Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cavan vs Fermanagh Saturday

• 05-06-2009 11:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭

Deferred coverage at nine on RTE. I had heard it'd be the full game but I hear now its just highlights. Does anyone know for definite?

Sadly, I can't see anything but a Fermanagh win here. The great Dermot McCabe has been past it for the last few years but is now gone completely and Cavan are just stuck in a rut.

I was hoping Tommy Carr would have a big impact on Cavan football but he hasn't at all and, instead of replacing the old guard from '97, he's started bringing the older players back!

I wish someone would come into the Cavan setup and give the new young players a chance to go it alone and see how they get on.

Cavan Starting 15:

CAVAN (Ulster SFC v Fermanagh): James Reilly (Drung); Michael Hannon (Drumgoon), Dermot Sheridan (Mullahoran), Michael Brides (Oliver Plunketts); Padraic O’Reilly (Ballinagh), Eugene Keating (Cuchullains), John McCutcheon (Cootehill); Ciaran Galligan (Drung), Nicholas Walsh (Cavan Gaels), Sean Brady (Castlerahan), Ronan Flanagan (Castlerahan, captain), Cian Mackey (Castlerahan), Sean Johnston (Cavan Gaels), Ray Cullivan (Ballyhaise), Martin Reilly (Killygarry).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Not too sure but I'd say it would just be highlights.I remember last year when Czech Republic were playing in Euro 2008 and RTE covered that instead of Offaly v Westmeath.RTE then went on to present the highlights of the game between Offaly and Westmeath and I remembered thinking how short the program was.Cavan v Ferrmanagh is being streamed live on their website though.

As for the game itself,well Fermanagh have never beaten Cavan in Breffni.Unfortunately for Cavan,they haven't been at the races in years and Johnston is too relied upon.I would have put Cavan behind Down in Ulster and Fermanagh beat them weeks ago plus Fermanagh have had more and better preparation against bigger teams than Cavan.

If I was Tommy Carr,I'd stress the importance of not conceding frees.Had Down not done this,it could have been a Down v Cavan match.I'd also be hoping that defense isn't too leaky and that more of the forwards can produce a good performance.If Cavan can do 2 of these 3 things,they have a good chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

blackbelt wrote: »
    Not too sure but I'd say it would just be highlights.I remember last year when Czech Republic were playing in Euro 2008 and RTE covered that instead of Offaly v Westmeath.RTE then went on to present the highlights of the game between Offaly and Westmeath and I remembered thinking how short the program was.Cavan v Ferrmanagh is being streamed live on their website though.

As for the game itself,well Fermanagh have never beaten Cavan in Breffni.Unfortunately for Cavan,they haven't been at the races in years and Johnston is too relied upon.I would have put Cavan behind Down in Ulster and Fermanagh beat them weeks ago plus Fermanagh have had more and better preparation against bigger teams than Cavan.

If I was Tommy Carr,I'd stress the importance of not conceding frees.Had Down not done this,it could have been a Down v Cavan match.I'd also be hoping that defense isn't too leaky and that more of the forwards can produce a good performance.If Cavan can do 2 of these 3 things,they have a good chance.

Coverage last an hour and a half so I would think its the full game. BCC are showing the full game.

The backline is weak and Cavan are still struggling to find a decent full back. That new full forward Fermanagh have (is it Carson?) could roast us.

I'm not expecting anything big. Fermanagh may never have bet Cavan at Breffni but these are different times and Fermanagh aren't the whipping boys of Ulster they always were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭corcaioch

Lemlin wrote: »
    Deferred coverage at nine on RTE. I had heard it'd be the full game but I hear now its just highlights. Does anyone know for definite?

Sadly, I can't see anything but a Fermanagh win here. The great Dermot McCabe has been past it for the last few years but is now gone completely and Cavan are just stuck in a rut.

I was hoping Tommy Carr would have a big impact on Cavan football but he hasn't at all and, instead of replacing the old guard from '97, he's started bringing the older players back!

I wish someone would come into the Cavan setup and give the new young players a chance to go it alone and see how they get on.

Cavan Starting 15:

CAVAN (Ulster SFC v Fermanagh): James Reilly (Drung); Michael Hannon (Drumgoon), Dermot Sheridan (Mullahoran), Michael Brides (Oliver Plunketts); Padraic O’Reilly (Ballinagh), Eugene Keating (Cuchullains), John McCutcheon (Cootehill); Ciaran Galligan (Drung), Nicholas Walsh (Cavan Gaels), Sean Brady (Castlerahan), Ronan Flanagan (Castlerahan, captain), Cian Mackey (Castlerahan), Sean Johnston (Cavan Gaels), Ray Cullivan (Ballyhaise), Martin Reilly (Killygarry).

This is a great chance for Cavan to make a breakthrough. Should be a close game between the rivals and if someone like Seanie Johnson can have an on day...an upset could be on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Cavan are 1 point up at half time. Not a very high quality game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Cavan 0-13 Fermanagh 1-09.

Could not find the live web coverage on rte.ie. Anyone have the same problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

It was shown live on BBC One Northern Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Cavan 0-13 Fermanagh 1-09.

Could not find the live web coverage on rte.ie. Anyone have the same problem?
    Mossy Monk wrote: »
    It was shown live on BBC One Northern Ireland?

Trouble with the stream or finiding the link?

I watched on BBC NI, best option for me for watchig the Ulster Championship. Otherwise it is Setanta or streams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Didn't realise they showed it live :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Watched the coverage on RTE after the Ireland match. It was a good tough game and an exciting finish but overall the quality of football was poor. Fermanagh are, imo, quite simply a bad team. They are dreadful to watch, all defensive negativity, endless handpassing and terrible shooting. They embody the worst of modern gaelic football.
    They've tried to adopt that Armagh style of getting people behind the ball and retaining possession, but simply don't have the quality of footballers that Armagh had (and have).

Cavan now have a decent shot of getting to the Ulster Final but I couldn't see them beating Derry or Tyrone. Fermanagh will be hard to beat as usual in the qualifiers but they just don't have the forwards to trouble the top teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Cavan now have a decent shot of getting to the Ulster Final
    They won't get past the semi final. :cool:

smashey wrote: »
    They won't get past the semi final. :cool:

Maybe not, I just said they have a chance now as Donegal (assuming they beat Antrim) are a bit unpredictable and Cavan won't fear them at all. If Donegal play to their best I'd expect them to win but I wouldn't be putting much money on it.

Fermanagh beat themselves. The amount of wides they kicked was unbelievable. All I can hope now is that Cavan battle on and give Donegal a good game.

There was certainly an improvement and I think the Cavan support will be happy to just win a game, although the attendance at the game showed just how sick of the county board and county setup most of the people in the county are.

Fermanagh beat themselves. The amount of wides they kicked was unbelievable.

I sometimes wonder what the Fermanagh players do in training, their shooting is abysmal.

...although the attendance at the game showed just how sick of the county board and county setup most of the people in the county are.

What's the problem with the county board? BTW, what do you think of Tommy Carr as manager? Never really rated him to be honest.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    I sometimes wonder what the Fermanagh players do in training, their shooting is abysmal.

What's the problem with the county board? BTW, what do you think of Tommy Carr as manager? Never really rated him to be honest.

Just the running of the county football team in general has been poor. Donal Keoghan as manager for example.

Then there were problems like refusing to start the county championship each year until the county team were out of the championship. It meant Cavan were playing other teams whose players were alot more hardended and fitter from their local championships than the Cavan team were.

The county team became such a joke that alot of people don´t bother lining out. There are a huge number of players in Cavan who don´t even bother going to county training when called up to the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭celt262

Just the running of the county football team in general has been poor. Donal Keoghan as manager for example.

Then there were problems like refusing to start the county championship each year until the county team were out of the championship. It meant Cavan were playing other teams whose players were alot more hardended and fitter from their local championships than the Cavan team were.

The county team became such a joke that alot of people don´t bother lining out. There are a huge number of players in Cavan who don´t even bother going to county training when called up to the panel.

Who are these players?

celt262 wrote: »
    Who are these players?

To be honest I'd prefer not to post a list of names. Some have told me themselves. Its well known within the county who alot of them are.

Players like Trevor Crowe and Mark McKeever are some better known players who have opted out of the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Who'd have thought it, Antrim or Cavan in an Ulster Final? Livens it up anyway.

Fair play to Antrim, only 5/6 wides as against Donegals 17.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Who'd have thought it, Antrim or Cavan in an Ulster Final? Livens it up anyway.

Fair play to Antrim, only 5/6 wides as against Donegals 17.

How can players at that level shoot so many wides? Some of them were unbelievable. :mad:

Ah well, I look forward to Kerry in the qualifiers. :D

How can players at that level shoot so many wides? Some of them were unbelievable. :mad:

Ah well, I look forward to Kerry in the qualifiers. :D

Some of Ropers where criminal, Kavanagh too but he did get a couple of good points, McFadden an off day too though he was well marked. We did well at midfield which is probably the only good thing to take from it.

Any Non Ulster side in the qualifiers please, barring Kerry! :o

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Shocking...absolutely shocking.What has happened to Donegal football?We knew there'd be an upset over the weekend and I thought Laois v Louth would be the game but this is the upset of the season so far.

I'd rather not talk about it. :p

You aren't giving Antrim and Ulster Football credit.

What happened was what needed to happen for Antrim to win (no disrespect), Donegal where sh*te and Antrim only kicked 5/6 wides, kept Donegal close at half time and got their goal in the 57th minute to go 4 points up when usually the other Ulster team would be kicking on. It was all Donegal after that but some of the misses where criminal.

Basically, everything went right for Antrim and wrong for Donegal. In one way iy may be a good thing, give them a kick up the ass.

No disrespect to Ulster or Antrim but Donegal were expected to breeze through this game and Antrim are no great shakes.Cavan must really fancy their chances of making an Ulster Final now.

I wouldn't take any positives from a defeat whether it be a kick up the ass or not.It is a missed opportunity for Donegal to get an easier passage into the last 16 or 8 even.

No disrespect to Ulster or Antrim but Donegal were expected to breeze through this game and Antrim are no great shakes.Cavan must really fancy their chances of making an Ulster Final now.

I wouldn't take any positives from a defeat whether it be a kick up the ass or not.It is a missed opportunity for Donegal to get an easier passage into the last 16 or 8 even.

I'd liken it to Wicklow and Westmeath. Very similar scenario. Wicklow could have won that game yesterday and nearly did. Far too many unfit players put on today. I wouldn't go so far as McHugh and say this is the end of that team. It's a very different team from 02 with a lot of young lads and good players introduced since. McHugh just assumed it was roughly the same team. McIver brought in a lot of new players. Hegarty and Roper arte yesterdays men, definitely. The rest of the team is quite young.

Easier passage? Hard to know. They'd an embarrassing defeat to Fermanagh in 03 and got to a AI SF, though that was a decent draw. I actually feared them getting to an Ulster Final and putting up a decent show. Think that was a worse scenario.

PS. Minor correction, last 8 or 12 which Cavan or Antrim will be vying for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I'd rather not talk about it. :p

Nope, your not getting off that easy. What happened Smashey, what happened? I expect an extremely long and painfully written account of the whole debacle. :)

That scoreline would have been acceptable for a challenge match.

I would think that it would be better for Donegal to get to an Ulster Final.If they were to play Tyrone and lose,they'd be better equipped to go on and beat a team like Monaghan,Armagh or possibly a vulnerable Kerry up in Ballyshannon.

Some teams fare better going a more direct route.Donegal failed to make an impact in the qualifiers two years ago after beating the top teams in the league.I think going for an Ulster Final at least would have boosted their chances.They are well able to beat Meath,Offaly or Wexford but after that I wouldn't fancy them to beat Armagh,Monaghan or Kerry.

That scoreline would have been acceptable for a challenge match.

I would think that it would be better for Donegal to get to an Ulster Final.If they were to play Tyrone and lose,they'd be better equipped to go on and beat a team like Monaghan,Armagh or possibly a vulnerable Kerry up in Ballyshannon.

Some teams fare better going a more direct route.Donegal failed to make an impact in the qualifiers two years ago after beating the top teams in the league.I think going for an Ulster Final at least would have boosted their chances.They are well able to beat Meath,Offaly or Wexford but after that I wouldn't fancy them to beat Armagh,Monaghan or Kerry.

Sure who knows?

Yep an Ulster Final would be better, but if you meet Kerry then? Also depends on meeting Tyrone. A 15 point hammering like 07 is no good either.

I think losing to Antrim may do this team the world of good. Bring them down a step or two.Think that's a fair assessment. They've a point to prove now, unlike if they'd beaten Antrim and Cavan. That's when they are a dangerous team.

The last 2/3 years have been the exception in the Qualifiers and we have a good record in them, especially if its a non Ulster County. I'd fancy Armagh or Monaghan now, a wounded Donegal team can be dangerous!

Orizio wrote: »
    Nope, your not getting off that easy. What happened Smashey, what happened? I expect an extremely long and painfully written account of the whole debacle. :)
    How about an extremely short and painful account?

They were shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Donegal? More like DoneLOL am I right? ;)

Daysha wrote: »
    Donegal? More like DoneLOL am I right? ;)
    /eyes up Admin status menacingly with thoughts of abuse of power :p

How about that hex Cruiserweight put on Donegal in that dirty PM.;)

I thought of that yesterday. I'll get him back at some stage.

Yes...Donegal v Wexford in Ballyshannon....Battle of the mods...Love iiiittt.:D

Ballybofey ftw.

And if Dublin don't improve, the winner will get them in the next round. :p

I'd have a field day with either one of you if that was the case although the Delaney Cup will stay in Dublin this year.

Pity we don't have a mod from Kildare.:p

To be honest I'd prefer not to post a list of names. Some have told me themselves. Its well known within the county who alot of them are.

Players like Trevor Crowe and Mark McKeever are some better known players who have opted out of the panel.

Mark Mckeever was dropped from the panel and i would have my doubts on if Trevor Crowe was asked in. There aint that many id say who were asked in and refused that would make a difference.

celt262 wrote: »
    Mark Mckeever was dropped from the panel and i would have my doubts on if Trevor Crowe was asked in. There aint that many id say who were asked in and refused that would make a difference.

Crowe opted out of the panel several years ago. Like several players did.

McKeever dropped out of the panel like McCabe. McCabe's 'retirement' is much like Larry Reilly's like year. If a different manager was in charge, he wouldn't be retired.

Crowe opted out of the panel several years ago. Like several players did.

McKeever dropped out of the panel like McCabe. McCabe's 'retirement' is much like Larry Reilly's like year. If a different manager was in charge, he wouldn't be retired.

McKeever got the boot for drinking. McCabe didnt even bother turning up to the Offally league game and was underminding Carr in training and not putting in the effort, so as much of a loss he is he was unsettling the camp.