Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Referee Sanctions?

• 12-06-2009 11:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭

If a complaint is filed with the IRFU against a referee, what possible sanctions are there?

I play tag for two teams, and rugby for two, and I've never seen anyone lodge a complaint against a referee, but the captain of one of my tag teams has decided to go down that route after an incident on Thursday of blatant bias against our team which resulted in a hard tackle against a girl (she's now out, she injured her shoulder and won't run the risk of doing something serious to it) and a head butt against a player on our team, just because he got a fast break. There was also a few issues with respect and manners on the part of the referee (admittedly not all players on my team were exactly polite and well-mannered all the time).

Regardless of the rights or wrongs, can anyone tell me what sanctions could possibly be imposed? The player who did the headbutt got a red card, but my captain would be angling for a re-match and something to be done about the referee.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,615 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

are you kidding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭ManoCornuta

Not in the slightest.

As I said, not interested in debating it, just in finding out if anything can be done about the referree, if there is a precedent for it.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,615 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

if you're not interesting in debating it then you've come to the wrong place. There won't be any sanctions against the ref. They will open the letter and go 'Are you fricking kidding me?' and then bin it.

'IRFU sanctioning tag refs because of some group of sore losers' isn't going to hit the headlines of the sports section.

Of course you could actually find out who the correct people to contact are, that'd be a start.

I know who the correct people to contact are, I just want to know what can be done about a referee who refers to players as whores, and permits hard tackles and headbutts (the player who did it only recieved a red-card after two other referees arrived at the pitch to argue with the referee in the game) in a non-contact game. I've never complained about a referee in my life, I'm not interested in complaining about this one, seeing as we won and the girl wasn't seriously injured, but regardless, the captain's going to go ahead with the complaint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

If you wanted to make a complaint about a tag rugby ref, you will be laughed at if you go to the IRFU. You go to the organisers of the competition, who i'm guessing are ITRA

It's the IRFU, not ITRA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

Regardless of the rights or wrongs, can anyone tell me what sanctions could possibly be imposed? The player who did the headbutt got a red card, but my captain would be angling for a re-match and something to be done about the referee.
    It's tag mate. Enjoy it. Want something more competitive play something more competitive.

If you're admitting that your team was cheeky well then you haven't really much of an argument.
    As for ref saying "whores" well I find that hard to believe. But if it's correct, you should complain as that's unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭GymJim

It's tag mate. Enjoy it. Want something more competitive play something more competitive.

Agreed. If you feel you have a genuine issue regarding the ref then make a complaint to the relevant people as I presume you would have paid to ensure such an event is run properly and somewhat professionally.

However, if you are looking to replay the match against people you seem to point out as being overly aggressive then you're just sore losers and clearly don't really care about the danger they apparently pose to female members of your team especially. Seriously get over it, if you want something more competitive play actual rugby. Tag is a social game and at the end of the day the result is irrelevant as it means nothing anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Ah, good old fag rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

If a complaint is filed with the IRFU against a referee, what possible sanctions are there?

I play tag for two teams, and rugby for two, and I've never seen anyone lodge a complaint against a referee, but the captain of one of my tag teams has decided to go down that route after an incident on Thursday of blatant bias against our team which resulted in a hard tackle against a girl (she's now out, she injured her shoulder and won't run the risk of doing something serious to it) and a head butt against a player on our team, just because he got a fast break. There was also a few issues with respect and manners on the part of the referee (admittedly not all players on my team were exactly polite and well-mannered all the time).

In a red card situation, a report is sent to the relevant dept at the IRFU. A red card will usually result in a match ban with the length of the ban depending on the severity of the foul-play (2 x yellows < 1 straight red, for example).

We strive to ensure our Tag Rugby programme is a fun form of rugby entailing no contact and that, amongst other areas, it is refereed to the high standards we set to achieve this objective.

If you have an issue with any element of Tag at our venues or events, please email tag@irishrugby.ie stating your venue plus in this case, game time and date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I don't know what it is about tag, but it seems to bring out an almost "soccer like" attitude towards refs and I've played and reffed games with a lot of tension between teams. It's usually from lads who don't play rugby too. Social league my arse. :rolleyes:

OP, you need to make your complaint to your venue coordinator. Going straight to the IRFU is overkill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

I don't know what it is about tag, but it seems to bring out an almost "soccer like" attitude towards refs and I've played and reffed games with a lot of tension between teams. It's usually from lads who don't play rugby too. Social league my arse. :rolleyes:

OP, you need to make your complaint to your venue coordinator. Going straight to the IRFU is overkill.

Agree, I've played a couple of games now and the whole social aspect of it seems completely lost on some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭GymJim

danthefan wrote: »
    Agree, I've played a couple of games now and the whole social aspect of it seems completely lost on some people.

Depends really. As I play real rugby it's very much a social event for me and I really hold back as I'm afraid I'll hurt someone. However I note the lads who play tag but don't play real rugby are overly competitive...is it the fact the fear of rugby is gone and they feel bigger or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Jaysus OP, what venue are you playing at? I've seen a few lads get a bit competitive but never anything as bad as a headbutt or putting in a physical tackle on a girl...
    As others said, I don't think a complaint will get ye anywhere. I think you said you won the match so why would you want a rematch against people like that unless you want to exact some retribution??
    Put it behind you, take the points for winning, and tell your lads to keep quiet instead of moaning to the ref. We learned that lesson last year and this year have had no problems with refs (play in Dangan), in fact the refs are nearly always going to give a 50-50 call to the team that play the game in the spirit its meant to be played in, and don't mouth off about bad decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

This type of attitude really pisses me off!! Tag rugby is meant to be a non-contact sport. I hate the attitude of anyone who wants to make a relevant complaint is a whinger. Its such f***in Irish attitude, and why we let an incompetent government ruin the best period of wealth this country has ever seen. (Off topic rant over)

I play full contact during the year, Im a 16-stone forward that plays Nr-6, that goes to the gym 3 days a week. I also play tag rugby, and if I wanted to I could SERIOUSLY, SERIOUSLY F*** someone up, be they guy or girl!!! But I dont, because I play tag rugby as a social thing during the summer, and play it as a non contact sport as it is meant to be played.

Now I have experienced physical tag teams, but nothing like what the OP experienced, but if guys are running straight at girls, then that is f***ed up!! I can take it, as I play full-contact during the year, but a girl that weighs 7-stone being run over by a guy that weighs 13/14/15 stone is definitely not on!!!!

So my opinion is that the captain is well within his rights to make a complaint, and should be congratulated for doing so, and not castigated for ensuring that female members of his team are protected.

You Tim, as a ref should understand that better than anyone, and I find your attitude offensive, especially since you should know better. Also, he had already stated in the thread that they had WON that game, despite the excess physicality of the other team, so they are not being sore losers!!!

And as I mentioned earlier, I play full contact, and I could choose to run into people as well, but I dont, even if I have seen my team-mates (tag) being blocked.

And I will be going back playing full contact, and enjoy the physicality as it is part of that game.

Rant over :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

agree totally with all of this.
    GymJim wrote: »
    Depends really. As I play real rugby it's very much a social event for me and I really hold back as I'm afraid I'll hurt someone. However I note the lads who play tag but don't play real rugby are overly competitive...is it the fact the fear of rugby is gone and they feel bigger or what?
    Agree too, its like the second biggest kid in school is now a tough guy when the biggest isnt there anymore.
    theKramer wrote: »
    if guys are running straight at girls, then that is f***ed up!! I can take it, as I play full-contact during the year, but a girl that weighs 7-stone being run over by a guy that weighs 13/14/15 stone is definitely not on!!!!

So my opinion is that the captain is well within his rights to make a complaint, and should be congratulated for doing so, and not castigated for ensuring that female members of his team are protected.

And as I mentioned earlier, I play full contact, and I could choose to run into people as well, but I dont, even if I have seen my team-mates (tag) being blocked.
    I found it quite hard adjusting the first time I played TAG there a few weeks ago, but I was nothing but apologetic to whoever I might contact and it would never be with any intent. I found it increasingly hilarious though how seriously people used to take this social outlet, and be dying to start rows and give the refs abuse. The ref I have had does take the letter of the law to the Nth degree but to be fair to him people respect the rules as a result.

You Tim, as a ref should understand that better than anyone, and I find your attitude offensive, especially since you should know better. Also, he had already stated in the thread that they had WON that game, despite the excess physicality of the other team, so they are not being sore losers!!!
    If you read the end of my post I said:
    As for ref saying "whores" well I find that hard to believe. But if it's correct, you should complain as that's unacceptable.

I think there's been some mis-communication here. The OP raised a number of points, some valid and some sounded a bit whingy.

Apologies mate. I've just seen people loose their marbles playing Tag too many times when they should really be better off playing a more competitive sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

This type of attitude really pisses me off!! Tag rugby is meant to be a non-contact sport. I hate the attitude of anyone who wants to make a relevant complaint is a whinger. Its such f***in Irish attitude, and why we let an incompetent government ruin the best period of wealth this country has ever seen. (Off topic rant over)

I play full contact during the year, Im a 16-stone forward that plays Nr-6, that goes to the gym 3 days a week. I also play tag rugby, and if I wanted to I could SERIOUSLY, SERIOUSLY F*** someone up, be they guy or girl!!! But I dont, because I play tag rugby as a social thing during the summer, and play it as a non contact sport as it is meant to be played.

Now I have experienced physical tag teams, but nothing like what the OP experienced, but if guys are running straight at girls, then that is f***ed up!! I can take it, as I play full-contact during the year, but a girl that weighs 7-stone being run over by a guy that weighs 13/14/15 stone is definitely not on!!!!

And I will be going back playing full contact, and enjoy the physicality as it is part of that game.

Rant over :mad:

Agree with this. I haven't played either in a fair few years, but if its a non contact sport, then its a non contact sport. Just because its not "real" rugby doesn't mean its not competititive.

Its a sport, and there are rules. If a player ignores the rules, they should be punished. If its a ref, they should also be punished, in line with the aberration.

Terribly serious thread though, thus far :-)

NotWormBoy wrote: »
    Agree with this. I haven't played either in a fair few years, but if its a non contact sport, then its a non contact sport. Just because its not "real" rugby doesn't mean its not competititive
    The clubs who host Tag Rugby during the summer take it very seriously as, when utilised to its fullest potential, it can be a vital way of keeping the club active over what is normally a low-activity time of year. It is also quite common that clubs gain new members and players. There is a sizeable number of Tag referees who decide to go for their relevant provincial branch's referees programme to get into 15s refereeing.

The IRFU takes all facets of these leagues very seriously be it the social aspect, playing, the venue itself or refereeing and strives to run them in a professional manner.

Galway Corinthians gets over 1500 people per week through its gates during a Tag season as it hosts 72 teams in our leagues there. The likes of Suttonians RFC, Enniscorthy RFC and Nenagh Ormond RFC both now have increased in size the Tag leagues and are thriving during what used to be a lull-time.

As this concerns an IRFU venue any comments, complaints or suggestions are all dealt with promptly by the relevant department when submitted to us via our contact address or through the venue manager of the leagues in question.

ManoCornuta, can you please email the relevant department in the IRFU at tag@irishrugby.ie with a description of what exactly happened? Make it attention to Justin.
    Preferably before Wednesday is out as I am out of office visiting venues after that.

Demeanour of players, officials and referees alike is an area we strive to uphold to the highest standards.Tried sending a PM but your profile doesn't allow PMs to be received.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭curts82

problem wit Tag is anyone can show up and do it. I know the majority in Cork are MAR ref's. It is unreal what has happened but go to the Provensional Person in charge instead of the IRFU.

curts82 wrote: »
    problem wit Tag is anyone can show up and do it. I know the majority in Cork are MAR ref's. It is unreal what has happened but go to the Provensional Person in charge instead of the IRFU.
    The IRFU's Tag programme is run by the IRFU. Not the provincial branches.

Just as an update, this is being dealt with by the relevant departmental manager at the IRFU in conjunction with the venue manager of the venue in question (yes, we now know of the incident and where it took place).

Justind wrote: »

Just as an update, this is being dealt with by the relevant departmental manager at the IRFU in conjunction with the venue manager of the venue in question (yes, we now know of the incident and where it took place).

Fair play Justin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭curts82

Justind wrote: »

O I know its not the branches.Isn't Peter Fitz in charge of then Munster one! Fair play. Everyone has to answer to someone!

curts82 wrote: »
    O I know its not the branches.Isn't Peter Fitz in charge of then Munster one! Fair play. Everyone has to answer to someone!

Fitzy presides over all the Tag referees but is away on Churchill Cup duty at the moment. Ref matters in the meantime being covered by the dept manager and myself.