Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crete

• 12-06-2009 12:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭

Hi guys Me & my friends were thinking of heading to crete on our summer holiday. We are aged between 19 & 22 and looking for a good lads holiday. Im just wondering what is crete like for a lads holiday??

Also what would be best or cheapest travel agent to book it with online?? we wer thinking of going in september so we could get abit cheaper??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 stretch47

wannabepr wrote: »
    Hi guys Me & my friends were thinking of heading to crete on our summer holiday. We are aged between 19 & 22 and looking for a good lads holiday. Im just wondering what is crete like for a lads holiday??

Also what would be best or cheapest travel agent to book it with online?? we wer thinking of going in september so we could get abit cheaper??

Heading there in 10 days time. Will let you know how we get on. Booked it through Budget Travel just today actually. Heading to Piskopiano near hersonissos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭ve

Been to Crete twice. For the sort of holiday I believe you're looking for, Hersonissos is definately where you will be wanting to go. There are plenty of bars/clubs/etc and you're on a regular bus route if you plan on visiting Heraklion (the capital city, which I recommend).

For the love of God, don't bother going any further east to Stalis or especially Malia. Myself and my gf took the bus over as far as Malia one evening and we were off the bus about 5 mins when I realised that we'd just made a big mistake. Picture union jacks all over the place and football hooligans just looking for trouble. Myself and my gf had the Irish look, so while we were trying to flag down a cab to get out of there fast we had a few smart remarks chanted our way. A few pints later, there would have been war.

Plenty of Irish in Hersonissos, and it's bigger and better anyway than that other joke of a resort. Crete is a lovely place, good choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭HHH

Went to Crete last year with a few of my friends aged 19-21, had great holiday, would recommend renting quad bikes if staying in piskopiano, that hill home after a night on the sauce is pretty demanding! Wouldn't recommend going to nightclubs in Hersonissos, pub to pub is far better craic. Oh and look out for lock ins at 5-8am, they are brilliant! You should definately go to Star Beach too. A lot of dutch people around but they are good craic when ya get em goin!

HHH wrote: »
    Went to Crete last year with a few of my friends aged 19-21, had great holiday, would recommend renting quad bikes if staying in piskopiano, that hill home after a night on the sauce is pretty demanding! Wouldn't recommend going to nightclubs in Hersonissos, pub to pub is far better craic. Oh and look out for lock ins at 5-8am, they are brilliant! You should definately go to Star Beach too. A lot of dutch people around but they are good craic when ya get em goin!

Is the clubbing scene poor in Hersonissos or something? Also, is drink expensive in pubs/clubs??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Cruisy

Went to Hersonnossis (sp?) a few years ago, lots of great clubs and dawn swims :) It was great craic and pretty cheap too... some great trips out to islands aswell, with just a bar and a beach on it..lovely. Not the culture capital of Crete, by any means :)

Cruisy wrote: »
    Went to Hersonnossis (sp?) a few years ago, lots of great clubs and dawn swims :) It was great craic and pretty cheap too... some great trips out to islands aswell, with just a bar and a beach on it..lovely. Not the culture capital of Crete, by any means :)

Cool, i've read lots of conflicting views of the place tbh. We're staying in Mika Villas. Again mixed reviews. You seem to have enjoyed your time there anyway. There's two of us heading over, just looking for a bit of craic ya know yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I hated Hersonissos but then again I hate all Package holiday places.

Its grand for a bunch of lads though but I went as a couple with two other couples. Be careful though that you do not pick a hotel up the hills. There are a few up there that Budget and others use. Its a 15-20 minute walk downhill. All good and well but wait until you have to walk back up. :mad:

Stalis is a nice relaxing place with a nice beach. Hersonnisos does not have a beach at all. The tide is too high and it is rocky.

Stay away from Malia. It is where the British go and they are highly clannish and there is ALWAYS trouble there.

Ok as promised here is my breakdown of my holiday in Crete.

Do Not Stay in the Mika Villas if possible. I heard all the stories going over and ignored them. We were very lucky that we did not get robbed. But other ppl in the "resort" had money taken from LOCKED security boxes. The rooms themselves did us fine, but if you're travelling with a significant other. You'll hate them... guaranteed.Nio change of sheets or towels, and air con is €40+ more! I've been on a lot of piss holidays... and this accommodation has been the worst i've seen. Try and get somewhere in Piskopiano but not Mika.

Hersonissis itself is fantastic, gr8 nit life, not cheap as chips but **** it, you're on hols lik!

Would highly recommend crete, but find some where else to stay for peace of mind.