Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shoud I stay or should I go??

• 05-06-2009 12:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

hey boardos

as you can see from my lateness of starting this thread I was lying in bed but couldnt get to sleep because I have a mojor issue on my mind and was wondering if i threw it up on here, maybe It would shed light on my situation!

Im a 2nd year college student, I just finished exams and have moved back home to wexford - go to college in dublin. I took a gap year last year and moved to NZ for the year so im fairly independent and can live grand out on my own Im 20 by the way if that makes a difference!

basically my problem is €€, Myself, from not working, and basically being a student Ive racked up about €3000 in debt to boi, ulster bank and my credit card. I have a well off 90yr old granny who would slip me a 50er on occasion when i go visit (shes in leitrim) but other than that zilch income throughout the year, my whole maintenence grant went on the rent of my accomadation.

I really feel the need to escape this country and the boredom of being back home(originally moved from dublin to wexford, so majority of mates etc up in dublin!) so i signed up to become a camp counsellor In the USA, basically you pay €400 and The agency pays for your flights visa etc and on arrival you've got a job straight away with accomadation and food included - I managed underage kids soccer here so Ideally Im looking to be placed in an outdoorsy camp which will keep the sun on my back and getting paid (min $100 p/w) keep me in the green and hopefully having a good time!

my question is, should i go with all this financial gloom hanging over me? I know the banks will be pissed, 2k of that boi loan is due in next week!(student travel loan if your familiar with it) and then next year with my parents having very, very little money with dads business dying of death down here and mother not working am I better off trying to find a fulltime job? as little hope as that sounds.......

thanks for any advice I cant sleep urrggg!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

If you could get work in Ireland that pays no but other then that yes.Even if its cleaning toilets. You should go to MABS- money advice centr - and discuss your options and approach the banks etc.Call them today.

http://www.mabs.ie/

You need a bank account etc for the next few years to you will need to talk to them. They (the banks) may lay down the law a bit but they also will see the reality that keeping a student happy will eventually mean repayment.

Be careful though if your Dad has guranteed your loan as it may cause a problem but dont be afraid to discuss it with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

€3000 isn't that much in the bigger scheme of things. If that + grant was what you lived on you must be managing day to day expenses well on a tight budget.

$100 a week is almost nothing to be paid but if you are getting a free flight and accomodation and have nothing better to do here it's not a bad idea and you might have a great time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

ok, to summarise: you took a loan off the banks, you went away for a year and had a brilliant time. It's now time to pay the money back, and you don't want to face it, because you don't have any money, so you're planning on running away from your responsibilities and postponing facing your debts until the end of the summer? and you don't plan on saying anything to the banks?

sure what could possibly go wrong??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Really, really don't do this. Really. I missed out on some loan payments when I was in uni due to just not having it, and I dodged the bank because I was just scared.

Now at 25, I can't get a credit card or even an overdraft. Which sucks. You will definitely regret it in future... call the bank, sort something out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭Plek Trum

Sorry mate - you were kind enough to yourself to take a gap year, go see New Zealand and now you dont want to face the reality of paying back this loan?

Come on, no point playing the 'I cant afford it' or 'my parents have very very little money' card. You were comfortable and happy enough to go travelling - why didnt you stay here, get a job like the majority of students (however menial it may be) and SAVE money towards your next year in college?

Instead of packing your bags to get the sunshine on your back (?) get a job in wexford, ANY job and face up to your responsibilities.
    http://jobbank.fas.ie/servlet/Watis?SESS=10036_3&SERVICE=CRITERIUMSELECT&VALUE=SE60

I had to work right through each summer and during the college term (4 years) as my parents were 27euro's over the annual grant limit for me to qualify for even that. Stop feeling sorry for yourself, make a commitment to getting a job for the summer AND during the college year and get on with it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Serena08

Im sorry I also agree with Phlek on this no point in running away the problem will still be here when you come back only then it will be twice as bad. Also if your dad was good enough to guarentte the loans :( thats so not on:mad: think of your future you will ruin your credit rating and thats very hard to regain.. so my advice is get a job sort yourself out and cherish your memories of Newzeland.... if you decide to go don't just leave approach the banks contact MABS for advice as previously stated and please speak to your Dad best of luck with what ever you decide;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Listen, OP, you'll be thick on an almighty level if you feck off anywhere without talking to the bank and explaining your situation.

Don't be an eejit.

I write this as somebody who owes €20,000 to my bank for my education. But I don't miss the payments, and when I thought I couldn't make them in 2007, I told them and we rescheduled the loan. Grand. Sorted.

Cop yourself on. Quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

go talk to the bank. At the moment they'd much rather reschedule the loan so thay will know they have income coming in than having you default on the loan and they end up with bad debt.

And don't run. Your credit rating will follow you regardless.