Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Football Quarter Finals

• 10-06-2009 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

Some of the teams have been named for this weekends clashes. For the weekends games I am backing Wexford, Westmeath and Laois to emerge victorious

Wexford (SFC v Kildare) - A. Masterson, B. Malone, P. Wallace, G. Molloy, C. Morris, D. Murphy, A. Doyle, B. Doyle, E. Bradley, A. Morrissey, R. Barry, C. Byrne, C. Lyng, S. Cullen, PJ Banville.

Wicklow (SF v Westmeath): M Travers; C Hyland, D Power, A Byrne; P McWalter, D O hAnnaidh, P Dalton; J Stafford, T Walsh; T Hannon, L Glynn (captain), R Nolan; D Odlum, S Furlong, P Earls.

Laois (SF v Louth): M Nolan; C Ryan, M Timmons, R Stapleton; D Rooney, G Reddin, J O'Loughlin; P Clancy, K Meaney; B Quigley, B McCormack, P O'Leary; MJ Tierney, R Munnelly, D Kingston.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Out of interest, what are you basing Wexford on? I know we can only take the League as a "pinch of salt", but still!

In the AI Pools I tipped Westmeath to beat Wicklow but I was 50/50, Wicklow have the tails up.

Know more when I see the Westmeath team, but Kildare by 4. Westmeath by 2 and Laois by 5.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Wexford v Kildare will be a close one alright. Especially with Forde out. Would be leaning towards Kildare because of that myself but by the odd point. Would also say Westmeath by 3 and Laois by 5. Not in the pools tho :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I have a very funny feeling that Louth will upset Laois in Parnell Park.They have been going well in recent matches and I think they could pull off a surprise result.If Laois take them for granted like they nearly did Wicklow last year,I'd expect a 2 point win for Louth.(Which I also posted in my pool)

As for Westmeath-Wicklow,I think it will be a very tough encounter for Westmeath.They have been rocked by injuries this year and Wicklow are a coming team.Flanagan and Donoghue are big returns and Duffy in midfield should gain them parity.Westmeath by 4.

Wexford v Kildare.I can see a close game.Redmond Barry is back and if he is on form,I can see Wexford getting 1 goal at least.The problem now seems to be the Wexford back line.Earley should be back at fitness and Callaghan and Doyle will get the point required for the win. My prediction: Kildare 17 Wexford 1-10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Its a brave man who would back Wexford to win this weekend. I know league form can often be misleading when it comes to championship, but they have been very poor so far this year. Even allowing for the return of super Redmond Barry, the absence of Matty Forde will be the total undoing of them. Thats 0-6 taken off their total before they've kicked a ball. I've been really impressed by Kildare in the last year, league form was mixed but they did put Wexford to the sword earlier on. McGeeny has given them a far more physical edge. They're doing less of the short handpassing game and more direct football which is good to see. I fully expect them to win on Sunday, by 4 points or more, and be Dublin's main rivals for Leinster. As for the other games i've seen little or nothing of Westmeath, but without Denis Glennon they may struggle to get sufficient scores to totally kill off Micko's men. A potential upset could be on the cards here if Wicklow apply themselves right on the day. Still you'd have to fancy the Lake county to prevail. Laois are awfully unpredictable, but still i fancy them to beat Louth. Louth are a good league team, always seem to impress in it, but then fail to carry it into the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭phil

My predictions: Wicklow, Laois and Kildare to win this weekend.

Laois may not be the force they were, but Louth lack the pace Laois have in various areas around the park. If that Laois team performs on the weekend they will beat Louth. A Louth victory wouldn't be that surprising but it shouldn't happen if Laois are on form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

Westmeath, Laois and Kildare.

Westmeath regardless of injuries will win easy I think. Flanagan back at midfield, Keane back in defence, Healy back from Aus, it'll be a different team than the one that limped through the league.

As usual it is hard to gauge Laois. On their day they can beat anyone, but they can also shoot themselves in the foot. I still think they will get over Louth.

Kildare seem to be improving steadily. A word of caution though, as we have seen many times before league and championship form mean nothing. Kildare are still essentially the same personnel that lost to Wicklow last year, in probably one of the worst games of the year quality wise. However I think the McGeeney work ethic has hit home and they have steadily improved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

blackbelt wrote: »
    I have a very funny feeling that Louth will upset Laois in Parnell Park.They have been going well in recent matches and I think they could pull off a surprise result.If Laois take them for granted like they nearly did Wicklow last year,I'd expect a 2 point win for Louth.(Which I also posted in my pool)
    :confused: Are you sure you've got the right team? Louth have been pretty awful this year and if anything have got worse. We scraped a two point win over Carlow, who are probably the third worst team in the country. In the league we won three league games all year and those were against the teams that finished last, second last and third last in division 3. I'll be surprised if Louth can win this one.

Pighead wrote: »
    :confused: Are you sure you've got the right team? Louth have been pretty awful this year and if anything have got worse. We scraped a two point win over Carlow, who are probably the third worst team in the country. In the league we won three league games all year and those were against the teams that finished last, second last and third last in division 3. I'll be surprised if Louth can win this one.

I believe Louth have a very good chance of beating Laois.Think about it.Louth already have a championship match under their belt at Parnell Park.Laois do not.On any given day,Louth can pull an upset.

They have also been going well in challenge matches and beat Mayo recently I heard.I haven't heard anything of Laois but I think they are going back.The hard slog of Louth overcoming Carlow in dreadful conditions will battle toughen them for this fixture and I truly believe this fixture will be the one to provide the upset of the week and NOT the Westmeath-Wicklow match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

blackbelt wrote: »
    I believe Louth have a very good chance of beating Laois.Think about it.Louth already have a championship match under their belt at Parnell Park.Laois do not.On any given day,Louth can pull an upset.

They have also been going well in challenge matches and beat Mayo recently I heard.I haven't heard anything of Laois but I think they are going back.The hard slog of Louth overcoming Carlow in dreadful conditions will battle toughen them for this fixture and I truly believe this fixture will be the one to provide the upset of the week and NOT the Westmeath-Wicklow match.
    I have my doubts, but I sure hope you're right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

K-9 wrote: »
    Out of interest, what are you basing Wexford on? I know we can only take the League as a "pinch of salt", but still!

Tipping Wexford is based on a number of things

1. Returning players are making the team and the squad better. Redmond Barry and Adrian Morrissey did not play in the league. Diarmuid Kinsella gives extra options from the bench for midfield and the forwards, Shane Roche and Ciaran Deeley give excellent options in the forwards.
    2. The players have been undergoing a conditioning regime apparently. Jason Ryan was appointed to late in the day to do this last year. So a lot of time and effort was spent over the winter and the league on bulking up if you will.
    3. Just as Wexford did not just come from nowhere to make the all ireland semis last year, remember they are the last Leinster team to make a national final in the league final in 2005 (not counting Division 2 etc.). They have not just become a bad team overnight.
    4. The league was used for a lot of experimentation and trying players out to build a squad. The team will have learnt a lot in defeat, and hopefully will put it to good use just like after the Leinster final last year.

As for Mattie Forde being out, Ciaran Lyng scored as much as Forde did in the championship last year. Lyng often played in a much deeper role than Forde and would not have had as many chances to score. Lyng will take the frees for a left footer anyway, not sure who will take the right footed frees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Fair play to Kildare the better team won today. Wexford were cleaned out a midfield again, Kildare looked fitter, stronger and hungrier. If this is what Wexford are going to produce this year then it will be a short summer.

It is early in the year but if Dermot Earley keeps up this form he will be in the running for another all star. Top performance from him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Have to say again, the difference in quality between the Wexford/Kildare and Cork/Kerry matches was pretty big. I'd fancy Kildare to push Dublin far but they are mediocre, workmanlike team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

I'm predicting Louth and Wicklow to cause upsets today.
    Laois are in freefall,seen a number of Laois players (as i live in Laois) out on the beer lst weekend, a week before championship.
    You can bet your life not one Louth man has touched it since beating Carlow.
    Brennan dropped form panel.
    Things arent going well there.
    Wicklow i believe will turn Westmeath, purely down to the Fox that is Micko.

On the Cork/Kerry Match, i agree.
    4 points in the opening 35 mins by Kerry really is top class football by the Kingdom.
    Kildare Scored 2-12 from play in the whole game...
    and beat Wexford without really getting out of second gear.

in your opinion Orizio, IF Kildare are a workman like team.
    How would you rate dublin's performance last week against the poorest Meath team in decades.
    Also what kind of team would you percieve dublin to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Wicklow dominating against Westmeath at half time.
    1-03 to 0-04. Wicklow also missed a penalty.
    Wicklow goal was a mess. Tom Walsh went for a point, it dropped short, Paul Earles ran in for Wicklow and hit the post (himself not with the ball), the goalkeeper got distracted and dropped the ball straight to Odlum, who tapped the ball into the net.

Earles understandably looks dazed, but played on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Dreadful game, dreadful referee. We scrapped through. End of an era for this Westmeath team I fear. Wicklow will be kicking themselves.

Laois march on, although we made hard work of it in the end.

Kildare will be a tough proposition, although we do look a more cohesive unit than in recent years. Fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

patmac wrote: »
    Dreadful game, dreadful referee. We scrapped through. End of an era for this Westmeath team I fear. Wicklow will be kicking themselves.

Defensively your good and a fit Glennon and Dolan will cause Dublin problems.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,649 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Maybe slightly off topic here but I can't understand how yesterdays game between Louth and Laois wasn't delayed as there was an accident on the m1 resulting in Louth fans still arriving at half time. Yet the Dublin fans can delay a televised match by leaving the pub late:mad:

\o/ zzzzz Yawn.
    ||
    /\

I'm pretty fed up with this.That joke really is wearing thin that it is not actually a joke anymore.Fact is,some Dublin games are delayed due to health and safety measures.Same thing happened at Cork v Kerry match on Saturday (read appropriate thread for reference). Consider this a warning.

The Leinster Council,Gardai,stewards and officials wouldn't take that into account because they probably didn't know.It's their own fault for not leaving enough time to travel down taking traffic conditions or possible accidents into account.I was driving down Collins Avenue at 1.30 and saw lots of fans walking down to Parnell Park.Fact of the matter is,those Louth fans weren't outside Parnell Park trying to get in at throw in.Bad planning on and off the pitch it seems by Louth fans.:P

As for SOME Laois-Louth fans,your parking is disgraceful.Cars double parked on footpaths/grass patches,outside houses and on corners in my estate.:mad: Accidents waiting to happen as you couldn't see any oncoming cars coming around the corner.I've absolutely no problem with fans parking in my estate but at least park in an orderly fashion in a straight line by the kerb instead of having your bonnet pointing out onto the road causing cars to drift out to avoid collisions.It looked as if a Louth fan made an absolute hash of parallel parking and reversed it and then stopped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭theram

whycliff wrote: »
    Laois are in freefall,seen a number of Laois players (as i live in Laois) out on the beer lst weekend, a week before championship.
    Things arent going well there.

Lies lies lies. Shocking, abhorrent lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭sos33

whycliff wrote: »
    Things arent going well there

where did you get your information or did you see "these players" yourself
    id say your talking s**t,they didnt look in freefall to me,as for donie brennan he was dropped in the wrong and all the county knows that except for dempsey, seems to be a clash of personalities there
    :mad:

well then how unprofessional is depmsey to allow a personality clash to come to brennan being dropped.
    Brennan aint a bad player, and is a loss!
    Its not lies about them being out drinkin.
    In fact a couple of Laois players were out in Carlow last night also...The foundry night club for those of you who know carlow.
    Yes i seen them myself!