Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone use GPS Sureshot 8800

• 07-06-2009 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭

Hi anybody use one of these sureshot 8800. was thinking of buying one, any views??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭LarMan

I use a Sureshot and find it excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

How does it work in terms of saving courses. Can you download as many as you want to your PC for swapping on to the Unit, thus avoiding the annual fees on an on-going basis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

got one of these for a prezzie know. played a few junior scratch cups and none of the clubs will allow it. i cant understand why as they have yardage markers every hole. im going to use it know anyway wheather they like it or not. have to say its handy and it records your stats. brill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Jasonw

fiestaman wrote: »
    got one of these for a prezzie know. played a few junior scratch cups and none of the clubs will allow it. i cant understand why as they have yardage markers every hole. im going to use it know anyway wheather they like it or not. have to say its handy and it records your stats. brill

If you use it in competition you will be disqualified unless the club have a local rule permitting the use of DMD's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭randomer

Is there a list of what clubs allow these devices?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Icepickle

Have been toying with the idea of getting one of these myself then I noticed that there appears to be a newer one out. Not really sure if there is much difference but you might want to investigate further before parting with your cash.

http://www.motocaddy.com/sureshot-golf-gps;jsessionid=0a010b431f4392be486befad48c08b84923538709f04.e3eSc38LcheTe34Pa38Ta38TaNf0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Have one. Excellent. Great for practice rounds when calibrating club distances.

Does anyone know if there is a stockist in Dublin? I would like to get one of these tomorrow so that I could use it at the weekend. There are stockists listed on their website, but none in Dublin.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

randomer wrote: »
    Is there a list of what clubs allow these devices?

I asked the GUI and they don't. I thought as the keepers of golf in Ireland, they would have a record of all rules etc, but things don't seem to work like that.

Only club I know is Coollatin, I'm happy to edit this post to build up a database if more post

Castlewarden GC
    Coollatin GC
    Dungarvan GC
    Waterford GC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 dublinbhoy62

Hi Randomer, i have a Sureshot 8800 which i got about three months ago. The reason i got it was for my home club but it is not on it. I have used it in Tulfarris, Luttrelstown, trim, portmarnock links, etc and it is very good. I am willing to let it go as i said my home club is not on it. PM me if you are interested.

Thanks for the offer. I actually bought one on Friday from Golf-GPS.ie. I dropped into their office in Ballymount and picked one up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Hi Randomer, i have a Sureshot 8800 which i got about three months ago. The reason i got it was for my home club but it is not on it. I have used it in Tulfarris, Luttrelstown, trim, portmarnock links, etc and it is very good. I am willing to let it go as i said my home club is not on it. PM me if you are interested.

But one of the selling points of the 8800 is that you can map your own course fairly easily. One walk around your course early one morning and you'd have it mapped precisely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Garda S Horgan

I've got one of the Sureshot 8800. It's worked fine up until this week and it can't lock onto any satellite. It find many of them when switched on but then slowly loses contact and ends up with zero bars and a message saying "Acquiring" but it never finds one.
    Has anyone had this issue before? I've tried the resets and downloading the latest software etc..

Yours in GPS,
    GSH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

1916 wrote: »
    How does it work in terms of saving courses. Can you download as many as you want to your PC for swapping on to the Unit, thus avoiding the annual fees on an on-going basis?

AFAIK you cannot store the courses on the computer, they can only be downloaded directly to the device. That was the one reason I went for the Golf Buddy, no download fees whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

fiestaman wrote: »

you're a troll but anyway........

slightly different would you not say?

great attitude by the way,you should get a four-ball goin with Elliot Saltman,VJ,Michele Wie and yourself.I'd say you lot would come in with a great score in a scramble no matter how bad the golf was.

btw what's the craic with sticking the word 'know' into sentences just for the laugh?

heavyballs wrote: »
    you're a troll but anyway........

slightly different would you not say?

great attitude by the way,you should get a four-ball goin with Elliot Saltman,VJ,Michele Wie and yourself.I'd say you lot would come in with a great score in a scramble no matter how bad the golf was.

btw what's the craic with sticking the word 'know' into sentences just for the laugh?
    I've been told my Sureshot customer support in the UK that the device is faulty if it' can't lock onto a satelite and that to repair it is too expensive so they will post out an 8850, but it costs 110 sterling including postage, so thats 130 euro.
    I've had it exactly 2 years this month and in my view the device has been treated perfectly and is in perfect condition, just that it's inner workings have decided not to lock onto a satellite.
    I know the warranty is for 1 year, but shelling out 270 euro 2 years ago and for the device to be faulty ater 2 years is not long enough use in my view. Any thoughts on this?
    I woudl have expected a fix for a faulty product or a replacement as it's only 2 years since newly bought.
    I don't fancy spending 130 quid becuase their device is faulty.

Yours in wonderment,
    GSH.

I've been told my Sureshot customer support in the UK that the device is faulty if it' can't lock onto a satelite and that to repair it is too expensive so they will post out an 8850, but it costs 110 sterling including postage, so thats 130 euro.
    I've had it exactly 2 years this month and in my view the device has been treated perfectly and is in perfect condition, just that it's inner workings have decided not to lock onto a satellite.
    I know the warranty is for 1 year, but shelling out 270 euro 2 years ago and for the device to be faulty ater 2 years is not long enough use in my view. Any thoughts on this?
    I woudl have expected a fix for a faulty product or a replacement as it's only 2 years since newly bought.
    I don't fancy spending 130 quid becuase their device is faulty.

Yours in wonderment,
    GSH.

I've just had a quick look at various forums to see if this happened with other devices and it has. It's been happening at least as far back as Feb 09 when I bought the unit. In my view, if there is a known fault, then the retailers should be explaining to customers that this fault, should it occur with their device, will be covered on extended warranty.

I think it's a disgrace that if there is a known fault that they still sell units and then when the known fault happens that they pull the 12 month warranty card.

I'm thinking of fighting this one.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

#23 Posted : Monday, February 23, 2009 7:25:00 AM
    Heather Gleed
    anonymous-medium-female.jpg
    Handicap: 16
    Essex

I got this message today, because I am sending it to Australia by fee post I will not have proof of posting dose any one know how much it will cost do not want to lose the gps in the post.
    Thank you for your email.

It appears that your unit is having difficulty processing GPS information
    received from then GPS satellites. In order to repair this, it will need to
    be returned to our head office.

Please send it to the address below, attentioned to me. You can send it via
    Australia Post Reply Paid No: 84862.

Please include a copy of all your emails with the unit and only send the
    unit itself. Your Return Authorisation Number is: 1678

Best regards,

Bruce

SureshotGPS Support

SureshotGPS

11 Maurice Court

Nunawading VIC 3131

Ph: 1300 644 523 Option 2

Fax: 03 9873 1433

Email: support@sureshotgps.com

Web: www.sureshotgps.com

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

As a Guard, you should be able to understand the sale of goods act where the product should be fit for normal purpose and reasonably durable? Does it apply here?

You should be well able to argue that 2 years isn't a fair reflection of "fit for purpose" and be able to get a repair/replacement, regardless of warranty IMO. Particularly if there are other known complaints out there...

I'd either go for the repair/replacement (if applicable) or else give them a counter-offer for the other model (assuming it's newer and better?).

I know the rights, but it's not cut and dried, especially when it comes to goods outdoors. On the other side I could jsut as easily bring it in, pretend to check it, then write back that it must have fallen on the fairway or was hit off something in a bag, and to swear that in 24 months none of this happened would be impossible.
    In this case I think it would be up to the vendor to "do the decent thing" but if it got any farther, there is enough out there to keep me from getting a replacement for free.
    We'll see though.
    I've sent a few mails.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

The latest on this is that the support teams in the UK are saying that it's tough luck.
    They are refusing at the moment to replace or repair the device and they are even refusing to cancel the membership I took out on Sunday (even though I've since found out I'm paid up till May).
    The unit was only 20 months old.
    I've decided to go down the legal route and I'll also be putting up the "support" emails that I got from that crowd.
    If they are not going to replace what is obviously a faulty device then I'll make sure that everyone knows what to expect if they have an issue with theirs.
    It's a disgrace.
    I've a warranty on the membership and they are refusing to repair the device as it's too complex and it's bought only 3 days ago so I shoudl be able to get that back without any issues. Shameful treatement of customers who pay out big money for these devices.
    They should work for 5 years+ without any issues.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

This is the reply I got from Sureshot.

"Your model, which is one of the Original models, has a complex, integrated printed circuit board (PCB) that was developed by the previous owners of the company. As detailed in the previous email, the PCB in this model is very difficult to repair - hence the reduced price of the replacement. We could repair yours, but the likely costs would exceed $300.00 and it is less expensive for you to replace the unit entirely."

So, without even taking the unit back to verify the issue, they know what it is and they say it's too expensive for ME to fix it.

They've asked not to go to the retailer, but at this stage I've no other option. At least now I'll be dealing with someone in Ballymount and not uk/Australia who really don't seem to care.

Yours in rage,
    GSH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Supateer

This is the reply I got from Sureshot.

"Your model, which is one of the Original models, has a complex, integrated printed circuit board (PCB) that was developed by the previous owners of the company. As detailed in the previous email, the PCB in this model is very difficult to repair - hence the reduced price of the replacement. We could repair yours, but the likely costs would exceed $300.00 and it is less expensive for you to replace the unit entirely."

So, without even taking the unit back to verify the issue, they know what it is and they say it's too expensive for ME to fix it.

They've asked not to go to the retailer, but at this stage I've no other option. At least now I'll be dealing with someone in Ballymount and not uk/Australia who really don't seem to care.

Yours in rage,
    GSH.

I don't really see why you are in a rage, GSH. We have all got used to electronic gadgets getting better and lasting ages, but they occasionally do break down. Some manufacturers are better at goodwill than others, but that is what it is, goodwill. As you should be aware, in law the situation is very clear, and you have had the device for double the warranty period. The maker has every right to refuse a replacement IMHO.

The offer from Australia seemed very fair to me?

Regards

Supateer wrote: »
    I don't really see why you are in a rage, GSH. We have all got used to electronic gadgets getting better and lasting ages, but they occasionally do break down. Some manufacturers are better at goodwill than others, but that is what it is, goodwill. As you should be aware, in law the situation is very clear, and you have had the device for double the warranty period. The maker has every right to refuse a replacement IMHO.

The offer from Australia seemed very fair to me?

Regards

The latest on this is that the retailer in Ireland is doing a deal with me on this and I'll have the new device tomorrow.
    That should be an end to it and shows up Irish retailers in a good light.
    What laws are you saying are clear? I actually got it in May 09 and it was not working in Feb this year, so approx 20 months.
    Yes, it's past the 1 year warranty but warranty is in addition to, and not replacing, consumer rights.
    Devices such as this should last a reasonable period of time and buying one every year and a half is not reasonable.
    The Aussies didn't care, but from talking to the Irish retailer they have the same view as me and they reckoned that, regarless of warranty, that the device was faulty and should have been replaced.
    They examined the device and the issue was exactly as described by the support team in Australia, which is proof that it's a known issue. They knew the problem was with a circuit board, but they didn't want to accept any responsibility for it.
    As it is, I'm hoping that by tomorrow it will have been sorted and for your own sake I hope that you don't always accept that things break and that it's your tough luck. If something is faulty then it should not be your hard luck, unless of course it's lasted many many years (a reasonable time).

I've said it elsewhere that it's at times like this that I am glad to be dealing with someone down the road on the phone rather than someone online or half a planet away.

If I had dealt with the Irish retailer from the outset I think this would not have been an issue.

***Edit*** a New device was delivered today. Fair play to the Irish guys in this regard. I'm going to be buying locally for anything like this in the future. If something goes wrong then I don't want to have to do the email support lark again. Nice one Sureshot Ireland!! ***

Yours in having faith restored in Irish Retailers,
    GSH.