Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Period during sex

• 08-06-2009 7:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I had sex with my bf last night. Last day of my period, no bleeding all day so I didn't think it would be a problem in fact it never entered my head that I might bleed during sex (thick yes I know now!) Anyway of course I did bleed and he freaked out a bit. Calmed down and told me all was ok and it had happened him before but I feel like a total b!itch! :( Was awake the whole night worrying about it. Not even the embarrassment coz I can get over that no probs but it's a newish relationship, only started sleeping together in past 3weeks or so and I am just scared that he is gna end things over this. I totally understand if he does because I know it's disgusting and he has every right to want rid of me now but things were going great til this! Tried asking him about it this morning he just told me I was over thinking it and to stop bringing it up! Have never had sex on my period in any relationship before this but I really like and trust him and really thought it would be ok. Has this happened? Is there anything I can do to redeem myself or make it blow over. We're going so well I don't want this stupid mistake to ruin everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I think your bf is right, you are just over-thinking it. If he starts to at strange or seems odd when ye are going to have sex again, then maybe you have something to worry about but until then I wouldn;t be thinking about it too much. But then again, thats just me.

Galwaylad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Sex involves a lot of bodily fluids and if it didn't feel so damn good, humans would be inclined to think it was absolutely manky.

A bit of period blood is certainly not the end of the world when you consider what's already happening down there with mucous secretions and semen.

If your boyfriend says he's ok with it, take him at his word. It's really not that big of a deal - and sex during your period can really help with cramps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

I wouldnt worry about it OP.Id say the vast majority of people have had this happen at some stage or another,I know I have,sure your current beau told you it had happened to him before aswell so its not the end of the world.

It sounds like its blown over already,he obviously isnt bothered so neither should you be.

OP, it's no biggie, try not to worry.

A good few years ago I started going out with a girl and after a few months we started to get intimate, anyhow one night we went for pizza and wine. It was lovely, then back to her place, things started to heat up and while giving me head she proceed to empty the contents of her stomach all over me, red wine and mushrooms etc. I gagged as much as she did.

Anyhow to cut a long story short, ten years later we are married with two lovely kids.

Sure there is a lesson in there somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It's a fact of life and yes having sex can cause your womb to contract and more of the lining of the womb ( which is the source of period blood/discharge ) to come away.

It is something nearly every couple which has a female in has to deal with at some stage,
    did you let him know or was it just unexpected, surely he knows that women have periods?
    And if he is happy to let it go then dont' get to bent out of shape over it, it happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

You're seriously over thinking it... It can be a shock when it happens unexpectedly, but it's totally natural and any half decent man won't mind it, as your boyfriend seems to have done...
    Don't worry about it, as long as he understands that you didn't expect it there shouldn't be an issue. (not saying that it would be a major issue if it was expected either, but it's nice to be warned beforehand!)

many years ago when i first started dating my OH i would not have any intimate moments or sex when i was haveing my period.
    we lived over 80 miles apart so time together was not always every weekend cos of work but one night i relaxed and we made love and i will never forget the way he held me tight after making love and we became even closer as a couple as it was during my period. i think it made him feal closer with me that i would let him be part of a very private part of the female make up.

Thanks lads. I wish I could say these comments help but I feel like crap over it :( I certainly don't think it made him feel closer anyway. Even though he kept telling me its ok and was kinda jokey about it today he freaked out when it happened, I swear he was on the verge of puking! He is weird with blood anyway but it was literally a tiny bit on the condom not a pool of blood. I was so offended ( i know its gross and that but still i actually felt really hurt at his reaction) Kinda still honeymoon period, everything going so smoothly, not as much s a hair on my leg and then BAM :( I know I am just being insecure and freaking out today but I am just so worried that this will be our deal breaker. After a few months or a year I would have let it go but so soon into things I think I really should have been more careful and not taken for granted that it wouldn't happen.I knew it was still my period, but because i didn't bleed i thought it was ok, probably should have still told him there was a chance though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

Hey OP calm down!

You are being way too hard on yourself......a spot of blood on the condom is nothing to worry about.

Remember this, every woman gets periods, he is not going to bin you for that!

A lot of people have full sex throughout and just lay out a towel or have a shower straight after!

You are a human being not a freakin blow up doll, if you make it a big issue then it will be.

Its not a 'black mark' against you or anything like it. Calm down and stop fretting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,226 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

You are blowing this up way out of proportion.

Pretend biology worked the other way and men menstruated instead of women, discharging blood through the urethra. Would you be thinking about your BF, in the way you seem to think he might be thinking about you, if you saw a small amount of blood on the inside of the condom?

Most couples who have ever had sex will have experienced this situation. It's normal and there is nothing disgusting or gross about it, it has happened billions of times before and will again.

Chill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭legend365

He's probably forgot all about it anyway.

Its happened to me too and its nothing to be upset over. Probably very embarrasing but sure if he is ok abt theres no problem :D No reason he shouldn.

Sure he probably thinks your perfect now! In the way that your not...if you understand me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 narac

Hey OP it's ok to feel bad about it. It's early in your relationship, and you obviously wanted things to go well for both of you. It's embarrassing, I think everybody understands that. But the only way to really judge his reaction is when you and your BF next get intimate. After you next have sex with your BF, ask yourself whether you felt the whole incident stifled your sexual relationship. Chances are it will have made no difference - like any man he will be just happy to be having sex ;P This has happened many times with me and my wife from very early in our relationship, and it made no difference to my desire for her, even though at the time I did find it off-putting.

Anyways, a bit of trivia: Hell's Angels (you know, the famous biker gang) have a particular badge that indicates that they have performed oral sex on a woman who is having her period. I know it's of no use to you....and I don't suggest you try it wit your BF ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I have 2 thoughts on this!

1. Wait till your married and you have a baby and bleed for weeks later. Are you going to deny yourself sex.... I dont think so!

2. Weather it was my wife first last or indifferent I would not care, It would not bother me i would still go for it.

Your thinking and worrying to much. Put it to the back of your mind. Wait till your fella and you experience childbirth.... Now there is an experience you both will never forget.

ps: Its a good excuse to take a shower together :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

1. Wait till your married and you have a baby and bleed for weeks later. Are you going to deny yourself sex.... I dont think so!

Spoken like a true man. I think I'll be staying away from anything vaguely penis-like for more than a few weeks after I give birth, tbh.

Anyway, your point stands. OP, you're completely over-reacting to an insane degree. If your boyfriend breaks up with you for having a period, then he's an ass. And good luck to him finding a girlfriend who doesn't bleed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

shellyboo wrote: »
    Spoken like a true man. I think I'll be staying away from anything vaguely penis-like for more than a few weeks after I give birth, tbh.

Anyway, your point stands. OP, you're completely over-reacting to an insane degree. If your boyfriend breaks up with you for having a period, then he's an ass. And good luck to him finding a girlfriend who doesn't bleed.

My apologies if it seemed to offend... But in my case my wife came to me I was the one afraid of harming her, I thought it from that point of view.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Hi OP,

I had a problem with my cervix that resulted in bleeding after sex about 70% of the time. My boyfriend was fantastic about it and even jokes about it, but I was mortified and upset every time it happened, even though it was a medical problem. I can't offer you much advice, but my issue was a pretty common one, affecting lots of women. Bleeding after sex can happen due to a variety of causes, and it's probably not the last time it'll happen to you. So you just need to take a deep breath and put it behind you now, and be grateful it's not something that happens almost every time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

:( wrote: »
    only started sleeping together in past 3weeks or so and I am just scared that he is gna end things over this. I totally understand if he does because I know it's disgusting and he has every right to want rid of me now but things were going great til this!

Do you reckon that no other woman has periods, or something ?

You're freaking out over nothing, and he has told you so.

Any harm that will be done - and any possible "ending it" - will be related to your reaction and going on about this.

So drop it and all will be OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Last day of my period, no bleeding all day so I didn't think it would be a problem in fact it never entered my head that I might bleed during sex (thick yes I know now!)
    It isn't "thick" at all. Why are you being so hard on yourself?
    Anyway of course I did bleed and he freaked out a bit. Calmed down and told me all was ok and it had happened him before but I feel like a total b!itch! :(
    Why on earth do you feel like a bitch just because of his rather silly reaction to something you couldn't help and which is natural?
    I totally understand if he does because I know it's disgusting and he has every right to want rid of me now
    Huh?! How is a human function disgusting? And... no, it's not understandable for any guy to want "rid" of a girl because of this happening.
    Is there anything I can do to redeem myself or make it blow over. We're going so well I don't want this stupid mistake to ruin everything!
    "Redeem" yourself? Seriously, the way you're punishing yourself for having periods is a bit... bizarre to say the least. You didn't bleed all day, you took a chance based on that - I fail to see the problem here.
    it was literally a tiny bit on the condom not a pool of blood.
    LOL - what a muppet he sounds! And you'd cave into that nonsense?
    I was so offended ( i know its gross and that but still i actually felt really hurt at his reaction)
    Damn straight - and no it's not gross. I don't understand why you're explaining yourself.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Look it freaks some guys out. Some are nearly phobic about it. Thats their thing and it can take them a while to get past that. Some may never do so(I can think of one). It's not that they are disgusted with their lover, it's just not something they like.

There are women that can be like that too with "natural bodily functions" so just because it's a woman's natural bodily function doesn't mean it's suddenly OK for everyone. I had an ex that had a major and I mean major issue with farting. That's cool so do I. I have never farted in front of a woman and if a woman deliberately did it in front of me I would be really put off by that.

Period sex for me? No bother. Make no diff to me at all. I've helped clean up after accidents and have no issue at all with periods or her blood, so sex at that time would be a no brainer. But if she farted..... See what I mean? Silly to others, big diff to me.

OK so the OP's bloke had a hairy baby over a tiny bit of blood on his willy. I have a mate who faints if he sees blood. The OP's guy seems to have calmed down a bit. It probably freaked him right out, but I would be taking the other approach. Namely that he thinks of you enough to calm down and think about this logically, so I say over reaction on all sides.

It happened and one day you may well both have a good oul laugh about the whole thing and laugh you should, both at his face at the sight of the speck of blood on the condom on his willy and your face of embarrassment. That stuff can bond couples if it's looked at differently.

My 2 cents.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Freeze952

Good luck with your relationship, It shouldn't be too horrifying, it should be expected!

Wibbs wrote: »
    Look it freaks some guys out. Some are nearly phobic about it. Thats their thing and it can take them a while to get past that. Some may never do so(I can think of one). It's not that they are disgusted with their lover, it's just not something they like.

There are women that can be like that too with "natural bodily functions" so just because it's a woman's natural bodily function doesn't mean it's suddenly OK for everyone. I had an ex that had a major and I mean major issue with farting. That's cool so do I. I have never farted in front of a woman and if a woman deliberately did it in front of me I would be really put off by that.

Period sex for me? No bother. Make no diff to me at all. I've helped clean up after accidents and have no issue at all with periods or her blood, so sex at that time would be a no brainer. But if she farted..... See what I mean? Silly to others, big diff to me.

OK so the OP's bloke had a hairy baby over a tiny bit of blood on his willy. I have a mate who faints if he sees blood. The OP's guy seems to have calmed down a bit. It probably freaked him right out, but I would be taking the other approach. Namely that he thinks of you enough to calm down and think about this logically, so I say over reaction on all sides.

It happened and one day you may well both have a good oul laugh about the whole thing and laugh you should, both at his face at the sight of the speck of blood on the condom on his willy and your face of embarrassment. That stuff can bond couples if it's looked at differently.

My 2 cents.
    It's one thing to be freaked out by something, it's another to act the prick about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Pickled Tranee

Honey I know where you are coming from I went through it myself with a pupil almost 2 years ago and he reacted the same way he crawled out of the bed going ''WTF'' ''oh god its on my leg, get it off, get it off'' running to the bath room in nothing but the stained red linen around him and me crying and calling ''I am so sorry, forgive me please''. I did not see him for the rest of the week he was so freaked out but he came to realize, they all do, that is was an accident and its a natural process to all us women. The point is darling that he will realise in a day or to that you did not mean it and he will forgive you and dissmiss it as an acident and that it would be best to put it behind you.:o you must remember that its not your fauly.

OP

My first time sleeping with my current bf, I had my period, hadnt shaved my legs/bikini line/armpits, and looked a bit like a train wreck after a very long (and lovely) day out and ending up unexpectedly doing the wild thing.

He was great about it, I was more nervous, yes there was blood on the condom, but both of us got over it.

It's happened several times since that I've a period, or since I went onto my contraception that I have unexpected bleeding, and he's great about it.

It is freaky for some guys, but tbh your bf was pretty ok with it.

And as loads have already said, it's a normal bodily function, which both of you need to get comfortable with :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

You understand if he gets rid of you because of it and you know it's disgusting?

Wtf are you talking about?
    You didn't do a thing wrong and he sounds like a tit.
    The point is darling that he will realise in a day or to that you did not mean it and he will forgive you and dissmiss it as an acident a

There is no forgiveness required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I honestly wouldnt worry about it. From a mans point of view (well mine lol) its no biggie at all. Without being rude but there is enough bodily fluid when your having sex anyways, a period isnt bad at all. Look on the bright side, it would have been worse if you didnt have your period. Seriously, I think you are just a little over reacting on it, which is understandable but honestly just leave it off. I have had sex with my missus loads of times while she was having her periods. At first she didnt want to because she thought I would find it horrible. Not at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

OP: I think you really should have told your boyfriend about this in advance and at least have given him the opportunity to decide for himself if he wanted to have that kind of relations. Some people aren't so keen on the idea, and it's clear that he wasn't in this case. Don't beat yourself up about it though, but it is important to be transparent with issues like those. This is important to note particularly in intercultural relationships if you have any in the future. In some cultures that practice has been frowned upon or seen as unclean and as such that may be something else to keep in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

It's a bit scary if you're a guy if the girl you're with starts bleeding. Had the same issue with an ex of mine, might be a time to do things other than vaginal sex? Tis how I've handled it in the past. Keeps both happy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Dudess wrote: »
    It's one thing to be freaked out by something, it's another to act the prick about it.
    Well he hardly acted the prick about it in fairness. "he freaked out a bit. Calmed down and told me all was ok and it had happened him before". If that's acting the prick to any great degree I think we need to reset the baseline of prickness. He freaked(some will), she got embarrassed(understandably), he calmed down and told her all was good(fair enough, saw he was being a bit OTT and made amends). Hardly a hanging offence. Indeed one could say her embarrassment was wrong and her own issue as much as his freak out. That would be wrong though. Just as much as saying he acted like a prick.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Well fair point, I admit I was being presumptuous - based more on the OP's assessment of herself rather than how she described her boyfriend's reaction. The way she's so ashamed and disgusted with herself (a lot more than just embarrassment which would be understandable so early on in a relationship) gave me the impression her boyfriend had some role in making her feel that way.
    Look at the language the OP uses - no offence Wibbs but you seem to be coming across a tad disingenuous here. I did not say the boyfriend should feel obliged to be ok with menstrual blood because it's natural, I said the OP shouldn't feel ashamed of it... because it's natural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Jakkass wrote: »
    OP: I think you really should have told your boyfriend about this in advance and at least have given him the opportunity to decide for himself if he wanted to have that kind of relations.

+1, if you had told him, what you knew yourself, that you could experience bleeding, his reaction to that would have been much more informative as to the type of guy he is, than how it happened. It was probably more shock/a suprise than anything else.

Honey I know where you are coming from I went through it myself with a pupil almost 2 years ago

Was it just me :confused: Sorry Wibbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Xiney wrote: »
    bodily fluids manky period blood mucous secretions and semen.

!!!!

I had sex with my bf last night. Last day of my period, no bleeding all day so I didn't think it would be a problem in fact it never entered my head that I might bleed during sex (thick yes I know now!) Anyway of course I did bleed and he freaked out a bit. Calmed down and told me all was ok and it had happened him before but I feel like a total b!itch! :( Was awake the whole night worrying about it. Not even the embarrassment coz I can get over that no probs but it's a newish relationship, only started sleeping together in past 3weeks or so and I am just scared that he is gna end things over this. I totally understand if he does because I know it's disgusting and he has every right to want rid of me now but things were going great til this! Tried asking him about it this morning he just told me I was over thinking it and to stop bringing it up! Have never had sex on my period in any relationship before this but I really like and trust him and really thought it would be ok. Has this happened? Is there anything I can do to redeem myself or make it blow over. We're going so well I don't want this stupid mistake to ruin everything!

Sounds like an idiot to me... you should've made him sleep on the wet patch.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

starbelgrade, if you can't post constructively, please don't post.

Please read the charter, thank you.

Silverfish wrote: »
    starbelgrade, if you can't post constructively, please don't post.

Please read the charter, thank you.

OK - the first post wasn't any help... but I'd still give the same advice from my 2nd post - freaking out over something that happens so naturally is ridiculous in my books, so instead of her being worried about it, she should've lost no sleep over it & had a right go at the dude.

Then made him sleep on the wet patch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Huh?! How is a human function disgusting? And... no, it's not understandable

OK - the first post wasn't any help... but I'd still give the same advice from my 2nd post - freaking out over something that happens so naturally is ridiculous in my books, so instead of her being worried about it, she should've lost no sleep over it & had a right go at the dude.

Then made him sleep on the wet patch.

Taking a **** is something that's natural and a human function, I still wouldnt expect an someone to do it during sex. The bf's re-action was perfectly fine in my book.

Maybe I don't get enough, but when I do get it I certainly don't complain! It's only a bit of blood.

You're not comparing like with like, as you well know.

Look at the language the OP uses - no offence Wibbs but you seem to be coming across a tad disingenuous here. I did not say the boyfriend should feel obliged to be ok with menstrual blood because it's natural, I said the OP shouldn't feel ashamed of it... because it's natural.
    I agree 100%, but equally that's as much the OP's issue as it is her partners. Someone's embarrassment is their own and they should own it accordingly. It may definitely be triggered by another, but it's based in ones own issue. Do I have an issue with something I have no control over, bodily function or not? No. If someone else takes issue well then that issue rests with them, not me. The OP reacted to the BF's response because of her own issue. He may have brought that to the surface, but it was under the surface in her. Both need to see it's a non issue. I simply have a problem with the notion that fault lays entirely at his feet.

You're not comparing like with like, as you well know.
    Actually he is in some ways. I mean there are other sex acts where what he refers to can be in play. Accidents happen and both should own that if they are both partaking in that. AsI say I take issue with the idea it's all his fault. Blame is for the schoolyard, adults acknowledge what can happen happens and take it from there and hopefully have a laugh about it. To feel shame one must at a surface level feel it's shameful. In this case both did from different angles. Storm in a teacup IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

I know it's disgusting and he has every right to want rid of me

Please do at least one thing if nothing else form this incident, don't ever think like this again. It's anything but disgusting, it's natural and as men it's the least our gender could do to acknowledge this.

As regards the situation, you say it was blood on the condom. To be honest, if I were to spot blood anywhere in that general area I know my instant reaction would be one of grave concern of slight panic but I know for a fact that would be because it would be a natural gut reaction to think that something was amiss in his department before realising what was actually going on and believe me, the thought of anything happening to our family jewels scares the crap out of us! :D

Anyways, you really shouldn't worry about this OP, nothing to either panic or be ashamed about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭goldfishlover

just get him to do anal during your period in future, problem solved

Somone may well get ticked off off this, but I just burst my ass off laughing at that... seriously funny!

But it does tie in with what Wibbs said.. "Blame is for the schoolyard... To feel shame one must at a surface level feel it's shameful. In this case both did from different angles. Storm in a teacup".

As Woody Allen once said, "sex is only dirty if you do it properly".

That was before he started sh*gging his adopted daughter, so it's OK to agree with it.

I think. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Anyway of course I did bleed and he freaked out a bit.

His reaction was completely stupid. He 'freaked out' over a small amount of blood? His stupid over-reaction has led to your subsequent irrational over-reaction. You're totally overthinking something that isn't really a big deal.

I totally understand if he does because I know it's disgusting and he has every right to want rid of me now but things were going great til this!

Do you always blow things so wildly out of proportion? If a guy dumped you over something like that it would be the best thing that could happen, as you'd be rid of a complete idiot. But he's told you he's fine with it so what's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

To be fair the sight of blood would freak most people out initially. Did I do damage? What just happened. Is it mine? You can understand that. Personally it is a bit manky to be fair, but that is JUST MY opionon, however, these things happen and it certainly isn't by any means a deal breaker. If he dumped you over it you've dodged a large bullet there!

You seem to be totally freaking out over this. It's about as minor a mishap as you can have in the bedroom! It's not like the donkey got stuck in the chains and the midget got trampled... I've said too much. These things will happen, and as you mature as a couple you can get over these things very quickly. Both of you freaking out and overreacting will make a small issue a massive one.

R

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

I seriously don't understand lads who are freaked out by this? It's only a bit of blood sure :confused:
    Sex comes first for me and if the girl I'm with is on the blob then all that's needed is a towel laid beneath here and we're good to go.
    OP - Don't be embarrassed or worried about it.

I seriously don't understand lads who are freaked out by this? It's only a bit of blood sure :confused:

That isn't the point though. You might find it fine, and fair enough. The point is that the OP shouldn't have decided for her boyfriend, she should have told him and then let him make the decision to determine if he wants to have sex with her when she is on her period. Surely that makes sense? She assumed a position for him to take, which isn't entirely fair.

She thought she was finished her period though, there was no bleeding all that day. It was the sex that caused the last tiny bit of bleeding. This could have happened two days before her period was even due. So is she supposed to warn her boyfriend off two weeks a month just in case?

It was totally accidental, it's not like she bled all over him and caused an enormous mess. It was a little bit of blood on a condom, that would never have made an appearance had they not been having sex.

Massive overreaction by the bf and the OP. If women went around worrying about these things and warning guys off, nobody would ever have sex. Breakthrough bleeding can happen anytime, especially if you're on the pill.

It's not a big deal, at all.

She thought she was finished her period though, there was no bleeding all that day. It was the sex that caused the last tiny bit of bleeding. This could have happened two days before her period was even due. So is she supposed to warn her boyfriend off two weeks a month just in case?

It's a new relationship, she should have asked him what he felt about it instead of just going ahead with it anyway. If he said no, she should recognise that he isn't into that, if he says yes, fair enough that's his decision. It's relatively simple I would have thought?
    It was totally accidental, it's not like she bled all over him and caused an enormous mess. It was a little bit of blood on a condom, that would never have made an appearance had they not been having sex.

Yes, that's why she should have asked him first whether or not he wanted to have sex given the fact that she was on her period.
    Massive overreaction by the bf and the OP. If women went around worrying about these things and warning guys off, nobody would ever have sex. Breakthrough bleeding can happen anytime, especially if you're on the pill.

I don't think he overreacted. She should have asked him his opinion before going ahead with something like this.
    It's not a big deal, at all.

Again, it may not be a big deal to you, or to others. However as I mentioned in my first post on this thread. There are cultural groups which consider having sex during a period to be unclean, or something that is frowned upon in their culture. In general some people don't like it for personal reasons. Both of these should be respected. So yes, it could be a very big deal for someone in either of those situations.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Boyfriends reaction aside.

I'm actually worried that OP thinks that seeping a little blood during sex is a dumpable offence.

You're holding yourself to a ridiculous standard and if you're not comfortable enough with your partner or yourself to handle this you really shouldn't be having sex.

It's a new relationship, she should have asked him what he felt about it instead of just going ahead with it anyway. If he said no, she should recognise that he isn't into that, if he says yes, fair enough that's his decision. It's relatively simple I would have thought?

Ok, you're a bloke so you obviously don't get it. She hadn't bled the whole day... she wasn't on her period. Her period had finished as far as she was concerned. She wouldn't have bled unless they'd had sex. The action of having sex is what made the blood come out.

I'll ask you again - would you like your gf to warn you a few days before and after her period as well? That would mean about 10 days sex-free, just in case blood comes out.
    Yes, that's why she should have asked him first whether or not he wanted to have sex given the fact that she was on her period.

She hadn't been bleeding that day - her period was finished.

Again, it may not be a big deal to you, or to others. However as I mentioned in my first post on this thread. There are cultural groups which consider having sex during a period to be unclean, or something that is frowned upon in their culture. In general some people don't like it for personal reasons. Both of these should be respected. So yes, it could be a very big deal for someone in either of those situations.

I completely accept that. But she wasn't on her period. She wasn't actively bleeding. There was nothing to warn him about.

What I'm saying is that there is a risk of a little blood all the time. Men should know this.