Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

West of Ireland Marathon series

• 10-06-2009 8:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭

I was browsing runireland.com and saw many entries in the race calendar for "West of Ireland Marathon series". A google search did not lead to more info.
    Has anybody got more info about this race series?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

It's a set of 14 marathons over a couple of months from the guys who organise the connemara races, afaik. aburke, Mick Rice or Magnet would possibly know more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

Hi
    Yep, Somebody is looking to race to 100 marathons :-)
    http://www.runireland.com/node/4566
    has all the details.

Alan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

aburke, if you're stuck for minimum numbers on any of the days, give me a shout, particularly the september and october dates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

Hi Alan,

Can you register as we go along or do we have to commit up front now???
    Once we have registered online can we than just turn up that morning or do we have to arrive in Galway day before.
    For the Connemarathon I usually go up on Firday evening collect bib( I guess there is no BIBs this time) go back home and drive up morning of race... just like I did recently wit the Cork Marathon and last 2 connes..
    If I could register online a couple of days before each race, that would suit me (and others I guess) with regard to training and commitments outside of "marathon world"..... end of August, Sept and october are very far away!!!!

like this idea though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭911sc

Thanks. God, i live East.:)
    Great idea though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

baza1976 wrote: »
    Hi Alan,
    Can you register as we go along or do we have to commit up front now???
    Registration for each event will close one week in advance of each race.
    http://www.runireland.com/node/4566
    Once we have registered online can we than just turn up that morning or do we have to arrive in Galway day before.
    No need to show up a day in advance - numbers distributed just before each race.
    aburke, if you're stuck for minimum numbers on any of the days, give me a shout, particularly the september and october dates.
    All of the events will go ahead as there has been enough interest registered so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

So has anyone here entered any of these?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Magnet wrote: »
    So has anyone here entered any of these?

I was thinking of going for back to backs on the first weekend of September. Dunno if I will if I want Dublin and New York(and maybe Amsterdam:D) to be my goal.

This weekend is the start of these
    Anyone entered?
    I`m gonna do Saturday and Sunday..

Funny thing they were cheaper by the dozen and ye know what I did don`t ye... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

How many running in the first 2 magnet?

Don`t know for sure but I`d say about 20
    as it`s no-frills I`d say there isn`t many who would run unassisted...
    I`m living local so friends are gonna give me water around the 6/20 mile area,
    I`m doing the 2 as training runs so I`ll be taking it nice and easy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭BJohnson

I just signed up yesterday for the race this Saturday. It's my birthday this week, and I thought I'd give myself a marathon as a present.

Just wondering if Alan, Mick or people that have run the races so far can give an idea of the course? I remember reading somewhere that each one will be different, but not sure if that's actually the case. I hear they start out in front of the Galway Bay Hotel - is that also true? There was some confusion regarding start time too - is it 10am or 11am on the day? On the entry at www.runireland.com it says 11am, but the link provided by Alan above says 10am.

Hopefully there will be other people taking it easy on this one - I'm only doing it for enjoyment, and not a PB!

Anybody else out there doing it this Saturday?

I`m doing the 2 this weekend!!!
    You should get a confirmation email if you entered?!?!
    Its 10am start, 9.30 pick up your no. in the hotel and off ya go...
    They`re gonna be changing routes as they go - Saturday`s route is out to Inverin and back and there`s a footpath most of the way!
    Very scenic out by Salthill, Bearna, Furbo, Spiddal and Inverin.
    Don`t know what the other routes are yet.
    I`m aiming for 3.59 so that shouldn`t kill me..

Thanks Magnet, I just got the email from Ray with all of the details. I'll be aiming for anywhere around 4hrs - 4hrs 15mins.

See you on Saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Hey guys, how did the first of these marathons go?
    Was there many taking part and what were the finishing times ranging from?

I'm seriously tempted to go for one or two of the later ones but would prefer some feedback first. Unfortunately info seems to be very scant and I'm the type of person who likes to have all the details up front!

The weekend runs were fantastic!
    There was about 14 runners each day and most people were aiming for about 3.45 to 4.15hrs...
    It was a lovely relaxed atmosphere, good chat along the course, no rain. Ending on the prom meant most runners ended up goin in for a dip in the sea after...ice baths are soo last yr!
    Very interesting people - I cant wait for the next ones!!
    I did 3.35 and 3.47 which I was pleased with even though I was supposed to be taking it easy, next time maybe..

Agreed - a great run! I did the Saturday race and finished in 3:50. The weather was perfect, and the course was great - straight out along the foot path for 13.1 miles, and then a turnaround to head back home. Had a good chat with a few runners along the way too. I was lucky enough to have someone meet me around the 20 mile mark - I think it would have been tougher without that boost.

Ray even arranged for food at the carvery in the hotel at the end of the race, which I thought was a nice touch. I had to get back home quickly after the run, so I didn't get to join the others for a meal. Still, I thought it was a pretty classy offer.

Running without mile markers was more fun than I thought. I wasn't focussing on what my time was at each mile using a paceband like I normally do, and that made the race easier for me mentally.

I can't think of any complaints at all - it was exactly as advertised. No frills and a good atmosphere amongst other runners. They even had a guy taking our pictures 4 or 5 times along the course, which got emailed out to us yesterday.

One question though - were we supposed to get medals? It says so on the info page posted by Alan above. Maybe I left before they were handed out?

PS - Magnet - which runner were you?? I was bib 200. Any idea where the results are posted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Mick Rice

Would agree with all that's been said. I just did the Sunday run. It was fun, relaxed, cheap, friendly, well organised and fun.

Will certainly do one or two more...

BJohnson wrote: »

One question though - were we supposed to get medals? It says so on the info page posted by Alan above. Maybe I left before they were handed out?

PS - Magnet - which runner were you?? I was bib 200. Any idea where the results are posted?

There are medals but they may be given out towards the end of the series I think..
    And I was the shortest runner with the waterproof mascara!!
    And ponytail! :D

So this weekend there are 4..
    I`m gonna aim for 4 and may actually do 2!
    Friday eve ill have to drive crosscountry to avoid the horseracing traffic and the bank holiday monday I may just need a sleep in for a change...
    Anyone else doing any this weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Morgoth

Best of luck to those out there running at the moment! Here in the city it looks like it's a lovely morning for it, but who knows out there. :rolleyes:

Both the Saturday and Sunday runs this weekend are on the Connemarathon course, the other two on the Salthill / Coast road route I think. I really enjoyed the run yesterday even though I was on my own from 6 miles on... a tough 6 mile opening stint, with that wind. We had 8 runners at it yesterday and I think there's 8 or 9 doing each of the four this weekend. Fair play to those doing all four (Val/Ray/Peter I guess). My knees and calves are pretty tired this morning after all the hills.

Lyall