Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did ye all find your irish paper?

• 04-06-2009 6:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Wondering did ye all think the paper was hard/easy?

I thought it wasn't too bad, as long as paper II is easy enough then I'll do better than I did in the mocks?

BTW I did honours :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Wikipedia

I go to an all irish school, so pretty simple to be honest.

Paper 2 will be harder because I dont know any poems or my novel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Wikipedia wrote: »
    I go to an all irish school, so pretty simple to be honest.

Paper 2 will be harder because I dont know any poems or my novel

yea, im just wondering, since you go to an irish school would you be able to translate it like really easily? i know its a stupid question but im just wondering how easy it would be for you? and would your essay be full of complicated phrases and stuff?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 j'aime

thats awesome you go to an irish school, where?
    i think it will be easy.
    what themes are ye learning ?

yea, im just wondering, since you go to an irish school would you be able to translate it like really easily? i know its a stupid question but im just wondering how easy it would be for you? and would your essay be full of complicated phrases and stuff?:confused:

Well All the work we do (history, Maths, Geography etc) is done through irish and we speak it every day or else detention so it comes fairly naturally to us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 iheartboosh

It went fine for me!
    The story I've spent most of the year practicising was "An Stoirm" so I was pretty happy with that :)
    I find comhras far easier to do than agallamhs so I did the comhra about arguing with my parents about dying my hair a different colour :P
    Paper 2 is what I'm really focusing on though, I want to do well in the studied pros and poetry sections.
    Oh and just a little tip for the prose and poetry: gra,bas,uaigneas,ainmhi,greann and fearg all seem to be popular themes so if you study those you'll do well enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Yeah I wish I went to an Irish school, fluent Irish and bonus marks in exams...sweet.

Anyway, I found the tape a struggle, especially the spelling, I just put down answers spelt for everything. So I'm hoping I'll pass it. My essay was alright, my aggalamh was alright and my comprehension was alright though.
    Unless paper 2 is incredibly hard or incredibly easy, I should get a C in best-case scenario, but nothing less than a D.

j'aime wrote: »
    thats awesome you go to an irish school, where?
    i think it will be easy.
    what themes are ye learning ?

One in galway.

im not learning any, just taking a shot in the dark to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭CianDon

I did the comhra aswell. In general I thought it was an easy enough paper all round but I didn't have a storm story so had to make it into a fire one taht I knew so it was ok. Roll on paper 2 BTW, if you're learning the pros I find an Tadh and Dioltas an Madra Rua always seem to work and there preety easy to learn.

as long as i dont get bitten in the ass for not doing any study today, I should be grand.

Well All the work we do (history, Maths, Geography etc) is done through irish and we speak it every day or else detention so it comes fairly naturally to us

Very cool... I'd love to speak irish fluently! I just don't have the willpower.. or the teachers!:p

Banrion An Uaigneas && Ectasy are going to be my life-savers for the pros tomorrow! And Subh Milis && Mac An Tailurra && Na Blatha Craige For The filiocht!

Lets take a moment of prayer and hope we all do well...

Amen.!
    :p

Very cool... I'd love to speak irish fluently! I just don't have the willpower.. or the teachers!:p

Banrion An Uaigneas && Ectasy are going to be my life-savers for the pros tomorrow! And Subh Milis && Mac An Tailurra && Na Blatha Craige For The filiocht!

Lets take a moment of prayer and hope we all do well...

Amen.!
    :p
    Blátha Craige for life!!

Also claonn mé mo cheann or An teiliís

and my novel is "Dunmharú Ar An Dart

Blátha Craige for life!!

Also claonn mé mo cheann or An teiliís

you do a novel???:eek: like a book?

same here :)
    I'm hoping to god "bás" comes up! xD

you do a novel???:eek: like a book?

Not a huge one, but ya

and bás better come up, else i'll be mighty pissed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

im sure that i didnt do good on it,as i havent got a clue when it comes to irish and also in the listening comprehension how many bedrooms were in the house?

Not a huge one, but ya

and bás better come up, else i'll be mighty pissed

how much are we supposed to write for a studied pros/filiocht question?
    it says half a page (is what i do) but people i know write a page and a half:eek:

how much are we supposed to write for a studied pros/filiocht question?
    it says half a page (is what i do) but people i know write a page and a half:eek:
    For me I normally write about a full a4 page..but no more really.
    They're only worth 15 marks so no less than half a page should do :)
    As long as you have a quote or two for the poetry you'll do grand!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 kevinreilly93

CianDon wrote: »
    I did the comhra aswell. In general I thought it was an easy enough paper all round but I didn't have a storm story so had to make it into a fire one taht I knew so it was ok. Roll on paper 2 BTW, if you're learning the pros I find an Tadh and Dioltas an Madra Rua always seem to work and there preety easy to learn.

Yeah, I learned a sample answer for an Tadh and my friend learned dioltas an madra rua, I think my sample answer is about a page long with paragraphs in it.

Also for my poem I learned subh milis, I did really well in paper II in the mocks with those answers so I'm not making any changes to it at all!

Have a page for any of the 15 mark ones is enough, i did it and I got 93 in the mocks so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Meller

The only work l did for irish was learning by heart this essay about an accident my friend had in a storm - and in the sceal there it was, an event that happened when you and your friend were in a storm :D Just reeled that one off, hoping l did okay there.

Agallamh was terrible as l was pretty unprepared, but the NASA comprehension was incredibly easy :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

mle1324 wrote: »
    im sure that i didnt do good on it,as i havent got a clue when it comes to irish and also in the listening comprehension how many bedrooms were in the house?

I said 5 but I'm not sure, that section was hard and northern Irish is impossible to understand! I'm only learning Bean Paidin for the poems because it has most of the themes in it, and it's easy to learn because it's so repetitive. Just hoping something like bron or bas comes up for the novel, that those weird paisti stuff that came up in the pres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭AddictedToYou

Woah bringing back memories!

Glad to hear paper one seemed to be ok. It's usually pretty easy though!

I can't give many tips for paper two at this stage. If you've done the work you'll be fine!

mle1324 wrote: »

i thought it said where were the bedrooms in the house?
    crap!..:confused:
    i did crap in the listening!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 daftpunk

i go to an all irish school...found the paper quiet easy thought the titles for aiste/sceal/diospoireacht were bad though

Regarding length of answers for prós and filíocht, I used to write about a page and a half, but that's not necessary. I'd advise an opening paragraph with title, author, one line description, and whatever theme is present.

Then in the second paragraph a summary of the story/ poem.

Final paragraph picking out where in the story the chosen theme can be found. Concluding sentence saying something like 'there's no doubt ... can be seen/felt in this poem/prose.'

That's all you need. And poetry answers can be slightly shorter than prós.

Regarding length of answers for prós and filíocht, I used to write about a page and a half, but that's not necessary. I'd advise an opening paragraph with title, author, one line description, and whatever theme is present.

Then in the second paragraph a summary of the story/ poem.

Final paragraph picking out where in the story the chosen theme can be found. Concluding sentence saying something like 'there's no doubt ... can be seen/felt in this poem/prose.'

That's all you need. And poetry answers can be slightly shorter than prós.

how do you say that?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 simplysidways

here does ne 1 no wat
    Níor shíl mé go dtiocfadh sé/sí ach ansin chuala mé means cos i did a timpiste and i want to no if im ****ed or not thanks :confused:

how do you say that?:D

Níl aon amhras ach go bhfuil téama an ghrá le braith go tréan sa scéal seo.

Caithfear a admháil go bhfuil téama an bhróin le feiceáil síos tríd an dán seo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Ambrosia

Nil aon dabht go bhfuil and ______ chun tosaigh so dán seo. Is my closing line usually.

For the whole thing pretty happy, Comprehension was easy peasy, essay excellent did a stoirm one and the comhra was a trifle off but meh, Its over!

here does ne 1 no wat
    Níor shíl mé go dtiocfadh sé/sí ach ansin chuala mé means cos i did a timpiste and i want to no if im ****ed or not thanks :confused:

I didn't think that he/she would come but then I heard...

You'll probably be ok!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

i thought it said where were the bedrooms in the house?
    crap!..:confused:
    i did crap in the listening!

the gas thing is that i know more French then Irish,and i am only doing french 3 years and irish about 10

Níl aon amhras ach go bhfuil téama an ghrá le braith go tréan sa scéal seo.

Caithfear a admháil go bhfuil téama an bhróin le feiceáil síos tríd an dán seo.

thank you for the tips! all i was gonna do was say where the theme was in the poem and that was it:p thanks!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 kayleigh_

It was ok, but I have a horrible feeling I didn't do very well! :confused:

thank you for the tips! all i was gonna do was say where the theme was in the poem and that was it:p thanks!:D

No bother! Go n-éirí leat ar aon nós!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 simplysidways

I didn't think that he/she would come but then I heard...

You'll probably be ok!

tghanks lad i rote bout timpiste **** but be okay its only irishh fuc it be grand hey

hope paper to b betta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭claudtreacy

my sceal was 3 pages
    nice:D

my sceal was 3 pages
    nice:D
    Mine was 4 and 1/2 :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭claudtreacy

Ambrosia wrote: »
    Mine was 4 and 1/2 :D:D

wowsus
    fair play! you prob got full marks!

Prob marks off for stupid things, though it was pretty good I think, was so lucky I only revised 2 essays the night before and oe happened to be Stoirm. I had to refrain from jumping up and screaming when I saw it. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 ChrisPeacock

Does it not say that you shouldnt go over a page and a half ?? Are you marked after a page and a half ?

No, it says you dont have to, you are perfectly free to do so.

F*@k .. will i get less marks though if i did a good 1 and a quater for gearrsceal and half a page for poetry than if i had done more writing ??!?

Well writing isnt everything, Im a big windbag so I like to take time to say what I want to say. If the things you wrote are of good quality then Im sure you'll do fine, if not .... its only the Junior!

True :p I only put 30mins into studying Geo today and say i will still get around 85 percent .Shocking how easy it was ,especially the short questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 abregy

Lads Im very worried. For my letter in the Irish I wrote it as if I was in the gaeltacht at the moment not last year. Will the marker give me no marks because i wrote the wrong thing. Or will it be marked on the standard of my Irish???

abregy wrote: »
    Lads Im very worried. For my letter in the Irish I wrote it as if I was in the gaeltacht at the moment not last year. Will the marker give me no marks because i wrote the wrong thing. Or will it be marked on the standard of my Irish???
    i nearly fell for that too until I looked at the question again!..
    was it just me or was that question nearly identical to 2008?
    well, I guess marks will have to deducted and if your tenses are wrong..then.. that will lose a couple of marks as well.. you will have to get something though (just pray that the examiner marking your litir is in a good mood)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 omgz

Overall Im happy with the irish papers..
    The Themes suited me perfectly for the story + poem.

But the Fograí wern't that easy!!