Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sun Naysayers

• 02-06-2009 12:50pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭

There's no denying the weather was awesome over the weekend. And weather or not (do you see what I did there? No? um ok...) you worship the sun or not, the good weather is deffo a great motivator for outdoor activities and socialising. Be it sitting in a beer garden or have a BBQ.

However from the cracks of a somewhat "happier than the previous week" irish population, the naysayers are emerging. Those who are moaning about the good weather.

Are you a sun moaner? Do you wallow in the miserableness of bad weather? Have you ever been to a BBQ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Irish people will always find something to moan about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

The weather is fantastic at the moment, stop questioning it & get out to enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Eejit builders and their sh!tty paper. Oh wait not that sun. Oh hawhawhaw.

Pro: Clothes dry on the line much faster-er.
    Con: I have to do the washing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

faceman wrote: »
    There's no denying the weather was awesome over the weekend.

Was? Still is good weather out there, 26c in Swords at the moment.

I do know what you mean, I kind of do that but just for a second, I would be like; "**** its hot out", then realise its better than rain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Did it ever occur to you that maybe some people just don't like the extreme heat and sunshine ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Pyr0 wrote: »
    Did it ever occur to you that maybe some people just don't like the extreme heat and sunshine ?

I wouldn't exactly call 26c extreme heat, but yes some people just don't seem to realise hot weather isn't for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Extream heat ? :rolleyes:

this is not hot this is just warm...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

I blame them bloody foreigners! Coming over here taking our grey skys and rain, bringing that bloody sun! GO BACK TO WHERE YOU BELONG!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Okay, okay extreme was the wrong word to use but you get what i'm sayin' :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Not really a sun naysayer, I like the sun but I prefer when it's raining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I could live like this for the rest of my life. Uncomfortable as sweating constantly makes me, it's infinitely better than being depressed becuase of the rain.

Oh, look at us talking about the weather. AH has reached a new low

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Not really a sun naysayer, I like the sun but I prefer when it's raining.

Are you a duck?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

There's no denying the weather was awesome over the weekend.

Weather wasn't really that good at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Baldie

chin_grin wrote: »

Pro: The ladies were less clothes...
    Con: There is none, hello, the ladies wear less clothes!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Are you a sun moaner?

Being stuck inside a glorified shed for 8 hours every day where the air conditioning seems to have stopped working and probably wont be fixed until New Years Eve gives me a right to be pissed off with this weather we are getting.

Okay, okay extreme was the wrong word to use but you get what i'm sayin' :p

Its just hot.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Being stuck inside a glorified shed for 8 hours every day where the air conditioning seems to have stopped working and probably wont be fixed until New Years Eve gives me a right to be pissed off with this weather we are getting.

No, you have a right to be pissed off at the job that keeps you in said glorified shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I blame them bloody foreigners! Coming over here taking our grey skys and rain, bringing that bloody sun! GO BACK TO WHERE YOU BELONG!

DAY TURK URR RAIINN!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I hate the thought of getting sunburnt. I hate seeing people who should try to cover up leave it all hang out. I hate people who whinge about getting burnt after they lay at the beach. What did you think would happen? I hate the sound of the ice cream van as it drives around my home at 9pm every evening. I hate stupid drivers who like to drive extra slowly because it is a nice day. I hate the glare off the sun as the light reflects off the road. Look at me everyone, I hate this ****ing weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

I hate the thought of getting sunburnt. I hate seeing people who should try to cover up leave it all hang out. I hate people who whinge about getting burnt after they lay at the beach. What did you think would happen? I hate the sound of the ice cream van as it drives around my home at 9pm every evening. I hate stupid drivers who like to drive extra slowly because it is a nice day. I hate the glare off the sun as the light reflects off the road. Look at me everyone, I hate this ****ing weather

Ranting and Raving
    >

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭mobius42

The weather is great, it's the lack of air conditioning here that gets me.

Does someone need a hug??? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Baldie wrote: »

Not always a good thing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

I am so badly burnt from yesterday(yes yes I know my own fault)right now Id like to stand naked in the rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

I moan about the "good weather" because I can't stand hot weather. I have no problem with "Irish" weather. If it snowed a bit more often here I'd be as happy as a pig in $~!T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Maddison wrote: »
    I am so badly burnt from yesterday(yes yes I know my own fault)right now Id like to stand naked in the rain
    I have a watering can with a rosehead sprinkler attached. May I be of assistance? ;)

Love spring and autumn, hate summer & winter. Bah Humbug to bright sunshine and prickly heat.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

My eyes!! My eyes!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

OldGoat wrote: »
    I have a watering can with a rosehead sprinkler attached. May I be of assistance? ;)

Love spring and autumn, hate summer & winter. Bah Humbug to bright sunshine and prickly heat.

Any help would be appreciated.....i cant reach my back to put aftersun on :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Maddison wrote: »
    Any help would be appreciated.....i cant reach my back to put aftersun on :(
    PM Sent. :D
    Down boys, move along, nothing to see here!

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Usually enjoy the sun but today somethings different. Pighead's energy has been totally sapped by the hot stuff and worse still his knackers are stuck to his inner thigh region.

Would love just a little rain and maybe a gust of breeze to snap out of this lethargy and a pair of loose fitting cotton pants to free the nads from their sticky resting place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭kpbdublin

I like warm weather. What I can't stand are the bores who pin their whole happiness on good weather, and go on and on about it. They feel sunny weather is an entitlement even though they live on a damp windswept isle in the middle of the Atlantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

kpbdublin wrote: »
    I like warm weather. What I can't stand are the bores who pin their whole happiness on good weather, and go on and on about it. They feel sunny weather is an entitlement even though they live on a damp windswept isle in the middle of the Atlantic.
    Those people are indeed idiots. Mainly for thinking that they live in the middle of the Atlantic ocean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

Pighead wrote: »
    Usually enjoy the sun but today somethings different. Pighead's energy has been totally sapped by the hot stuff and worse still his knackers are stuck to his inner thigh region.

Would love just a little rain and maybe a gust of breeze to snap out of this lethargy and a pair of loose fitting cotton pants to free the nads from their sticky resting place.

Ah yes, the dreaded "Velcro Effect"

I'm loving the sun but hating the fact that my leaving cert starts tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

there's no denying its lovely out. I just cant handle the hot weather like this. The fekcing heat off a lightbulb knocks me out lol.
    A little bit of an ould breeze in the nighttime would be nice, then I might be able to get asleep.
    hot weather is also good for the perving of the ladiezz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Weather is savage but if it was a few degrees less it would be just perfect! Long may it last though!

I ewould like to say get used to it because its going to be a hot summer !!!

http://www.pistonheads.co.uk/sales/941305.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I don't like hot, sunny weather.

I haven't got the skin for it. I'm really pale and just burn after a few minutes.

I did enjoy some garden parties over the weekend, but I sat in the shade as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Feckin sun. I've three fans on, the doors open and windows wide open and i'm still too hot and i cant study and the shagin leaving cert starts tomoro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

chin_grin wrote: »

Ladies Lounge is downstairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Baldie wrote: »

CON: You're walking around town with a hard on..a sweaty one at that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My bedroom is disgustingly hot in weather like this, no matter how long I leave the windows open. If I leave them open at night the noise of the traffic is too loud and I can't sleep.

So I have to close them and I wake up drenched in sweat and feeling like I am going to die.

Also the inside of my car is horrible in the mornings, and the bald overweight sweaty men where I live take off their tshirts and bake themselves

Oh yeah I also have my leaving cert starting tomorrow and the sun uh... prevents my studying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I complain about the sun :o Well I like it when the sun is shining but not when it's hot! I just get all hot and bothered yknow, and sunburnt. I do like the sun though, just not the heat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Craigsy wrote: »
    I'm loving the sun but hating the fact that my leaving cert starts tomorrow
    phasers wrote: »
    Oh yeah I also have my leaving cert starting tomorrow and the sun uh... prevents my studying...

Heh heh, happens every year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

it's actually like a rule to be sunny during the leaving cert though. so weird. the only predictable weather all year. for my junior cert it was sooo sunny during it and then the day I was finished, it rained. and it was the summer where it rained non stop all summer. this summer better not be like that :mad:

Heh heh, happens every year...

:mad:

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

it's actually like a rule to be sunny during the leaving cert though. so weird. the only predictable weather all year. for my junior cert it was sooo sunny during it and then the day I was finished, it rained. and it was the summer where it rained non stop all summer. this summer better not be like that :mad:

this whole its always sunny during the leaving cert thing has always baffled me , its as if theese people are the type who think , if i cant enjoy it , no one else sure as hell will , what difference does it make if its sunny while your face is in an exam paper

irish_bob wrote: »
    this whole its always sunny during the leaving cert thing has always baffled me , its as if theese people are the type who think , if i cant enjoy it , no one else sure as hell will , what difference does it make if its sunny while your face is in an exam paper

We have to wear hot bulky uniforms and sit in a boiling hot stuffy room writing while other people are out having fun?

Nobody is saying that others can't have fun, we just resent them like every exam year does. It's tradition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

phasers wrote: »
    We have to wear hot bulky uniforms and sit in a boiling hot stuffy room writing while other people are out having fun?

Nobody is saying that others can't have fun, we just resent them like every exam year does. It's tradition.

What the hell kind of school are you going to?!

We were allowed wear what we wanted(within reason of course..stupid religious schools) and sat in the gym/main hall, which I assumed every school had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

CON: You're walking around town with a hard on..a sweaty one at that..

Only a 15 year old would a get a hard on by looking at a good looking woman wearing low cut top:P