difference. It has been empirically determined that
    for dwellings generally the permeability at 50 Pascals
    pressure difference is approximately 20 times the air
    change rate at normal conditions. Guidance on
    appropriate extent of testing is given in Paragraph

SB words - testing is possible - this is how

1.5.4.2 Subject to the guidance in Paragraph
    1.5.4.7, air pressure testing should be carried out on
    a proportion of dwellings on all development sites
    , as
    outlined in Paragraphs 1.5.4.3 to 1.5.4.6. The tests
    should be carried out by a person competent to
    carry out this work. The test report should contain
    at least the information specified in Section 7 of IS
    EN 13829.

SB words - testing to take place on all sites . this catches all one houses . I.E what I said in my 1st post here

1.5.4.3 On each development, an air pressure test
    should be carried out on at least one unit of each
    dwelling type
    . One dwelling from the first four units
    of each dwelling type planned for completion should
    be tested. The basic number of tests for each
    dwelling type is presented in Table 4. The total
    number tested is related to the number of units of
    that type in the development and to the results
    achieved in any earlier tests carried out. Where a
    number of apartment blocks are constructed on the
    same site, each block should be treated as a separate
    development irrespective of the number of blocks on
    the site.
    Table 4 Number of pressure tests per
    dwelling type
    Number of units Number of tests
    4 or less One test
    Greater than 4, but equal or less
    than 40
    Two tests
    Greater than 40, but equal or less
    than 100
    At least 5% of the dwelling
    type
    More than 100
    (a) where the first five tests
    achieve the design air
    permeability
    (b) where one or more of first
    five tests do not achieve
    the design air permeability
    At least 2% (for dwellings
    in excess of first 100 units)
    At least 5% of units, until 5
    successful consecutive tests
    are achieved, 2% thereafter

SB words - the high lighted part at the start catches all one houses . I.E what I said in my 1st post here

1.5.4.4 If the measured air change rates are not
    worse than the criterion set out in Paragraph 1.3.4.3,
    the test results should be taken as satisfactory
    evidence that the requirements of Part L2 (c), insofar
    as it relates to air tightness, has been demonstrated
    for this dwelling type. If satisfactory performance is
    not achieved in a particular test, then remedial
    measures should be carried out on the test dwelling
    and a new test carried out. This should be repeated
    until the dwelling achieves the criterion set out in
    Paragraph 1.3.4.3. Dwellings completed later than the
    most recent successful test on a dwelling of this type
    should either have similar remedial work carried out
    or should be subject to pressure test.

SB words - testing , testing , testing !

1.5.4.5 Where remedial work and a new test is
    required on any dwelling following initial test, the size
    of sample for testing should be increased by one, for
    that dwelling type.

SB words - even more testing , testing , testing !

1.5.4.6 Where the air permeability assumed for
    the DEAP calculations is better than the value
    derived from pressure test results, a check
    calculation should be carried out to show that the
    calculated EPC and CPC using the measured air
    permeability (after any remedial works to satisfy
    Paragraph 1.3.4.3, if such are necessary) are not
    worse than the MPEPC and MPCPC respectively. If
    necessary, additional remedial works or other
    measures should be carried out to ensure that this
    criterion is also met.Where further remedial works
    to reduce air permeability are undertaken, a further
    test
    would be necessary to verify revised air
    permeability figure to be used in revised DEAP
    calculations.

SB words - If your DEAP calcs rely on a better air tightness than b regs min - and when tested you don't achieve that air tightness than recheck DEAP calcs to ensure compliance or otherwise carry out remedail works and RE TEST

1.5.4.7 For small developments comprising no
    more than three dwelling units, specific pressure
    testing of these dwellings would not be necessary if it
    can be demonstrated with air pressure test reports
    that, during the preceding 12 month period, a
    dwelling of the same dwelling type constructed by
    the same builder had been pressure tested
    according
    to the procedures given in this sub-section and had
    satisfied the criterion set in Paragraph 1.3.4.3.
    However, if the assumed air change rate in the
    Paragraph 1.3.4.3, a pressure test to verify this
    assumed value should be carried out. The guidance
    given in this sub-section would apply in this situation.

Anything is possible - but I see few one off houses falling into this category

1.5.4.8 Air pressurisation test reports should be
    retained
    by the developer of the dwelling as proof of
    performance, and copies included in the User
    Information referred to in Section 1.6.

Test reports to be retained ..... requires TESTS

Mods - time to lock ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭busman

1.5.4 AIR PERMEABILITY PRESSURE

Mods - time to lock ?

May I ask why?

very interesting.....

im going to contact the dept for clarification on this....

throws up many issues as to suitability of 'on site inspector'.... are they referring to the certifying architect / engineer... or simply the site foreman???....

to be honest, i would be unwilling to accept 'signed accrediated details' as proof that min standards are met....

more to follow...

This is the whole point of the fiasco of the drive for 'A' rated/passive houses in Ireland. No one inspects them - at least not people who know what they're doing.

I was at a meeting recently where the DOE N Ireland were comparing their position on the Building Regulations with that in Wales & Scotland. Where Wales and Scotland have written quite ambitious regulations (But no-where near Ireland current Part L) NI is still 2 steps back (More like Irl 2006)

But because N Ireland Building Control are so stringent when inspecting work - houses are performing better.

You simply CAN'T get an 'A' rated house without a Y value of 0.04 for accredited detailing - this MUST be inspected - but professionally or not?

you can, quite easily....

most of the prov bers ive done to find compliance with 2008 regs are coming in at high B1 rate... not much to get to A3...

serious q for you....

how do you calculate a si value of 0.04???
    is the methodology out there....??

ive heard it was incredible difficult to achieve 0.08 in the accrediated details because no one in ireland knew how to calculate the si value....
    its even still up in the air whether these details will give you that value....

You never mentioned my original one Sinner - is this the get-out clause?

1. 3. 4. 3

Achievement of reasonable levels of air
    permeability can be facilitated by adopting the
    standard details referred to in Paragraph 1. 3. 3. 2
    paragraph.

you can, quite easily....

most of the prov bers ive done to find compliance with 2008 regs are coming in at high B1 rate... not much to get to A3...

serious q for you....

how do you calculate a si value of 0.04???
    is the methodology out there....??

ive heard it was incredible difficult to achieve 0.08 in the accrediated details because no one in ireland knew how to calculate the si value....
    its even still up in the air whether these details will give you that value....

Hi Syd -

Take one of the houses you've already done and quantify the non-repeating thermal bridges (Lineal metres) - multiply them by the DEFAULT values given in IP1/06 or the table from the Acceptable Details document - it will ALWAYS be better than 0.08

Take the same bridges and multiply by improves PSI values from many insulation companies or the Aerated block association - again - you get a better improvement.

The point is that OUR details are a b
    ; they were measured against the worst acceptable U-values allowable under Part L ie. 0.27 in the wall - if you improve this U-value to say 0.22 the same detail fails to meet the PSI defaults in IP1/06. ANy of your B or A rated houses with a Y value of 0.08 but with half decent U-values probably don't even meet the min standards!

That's my point about inspection - DOE Ireland have WRITTEN great regulations - so what? Delivery - that's the key

Here's a point

Y value 0.15 Default and Permeability 10@Q50 Default

Y value improved to 0.08 equivalent Permeability improvement 1.5 (?)

Y-value improved to 0.04 Permeability 0.5 !!!!!!!!

And we talk so much about taping houses tight and ignore thermal bridging?

You never mentioned my original one Sinner - is this the get-out clause?

1. 3. 4. 3

Achievement of reasonable levels of air
    permeability can be facilitated by adopting the
    standard details referred to in Paragraph 1. 3. 3. 2
    paragraph.

No . That that gives guidance towards achieving air tightness only

Testing - which must occur - demonstrates the success or otherwise of adhering to this guidance

busman wrote: »
    May I ask why?

That's why

Hi Syd -

Take one of the houses you've already done and quantify the non-repeating thermal bridges (Lineal metres) - multiply them by the DEFAULT values given in IP1/06 or the table from the Acceptable Details document - it will ALWAYS be better than 0.08

Take the same bridges and multiply by improves PSI values from many insulation companies or the Aerated block association - again - you get a better improvement.

The point is that OUR details are a b
    ; they were measured against the worst acceptable U-values allowable under Part L ie. 0.27 in the wall - if you improve this U-value to say 0.22 the same detail fails to meet the PSI defaults in IP1/06. ANy of your B or A rated houses with a Y value of 0.08 but with half decent U-values probably don't even meet the min standards!

That's my point about inspection - DOE Ireland have WRITTEN great regulations - so what? Delivery - that's the key

Here's a point

Y value 0.15 Default and Permeability 10@Q50 Default

Y value improved to 0.08 equivalent Permeability improvement 1.5 (?)

Y-value improved to 0.04 Permeability 0.5 !!!!!!!!

And we talk so much about taping houses tight and ignore thermal bridging?

Great topic ( for another thread ) A1 . I am glad you raised it

What's needed to assess / determine SI values - Therm ? Or other ?
    Is their anything reasonably user friendly ? And acceptable to DOE ? / Or SEI ?

( Thats quite a few questions - which is why I think a new thread is apt )

Feel free to open a new thread and I can lock this one as we are all done with the original question.