Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The New Monthly Tournament at the Sporting Emporium

• 03-06-2009 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

This Sunday sees the return of our Monthly Deepstack Tournament. A few positive changes have been made to it, such as a cheaper entrance fee and bigger starting stack.

Sunday 7th June.

€120 + €10 "No Limit" Hold'em Freezeout.

Starting Stack : 10,000 (plus an early bird chip of 1,000 if you are in your seat for the start of play).

Clock : 20 minutes for 5 levels, 30 minutes from then on.

Doors open at 3.30pm for a 4pm Start.

The Structure.

25 - 50 - 0 - 20 min clock
    50 - 100 - 0
    75 - 150 - 0
    100 - 200 - 0

10 minute break

150 - 300 - 0
    150 - 300 - 25 - 30 min clock
    200 - 400 - 25
    300 - 600 - 50
    400 - 800 - 50

20 minute dinner break

500 - 1000 - 100
    600 - 1200 - 100
    800 - 1600 - 200
    1000 - 2000 - 200
    1500 - 3000 - 300

10 minute break

2000 - 4000 - 500
    3000 - 6000 - 500
    4000 - 8000 - 1000

The Tournament Director will have the Final say.

All players must be a member of the Club. If you would like to join on the day of the Tournament, only a valid passport or driving licence will be accepted.

There will be Pot Limit Hold'em and Omaha plus No Limit Hold'em Cash Games available from 4pm. The rake for a €50 sit down Cash Game is €4 per person per half hour.

There will be professional dealers on all tables.

Please note that the Cash desk will not open until 6pm this Sunday. The A.T.M will be available.

Hope to see a few of you on Sunday,

Alex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Looking forward to playing this, really hope this gets numbers. Is the normal game at half 7 still on, if im out or for people who dont know about this who turn up at the regular time?

One small problem thou, ridiculous timing putting up the thread, i have been asking about a thread about this for about a week now and its only getting up now? Come on lads you should be really doing more to promote this should of been up long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭RockRory

Should be good. Cant wait to play this. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

yep ill be der for this ,, was wondering wen this thread will surface alrite !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭hatedajacks

I really pushed for the SE to open at 4 for this tourney as i think it has great promise. Hope loads turn up for it if only so i dont look like a twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭S.Emporium

4pm Start.

The New Monthly Deepstack Tournament.

7.30pm Start.

€1,500 Guaranteed Prize pool

€50 + €5 "No Limit" Hold'em Freezeout.

Starting Stack : 6,000 (plus an early bird chip of 1,000 if you are in your seat for the start of play).

Clock : 20/25 minutes.

Excellent glad to see the normal tournie is also going ahead. Said it to one or two last night, last longest on Sunday €20?? If anybody is interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I will play on Sunday hopefully - ask me about the last longest then - I've never won one so generally avoid getting involved and putting the curse on myself! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Provided sunday doesn't end up a scorcher, i'll likely play this. Will be on for the last longest if i'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

If out of the WAD game in the Curragh I'll be in too, and also on for last longest. You were around long enough to talk to people about this last night Danny? Must've got some chips back off that guy Mac ;)

That hand where I shoved 10bb's with A10 into your JJ and his A2 was something else - 366 flop and A2 calls 2nd half (or bit more) of Danny's chips to hit runner runner straight!!

Excellent glad to see the normal tournie is also going ahead. Said it to one or two last night, last longest on Sunday €20?? If anybody is interested.[/QUOT

Im in for the last longest, in both tourneys :D

Yep i will donate 20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭playable_hand

Yep i will donate 20

denis

If out of the WAD game in the Curragh I'll be in too, and also on for last longest. You were around long enough to talk to people about this last night Danny? Must've got some chips back off that guy Mac ;)

That hand where I shoved 10bb's with A10 into your JJ and his A2 was something else - 366 flop and A2 calls 2nd half (or bit more) of Danny's chips to hit runner runner straight!!

im in for last longest !!,,, im afraid mac went out to spiral .. theres only so many gutshots you can play till eventually they dont hit !!!!

ionapaul wrote: »
    I will play on Sunday hopefully - ask me about the last longest then - I've never won one so generally avoid getting involved and putting the curse on myself! :)
    Balls - not going to make it now - got a seat at the Dub-Meath match in Croker and can't turn it down. What a weekend of sport! Will make it to the next one for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭aceofspades.ie

Put me down for this....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭thenutpeddler

I'm totally on for this, hope it gets the numbers. Great tourney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

I have planning permission for this... My mate Pat is also coming

DONT FORGET THIS ONE TODAY GUYS

Im looking forward to this, good turn out hopefully :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

I like this very much, can't be there this month, hopefully it gets the numbers it deserves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭adzer86

Danny has twisted my rubber arm on this one
    Spin and win
    Ship Ship the bananas

Plan for the day...

Arrive sporting emporium 4 pm.. play like a genius
    4.30 pm get it in vs dannys set on a 357 flop with my AA.. gg nh wp etc..
    4.40 pm fitz afternoon game...play like a genius..
    7.10 down to final table .. bubble when I push my AK preflop vs A7..gg wp nh etc..
    7.30 Sporting Emporium 50 game... rince and repeat..
    8.45 fitz 40 rebuy... I play bad...

Cash game ... I play goot!!! I run bbaaaaaaaddddddddddd

wow what a day!

Just thinking actually... will I run into any croker traffic at this time?

adzer86 wrote: »
    Danny has twisted my rubber arm on this one
    Spin and win
    Ship Ship the bananas

You didnt text me back so i didnt think you were in, good man :)
    Macspower wrote: »
    Plan for the day...

Arrive sporting emporium 4 pm.. play like a genius
    4.30 pm get it in vs dannys set on a 357 flop with my AA.. gg nh wp etc..
    4.40 pm fitz afternoon game...play like a genius..
    7.10 down to final table .. bubble when I push my AK preflop vs A7..gg wp nh etc..
    7.30 Sporting Emporium 50 game... rince and repeat..
    8.45 fitz 40 rebuy... I play bad...

Cash game ... I play goot!!! I run bbaaaaaaaddddddddddd

wow what a day!

Thats some scenario, very realistic thou :p Wouldnt even be top set it would be bottom set.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Too much good sport on today. Next month hopefully....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

i suck at poker etc. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

49 entries, 30 left. V nice game for 130 euro. Hopefully it takes off.

great game and great turn out...

Fair Play to Kevin for putting his next out for this one...

Just in from it myslef..

AsKs vs KJ APIF no good! when the KJ makes the straight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Lost headsup to a decent Northern player. Was there to be won though - if I hadn't played the last hand like a ****ing spanner. Raging with myself. :mad:

Congrats Lloyd well done. Great tournie, was surprised by the numbers i thought 25-30 would be doing ok so when it ended up with 49 was delighted, hopefully it builds upon this.

Got a nice little last longest going €540 total in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

What was the prizepool lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Lost headsup to a decent Northern player. Was there to be won though - if I hadn't played the last hand like a ****ing spanner. Raging with myself. :mad:

Was it the guy who had about 50k three tables out? I think you knocked me out, I ran my a10 into your jj, the northern guy I'm thinking about was directly on my left, and to the right of the guy who shoved into your turned nut straight with a set.

carlop wrote: »
    Was it the guy who had about 50k three tables out? I think you knocked me out, I ran my a10 into your jj, the northern guy I'm thinking about was directly on my left, and to the right of the guy who shoved into your turned nut straight with a set.

No, he finished 4th. It was the fellah who was sitting two seats to my right when you were at the table - the guy Kev commented on for leaving his seat constantly.

flushje wrote: »
    What was the prizepool lads?

49 runners at €120 per head for a total prizepool of €5880. First was €2120, second €1300.

Enjoyable game. Great dealers, and a good structure for the buyin. PJ ran the tournament very well I thought, and was willing to accommodate us for breaks, etc. Hopefully the game takes off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

49 runners at €120 per head for a total prizepool of €5880. First was €2120, second €1300.

Enjoyable game. Great dealers, and a good structure for the buyin. PJ ran the tournament very well I thought, and was willing to accommodate us for breaks, etc. Hopefully the game takes off.

'just when I thought I was out....they pull me back in'

sicko degen :pac:

Well played Lloyd. Great performance!

Great turnout considering the Gjp game and the Dubs match. The tourney has great potential. Great structure for such a buy in. Well done to Lloyd,Fergus and Ian for going so deep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

wp Lloyd. Great first turnout - next couple of months should be 50+. Good that they adjusted the 2nd tourney to let players in up to the end of the 2nd level also. Interesting cash game later also.

came 6th in this , so i made the cash which was good considering i got very card dead in the latter stages ,, final table became all in or fold for me ! ... great tourny though and look forward to the next one !

Just a reminder that the next Monthly Tournament is this Sunday.

Doors open at 3.30pm for a 4pm Start.

See some of you on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Anyone else playing this ?? Hopefully the Celbridge game wont effect the numbers !!

Hope to make this, then the game in Celbridge at 6, should be back in time for the 7.30 game in the Sporting and then down to the fitz for there 8.30 to try and break even for the day. Can't wait :D:D

The Structure for the Monthly Tournament.

Starting Stack : 10,000 (plus an early bird chip of 1,000 if you are in your seat for the start of play).

Clock : 20 minutes for 5 levels, 30 minutes from then on.

25 - 50 - 0 - 20 min clock
    50 - 100 - 0
    75 - 150 - 0
    100 - 200 - 0

10 minute break

150 - 300 - 0
    150 - 300 - 25 - 30 min clock
    200 - 400 - 25
    300 - 600 - 50

20 minute dinner break

400 - 800 - 50
    500 - 1000 - 100
    600 - 1200 - 100
    800 - 1600 - 200
    1000 - 2000 - 200
    1500 - 3000 - 300
    2000 - 4000 - 500
    3000 - 6000 - 500

Please note the Dinner Break is on the second break (7.20pm-7.40pm).

Last entry into the 7.30pm €50 Freezeout is 8.10pm so 30 minutes after the Monthly Tournament has re-started.

Hoping to make this - have a feeling the numbers will be well down though as a result of Celbridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Gonna head in myself for a game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

Any updates?

Was gonna head into this only got sucked into the epic that was Federer v Roddick.....

This got 37 runners i think. I got knocked out when down to 2 tables i flipped with 55 v Declans Ak and he rivered an Ace.

3 left when i was leaving at 12. Declan and 2 others. Glowingmind and Mickste finished 4th and 5th i think.

Just gone 6th in the side game, when they paying 4. thenutpeddler, garyc, RockRory and Moneymaker making up 4 of the 5 left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

Flushdraw wrote: »
    This got 37 runners i think. I got knocked out when down to 2 tables i flipped with 55 v Declans Ak and he rivered an Ace.

3 left when i was leaving at 12. Declan and 2 others. Glowingmind and Mickste finished 4th and 5th i think.

Just gone 6th in the side game, when they paying 4. thenutpeddler, garyc, RockRory and Moneymaker making up 4 of the 5 left

Thanks Tony. Great to see the Sports getting good numbers again.

Flushdraw wrote: »

Tough weekend by the sounds of things Tony.

Yeah Lloyd. A bit disillusioned that i didnt cash in 4 tournaments this weekend despite playing quite well. Played about 20 hours of poker for no reward and its tough to take. Didnt get a nice run of cards and i didnt flip well so what can you do.

Dont think i'll be taking another weekend out to play poker before i move so was hoping to get a small return over the last few days