Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toilet queues - why?

• 10-06-2009 11:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭

I went to see All My Sons at The Gate this week (very good btw), and, during the interval, there was a massive queue for the ladies'. There was no wait whatsoever for men. In fact, there were cubicles free.

I've noticed this several times before, at various events. I have never observed the converse.

My question (without seeking any unpleasent details) is why?
    I know that urinals are probably the most efficient devices ever built, but is it just a lack of urinals that causes the delay?
    Is it people chatting on the jacks, or doing their makeup?

The discrepancy between the time men take, and the time women take must be astronomical, if two toilets of similar capacity have one with a queue of twenty, and the other with spare capacity.

Any thoughts.

I'm not being pervy, it just strikes me that it is an accepted phenomenon (queues for the ladies being longer than the mens), but I have no idea as to what causes it.
    I don't want any 'details', I'm just curious as to your thoughts on the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

It's where we talk about the males in our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

it just takes longer for women. Clothes more awkward and more to do during the process.

Hair, make up is all done while at the sink and any chatting would be done there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

It could be due to that stupid and very American rule, where some women feel they HAVE to go to the bathroom with another girl. (I know not all do this, but a vast proportion of my female friends do, I don't understand why).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

well urinals are quicker, clothes are easier for men, and men dont bring their buddies.All true. But you are missing the most obvious reason. There are more places to pee in a men's loo: all the cubicles and all the urinals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

asdasd wrote: »
    well urinals are quicker, clothes are easier for men, and men dont bring their buddies.All true. But you are missing the most obvious reason. There are more places to pee in a men's loo: all the cubicles and all the urinals.

And don't forget, if it's a 4 person trough, 6 lads will fit into it when after a few jars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I hate, HATE, ladies toilets. More often than not there is a queue. Also a lot of women have lost the ability to pee without having a friend in the cubicle with them, which results in what they think is a private conversation but isn't. In the meantime I'm giving River Dance a run for their money by performing a jig in order not to p!ss myself.
    Then after about ten years the two beauts emerge from the cubicle only to cluster around the sink so they can touch up their make up, talk a bit more & generally get in the way of everyone else trying to wash their hands.
    Obviously I'm not painting every woman with the same brush but there is a dying breed of women who go to the toilet alone, do whatever it is they need to do & get out of there in under five minutes.
    Ohhh it makes me mad thinking about it :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I'd be of the mind that our bathroom lines are longer because the process takes longer for women and, as someone pointed out, men have urinals as well as stalls.

But screw the line! If there's a line for the ladies' and none for the men's, I'd be the first one to hold my breath and head on in to the other side (and smirk as I pass the other ladies on the way out).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Theres been plenty of times that I went into a cubicle, did my stuff came out and the person who was behind me when I went in is still top of the queue. I don't ****ing know what the others were doing. Do take note though that at certain times of the month its understandable that some women will take longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

It drives me crazy too, and I'm a woman. I literally take 2 minutes to do my business, Maybe I'm different in that I think of others and don't wish to hold up those in the queue unnecessarily!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

SeekUp wrote: »
    and head on in to the other side (and smirk as I pass the other ladies on the way out).

Way to go.

Irritate all the men and the women in one action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

There is generally more urinal and cubicle space for men than cubicles for women.

We have to sit/hover so that usually involves seat wiping first and strategically placed toilet paper to sit on. This adds enormously to time in the cubicle I would say.

I HATE when girls go into cubicles together for a chat, it's so inconsiderate. They can chat around the sinks if they're not in the way but don't take up a cubicle.

I don't mind girls nipping into the mens, it's harder to do though with all the toilet attendants.

It definititely does take longer for woman to get sorted etc but it still makes no sense how some women take so bloody long, you should be in and out in a minute. I don't think the girls who go in in twos are going for a chat tbh - but maybe I'm just being cynical ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Cathooo wrote: »
    We have to sit/hover so that usually involves seat wiping first and strategically placed toilet paper to sit on. This adds enormously to time in the cubicle I would say.

Do that many women actually do this? :confused: I would never bother with hovering and padding the seat with paper! Surely the hovering is what causes the seat to get covered in pee in the first place?

I actually read a really good magazine article about this once- where it actually calculated the average amount of time women take and why it takes them so long and why the queue keeps growing bigger- I've forgotten most of what it said though, I'll try and find it when I get home!

I don't mind girls nippin into the mens, it's harder to do though with all the toilet attendants.

It's not really fair, seeing as I can't just stroll into an empty ladies toilet without being kicked out, or probably even battered by the door staff.

Doing that irritating you're-a-man-so-you-re-obviously-sex-starved-and-i'm-going-to-dazzle-your-objections-away-with-a-ingratiating-smile-before-stealing-the-cubicle doesn't help either.

I'd honestly go and rat on any woman I spotted in the gents if I thought it would do any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Gauge wrote: »
    Do that many women actually do this? :confused: I would never bother with hovering and padding the seat with paper! Surely the hovering is what causes the seat to get covered in pee in the first place?

I actually read a really good magazine article about this once- where it actually calculated the average amount of time women take and why it takes them so long and why the queue keeps growing bigger- I've forgotten most of what it said though, I'll try and find it when I get home!

Yes they do, personally I just wipe the seat and sit and don't pee on the seat. I get horrified reactions from people when I admit to sitting on a public toilet, only the odd one I would hover over.
    stovelid wrote: »
    It's not really fair, seeing as I can't just stroll into an empty ladies toilet without being kicked out, or probably even battered by the door staff.

Doing that irritating you're-a-man-so-you-re-obviously-sex-starved-and-i'm-going-to-dazzle-your-objections-away-with-a-ingratiating-smile-before-stealing-the-cubicle doesn't help either.

I'd honestly go and rat on any woman I spotted in the gents if I thought it would do any good.

I wouldn't do it myself. If there was a queue for the mens I wouldn't have any problem with a man using a womens cubicle if there was one free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Yes they do, personally I just wipe the seat and sit and don't pee on the seat. I get horrified reactions from people when I admit to sitting on a public toilet, only the odd one I would hover over.

Yeah, I don't hover either. I do think hovering is the cause of the wee all over the seats in the first place.

Also, urine is sterile. You're not catching any germs from it. And a toilet seat is a toilet seat is a toilet seat. Public ones get cleaned every single day with industrial-strength cleaner. How often do you clean yours at home... not every day!

As for why it takes longer, sometimes there are sanitary products to be replaced, sometimes there are tights, sometimes there are skinny jeans that you were welded into and can't get zipped back up again...

and the basic answer is that men have urinals + cubicles + sinks... we just have cubicles.

Guys take the urinal first. If a cubicle is empty, go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

But screw the line! If there's a line for the ladies' and none for the men's, I'd be the first one to hold my breath and head on in to the other side (and smirk as I pass the other ladies on the way out).

Ive only done this on 1 or 2 occasions and anytime i have its been after men have laughed at me (watching me queue) and said gwan into that 1 sure & ive said f*ck it. though i was drunk anytime ive done it.

1 particular time there was 1 toilet for women and a room with a toilet cubile and urinals for men. id been standing out side the ladies for about 10mins, the same guy had passed me twice and just pointed me into the mens. i dunno wtf was going on in the ladies, maybe better off not knowing..
    Gauge wrote: »

I was in a toilet last week where not only was there liquid all over the seat it was all over the floor in front of the toilet. I can only presume that the "lady" attempted to hover & managed to pee everywhere. it was disgusting. & this was in a nice respectable clean place.

Guys take the urinal first. If a cubicle is empty, go for it.

I must confess that the revelation that guys prefer to take a sh8t in the urinal is news to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

It has never bothered me if a woman comes into the bathroom while I'm there. Apart from one who let out a horrified scream when she caught a glimpse - you're in the gents what did you expect to see? :D

Probably the smell, or depending on the place, the first glimpse of how much of a state a male cubicle can be in. :D

Probably the smell, or depending on the place, the first glimpse of how much of a state a male cubicle can be in.

Or that guy - theres always one - who swings it around before tucking it in. Caught in the act.

I must confess that the revelation that guys prefer to take a sh8t in the urinal is news to me?

Clearly I did not say that. Generally the use of toilets is to pee: in nightclubs, theatres and bars. Drink having been consumed, in large quantities. The other stuff can wait. A part of you knows this.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Don't know why I feel the need to add to this conversation, but here goes anyway :)

A few years ago my mother decided to go on a big girlie night out in town, anyway, it was my mother's first time in a nightclub and she was horrified, so myself and my brother of course asked her what was wrong with it, so she goes on about the dirt of the place, the price of the drink, the plastic glasses, the noise, etc. etc., then she goes "and when I was in the bathroom a bouncer came in and broke down a door to 1 of the cubicles, there there was 2 women having sex with each other", needless to say that myself and my brother's jaws dropped, walking out of the kitchen my brother turned to me "20 years I'm going to that place looking for something like that to happen, she goes once and hits pay dirt"

Clearly I did not say that. Generally the use of toilets is to pee: in nightclubs, theatres and bars. Drink having been consumed, in large quantities. The other stuff can wait. A part of you knows this.

As much as don't want to go down the scatological route, are you saying you've never seen cubicles being used for this purpose when you're out?

Not to mention that the cubicles also take the overflow from men queuing to use the urinal.

Where do you go that there are empty cubicles all the time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Go to a gig in Andrews Lane on a Saturday night and you are guaranteed that the line for the gents will be longer than the one for the ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Would you? Thats a bit petty. I dont see the problem if its just using a toilet. I dont mind if you want to use the ladies for the toilet if there is a huge queue in the mens (just dont pee on the seat)
    I mean, I share a toilet with men in houses etc and its no problem. I guess in clubs & bars there is the added ingredient of alcohol and cubicles that arent entirely private.
    The real reason for huge queues is a lack of planning and foresight by developers. Women pee more often, may have other needs, need to make adjustments, fix the make-up wash hands etc. These things take more time unfortunatley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

There are times when this is incredibly annoying.
    I think most people give it a quick wipe when using a public loo - doesn't take that long.

btw - the ring of jack's paper around the rim is manky for the next person.
    shellyboo wrote: »
    Also, fresh urine is sterile. You're not catching any germs from it.
    FYP
    I've seen it done:(
    Ugh.
    Dragan wrote: »
    Go to a gig in Andrews Lane on a Saturday night and you are guaranteed that the line for the gents will be longer than the one for the ladies.
    Is that a gay club or something?

I've worked in a bar previously during Race Week in Galway. This particular bar is very popular with the young people and does sometimes get the jockeys there too, so it does get very very busy. On many occasion I would witness women who, after giving up waiting for the toilet, take to going behind a skip and urinating there.

Sometimes you would get a lot of women there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Heh, that wouldn't be another one of those 'Men Only' gigs?? :p

http://entertainment.ie/event/Gigs/Twisted-Pepper/Warlords-of-Pez/2486434.htm

I find shock/horror about sitting on a public toilet seat hilarous. You're sitting on it, not eating your dinner off it!

WindSock wrote: »
    Would you? Thats a bit petty.

Would the majority of women seriously have no problem with pissed blokes strolling into the female toilets, winking at the women in there (jaysus love, big queue out there, you know the way) and using the cubicles?

Cokeheads? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Would you? Thats a bit petty. I dont see the problem if its just using a toilet.

Of course you don't... because you're walking in to sit in a cubicle with a locked door behind you. If however there were no doors in the cubicles how happy would you be with men walking in?

You generally have to pass the urinals to get to the cubicles and it's highly likely that guys will be standing there with their genitals hanging out and might not want women passing them by (the fact that women generally wouldn't want to be looking during that act is irrelevant)

Personally it doesn't bother me one way or the other, but I find it shows a hell of a lot of double standard thinking that some women seem to think it's perfectly acceptable but would be up in arms if the situation was reversed.

Would the majority of women seriously have no problem with pissed blokes strolling into the female toilets, winking at the women in there (jaysus love, big queue out there, you know the way) and using the cubicles?

If it's the odd one or two coming in just to use the toilet then no, I haven't a problem. If they start acting the lewd maggot though then yes, I would have a problem.
    Are you saying that you would only report it as a man because thats what women would do? Then yes that is petty.

Iago wrote: »
    You generally have to pass the urinals to get to the cubicles and it's highly likely that guys will be standing there with their genitals hanging out and might not want women passing them by (the fact that women generally wouldn't want to be looking during that act is irrelevant)

In my experience their genitals are facing the wall. I don't even look, nor do I want to look, I go in and out as quickly as possible.
    Personally it doesn't bother me one way or the other, but I find it shows a hell of a lot of double standard thinking that some women seem to think it's perfectly acceptable but would be up in arms if the situation was reversed.

I don't think its perfectly acceptable to stand in a queue for 15-20 minutes just to use a toilet when I can be in and out in a minute of one that is free right beside me. Not all women do this either, and in my experience the ones that do arent the ones who point and laugh at willys. If that is the case then you should by all means report them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

In my experience their genitals are facing the wall. I don't even look, nor do I want to look, I go in and out as quickly as possible.

That's not really the point though. A lot of people (male and female) feel vulnerable when they're exposed like that. For example, if you were in a changing room and some guy walked in thinking it was empty would you feel any less vulnerable because you had your back to him even though your top was off?

It's not about whether or not people look, it's about the fact that they could do so.

I don't think its perfectly acceptable to stand in a queue for 15-20 minutes just to use a toilet when I can be in and out in a minute of one that is free right beside me.

Again my point stands, whether you feel it's unacceptable or not shouldn't allow you to make a decision that makes someone else who is completely uninvolved uncomfortable. You wouldn't purposely walk in on a male friend or relation if you knew they were getting undressed or using the toilet, so why should a pub or club be any different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

I have to agree its only the double standards thing that gets me pissed off (no pun intended) about the wimmens coming into the mens.

I couldnt care less really if a girl came in and stood beside me while i went for a pee... I mean when ya gotta go ya gotta go...

There are several un written rules about men going to the toilet though that are some how genetically passed from Father to Son, because i have never heard of anyone that has been "thought" them

General behaviour:

You visit the toilet alone. If someone else from your party is going to the toilet wait enough time for them to be finishing before you head off. Going in pairs is frowned upon.

Once in the bathroom, don't talk to anybody you don't know. In fact, don’t talk at all. If you see someone you know, a nod of acknowledgement is acceptable only if you are passing each other going in or out of the toilet. Do not communicate with other men already at the urinal peeing.

The hot-air dryers warm up wet hands but don’t actually dry your hands much. Paper towels are preferable. The linen towel on a roll is the least favoured option and presence of this unhygienic device alone may necessitate drying your hands on your trousers or drip-drying.

A momentary glance in the mirror prior to leaving is permissible, but absolutely don't spend a significant amount of time arranging hair or admiring your outfit.

Approximately 50% of men don’t wash their hands after peeing. This is disgusting and will be met by severe disapproval and sometimes even tutting and head-shaking but only once the offender has left the bathroom completely.

Using urinals:

One faced with a row of urinals, first use the ones on the far ends. If those are both occupied then use the one in the middle provided there is a one free space between you and anyone else.

If faced with a space on which there will be another man either side of you. Quickly pull the universal expression which says, ‘I thought I needed a wee but actually now I am here I think I need a poo.’ Turn around and use a cubicle. This expression can also be used in cases of performance anxiety once at the urinal though no-one will believe you.

When peeing look at the wall in front of you. Don’t look down too much and certainly no sideways glances at other people. Pretend very hard that there is no-one else nearby. No whistling and no breaking wind. Comments like ‘Nice weather today’ and ‘I needed that’ are wholly unacceptable.

If there are no single bowls but just a large communal wall-style urinal. The same rules apply as above but in addition an acceptable amount of space must be left between men, and this is now up to your judgement. Absolutely no bustling in so you are shoulder to shoulder between two other men – that means the space was way too small.

Don't start unzipping until you're in front of the urinal. Don't step back until you've zipped up again. Shaking is permitted but must be restricted to a short spell otherwise suspicions will be raised. As one gets older more time is permitted for the few remaining drops to squeeze past that ever growing prostate.

In the event of being unable to pee at all because of rather large men who are unaware of the etiquette standing too near you, pretending to finish with a fake shake is acceptable. Leave the bathroom and return later once no-one who was in the bathroom the first time is still there.

Using cubicles:

If the toilet has been left in an unclean state then turn straight around and pick another cubicle. This is acceptable practice and well understood. Flushing someone else’s visit for them is not expected.

Wiping the toilet seat is recommended as is laying some toilet paper in the bowl to reduce ‘splash-back’ and maintain silence where possible.

Women in adjacent cubicles will happily share toilet paper by passing it through the gap between cubicles. Men would rather die than say a single word to another man in a cubicle next door. For this reason carefully check sufficient paper exists before beginning

I think its this: dont talk, dont look, use hand dryers etc rule that has us in a more efficient manner in the "Gents"

Are you saying that you would only report it as a man because thats what women would do? Then yes that is petty.

I accept that some women don't care about guys in the toilets, fair enough.

The fact remains that if I used the female toilets regularly during a night out, I'd be lucky to remain in the pub or nightclub, let alone finish my business.

Fact is that men either don't care, are too mannerly to comment (rare probably :)), or more moronically: actually think that acquiescing might 'get them in there' with the women involved. There is no way that the majority of women would want a guy in their toilets.

What is petty is rationalizing away the genuine annoyance of men on the subject because it might interfere with your own convenience. Especially funny is rationalizing away the 'willy exposure'. So if I enter an area exclusively designated for women and an area where they might be exposing parts of their bodies, it's OK as long as their backs are turned to me?

And as for the taking longer bit: some women here have already expressed their annoyance that a lot of the queues are caused by completely avoidable social factors like hygiene paranoia, making themselves up or chumming it up in the cubicles.

I've been in plenty of male toilets where there are queues too.
    cronin_j wrote: »

I think its this: dont talk, dont look, use hand dryers etc rule that has us in a more effience manner in the "Gents"

Good point. Hadn't thought of it like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Reason men aren't allowed into womens toilets:

Men are pervs

Reason women are allowed into mens toilets:

Men are pervs

To be honest, if there's a free jacks in the mens, I don't see any problem with a woman using it. I don't see why she should stand at the end of a queue, needing to pee, when there's a perfectly good toilet going unused.

edit: And yes, it's ok as long as their backs are turned IMO. I couldn't give a fiddlers if a woman saw the back of me while I have my cock out taking a pee. OMG! THE BACK OF ME!

Also, if I'm really honest, I wouldn't give a fiddlers if some woman caught a glimpse. So what like? She's seen one before.

Genuine annoyance? Seriously, how many people do you think would be genuinely annoyed? If a woman said to you "I really need to pee, do you mind if I use the gents because there's a long queue in the ladies" would you actually say that you had a problem with it?

cronin_j wrote: »
    Approximately 50% of men don’t wash their hands after peeing.

Rubbish. I'd put it closer to 5%, especially in the < 50's.

Khannie wrote: »
    Men are pervs
    Also, if I'm really honest, I wouldn't give a fiddlers if some woman caught a glimpse.

All males are perverts. You're male. And you don't mind when women 'catch a glimpse'.

/does calculation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

edit: And yes, it's ok as long as their backs are turned IMO. I couldn't give a fiddlers if a woman saw the back of me while I have my cock out taking a pee. OMG! THE BACK OF ME!

Also, if I'm really honest, I wouldn't give a fiddlers if some woman caught a glimpse. So what like? She's seen one before.

Genuine annoyance? Seriously, how many people do you think would be genuinely annoyed? If a woman said to you "I really need to pee, do you mind if I use the gents because there's a long queue in the ladies" would you actually say that you had a problem with it?

Have to say i generally agree with this post!

Seen one ya have seen em all, plenty of girls have gotten dressed in front of me, (Friends i might add) and so what if ya see something, its only someone elses body!

With regards to the last part of your post, id have to say only an a**hole would turn them away! In situations like that the best thing to ask yourself what your mother would think if ya said no: You'd get a clip in the ear is what!

But as said, i think the general issue fellas would have is the double standards thing>
    I have seen fellas getting thrown out of pubs where the fellas queue was huge and they went into the womens toilets, In fact one guy was actually quite strongly verbally attacked by two women walking out... All they probably were doing was checking their makeup!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

I work in a theatre and on the ground floor we have one Men's toilets and three Women's. Reason being space. The gents holds 4 urinals and a cubicle. Two of the ladies are only big enough to hold one cubicle each so the third has about 5 cubicles. But yeah, space. If there's only one cubicle, the queue is gonna start piling up.

Iago wrote: »
    That's not really the point though. A lot of people (male and female) feel vulnerable when they're exposed like that. For example, if you were in a changing room and some guy walked in thinking it was empty would you feel any less vulnerable because you had your back to him even though your top was off?

And a lot of those guys seem to feel no fear later on in the night when they wish to relieve themselves in a public place on their journey home.
    It's not about whether or not people look, it's about the fact that they could do so.

Again, anyone could easily look when a man has his winkie out on the street. But the fact is, I don't think women are as fascinated or as bothered as men are about the others' genitalia.

Again my point stands, whether you feel it's unacceptable or not shouldn't allow you to make a decision that makes someone else who is completely uninvolved uncomfortable. You wouldn't purposely walk in on a male friend or relation if you knew they were getting undressed or using the toilet, so why should a pub or club be any different?

You wouldnt either though? I respect a persons privacy but a public toilet is hardly private to begin with.
    I accept that some women don't care about guys in the toilets, fair enough.

The fact remains that if I used the female toilets regularly during a night out, I'd be lucky to remain in the pub or nightclub, let alone finish my business.

So you think it should be the same for women because of this? There is no such thing as double standards when it comes to men & women imo. Again I say the odd one or two in to use the toilet only is no harm, but if a gang came in to act the maggot or even a man on his own thinking he is the laddy cat amongst the pigeons then he can piss right off. That rule should apply to women too.
    What is petty is rationalizing away the genuine annoyance of men on the subject because it might interfere with your own convenience.

The only genuine annoyance of men that seem to be displayed in this thread is one of a 'double standard'

Especially funny is rationalizing away the 'willy exposure'. So if I enter an area exclusively designated for women and an area where they might be exposing parts of their bodies, it's OK as long as their backs are turned to me?

echoes: double standard...

where would such a scenario exist?

And a lot of those guys seem to feel no fear later on in the night when they wish to relieve themselves in a public place on their journey home.

Do I?

Maybe I do it in some unconscious way as part of my unasked-for membership of the male 'perv' collective?
    where would such a scenario exist?

The scenario of a man walking into a place where women might be exposing themselves doesn't exist because they'd be ejected/beaten out of the place.

You keep saying that men should be able to go into womens toilets.

They can't.

Or at least if they tried, they wouldn't get away with it.

Do I?

Don't make me call you a liar. Are you trying to say that you've never peed in public?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Well, let's compare.

MEN:
    -Line up at urinal.
    -Unzip.
    -Pee.
    -Zip.
    -Exit.

WOMEN:
    -Enter cubicle.
    -Unzip.
    -Pull down.
    -Sit.
    -Pee.
    -Wipe.
    -Get up.
    -Pull up.
    -Zip up.
    -Exit.

WOMEN WITH THEIR PEEBUDDY:
    -Crowd into the cubicle together.
    -One woman completes typical woman 8-step procedure while talking to peebuddy.
    -Pretend it's not incredibly strange that you're looking at someone peeing and having a normal conversation.
    -Other woman completes typical woman 8-step procedure while talking to peebuddy.
    -They then bogart cubicle to talk about their incredibly private lives, not recognizing that everyone can hear them.
    -Only when they are done talking about their incredibly private lives do they then exit the cubicle.

God I hate the tarts who require peebuddies. Why oh why would you want to talk to someone while you're peeing?! There's comfort and then there's comfort and then there's that. Ridiculous.

Do I?

Maybe I do it in some unconscious way as part of my unasked-for membership of the male 'perv' collective?

I don't know, do you? I didnt say you did, nor say all men did. But a lot do.
    The scenario of a man walking into a place where women might be exposing themselves doesn't exist because they'd be ejected/beaten out of the place.
    They can't.
    Or at least if they tried, they wouldn't get away with it.

But we're not talking about men going into womens toilets, we are talking about women going into mens toilets.

They can't.

There's a reason for this: Men represent a threat to women. As a general rule, the reverse does not apply. I've never heard of a guy being raped by a woman in the mens toilets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Well we don't see the jacks as somewhere to go for a chat, if any man is in the jacks for more than a minute he's got a problem and thirdly we have urinals aswell as toilets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭I'lllearnye

This thread was originally about long queues in ladies toilets. 99% of the time there's really no need for a man to be using the ladies toilets. So why are people banging on about men not being allowed to use the ladies toilets when most of the time they don't have to queue for their own?
    Be honest lads....how many times have you actually HAD to queue for the male toilets? I know most nights I go out, I'm guaranteed to have a five/ten minute wait in line for each trip to the loo. And if you know you're going to be waiting that long, it's nice to bring someone along so you can have a chat while waiting. I would only ever use the mens if I was absolutely dying to go. Which I imagine is the female version of men pissing in public.

Be honest lads....how many times have you actually HAD to queue for the male toilets? I know most nights I go out, I'm guaranteed to have a five/minute wait in line for each trip to the loo

I can count on one hand the number of times I have queued for a pee, and all those times were inside the toilet itself - no long queue outside, and all were a wait of less than one minute ( go in room : all urinals and cubicles filled, wait, a guy leaves, get in).

In all other cases, crowded night club or not. there is never a queue. Crowded is having to use the cubicle.