Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

slurry spreader

• 10-06-2009 9:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

we currently have a 2500 gallon ruscon spreader 1997 double axle i am thinking of changing it does any one know if ruscon are still in business and what are other spreaders like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

I think Ruscon are gone tits-up. I don't own it, but I have used a Cross 2250 with flotation tyres. Super machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭cormywormy

ruscon is now agrimax.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

tou cant beat the high spec or else major.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

whelan1 wrote: »
    we currently have a 2500 gallon ruscon spreader 1997 double axle i am thinking of changing it does any one know if ruscon are still in business and what are other spreaders like

ruscon went into liquidation towards the end of last year , truth be told they were always the least - good spreader on the market , divils for rusting

hi-spec are good and thier a wee bit cheaper than major , NC is a good tank , they were also good value while the euro was strong against sterling as they are made in northern ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

hi spec are cheaper because stuff is not in them and fond of rust, theres a lot of joskin tankers appearing around waterford look good and solid ,also had a cross 2250 tanker in yard nice machine,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

just bought a ruscon one :rolleyes: single axle was goin to cost 4500 to fix up my one between tyres and a new pump and the rust so opted for a new one ... now to pay for it , my theory is if you have a good sluury spreader , fertiliser spreader and a tractor that goes and a topper you'll be ok ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

just bought a ruscon one :rolleyes: single axle was goin to cost 4500 to fix up my one between tyres and a new pump and the rust so opted for a new one ... now to pay for it , my theory is if you have a good sluury spreader , fertiliser spreader and a tractor that goes and a topper you'll be ok ;)

Look at it in the way that a good slurry spreader will save you money. It will reduce your fertilizer bills and mean that you can spread it when you want to.

I was wrapping bales for a neighbour last night and he was showing me his new tractor, tanker and agitator. MF 4255 and NC tanker and agitator. He has 60 acres and wouldn't be the flushest with money, kids in school and college, wife not working, works himself as a labourer.
    But he recons that all will pay for themselves - they'd want to - the whole lot came to near €60k

jesus that sounds mad !! we have a 00 tm 125 (new holland ) and a case 885 1991 and i dont intend trading in this wasnt a planned spend as i am not rolling in money but it was taking 20 minutes to fil a load of slurry compared to 5 minutes normally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

reilig wrote: »
    I was wrapping bales for a neighbour last night and he was showing me his new tractor, tanker and agitator. MF 4255 and NC tanker and agitator. He has 60 acres and wouldn't be the flushest with money, kids in school and college, wife not working, works himself as a labourer.
    But he recons that all will pay for themselves - they'd want to - the whole lot came to near €60k

He will never see the that money back from 60 acres.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

you made the right choice, a few years ago my neighbour put a new pump, tyres , & other maintenance on his old spreader, on his second or third load with the new pump the tank caved in.

ye ruscon are agrimax now they are doin trailers and slurry spreaders - not doing toppers any more as far as i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭dryan

What ye think of the Belmac tanks?
    Yer man that makes them is only up the road from me. Was thinking lately of upgrading to a 1600 gal tank. Want to get one with the widest wheels possible as i hane some softish land that i like to get the slurry out on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Rujib1

dryan wrote: »
    Yer man that makes them is only up the road from me. Was thinking lately of upgrading to a 1600 gal tank. Want to get one with the widest wheels possible as i hane some softish land that i like to get the slurry out on.

Wait till you put the slurry on softish land ................ then you will know all about soft :D

R

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

dryan wrote: »

belmac are roughly in the same price range as ruscon were so thier one of the cheaper models , regarding hi-sepc and someone,s comment that they rust , they did , years ago , their are good tank now