Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

arriving at airport (standby flights)

• 07-06-2009 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭

anyone have any thoughts on whether it would be possible to arrive at the airport to try and get a cancellation flight to new york ,as a money saving type thing ,would this get to messy or can it be done ?
    any answers greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

You might get a standby ticket for chaper? But you run the risk of not getting on the aircraft which would be a waste of time for you. Would it not be better to book online in advance to get the cheapest ticket you can get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Your not allowed any checked luggage on a standby flight and you are never guaranteed a seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭pandamoanium

How does one go about getting a standby ticket?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

endasmail wrote: »
    anyone have any thoughts on whether it would be possible to arrive at the airport to try and get a cancellation flight to new york ,as a money saving type thing.........
    I don't think you cab get standby tickets any more. And with the competition out of DUB you would be better getting a deal online. Standby can end up equally expensive if you don't get on and need to stay longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Standby for non-airline staff is virtually non-existant these days. Get a deal online, as suggested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

thanks lads ,think i be booking before hand
    cost a feckin fortune

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

I think the airlines thinking is that if you arrive on the day without a ticket you'll end up pauing a lot more cos you're desperate. Booking online when a sale is announced is the best way of flying cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 bella21

My Dad is an ex-Aer Lingus employee so we get staff travel tickets (standby). I don't think if you aren't staff you can get standby tickets, (I work at Dublin Airport and don't know of anyway of getting any)

It's great for us (just pay taxes and maybe small fee) but really its only useful for long haul to the US. You can't really plan ahead - I happened on an Internal US flight (Seattle to SanFran standby) that my dad was actually taken off the plane cos It was overbooked. We went on without him and he got one with another airline by himself(still standby)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

bella21 wrote: »
    My Dad is an ex-Aer Lingus employee so we get staff travel tickets (standby)................. You can't really plan ahead ................. my dad was actually taken off the plane cos It was overbooked.
    I remeber well 2 awful days spent in Bangkok trying to get home! Not pleasant