Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swords League Race - 10/06/2009

• 12-06-2009 7:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭

Warning. I have this penchant to be long winded

All Wednesday I was debating whether I was a long distance cyclist or whether I wanted to race at all but decided to give it a go and see how things turned out so off I went. After all 48km of racing seems silly and Raam's reports from his first races were about as up-lifting as listening to Eddie Hobbs.

First problem was getting there.... I always make the mistake of getting lost in swords every time the same way and the same place... it stupid really but this meant that I was rushing just to get to Oldtown for the sign-on. So I arrived and went up to sign on and explained that this was my first race and that I had no idea what group to go in. We had a bit of debate and some how I ended up in the first group rolling out a full 9 minutes before group two (someone can probably see where this is going).

The group was fine, not too fast, but a little slow. The weather on the other hand was awful.... it was chucking it down for the first lap but we stayed together for a bit till the first hill (honestly I don't think it was a hill but someone assured me it was). I powered up no problem with the group behind me.... I felt like a real dick riding off the front like that. At the top I slowed up, no wanting to look a dick anymore, and settled into the group. The downhill started and they all flew downhill and I peddled along nicely. I thought this was fun... then we started cycling into the wind and somehow I ended up pulling for a few kms straight into the wind.... joy. Past Raam holding a flag, bunny hopped a massive hole, and round to complete the first lap.

Lap 2 more of the same I was still feeling string and continued to ride near the front trying to encourage a rolling though of people. I still hadn't coped on yet that I was pulling them but I remembered the sage advice of Cadex and Raam from their reports.... stay out of the wind. How in God's name does one stay out of the wind at the front? Up hill and into the wind again I looked back and there were only 5 of us... Where's the other 5 ah well lets keep going. Past Raam, saw LDB as well, waving flags.... poor souls in that lashing rain, swereved almost of control avoiding that massive hole again, and down for another lap.

Lap 3 everything was getting better, the weather, and my thoughts that the second group would catch us and there would be enough time to hold on. My head was doing funny things here. I really wanted to catch the groups coming past but I also wanted to make sure I stayed near the front in case someone jumped. This stupidly lead me to rolling at / or near the front allot more than I wanted but I was fine. Going up the hill for the last time I realised that some of the others were finding it tough, you know the heavy breathing, where I was feeling. Into the wind this time everything was flying along we were rotating nicely. Raam controlled things well at the turn... waving his arms flagging down a car.... perhaps he's found a new profession.

Okay so about 3.5km to go, sorry I lost the magnet from my bike so no idea really, and we are cycling along and I hear this guy say, "Stop riding of the front". I'm sure he really wanted to add, "you dick Fred"... I felt crap. Then I said "Sorry, I'm not trying to.” Well he looked puzzled and repeated what he had said, "Ride off the front your deserve it." Ahh okay, sorry about that... perhaps I wasn't a dick after all.

So hammer down.... must be 2.5km to go. After about 30 seconds I looked back no one turned around again and there's that massive hole which I tried to bunny hop but landed in squarely. Ouch that hurt (not to self don't bunny hop while in the drops). So I kept rolling along trying as hard as I could, hammer down for 30 seconds take allot out of me, no sign of anyone looking for the cars near the end, heart racing, looking back, hear racing slowing up, looking back....... etc.

Around the final bend and rolling over the line and winning. No hands up... as the guy I was talking to about the groups was their and said, "You won't be there next week". I'm sure he wanted to add, "you dick".

After my initial thoughts about not racing I found it awesome but seriously anyone can race.... there are groups for everyone I just have to find mine.

Have a good day everyone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

Oh yes... all done wearing boards gear.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Well done Scott.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Congrats. Well done! A win's a win and you gotta start somewhere sometime. There's plenty of folk who saw the rain and didn't bother going racing.

Maybe hop into group 3 and see how you go next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

very funny report :)

I'm in the middle of doing one from the marshals perspective, so watch this space

Hungrycol wrote: »
    Maybe hop into group 3 and see how you go next time.

Are you mad -- I enjoyed rolling along :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Well done Scott. You are becoming a hero.

(Bloody kiwis, coming here stealin our wimmin and jobs and winning races).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Definitely not enough suffering.

FATHER_TED_Down_with_this_sort_of_t.jpg

honestly, well done - all that training has paid off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Scott, you did right by put in the group you were in, fair play. Don't let the begrudgers grind you down

Junior wrote: »
    Scott, you did right by put in the group you were in, fair play. Don't let the begrudgers grind you down

Oh, even though I fell slight embarrasment, its overwhelmed by the joy of winning :)......... And better my mum is here from NZ. 32 years old and my mum still thinks I'm brilliant.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Congrats. Well done! A win's a win and you gotta start somewhere sometime. There's plenty of folk who saw the rain and didn't bother going racing.
    In Group 2 saw the downpour and packed :o

Well done scott, that group had some classy riders, ex B's, A's and of course Deano. To stay away full stop meant you had to be riding well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Jesus well done Scott, your first race and you win it!

He even had time to shout abuse as he went past. "Oh look, it's a stick! No, it's Pete", I think I heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Impressive. Well done Scott and the beginning of many races. Enjoy

Raam wrote: »
    He even had time to shout abuse as he went past. "Oh look, it's a stick! No, it's Pete", I think I heard.

:) -- Glad you heard that. I like to say hi to all the help. Its important to let them know, and anyone who stops there car, that I'm happy they are making the road safer... Now just to lobby the council to fix the pot holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Cadex

Hey well done Scott!
    I was thinking of racing on Wednesday but knees still a bit tender from the WW200, so didn't go. Looks like it was a bit like my first race - which was in the first group. I didn't know how to 'play' it, either. In the end, you were much more successful though as I'd eventually tried to TT it and failed (got caught near the end), fair play. Suspect like me, you will be either second or third group next time, which is more work but probably more like the right level and people have won from them (like Raam). Must be nice to have had a win...! Good man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

I was thinking at the start of the race that you were unlucky to have your first race on such a bad night and crappy course (roads have major potholes)
    but it turned out to be your lucky night!

Well Done

will you stay in group one with me and then myabe I'll have a chance some day :p

LDB wrote: »
    will you stay in group one with me and then myabe I'll have a chance some day :p

LDB... if they let me in group one I'll tow you all the way to the last 100metres and then sit up...

...and I would feel totally proud of winning like that :)

and so you should! Even Cav has a lead out man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Well done Scott. I was in the same group. After the second lap i think it was clear you were going to run away with it. At one stage i noticed you sat up and waited for us! I wish i had the strength to do that. I find the drag into Garristown a killer and the road surface combined with the rain didn't help either. Well done.

07Lapierre wrote: »
    At one stage i noticed you sat up and waited for us!

Deep down I'm a nice guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Well done man! :D

He was flying off the front in the Tour of Ireland too, apparently the third group "took note" of this and were not impressed :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Nice one Scott! That's a more encouraging report, racing doesn't sound so hostile or intimidating from your "sunny" point of view.

I thought you had to wear the club gear to do a race?

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Nice one Scott! That's a more encouraging report, racing doesn't sound so hostile or intimidating from your "sunny" point of view.

I thought you had to wear the club gear to do a race?

You can wear what you want really. There is some rule for open races, but I dunno if they apply to us. RobFowl?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

You can wear what you want really. There is some rule for open races, but I dunno if they apply to us. RobFowl?

Technically you're supposed to wear club gear but we don't enforce it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

@Scott- nice win

For those of you new to racing, is it intimidating riding in such close quarters at speed? Do you fear crashing much?

RobFowl wrote: »
    Technically you're supposed to wear club gear but we don't enforce it all.

How come you have to wear club gear? What about the folk who are unnattached? I'm not bothered about what guys wear, just curious :)

Not intimidated by riding close to people, fear of crashing though. More the idea of being screamed at for doing something wrong as opposed to a friendly word afterwards would turn me off. Don't get me wrong, I have played many sports and am used to someone shouting at me on a pitch, just on a bike where my lack of experience might make me take a corner wrong or not move correctly in a paceline it seems a bit unfair for guys who have been cycling a lot longer to have a go at someone because they are less able on a bike.

I'm not bothered about what guys wear, just curious :)

I don't believe it! You are the euro-style king!

lukester wrote: »
    @Scott- nice win

For those of you new to racing, is it intimidating riding in such close quarters at speed? Do you fear crashing much?

If you are used to riding in a bunch, then it's fine. I had done a load of it already so I was happy enough to get stuck in. I was still quite nervous though as I'd never raced in anger until this year. There's no time to fear crashing as you are concentrating. I've still got to learn how to shelter better from the wind as I keep finding myself stuck out to one side sometimes.

I don't believe it! You are the euro-style king!

Everyone seems to turn out suitably Euro :)

How come you have to wear club gear? What about the folk who are unnattached? I'm not bothered about what guys wear, just curious :)
    Cycling Ireland rules and regulations!

CHAPTER G5 - SPONSORSHIP

1. With the exception of individual sponsorship, as allowed for under the Mountain Bike Rules, an individual member shall not enter into a sponsorship contract.

2. To register as a sponsored club, the appropriate fee must be paid, and the conditions as laid down in rule G1.2 adhered to.

3. Any club whose name contains the name of any commercial concern or trademark, will be considered to be a sponsored club.

4. A sponsorship contract between a club and its sponsor will be binding for the duration of the contract.

5. Riders competing for their sponsored team must wear their registered team jersey.

6. A sponsored club may append to its club name, a maximum of two of its registered sponsors names.

ARTICLE 2 - COSTUMES AND IDENTIFICATION

1. All riders shall when racing, wear a jersey with sleeves and a pair of shorts, possibly in the form of a one piece. By shorts it is understood that these come above the knees. Jerseys without sleeves shall be forbidden.

2. Wearing of rigid safety headgear shall be mandatory in all Cycling Ireland approved cycling events and during training sessions on track, mountain bike and cyclo cross.

3. Riders belonging to a Cycling Ireland affiliated club must when competing in an open road race or time trial authorised by Cycling Ireland and organised under Cycling Ireland rules, wear the registered jersey of their affiliated club.

4. In competitive events where registered club clothing is not mandatory then, with the exception of clothing as referred to in rule T5.A2.5 below, such clothing should not carry any advertising other than the manufacturers logo.

5. Where a rider is competing as a member of a representative or composite team or is entitled to wear a classification leaders jersey or a champions jersey then the conditions as laid down under rule T5.A2.3 above should not apply.

6. For un-attached riders or these riders competing under a Cycling Ireland one-day licence then the conditions as laid down under rule T5.A2.4 above shall apply.

3. Riders belonging to a Cycling Ireland affiliated club must when competing in an open road race or time trial authorised by Cycling Ireland and organised under Cycling Ireland rules, wear the registered jersey of their affiliated club.

Do we think that club races are organised by Cycling Ireland. I'd be happy to wear club gear -- I just haven't got a shirt sleeve top yet.

lukester wrote: »
    Yes, the first few races I found it terrifying. It is far far tighter and faster than you get in a group on a sportive, etc. and for me at least the fact you are pushing yourself so much harder raises the chance you are going to get distracted or make a stupid mistake.

It was far scarier again in the couple of open races I entered compared to the club league; the club league is a very good place to start.

I'm a hell of a lot better at it now. Still very much a beginner but much better and not so spooked.

Everyone has been very supportive. I got yelled at a couple of times- both in the open races and deservedly so- for bad cornering, I am far better now at holding my line in a bunch around a corner. I also got pieces of friendly advice on what to do, the importance of holding a good position, sheltering, etc. from far more experienced riders. In the open races as well as the club league.

Once got the stereotypical canny vet trying to goad me into getting up the front when he wasn't willing to go anywhere near there himself :)

Do we think that club races are organised by Cycling Ireland. I'd be happy to wear club gear -- I just haven't got a shirt sleeve top yet.
    They're run under CI rules and covered by their insurance so yes.
    Don't worry about the gear though actually makes it easier to place people !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Not intimidated by riding close to people, fear of crashing though. More the idea of being screamed at for doing something wrong as opposed to a friendly word afterwards would turn me off. Don't get me wrong, I have played many sports and am used to someone shouting at me on a pitch, just on a bike where my lack of experience might make me take a corner wrong or not move correctly in a paceline it seems a bit unfair for guys who have been cycling a lot longer to have a go at someone because they are less able on a bike.

Shouting's all part of racing! You shout the holes and what not on the road and you will soon find yourself shouting at other things also. Believe it or not you are an experienced cyclist and cycling in groups on Sportives puts you in a much better position than most novices. Don't get me wrong I'm a novice too who started racing last year. I have found that once you have a good head on your shoulders, are confident on a bike and handle it well you'll be fine.

When you start racing you'll kick yourself for not doing it sooner.

Agree 100%

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I love the way they call them "costumes".

el tonto wrote: »

We need a team Batman or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

In all honesty, those 12 rules are not much to contend with once you've mastered the other 62.

When I started racing shorts had to be black, socks had to be white. Sponsors were limited to I think 10x2 inches lettering on the jersey and the manafacturers logo had to be 3x1 inche or something.
    Julian Dalby was made change his socks at the start of a stage of the RAS for wearing pink socks !!!
    The new rules are libertairian in comparison :D

And I'm only 38 !!! before you ask

damn, I was half way through my smart-arse response!

are the rules ever enforced? e.g. not being allowed to wear short sleeves?
    I usually wear SS racing.

are the rules ever enforced? e.g. not being allowed to wear short sleeves?
    I usually wear SS racing.
    Short sleeves ok its the sleevless "muscle top" style thats banned. (rightly so unless you look like Mario)
    They're enforced quite ridgidly at the top level and almost not at all at entry level

Short sleeves ok its the sleevless "muscle top" style thats banned. (rightly so unless you look like Mario)
    They're enforced quite ridgidly at the top level and almost not at all at entry level

Why are they banned?

Cos most people don't look like Mario.

If you feel you do, you are allowed write to Cycling Ireland, enclosing a picture of your upper arms and they may issue a dispensation.

Why are they banned?

cos the rules are written by a bunch of old farts

Oh right. read that wrong so.