Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Condolence thread for Air France tragedy - 3 doctors have died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

I was on call yesterday when this story first broke. My first thought was that it is was a group of final years who had just finished their exams and were on their way home before graduation (UCD graduation is on Thursday).

Randomly, one of the girls worked in my place before Xmas, got to know her through call and general res banter.

Such a horrible story, thoughts with the girls, their families and friends. I hope the search can bring some results, and give some closure.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

**** - i know them all well. They were 2 years under me - its awful.

I am so sorry for their families, their friends and their classmates.

I actually can't believe this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

i knew them also, worked with them and knew one of them pretty well. was shocked when I heard, still am tbh. I can't really get my head around it. was looking forward to a few beers with her when she got back.

so so sad, your heart goes out to the families really. such a tragic waste for all the families of all the passengers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

So sorry to hear of the loss of those three doctors, my heart goes out to their families right now.
    Also sorry to hear that ye guys here on boards knew of them personally..
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Amnesiac_ie

I got a horrible shock when I saw the headlines this morning; I had not heard anything about the crash yesterday.

I knew Eithne for three months when we were both exiled from Dublin hospitals "down the country." She was such a warm and fun loving girl. We had great craic for that short space of time.

Any death is a tragedy but the loss of someone so bright and so vibrant seems like such a waste.

My thoughts are with her family and the other families affected by this disaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I think I'd forgotten how small the medical community in Ireland is. Sorry for all you guys, too. Did they all work together? It'll be a big shock to their individual departments if they didn't,but absoloutely horrific if they were all in the same place. I don't mean that in terms of service delivery, btw.

Hope the medical community can give their family some comfort through all of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

My condolences to all the friends and families of the ladies that were involved in the tragedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

a nice gesture lads, fair play :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

WindSock wrote: »
    My condolences to all the friends and families of the ladies that were involved in the tragedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

My utmost condolences to all friends and families of those girls :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Alzar

Sparky wrote: »
    My utmost condolences to all friends and families of those girls :(

From me too....

Al.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Deepest condolences from me and mine, from the bottom of my heart. Being a member of the Defence Forces I feel your pain & loss at the sudden and tragic deaths of your colleagues.

-Martin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

I simply dont know what To say. As a former A.T.C.O and employee of Aer-Lingus, any plane crash is always something I care about but hearing of people who are so close being affected directly really makes it hit home. Condolences to all of the affected families, friends and work colleagues. I am praying for them as I write this.

R.I.P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Very sad news. I know a good few people who worked with them,my heart goes out to their familys and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

A terrible tragedy, shocking to hear of so many lifes lost here and abroad, this will ripple across the globe. From myself and my family our deepest condolences to the family collegues and friends of those three girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

My condolences to the famlies, friends and loved ones. Terrible tragedy. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Deepest symphaties for all involved in this terrible tragedy.Cant imagine how the families are feeling:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

My sincerest condolences to the families concerned. I was lucky to have been acquainted with one of the girls through her boyfriend and she was a genuinely lovely girl. Its hard to know what to say in a situation like this, only pray and be there for him and everyone involved in any way possible.

• Moderators Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Big_G

flahavaj wrote: »
    My sincerest condolences to the families concerned. I was lucky to have been acquainted with one of the girls through her boyfriend and she was a genuinely lovely girl. Its hard to know what to say in a situation like this, only pray and be there for him and everyone involved in any way possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭aidan.connolly

My sincere condolences to the families and friends of the victims of this tragedy. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

It seems that an unusually severe storm may have caused the plane to crash. Here is a detailed weather map of the time around the event.

http://www.weathergraphics.com/tim/af447/

Eithne Walls
    Jane Deasy
    Aisling Butler

Rest In Peace

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Condolences and my thoughts go out to the families and friends of those girls, and all the other victims of the crash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭markopantelic

Damn this breaks my heart, best wishes to the families of the three girls and everyone else on board.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭PEGGYSUE'S MAMA

just too sad for words, those ladies were so very accomplished people indeed. the world is a worse off place without them and of course all of the others who perished.

may they all rest in peace and their families take comfort from knowing the world at large has them in their thoughts and prayers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

My sincere sympathies to all the loved ones left behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

My heart goes out to those lost & their families/friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Its such a waste!
    From what I gather,they were really liked and my deepest sympathy to those of you who knew them and to especially their families

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

It was very sad to hear of this, my deepest sympathies to the families and friends of those lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

may all of them rest in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭gnu

My deepest sympathies to their family and friends, and all who knew them. My thoughts are with you.

May they rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭CZ 453

This is just a tragedy.....My deepest condolences.....the whole island prays for the family and friends of all affected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭suspectpackage

Its very very very sad stuff. The girls worked hard at their leaving cert, got 600 points or thereabouts, got through med school and were living their dreams... such a shame to see them die like that. They didn't deserve it, they really didn't. They had so much to live for and so much to give. I really feel bad for the families who have the torture of trying to relive what their daughters final moments were. Horrific, and so totally unfair. Cruel world this. I just hope their bodies get found... it would be the most unfair thing in the world if their families had to live the rest of their lives knowing their daughters bodies were somewhere in the Atlantic.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

I work with Eithne's brother. Dont know the guy very well nor did I know Eithne or either of the other 2 young woman. I can only imagine how their family and friends are feeling at this most horrific time and under such circumstances. I just pray that the 3 girls, and of course everyone else that was on that flight are at peace.

:(