Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leg Shaving 2009

• 03-06-2009 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭

So about a year ago we have 33% leg shavers here. So lets see how things are looking for this summer

Do you shave your legs? 46 votes

No - not going near my legs with a razor.
    0%
    No - but I am considering it
    69%
    Civilian_TargetConor20ednwirelandmonumentRyanerBambaatahynesietbashowry[Deleted User]kenmcchristebThomas_S_HuntersonFrankGrimesFunkyzeitBlowfishjebidiahtheliamNisiodmigsy 32 votes
    Yes - Euro compliant all the way
    30%
    GavinNietzscheanStarkDirkVoodooblorgLumenunionmanbcmfROK ONfrappCheGuedaraL'Enfer du NordGit101SPINERGY 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

I think i just sabbotaged your poll by voting - however I refuse to not vote, I have the right to vote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

Is there a certain level of proficiency I need to reach before doing it? (Not that I'm looking forward or am keen to do.)

The reason for doing it related to injuries and infection right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

It's for times like this we should never have given women the vote:mad:

BIG MISTAKE!!

Is there a certain level of proficiency I need to reach before doing it?
    How to Shave Your Legs

Many women ( or cyclists ) dread the return of summer, when their leg-shaving skills (or lack thereof) are put on display. Remember, not everyone loves a hairy legged damsel, so dust off your razors and read on. Below are some helpful shaving tips to get you through the season nick-free.
    Instructions

Difficulty: Moderately Easy
    Steps

Step One

Shave in a warm shower or bath, if possible.

Step Two

Wait a few minutes before starting to let the leg hair soften. If you take only showers, wait until the end of the shower to shave.

Step Three

Sit on the ledge in your shower, if possible. If your shower has no place to sit, raise one leg against the wall of the shower and balance carefully.

Step Four

Apply a small amount of shaving cream, rubbing it into a thick lather and spreading it over your leg. Avoid using soap in place of shaving cream, as it will dry out your skin.

Step Five

Place the razor at the base of your ankle and pull gently up over your entire leg. If you experience severe razor burn, try shaving in the same direction as the hair growth. You may not get as clean a shave, but you'll avoid raising red bumps.

Step Six

Rinse the blade between every stroke, and be sure to keep the razor wet while you're shaving.

Step Seven

Shave the entire leg until you've removed all the shaving cream.

Step Eight

Rinse.

Step Nine

Repeat for the other leg.

Step Ten

Pat dry and moisturize.

Tips & Warnings

Having your legs waxed at a salon is a nice alternative that also reduces overall hair growth. One drawback is that you'll have to wait for the hair to grow out before you can wax again'this can take 6 to 8 weeks.

Dull blades can cause razor burn on sensitive skin.

Shaving areas where bone is close to the skin surface, such as ankles and knees, can result in painful cuts and nicks. If you cut your leg while shaving, get out of the bath quickly, as the hot water will increase blood flow. Dab the wound lightly with a styptic pencil. It will sting slightly, but the bleeding will stop. A touch of toilet tissue can also do the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

ISTR from the last time I shaved my legs (many years ago) that:

(a) I didn't really know where to stop, bearing in mind the risk of "hair shorts".
    (b) It got really itchy for a week or two when I grew them back out.

Yeah, I know, TMI dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I barely even remember to shave my face most of the time, never mind my bloody legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Caroline_ie you forgot to add that it is considerate to rinse the hair and gunk off the bath tub. BTW I'm not suggesting that you are like the women I live with....:mad:

Caroline_ie you forgot to add that it is considerate to rinse the hair and gunk off the bath tub.

Oh boy ... I guess you are one of the many men who needs to be told to clean the tub after themselves or they 'forget'. I should have though of it alright... sorry to all your wives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

How do you know when to stop? Is waxing not better? I have been told the hair will grow back the way it was (more or less) so if you ever decide to stop cycling you don't end up like Jeff Goldblum in "The Fly".

I have been thinking about it more and more, I assure myself that it is ok not to since I am not racing. But my new shorts arrived and the euroness of them is totally nullified by the fact my legs are not smooth and bronze like the pros.

Like Ken though, I am currently sporting a 5 day beard and the thought of having to shave that is bad enough, I wouldn't want to have to add my legs on top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Oh boy ... I guess you are one of the many men who needs to be told to clean the tub after themselves or they 'forget'. I should have though of it alright... sorry to all your wives.

we're just so focused on moving forward in life, once out of the bath its onto the next manly task, like is it the day to wrestle a wild boar for dinner or do i play xbox? you know important things other than looking at the mess we leave in our wake... :cool:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Oh boy ... I guess you are one of the many men who needs to be told to clean the tub after themselves or they 'forget'.

Actually it's the women that leave hair on the bath tub for me. I'm the victim here.:(

I am getting worried about your housemate now ... she portugese or something? Are you sure it's a she? Does she have an adams apple? is her name ' Dave' ?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    How do you know when to stop?

Shave the whole leg. The hairy boxers are not a good look.
    Is waxing not better?

Possibly, but tis expensive, unless you want to go at those home waxing yokes.
    the thought of having to shave that is bad enough, I wouldn't want to have to add my legs on top of it.

Five minutes, once a week. It ain't that hard.

I am getting worried about your housemate now ... she portugese or something? Are you sure it's a she? Does she have an adams apple? is her name ' Dave' ?

Yeah. She's got a big hairy pervert belly too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

started shaving them a few weeks ago. I felt like I was too slow to do it last year. Legs look better shaved :) It's the norm for cyclist here so doesn't raise any eyebrows apart from the Irish lads (and lassies)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

el tonto wrote: »
    Shave the whole leg.

Define whole leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Lumen wrote: »
    Define whole leg.

And what about the furry glen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Tried it last year. The regrowth was among the most unpleasant experiences I have ever had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

How to Shave Your Legs

Many women ( or cyclists ) dread the return of summer, when their leg-shaving skills (or lack thereof) are put on display. Remember, not everyone loves a hairy legged damsel, so dust off your razors and read on. Below are some helpful shaving tips to get you through the season nick-free.
    Instructions

Difficulty: Moderately Easy
    Steps

Step One

Shave in a warm shower or bath, if possible.

Step Two

Wait a few minutes before starting to let the leg hair soften. If you take only showers, wait until the end of the shower to shave.

etc.

WTF - women have 10 steps in their shaving routine!!!:)

I shave every day (face!!!) and I've only 3 steps in my routine and two of those involve scratching something!

I'm not shaving for two reasons
    1. I'm not going to have the kids' abiding memory of their childhood be the time they walked into the bathroom and caught me with my leg extended in the air shaving away merrily!!

2. I coach rugby - it's tough enough to get teenagers to take you seriously without the silky smooth look

3. (this is a two part list in three parts) My level of proficiency doesn't justify it.......

........yet:)

Lumen wrote: »
    Define whole leg.

Up to your arse.
    niceonetom wrote: »
    Tried it last year. The regrowth was among the most unpleasant experiences I have ever had.

Sounds like you shaved way too close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Up to your arse.

So silky up to the arse, and then fuzzy peaches?

Depending on your level of hirsuteness of course.

lukester wrote: »

You can just kind of taper it off up there.

Up to your arse.

Tiny shaves his legs however his arse still looks as hairy when he wears his transparent boards shorts ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Tiny shaves his legs however his arse still looks as hairy when he wears his transparent boards shorts ...

Actually, can I make a request? If rain is expected on Sunday, please do not wear Boards shorts. That's for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Only did it this morning - first race tonight..

Odds on Junior getting a kicking 1/100...

Junior wrote: »
    Only did it this morning - first race tonight..

Odds on Junior getting a kicking 1/100...

Where you racing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bbosco

An alternative for those unwilling to take a razor blade to their legs is to use a hair clippers with the lowest blade attachment. It's obviously going to leave a lot more hair than a wet shave, but it's short enough to be within the bounds of cyclist-respectability. Sort of. Also, it's really quick and removes the risk of cuts and irritation. You're not going to pass any chiffon test though.
    I went with this method the first couple of times until I felt brave enough to go the traditional route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Raam wrote: »
    Where you racing?

League Race in Dungarvan tonight - all the local big hitters were out last night in the Comeragh CC League so I mightn't be on that much of a hiding.

Best of luck. Give us a report in the morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Nice of you to be staring enough to notice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

lukester wrote: »

If I do this, emphasis on if, I'm looking at half a dozen razors and several hours in the bathroom and a lot of tangling and twanging:eek:

Maybe I'll just go and see Bruno's waxer guy, he clearly is very thorough on the back, crack n' sack.

Nice of you to be staring enough to notice :)

it's kinda hard to miss :pac:

Ouch

unionman wrote: »
    Ouch

Well ... i am 5'nothing, meaning that the only thing i usually see when i cycle behind anyone is their back side... nothing else

Trust me, at 5' 5.5" the view doesn't really change that much:D

And she loves looking at my arse, but that's another story...

if ye don't like it, ride in front -I've no problem drafting :D

Think how we feel cycling behind you, no aerodynamic benefit whatsoever!

I can't talk however, I am not the most handy person to draft behind, partly due to size and partly due to never riding up front.

Keep your eyes on the road missy and away from our arses!

if ye don't like it, ride in front -I've no problem drafting :D
    Do you feel cheated drafting someone 5'0? ;)

It's funny when you read this thread it is considered "the norm". Or at least as normal as it has been since I started cycling and wearing lycra in public. Then you wander over to after hours and see a thread like this:

Link

and I am reminded of how the outside world see cyclists and our odd behaviour.

Still, better to be on the inside looking out and all that.

Diarmuid wrote: »
    Do you feel cheated drafting someone 5'0? ;)

Not even a little

Jesus AH is carnage. Never venture over there again