Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A lot of car for the money

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Lot of car indeed, but purely if you are looking at equipment and year. It's ****ing awful though, and a 2.5 petrol auto in a Hyundai is about as desireable as getting your nuts crushed in a vice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Emmmmm yeah........ Wouldnt mine cup of tea.... If i whanted some sofa on wheels, i would go for older 7 series. Atleast i would know what expect from it...

But this.... just has DODGY written all over it.... maybe its only me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Nasty, look at the after market head unit. Who would buy one of these things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

PAH! Poxy 2.5 :rolleyes:

You want the 3.3V6 in one of those :D

Yes - we have one on fleet, but thank God we are only managing it so have no residual risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Certainly a lot of car for the money. Personally I'd opt for a year or two older Honda Legend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Biro wrote: »
    Certainly a lot of car for the money. Personally I'd opt for a year or two older Honda Legend!

Another good one!

I agree the thing is hideous, but for the 95% of the people who haven't a clue about cars they'll just see big and black and think lovely:rolleyes:

But if you could ghet it for about 8k could make a good buy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

It just isn't worth it at any price given the road tax situation. There are quite a few high spec 2.0L cars around from other marques, that are far more appealing.

You would be better off buying Unkel's 7 series or similar if you want quality motoring on a budget. If your paying 1-1.5K+ in tax, you might as well do things right.

___

"Repair history available", maybe they mean service history, maybe not. It looks like an ex-hire car to me (for U.S. tourists). They usually get a few more knocks than normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

The only useful use I can think of for this is a taxi/hackney where the road tax is not a burden but the 2.5 petrol will eat into your margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

no-image-large.gif
    ^^ still a god awful Hyundai though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

God no !

Someone hand me some matches so I can burn my money instead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Why would anyone even consider such a car new? Still people buy Megan saloons and BMW 1 series so you can't account for taste

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

PauloMN wrote: »
    Lot of car indeed, but purely if you are looking at equipment and year. It's ****ing awful though, and a 2.5 petrol auto in a Hyundai is about as desireable as getting your nuts crushed in a vice.

haha

lmao

think this poster nailed it on the head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Honda Legend is a quality car, that hyundai is ghastly, i never even seen one or heard of it before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I would much rather Unkels 735i for a lot less money and a lot more car.

1241.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

EPM wrote: »
    I agree the thing is hideous, but for the 95% of the people who haven't a clue about cars they'll just see big and black and think lovely:rolleyes:

Then they will see the hyundai badge and walk away, a lot of people are badge snobs and like to keep up with the Joneses.

Lagend or an old lexus would be nicer IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I'd take this a hundred times before I'd take that.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Hyundai/Sonata/2.0-DSL-/200920192761714/advert?channel=CARS

Edit: Just realised it's in the same dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I'd take this a hundred times before I'd take that.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Hyundai/Sonata/2.0-DSL-/200920192761714/advert?channel=CARS

Edit: Just realised it's in the same dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Never heard about that yoke before - so a quick google taught me that is the previous model and a heap of sh1te. The new model however has drastically improved and has even won awards / recommendations. Might be a choice for a Lexus buyer looking for a cheaper option the next time

And the Sonata - it's also cheap second hand. That's about the most generous / nicest thing I can say about that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,544 ✭✭✭sk8board

I had a '86 datsun sunny that had a more modern dial cluster! God, you just know they churn those dials out by the thousand and shove them into every car they make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

Dear God youd may as well burn 8 grand !!!Thats if you even ever had any chance of getting 3 for it at any time in the future...The Sonata IS nice though...

ytareh wrote: »
    The Sonata IS nice though...

Oh yeah it is lovely. The windows even go up or down when you press the button. Imagine that!

unkel wrote: »
    Oh yeah it is lovely. The windows even go up or down when you press the button. Imagine that!

They actually are a nice car though. The new/current model that is.

Nice? In what way? It will get you from A to B no problem and it has electric windows etc. Any review I've seen about it states it's crap. Korean crap. Crap with a long warranty. Here the first few lines from the review from Parkers and they are pretty mild:
    Parkers wrote:
    The Sonata is Hyundai's attempt at a relatively upmarket four-door saloon, but aside from decent equipment levels and a comfortable ride, there's little to recommend it. The anonymous styling along with a cheap feeling interior and forgettable driving experience mean it isn't a desirable choice.

But it would probably do a typical US buyer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Ah lads. Always thinkin of the short term aint we?

Yes, it may have a lot of spec, and be cheap, but what happens when you have to start forking out one and two hundred euro when your window regulators fail, or when the electricals decide to abandon ship?

Buying something like that would be pure madness unless you had a lot of money to maintain it, or you were a mechanic, in which case you need to re-do your apprentiship.

I've been through lots of other car makes, namely VW, that suffer continuous problems.

I've yet to hear some one complain about the reliability of a modern Hyundai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

I've yet to hear some one complain about the reliability of a modern Hyundai.

I've yet to hear anyone admit they own one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

Zube wrote: »
    I've yet to hear anyone admit they own one.
    My dad had a 1.3 accent from 2002-2004, never a bother with it. Utterly forgettable but nothing went wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

When it comes to hyuandai im afraid you just don't get a lot of car for your money,i used to work for a hyuandai dealer one of the ones that were at the fore front of hyundais resurgence in Ireland in the late 90s early 2000,the big seller at the time was the accent(dirt box) lantra (dirt box with more space) and the flag ship sonata which was loaded withy extras and big and comfy,these cars fell apart before my eyes in some cases and were constantly coming back with little niggly issues,then one day i seen a Hyuandai accent coming in on the back of a flatbed after hitting in a wall and i swore there and then i would never drive or let any one i cared about drive a hyundai.

Id rather hit a wall in a golf with dodgy locks and rattly dual mass fly wheel than a Hyuandai! : )

Slag Hyundai all ye want, call them muck, whatever. But the new Genesis Coupe is the car that Toyota, VW etc are too afraid to build. A Coupe for the 21st Centruy! Hats off to them for doing it.

tossy wrote: »
    When it comes to hyuandai im afraid you just don't get a lot of car for your money,i used to work for a hyuandai dealer one of the ones that were at the fore front of hyundais resurgence in Ireland in the late 90s early 2000,the big seller at the time was the accent(dirt box) lantra (dirt box with more space) and the flag ship sonata which was loaded withy extras and big and comfy,these cars fell apart before my eyes in some cases and were constantly coming back with little niggly issues,then one day i seen a Hyuandai accent coming in on the back of a flatbed after hitting in a wall and i swore there and then i would never drive or let any one i cared about drive a hyundai.

Id rather hit a wall in a golf with dodgy locks and rattly dual mass fly wheel than a Hyuandai! : )

Well said :D

They're more reliable these days and come with lengthy warranties. Still heaps of crap imho...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

Hats off to them for doing it.

Hats off, OK, but wallets still firmly in pockets.

Zube wrote: »
    Hats off, OK, but wallets still firmly in pockets.

Only because of depreciation. Wait 2 years and buy one! It'll be way better than Toyota's offering... oh wait... Toyota don't do FR coupe's any more. Neither do VW, Audi, Saab, Volvo... etc etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Wouldnt touch the genesis over the 370z in all seriousness.

V6 versus V6, probably not. But the 2 litre Turbo option is a nice one if you're on a bit of a budget.

But the 2 litre Turbo option is a nice one if you're on a bit of a budget.

If you're on a bit of a budget, you'd be much better off buying a second hand proper car instead of a new Hyundai ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

EPM wrote: »

Has anybody noticed that they are still asking 13 grand for that donkey!....13 GRAND FFS. You'd want to be off your nut. Not comfy, not quick, not smooth, not posh , not even modern. You can buy a perfectly good wafter for as little as 2 or 3 grand. Why in Gods name would anybody buy one of these things....Its a Hyundai..Not even a proper car :D

unkel wrote: »
    If you're on a bit of a budget, you'd be much better off buying a second hand proper car instead of a new Hyundai ;)

The Genesis is a proper car.
    Real car enthusiasts judge the car, not the brand! :D

The Genesis is a proper car.

You've read too many US reviews :p

I remember when the Lexus SC was launched. It got great reviews over there too...

Just read somewhere that only the 2l turbo is coming to Europe. According to this that engine emits 0.8 pounds of Co2 per mile. That's just over 225g/km so motor tax will be €2,000 per year. My prediction: not a single one will be sold in this country.