Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Routine - comments/criticism welcome.

• 13-06-2009 4:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭

Hello fitness enthusiasts!!

I've gotten bored with my current routine, so I decided to make myself a new one, and I was wondering what ya'll think.

Target is to lose fat & maintain lean mass.

All 5x5.

Bench Press
    Dumbell Shoulder Press
    Upright Row
    Bent over Row
    Close Grip Pull Down
    Deadlift & Squat (alternating days)
    Leg Curl

I would like to superset each of the above with one of the following.

Bench Dips
    Hyperextentions
    Push Ups
    Crunches
    Planks
    Lunges
    Tricep Pushdown

This would be done a minimum of 3 times per week, sometimes 4, with 1-2 days cardio.

When supersetting I'm not sure if it's best to stick to the same muscle groups or target completely different ones? So if anyone has any suggestions as to what to pair together I'd be grateful. The reason for supersetting is to up the intensity and keep the heart rate up, I find lately I'm not pushing myself enough!

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

I like alot of the exercises you put down, but im just wondering do you plan on doing that all on the one day? I doubt i could do that all that with high intensity on the one day.

Id get rid of the tricep pushdown and the crunches as they wont really be doing anything that the squat and bench wont be doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭brutusthebarber

As cardio said above do you plan on doing them all in the one day??

You could easily get 4 different sessions out of those exercises and not get bored at all!

With supersetting I find that I'm pushed harder if I do two completely different exercises eg. do the Bent over row with pushups. <-- Thats just an example, IMO doing two different exercises keeps the body guessing so might be worth a try.

You could also use the push/pull for supersets.. bench press with rows. Just another option.

Crunches aren't the worst exercise in the world, just don't get bogged down doing 3 sets of 20. Maybe one set of 10-15 and change it each routine i.e. reverse crunch, legs in air, that kind of stuff.

Hope that helps!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Yeah all in the one day:o Apart from deadlifts and squat, I'd alternate when I do those.

I do a similar amount of exercises at the moment, but they're not supersets so you guys are probably right in that it's too much, although I will give it a try tomorrow and see how it goes.

Oh, and getting rid of crunches is fine with me!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Try some hanging knee raises instead of the crunches, will get your forearms working too just holding in that position.

I'll definitely give them a try, not sure how many I'll manage though! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

If you're using heavy enough weight (about 75% or more of your 1rm) for all five sets then you probably won't need more than 5 exercises imo. Podge was following bill starr's 5x5 programme a while ago, maybe have a look at that for ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Dude, IMO your going to have to choose between 5x5s, the supersets, and the large selection of exercises..

If you do them as outlined you wont be lifting heavy enuff in the 5x5s with the supersets and doing that many exercises 5x5 to actually make progress in any direction!!

You're kinda trying to dip your toe in every where, theres no need for 5x5 on tricep pushdowns and the other isolation exercises, you want to be hittin for 8-12 for growth,

WAIT actually what are your GOALS?????? and what is your current routine like??

Losing fat is the goal, not looking or expecting to grow just to keep what I've got.

My old routine was as follows...

Bench Press: 2x12 + 2x12 warm up
    Bent over Rows: 2x12
    Seated Row: 2x15
    Lat Pull Down: 2x12
    Bodysquats: 3x12
    Leg Curls: 3x12 (supersetted with BS)
    Lateral Raises: 2x12
    Bicep Curls: 2x12
    Shoulder Shrugs: 2x20
    Tricep Pushdowns: 2x15

I did this for for about a month or so and then I switched to 5x5 because I wanted to lift more, that's what I've been doing for the last couple of weeks.

So you think the new routine would be better if I switched back to 3x12?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Hello fitness enthusiasts!!

I've gotten bored with my current routine, so I decided to make myself a new one, and I was wondering what ya'll think.

Target is to lose fat & maintain lean mass.

All 5x5.

Bench Press
    Dumbell Shoulder Press
    Upright Row
    Bent over Row
    Close Grip Pull Down
    Deadlift & Squat (alternating days)
    Leg Curl

I would like to superset each of the above with one of the following.

Bench Dips
    Hyperextentions
    Push Ups
    Crunches
    Planks
    Lunges
    Tricep Pushdown

This would be done a minimum of 3 times per week, sometimes 4, with 1-2 days cardio.

When supersetting I'm not sure if it's best to stick to the same muscle groups or target completely different ones? So if anyone has any suggestions as to what to pair together I'd be grateful. The reason for supersetting is to up the intensity and keep the heart rate up, I find lately I'm not pushing myself enough!

Cheers.

If you're doing full body routines 3x a week, I like to do this.

Squat/Deadlift 5x5, alternating each day.

Giant sets (I think) All 3x8, no breaks, 30sec rest after last excercise:

db bench>1 arm db row> lunges
    BB military press> chins> SL deadlift
    CG bench> EZ bar curl> calf raise.

Hits your whole body, keeps your heart rate up and is over quickly and painfully.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Hits your whole body, keeps your heart rate up and is over quickly and painfully.

i'm liking this!! +1, its similar what isaid to that polishpaddy chap re Giant sets and Barbell comlexs and the like, its pretty sweet for fat loss too,

a big shout out to doing supersets with upper to lower body splits also to really get some blood flow going and keep your heart rate up.

same for antagonistic muscle groups etc

EDIT: which is exactly what he has said, dude thats a perfect program template for fatloss as far as im concerned (aaaaltho i do know fcuk all soooo its up to urself!!!)

That looks pretty sweet actually!

Can I replace the chins with lat pulldown? I can't do chins!

I may have issues with the SL Deadlift because of my complete lack of flexibility.

That looks pretty sweet actually!

Can I replace the chins with lat pulldown? I can't do chins!

I may have issues with the SL Deadlift because of my complete lack of flexibility.

Essentially its an upperbody push, upper body pull, Lower body giant set MM so you can throw whatever you want into that template,

or go upper body pull, lower body, upper body push if you want some serious PHA action.

Yes i said Peripheral Heart Flow and feck the lot a ye!!

I tried this out this morning. I have to say it was a really great workout!! I haven't sweated so much in a long time!! I switched the chins for pull downs and my inflexibility meant the SL Deadlifts were gradually turning into regular deadlifts! :rolleyes:

But overall it was great, my body feels like it got a really good workout, which I'll probably feel in the morning.

I tried this out this morning. I have to say it was a really great workout!! I haven't sweated so much in a long time!! I switched the chins for pull downs and my inflexibility meant the SL Deadlifts were gradually turning into regular deadlifts! :rolleyes:

But overall it was great, my body feels like it got a really good workout, which I'll probably feel in the morning.

No bother man, as itsallabouttheL said, you can substitute lat pulldown for chins or anything else really once you keep it push, pull, legs.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,171 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I would be interested in trying this workout also. I was just wondering do you encourage that you go to failure on every set. Also should you do a warm up set first before starting the 5 sets for the dealifts or Squats and the 3 sets for each othre exercise? I forgot to ask do you mean by the split that you do DB bench, db rows and lunges on one day and then bb military presses, chins and SL deadlift the next or do you do them all on the same day (which seems a little excessive)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,171 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I also got this 3 day a week workout of the bodybuilding.com website. What would be your opinions on this? The reason I am going to do 3 days a week is becasue I am doing a Ring of Kerry cycle in July and the other days are going to consists of cycling into work and one long cycle at the weekends. The cycle to work is about 13 miles each way so i think I would be knackered to try and hit the gym during my lunch time to do more then 3 days a week weight training

Squats 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Leg Extensions 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Leg Curls 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Dumbbell Pullovers 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Barbell Overhead Shoulder Press 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Seated Rows 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Bench Press 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Barbell Bicep Curls 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Tricep Extensions 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Weighted Pullups 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Weighted Dips 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Standing Calf Raises 1 X 8 - 12 reps
    Abs - 1 X 10 - 15 reps

billyhead wrote: »
    I would be interested in trying this workout also. I was just wondering do you encourage that you go to failure on every set. Also should you do a warm up set first before starting the 5 sets for the dealifts or Squats and the 3 sets for each othre exercise? I forgot to ask do you mean by the split that you do DB bench, db rows and lunges on one day and then bb military presses, chins and SL deadlift the next or do you do them all on the same day (which seems a little excessive)

Personally I never go to failure on anything. You should do warm up sets for all excercises.

All on the same day, except you alternate 5x5 Squats and 5x5 Deadlifts. You could as easily do 3x8 or whatever you feel, I just don't like squatting or deadlifting more than 5reps.

Try it out, its not excessive at all. Takes me about 45 mins.

they/them/theirs

I also got this 3 day a week workout of the bodybuilding.com website. What would be your opinions on this? The reason I am going to do 3 days a week is becasue I am doing a Ring of Kerry cycle in July and the other days are going to consists of cycling into work and one long cycle at the weekends. The cycle to work is about 13 miles each way so i think I would be knackered to try and hit the gym during my lunch time to do more then 3 days a week weight training

Squats 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Abs - 1 X 10 - 15 reps

I don't know if thats any good, but why do so many different execises? There is an awful lot of isolation in there. I think if you're doing 3x full body workouts a week it should be nearly all compound movements.

they/them/theirs

I don't know if thats any good, but why do so many different execises? There is an awful lot of isolation in there. I think if you're doing 3x full body workouts a week it should be nearly all compound movements.

it looks like a load a bollox tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

totally agree on the program - totally rubbish and not taking your goals, level etc into consideration

Transform wrote: »
    totally agree on the program - totally rubbish and not taking your goals, level etc into consideration
    That directed to me or Billyhead?

Squats 1 X 8 - 10 reps
    Abs - 1 X 10 - 15 reps
    The above program is a mixed lucky bag - just throw whatever you can think of into a program!!

No structure at all and would be better to do fewer exercise and more sets - the other program posted was ok - 3 exericses in a row but i did not like the sequencing for my own reasons e.g. two triceps exercises instead of triceps and biceps exericse

The above program is a mixed lucky bag - just throw whatever you can think of into a program!!

No structure at all and would be better to do fewer exercise and more sets - the other program posted was ok - 3 exericses in a row but i did not like the sequencing for my own reasons e.g. two triceps exercises instead of triceps and biceps exericse

The routine I put up or the OP's original one?

they/them/theirs

The routine I put up or the OP's original one?

yours didn't have two tricep in a row, it was push-pull-lower was it not?

sorry brian i read your one wrong - triceps, biceps and calves, good combination for magics needs.

the other program is pants though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Can someone look at workout and see if its balanced for me?

put it up with you stats and goals and current diet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

thanks, got it sorted now - it didn't seem to be balanced enough - it was a little quad dominant and i couldn't think of a way to fix it - got it now :D

sorry brian i read your one wrong - triceps, biceps and calves, good combination for magics needs.

the other program is pants though!

Grand so, you had me a little befuddled there. I'd be happy to hear if you think I can improve on that by the by.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Butty

I really like this routine also.

For the giant sets, is the correct routine to do a set of 8 on each of the 3 exercises and repeat 3 times? Take 30 seconds rest and move onto next giant set as per below

E.g.
    DB Bench - 1x8
    1 arm db row - 1x8
    lunges - 1x8

repeat twice more. 30 secs rest.

then start BB military row set.